DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 07/31/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a plurality of second dielectrics each holding the distal end portion of each of the plurality of conductors to expose a distal end surface of each of the plurality of conductors to an outside and the plurality of second dielectrics are formed such that extending directions of the plurality of second dielectrics and the plurality of conductors change of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lloyd et al. US 10424878.
Regarding claim 1, Lloyd discloses an electrical-connector-equipped cable, comprising: a cable (fig. 4a; 62) including a plurality of conductors (fig. 6; 119) and a first dielectric (fig. 6a; 124) covering the plurality of conductors (119) to expose a distal end portion (fig. 6a; exposed portions of 119) of each of the plurality of conductors (119); and a connector (fig. 4a; 105) including a plurality of second dielectrics (fig. 5c; 148 on both sides) each holding the distal end portion (exposed portions of 119) of each of the plurality of conductors (119) to expose a distal end surface (fig. 5d; 119a) of each of the plurality of conductors (119) to an outside, wherein the plurality of second dielectrics (148) are formed such that extending directions of the plurality of second dielectrics (148, 148 have a horizontal extending part and a vertical extending part) and the plurality of conductors (119, 119 extends downward and then outward) change while maintaining distances (distances between 119) between the plurality of conductors (119).
Regarding claim 4, Lloyd discloses wherein the connector (105) includes an electric conductor (fig. 4; 102) made of a conductive material, and where the plurality of second dielectrics (148) are provided in the electric conductor (102), and the extending directions of the plurality of second dielectrics (148) and the plurality of conductors (119) change in the electric conductor (102).
Regarding claim 5, Lloyd discloses wherein the distal end surface (119a) of each of the plurality of conductors (119) is positioned on the same plane (fig. 5c; plane the front surface of 148 is aligned with) with respect to an end surface (front surface of 148) of each of the second dielectrics (148).
Regarding claim 6, Lloyd discloses wherein the cable (62) includes a first shield member (fig. 6; 110) provided on the first dielectric (124), and the connector (105) includes a second shield member (fig. 6; 134) provided adjacent to the second dielectric (148).
Regarding claim 9, Lloyd discloses wherein the plurality of conductors (119) include at least one ground conductor (fig. 6; 120) configured to be connected to a ground, and a plurality of signal conductors (119) configured to propagate electric signals, wherein the plurality of signal conductors (119) is formed to be bent (119 are bent).
Regarding claim 10, Lloyd discloses wherein the connector (105) further includes a shield member (102) that covers the entire of the plurality of second dielectrics (148).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lloyd et al. US 10424878 in view of Matsuda et al. US 2022/0384998.
Lloyd discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein a relative permittivity of a dielectric material forming the second dielectric is a value from 0.9 to 1.1 with respect to a relative permittivity of a dielectric material forming the first dielectric.
However, Matsuda teaches a relative permittivity of a dielectric material (fig. 6; 980) forming the second dielectric is a value (Par [0075] Ln 4-6; 2-2.6) from 0.9 to 1.1 with respect to a relative permittivity (Par [0056] Ln 6-14; dielectric constant of polyethylene terephthalate resin is 3-3.6) of a dielectric material (polyethylene terephthalate resin) forming the first dielectric (22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a relative permittivity of a dielectric material forming the second dielectric is a value from 0.9 to 1.1 with respect to a relative permittivity of a dielectric material forming the first dielectric as suggested by Matsuda for the benefit of improving electrical characteristics of an electrical signal for optimum signal quality.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lloyd et al. US 10424878 in view of Kojima et al. US 2021/0249803.
Regarding claim 7, Lloyd discloses wherein the plurality of second dielectrics (148) are formed such that extending directions of the plurality conductors (119) are bent.
Lloyd does not disclose the plurality of second dielectrics are formed such that extending directions of the plurality of second dielectrics are bent.
However, Kojima teaches the plurality of second dielectrics (fig. 7; 153, 120) are formed such that extending directions (extending directions of 153 and 120) of the plurality of second dielectrics (153, 120) are bent (120 is bent from 153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of second dielectrics are formed such that extending directions of the plurality of second dielectrics are bent as suggested by Kojima for the benefit of improving the electrical and mechanical connections between a cable and connector.
Regarding claim 8, Lloyd and Kojima disclose (Kojima) wherein an angle (angle between 120 and 153) at which the plurality of second dielectrics (153, 120) are bent is between an undisclosed range.
Lloyd and Kojima do not disclose the angle being between 90 degrees and 150 degrees.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the angle being between 90 degrees and 150 degrees since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, and also for the benefit of improving the electrical and mechanical connections between a cable and connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest wherein each of the plurality of second dielectrics has a tubular shape in which one conductor of the plurality of conductors is disposed inside, and a space is formed between the plurality of second dielectrics combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims from which claim 3 depends on.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831