DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final action is responsive to the application filed 7/31/2024.
In the application Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, 17 and 19 are the independent claims.
Priority
4. Acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority to provisional application 63/567268, filed 3/19/2024.
Drawings
5. The Drawings filed on 7/31/2024 have been approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boot (U.S. Pub 2012/0296678, filed May 20, 2011) in view of Thomas (U.S. Pub 2012/0133325, filed Aug. 8, 2011).
Regarding Independent claims 1 and 9, Boot discloses A computer-implemented method for scheduling an electric vehicle (EV) charging session by an EV charger scheduling service, the computer-implemented method comprising:
causing a user interface of a software application to be presented on a display of a client computing device, the user interface presenting a plurality of time slots for scheduling the EV charging session and prompting an end-user for selection of a time slot from the plurality of time slots, each time slot associated with one or more EV chargers available during a period of time indicated by the time slot (see paragraphs 20-23 and 40-44, discloses a customer computing device 103 with client module 152 via internet browser or software application. Further describes a web portal interface for accessing the service provider to make a reservation based on available time slots. In addition, he discloses determining if a selected charging station is available for at least a portion of the requested time frame. The system identifies charging stations available during specific time periods);
receiving over a network and from the software application an indication of a selected time slot for the EV charging session (see paragraphs 19 and 45, discloses that a reservation request can be received from the customer and identifies a time slot to be reserved at a charging station. Further describing communication over network 110 between customer computing device and service provider computer);
based on the selected time slot for the EV charging session, identifying a first EV charger from the one or more EV chargers available during the period of time indicated by the selected time slot (see paragraphs 40 and 45, discloses selecting one charging station from available options by specifically identifying which charging station is being selected if a plurality of charging stations were presented for selection, thus the system identifies a specific charging station for the reservation);
updating a data record associated with the first EV charger to reflect that the first EV charger has been reserved for the end-user during the period of time indicated by the selected time slot (see paragraphs 15, 17 and 24, discloses reserving a time slot at the station such that other users besides the reserving customer is prevented from utilizing or accessing the charging station during the reserved time slot. Further teaching database 182 that stores reservation and availability information for the one or more charging stations, thus handling updating of reservation records); Boot fails to teach automatic detection by the charger that a vehicle is physically connected and communicating this status to the scheduling service.
Thomas discloses:
during the period of time indicated by the selected time slot: receiving over a network an indication from the first EV charger that an EV is connected to the first EV charger via a charge port of the EV (see paragraphs 40 and 50, discloses connection detection and notification);
in response to receiving the indication from the first EV charger that the EV is connected to the first EV charger, causing a user interface of the software application to be updated with a user interface control element, which, when selected by the end-user, causes the software application to send an instruction to the EV charger scheduling service, the instruction directing the EV charger scheduling service to activate the first EV charger to provide power to charge the EV (see paragraphs 40-42 and 50, discloses connection detection and notification by updating user display based on the current state. He teaches upon state entry after connection “driving LED bar to indicate that vehicle 22 is connected and updating the display based on the current state. The system waits for “charge signal…from the operator” to which a charge signal is received from the operator); and
in response to receiving the instruction, communicating, over a network, a first command to the first EV charger, the first command instructing the first EV charger to provide power to a connector of the first EV charger to charge the EV (see paragraph 42, discloses activation command via state machine transitioning into a charging state. Further paragraphs 49-52 teaches that the sate machine automatically detects EV plug-in and readiness). Both Boot and Thomas are from the same field of endeavor regarding EV charging. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have supplemented a charging station controller with a state machine that manages EV connection safety and enables automated transition to a charging state. One motivation is to allow a mobile user interface to initiate charging though standards-compliant state machine to ensure safe and reliable charging. Thus, employing the state machine after reservation of a charger ensures safe control of the charging session has disclosed by Thomas in paragraphs 3.
Regarding Dependent claims 2 and 10, Boot discloses wherein identifying a first EV charger from the one or more EV chargers available during the period of time indicated by the selected time slot further comprises: randomly selecting the first EV charger from the one or more EV chargers; selecting the first EV charger based on a priority scheme, wherein an EV charger is selected according to a set of prioritized characteristics of the one or more EV chargers available for the selected time slot; or selecting the first EV charger based on the first EV charger having the highest number of matching EV charger characteristics with characteristics of the EV of the end-user, including both inherent characteristics of the EV and preferences explicitly set by the end-user (see paragraphs 30-36, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 3 and 11, Boot discloses wherein causing the user interface of the software application to be presented on the display of the client computing device further comprises: displaying a selection interface that includes, for each time slot in the plurality of time slots, a selectable user interface element representing the time slot, each selectable user interface element indicating the period of time for which an EV charging session is to be reserved, wherein the period of time represented by each time slot is configurable via the EV charger scheduling service on a per location basis or on a per EV charger basis (see paragraphs 30-31, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 4 and 12, Boot fails to teach monitoring end of session actions. Thomas discloses wherein the EV charger scheduling service is configured to enable an administrator to set a duration of a grace period on a per location basis or a per EV charger basis, the grace period representing a duration of time at the end of a scheduled charging session during which power is not provided to a connector of an EV charger, and wherein the EV charger scheduling service is further configured to communicate the commencement of the grace period to the software application of the end-user (see paragraphs 43 and 52). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have supplemented a charging station controller with a state machine that manages EV connection safety and enables automated transition to a charging state. One motivation is to allow a mobile user interface to initiate charging though standards-compliant state machine to ensure safe and reliable charging. Thus, employing the state machine after reservation of a charger ensures safe control of the charging session has disclosed by Thomas in paragraphs 3.
Regarding Dependent claims 5 and 13, Boot discloses sending a notification to the software application of the end-user if the EV charger scheduling service receives a status update from the first EV charger indicating the EV is disconnected from the first EV charger before the end of the period of time associated with the selected time slot, the notification prompting the end-user to confirm an early termination of the EV charging session (see paragraphs 35-36, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 6 and 14, Boot discloses wherein upon receiving an update from the first EV charger indicating a change in status due to the EV of the end-user being disconnected from the connector during an enabled charging session, causing an update to be presented via a user interface on the software application of the end-user associated with the enabled session, the update prompting the end-user to confirm whether the EV charging session should be terminated; and if the end-user confirms termination, updating the data record associated with the first EV charger to reflect that the first EV charger is available for scheduling by other end-users (see paragraph 36, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 7 and 15, Boot discloses wherein the EV charger scheduling service is configured to receive a location code inputted by an end-user, the location code corresponding to a private EV charger, and in response to receiving the location code, the EV charger scheduling service updates a data record associated with the private EV charger to grant access to the end-user via the software application, thereby enabling the end-user to schedule charging sessions at the private EV charger (see paragraph 30, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 8 and 16, Boot discloses updating an end-user account of the end-user by adding points to a stored wallet or credit banking system within the software application when the end-user confirms, via the user interface of the software application of the client computing device, the EV charging session has concluded prior to the end of a grace period, and wherein the software application is further configured to report a change in location of the client computing device, indicating that the EV has departed from the location of the EV charger before the conclusion of the grace period, thereby triggering an addition of points to the end-user's account as a reward for vacating a charging space in a timely manner (see paragraph 36, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Independent claims 17 and 19, Boot discloses A computer-implemented method for scheduling an electric vehicle (EV) charging session by an EV charger scheduling service, the computer-implemented method comprising:
causing a user interface of a software application to be presented on a display of a client computing device, the user interface presenting a plurality of time slots, each time slot indicating a period of time during which EV charging is available (see paragraphs 20-23 and 40-44, discloses a customer computing device 103 with client module 152 via internet browser or software application. Further describes a web portal interface for accessing the service provider to make a reservation based on available time slots. In addition, he discloses determining if a selected charging station is available for at least a portion of the requested time frame. The system identifies charging stations available during specific time periods);
receiving over a network and from the software application an indication of a selected time slot for the EV charging session (see paragraphs 19 and 45, discloses that a reservation request can be received from the customer and identifies a time slot to be reserved at a charging station. Further describing communication over network 110 between customer computing device and service provider computer);
in response to detecting the selection of a time slot, presenting a user interface that displays a user interface element for each EV charger available during the period of time associated with the selected time slot, thereby enabling the end-user to view and select from the available EV chargers (see paragraphs 40 and 45, discloses selecting one charging station from available options by specifically identifying which charging station is being selected if a plurality of charging stations were presented for selection, thus the system identifies a specific charging station for the reservation);
detecting selection of a specific EV charger from the presented user interface elements, each associated with an available EV charger during the selected time slot (see paragraphs 40 and 45, discloses selecting one charging station from available options by specifically identifying which charging station is being selected if a plurality of charging stations were presented for selection, thus the system identifies a specific charging station for the reservation);
updating a data record associated with the selected specific EV charger to reflect that the EV charger has been reserved for the end-user during the period of time indicated by the selected time slot (see paragraphs 15, 17 and 24, discloses reserving a time slot at the station such that other users besides the reserving customer is prevented from utilizing or accessing the charging station during the reserved time slot. Further teaching database 182 that stores reservation and availability information for the one or more charging stations, thus handling updating of reservation records); Boot fails to teach automatic detection by the charger that a vehicle is physically connected and communicating this status to the scheduling service.
Thomas discloses:
during the period of time indicated by the selected time slot: receiving over a network an indication from the selected specific EV charger that an EV is connected to the EV charger via a charge port of the EV (see paragraphs 40 and 50, discloses connection detection and notification);
in response to receiving the indication from the selected specific EV charger that the EV is connected to the EV charger, causing a user interface of the software application to be updated with a user interface control element, which, when selected by the end-user, causes the software application to send an instruction to the EV charger scheduling service, the instruction directing the EV charger scheduling service to activate the selected specific EV charger to provide power to charge the EV (see paragraphs 40-42 and 50, discloses connection detection and notification by updating user display based on the current state. He teaches upon state entry after connection “driving LED bar to indicate that vehicle 22 is connected and updating the display based on the current state. The system waits for “charge signal…from the operator” to which a charge signal is received from the operator); and
in response to receiving the instruction, communicating, over a network, a first command to the selected specific EV charger, the first command instructing the EV charger to provide power to a connector of the EV charger to charge the EV (see paragraph 42, discloses activation command via state machine transitioning into a charging state. Further paragraphs 49-52 teaches that the sate machine automatically detects EV plug-in and readiness). Both Boot and Thomas are from the same field of endeavor regarding EV charging. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have supplemented a charging station controller with a state machine that manages EV connection safety and enables automated transition to a charging state. One motivation is to allow a mobile user interface to initiate charging though standards-compliant state machine to ensure safe and reliable charging. Thus, employing the state machine after reservation of a charger ensures safe control of the charging session has disclosed by Thomas in paragraphs 3.
Regarding Dependent claims 18 and 20, Boot discloses wherein presenting a user interface that displays a user interface element for each EV charger available during the period of time associated with the selected time slot, further comprises: determining the order of the user interface elements presented by: randomly ordering the user interface elements; ordering the user interface elements based on specific characteristics of the EV chargers; or ordering the user interface elements according to matching scores, which are determined by applying a rule-based scoring system that evaluates the extent to which characteristics of each EV charger match the desired end-user preferences and EV characteristics (see paragraphs 30-36, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
It is noted that any citation [[s]] to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. [[See, MPEP 2123]]
Conclusion
/Manglesh M Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665
1/9/2026