DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 5 and 15 are cancelled. Claims 21-22 are new. Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-22 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 9/9/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 11-13, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
Claims 1 and 11 are amended as follows:
“A method, comprising:
obtaining, by a device, node information regarding a plurality of nodes in a computer network, wherein the plurality of nodes comprises a plurality of mobile endpoints and the node information comprises historical data representing activity of the plurality of mobile endpoints at a plurality of locations in the computer network over time;
identifying, by the device, a topology of the computer network;
determining, by the device, an optimal agent deployment plan for probing agents in the computer network based on the node information and the topology of the computer network, wherein determining the optimal agent deployment plan comprises selecting, from the plurality of mobile endpoints and based on the historical data, a set of mobile endpoints for inclusion in a selected set of nodes for deployment of the probing agents to provide testing coverage at the plurality of locations; and
causing, by the device, the probing agents to be deployed to [[a]] the selected set of nodes from the plurality of nodes in accordance with the optimal agent deployment plan, wherein the selected set of nodes comprises the set of mobile endpoints. (Emphasis added)
On page 7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues Banka does not disclose the amended features recited in the independent claims. Applicant also argues other cited prior art fails to teach the above cited features. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. Therefore, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “optimal” in claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17, 19 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “optimal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite quality, criteria or condition, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Other dependent claims 2, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 18, 21 and 22 are indefinite because of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 11-13, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunsmore et al. (US 2022/0061059), hereinafter Dunsmore in view of Banka (US 2022/016663).
As for claim 1, Dunsmore teaches a method (paragraph [0116] describes a method performed in a service provider network for distributed network connectivity monitoring of provider network edge location resources from cellular networks), comprising:
obtaining, by a device, node information regarding a plurality of nodes in a computer network (paragraph [0119] describes the method includes obtaining a plurality of network metrics generated by electronic devices), wherein the plurality of nodes comprises a plurality of mobile endpoints (paragraphs [0019] and [0108] describes test devices and a test device is a mobile device. Note: the method implements multiple test devices not a single test device, thus the test devices are construed as mobile devices according to the disclosure) and the node information comprises historical data representing activity of the plurality of mobile endpoints at a plurality of locations in the computer network over time (paragraph [0017] and [0019] describes various network parameters are measured from various physical locations when the test device is a mobile device);
determining, by the device, an optimal agent deployment plan for probing agents in the computer network based on the node information (paragraphs [0017] and [0031] describe a monitoring service configures agents executed by various test devices. The agents measures and generates telemetry/network metrics from the tests), wherein determining the optimal agent deployment plan comprises selecting, from the plurality of mobile endpoints, a set of mobile endpoints for inclusion in a selected set of nodes for deployment of the probing agents to provide testing coverage at the plurality of locations (paragraph [0033] describes an agent determines it has entered a particular location, sends this information to a monitoring service; paragraphs [0108] and [0117]-[0120] describe one or more candidate electronic devices are selected for use in measuring network metrics involving resources hosted at one or more locations. Test configuration is transmitted to each of the electronic devices then the network metrics generated by the electronic devices via performing the test commands are obtained. The network metrics comprises latency. The first measured latency indicates the latency between the first electronic device and the one resource via a first cellular communications network; and a second network metric of the plurality of network metrics comprises a second measured latency between the first electronic device and the one resource via a second cellular communications network); and
causing, by the device, the probing agents to be deployed to the selected set of nodes from the plurality of nodes in accordance with the optimal agent deployment plan (paragraphs [0017] and [0028]-[0031] describe a monitoring service configures agents executed by various test devices with commands, causing the agent to utilize different networks to analyze network connectivity characteristics between the test devices and other resources. The monitoring service provides APIs allowing a client to publish a “test suite” of tests to the agents to be performed) , wherein the selected set of nodes comprises the set of mobile endpoints (Dunsmore: paragraphs [0108] and [0117] describe candidate electronic devices includes a selected one or more electronic devices).
Dunsmore fails to teach
identifying, by the device, a topology of the computer network;
determining, by the device, an optimal agent deployment plan for probing agents in the computer network based on the node information and the topology of the computer network.
Banka discloses
identifying, by the device, a topology of the computer network (paragraphs [0035] and [0040] describe an SDN controller uses nodes’ characteristics (i.e. type) to configure appropriate probe packet type. The SDN controller constructs a topological representation for each tenant of a network system. The topological representation may take any form that provides an indication of each of the node devices of a particular tenant);
determining, by the device, an optimal agent deployment plan for probing agents in the computer network based on the node information and the topology of the computer network (paragraphs [0035]-[0037] describe depending on the type of node, the SDN controller configures the appropriate probe packet type for the node and the SDN controller configures an end host in a network system to send probes using different types of protocols to measure QoE metrics of the end-to-end path between the end hosts. The network system includes multiple tenants, each tenant may have different topologies, each with different requirements which require end host devices to use respective protocol to send probes).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 2, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the probing agents are configured to conduct tests in the computer network by sending probe packets via paths in the computer network (Dunsmore: paragraph [0025] describes a command is for performing a “traceroute”, determining a “path” that packets take from one entity to another; Banka: paragraph [0046] describes the selected nodes configured as probe generators send probes on various paths).
As for claim 3, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the device uses a machine learning model to determine the optimal agent deployment plan (Banka: paragraphs [0041] and [0044] describe the SDN controller determines an optimal probe assignment by applying greedy algorithm-based heuristic to the topological representation to compute the probe paths and to select nodes within the paths to send probe packets. The SDN controller uses a probe intent model to configure probe generators).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 6, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the selected set of nodes comprise one or more edge routers (Banka: paragraphs [0023], [0033] and [0046] describes a network device at an edge of an access network or a datacenter network can output probe packets; Dunsmore: paragraphs [0078] and [0090] describe routers).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 7, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the optimal agent deployment plan seeks to maximize testing coverage by the probing agents (Banka: paragraphs [0040] describes the SDN controller constructs, for a network system that includes a plurality of different node devices, a topological representation for each tenant of the network system. The topological representation provides an indication of each of the node devices of a particular tenant and an indication of each link of a plurality of links connected to the node devices) and seeks to minimize a count of the probing agents deployed to the computer network (Banka: paragraph [0040]-[0041] describe the SDN controller implements edge-based routing to measure QoE metrics in the network while limiting the number of probes injected into the system).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 11, Dunsmore teaches an apparatus (Fig. 14, paragraph [0149] describes a computer system), comprising:
one or more network interfaces (Fig. 14, Network Interfaces 1440; paragraph [0153]-[0154] describe the network interfaces);
a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces and configured to execute one or more processes (Fig. 14, processor 1410; paragraph [0153] describes a processor; paragraphs [0151]-[0153] describe the processor capable of executing instructions to perform functions); and
a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor, the process when executed configured to (Fig. 14, System memory 1420; paragraph [0151]-[0152] describe the processor executes instructions stored in the system memory):
obtain node information regarding a plurality of nodes in a computer network (paragraph [0119] describes the method includes obtaining a plurality of network metrics generated by electronic devices), wherein the plurality of nodes comprises a plurality of mobile endpoints (paragraphs [0019] and [0108] describes test devices and a test device is a mobile device. Note: the method implements multiple test devices not a single test device, thus the test devices are construed as mobile devices according to the disclosure) and the node information comprises historical data representing activity of the plurality of mobile endpoints at a plurality of locations in the computer network over time (paragraph [0017] and [0019] describes various network parameters are measured from various physical locations when the test device is a mobile device);
determine an optimal agent deployment plan for probing agents in the computer network based on the node information (paragraphs [0017] and [0031] describe a monitoring service configures agents executed by various test devices. The agents measures and generates telemetry/network metrics from the tests), wherein determining the optimal agent deployment plan comprises selecting, from the plurality of mobile endpoints and based on the historical data, a set of mobile endpoints for inclusion in a selected set of nodes for deployment of the probing agents to provide testing coverage at the plurality of locations (paragraph [0033] describes an agent determines it has entered a particular location, sends this information to a monitoring service; paragraphs [0117]-[0120] describe one or more candidate electronic devices are selected for use in measuring network metrics involving resources hosted at one or more locations. Test configuration is transmitted to each of the electronic devices then the network metrics generated by the electronic devices via performing the test commands are obtained. The network metrics comprises latency. The first measured latency indicates the latency between the first electronic device and the one resource via a first cellular communications network; and a second network metric of the plurality of network metrics comprises a second measured latency between the first electronic device and the one resource via a second cellular communications network); and
cause the probing agents to be deployed to the selected set of nodes from the plurality of nodes in accordance with the optimal agent deployment plan (paragraphs [0017] and [0028]-[0031] describe a monitoring service configures agents executed by various test devices with commands, causing the agent to utilize different networks to analyze network connectivity characteristics between the test devices and other resources. The monitoring service provides APIs allowing a client to publish a “test suite” of tests to the agents to be performed) , wherein the selected set of nodes comprises the set of mobile endpoints (paragraphs [0108] and [0117] describe candidate electronic devices includes a selected one or more electronic devices).
Dunsmore fails to teach
identify a topology of the computer network;
determine an optimal agent deployment plan for probing agents in the computer network based on the node information and the topology.
Banka discloses
identify a topology of the computer network (paragraphs [0035] and [0040] describe an SDN controller uses nodes’ characteristics (i.e. type) to configure appropriate probe packet type. The SDN controller constructs a topological representation for each tenant of a network system. The topological representation may take any form that provides an indication of each of the node devices of a particular tenant);
determine an optimal agent deployment plan for probing agents in the computer network based on the node information and the topology of the computer network (paragraphs [0035]-[0037] describe depending on the type of node, the SDN controller configures the appropriate probe packet type for the node and the SDN controller configures an end host in a network system to send probes using different types of protocols to measure QoE metrics of the end-to-end path between the end hosts. The network system includes multiple tenants, each tenant may have different topologies, each with different requirements which require end host devices to use respective protocol to send probes).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 12, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the probing agents are configured to conduct tests in the computer network by sending probe packets via paths in the computer network (Dunsmore: paragraph [0025] describes a command is for performing a “traceroute”, determining a “path” that packets take from one entity to another; Banka: paragraph [0046] describes the selected nodes configured as probe generators send probes on various paths).
As for claim 13, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the apparatus uses a machine learning model to determine the optimal agent deployment plan (Banka: paragraphs [0041] and [0044] describe the SDN controller determines an optimal probe assignment by applying greedy algorithm-based heuristic to the topological representation to compute the probe paths and to select nodes within the paths to send probe packets. The SDN controller uses a probe intent model to configure probe generators).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 16, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the selected set of nodes comprise one or more edge routers (Banka: paragraphs [0023], [0033] and [0046] describes a network device at an edge of an access network or a datacenter network can output probe packets; Dunsmore: paragraphs [0078] and [0090] describe routers).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 17, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the optimal agent deployment plan seeks to maximize testing coverage by the probing agents (Banka: paragraphs [0040] describes the SDN controller constructs, for a network system that includes a plurality of different node devices, a topological representation for each tenant of the network system. The topological representation provides an indication of each of the node devices of a particular tenant and an indication of each link of a plurality of links connected to the node devices) and seeks to minimize a count of the probing agents deployed to the computer network (Banka: paragraph [0040]-[0041] describe the SDN controller implements edge-based routing to measure QoE metrics in the network while limiting the number of probes injected into the system).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Banka for identifying topology of a network. The teachings of Banka, when implemented in the Dunsmore system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Banka in the Dunsmore system in order to enhance a probing plan such as by pruning the topology to cease some of the probing processes that a controller determines to be redundant, thereby reducing the overall traffic in a network (Banka: paragraph [0004]).
As for claim 20, the claim lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions (Banka: paragraph [0065] describes memory that stores instructions to cause processors to perform functions) that cause a device to execute a process carry out the steps of rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 20.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunsmore (US 2022/0061059) in view of Banka (US 2022/0166663) further in view of Shenoy et al. (US 2020/0296029), hereinafter Shenoy.
As for claim 4, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka fails to teach wherein an optimal agent deployment plan ensures that two or more nodes in a selected set of nodes do not conduct redundant testing of a portion of a computer network.
Shenoy discloses
wherein an optimal agent deployment plan ensures that two or more nodes in a selected set of nodes do not conduct redundant testing of a portion of a computer network (paragraphs [0103]-[0104] describe an SDN controller prunes the probes to avoid duplicates and redundancy (e.g. device on the reverse path need not probe again)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Shenoy for avoiding running duplicate probe between nodes. The teachings of Shenoy, when implemented in the Dunsmore and Banka system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce probing traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shenoy in the Dunsmore and Banka system in order to preserve processing resources spending to perform probing of nodes in a network system and to limit the number of probes injected into the system.
As for claim 14, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka fails to teach wherein an optimal agent deployment plan ensures that two or more nodes in a selected set of nodes do not conduct redundant testing of a portion of a computer network.
Shenoy discloses
wherein an optimal agent deployment plan ensures that two or more nodes in a selected set of nodes do not conduct redundant testing of a portion of a computer network (paragraphs [0103]-[0104] describe an SDN controller prunes the probes to avoid duplicates and redundancy (e.g. device on the reverse path need not probe again)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Shenoy for avoiding running duplicate probe between nodes. The teachings of Shenoy, when implemented in the Dunsmore and Banka system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce probing traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shenoy in the Dunsmore and Banka system in order to preserve processing resources spending to perform probing of nodes in a network system and to limit the number of probes injected into the system.
Claims 9, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunsmore (US 2022/0061059) in view of Banka (US 2022/0166663) further in view of Pai et al. (US 2025/0150397), hereinafter Pai.
As for claim 9, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the device generates the optimal agent deployment plan according to a policy (paragraph [0037] describes the SDN controller implements a distributed probe selection algorithm to generate an optimized probing plan based on per tenant policy).
The combined system of Dunsmore and Banka fails to teach wherein a policy is set via a user interface.
Pai discloses
wherein a policy is set via a user interface (paragraph [0031] describes administrators use a controller device to specify certain operational characteristics, operational policy, device accessibility, traffic engineering, QoS, etc.; paragraphs [0041]-[0042] describe a collector device executes a user interface module to receive input from and/or provide output to a user interface).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Pai for implementing a user interface. The teachings of Pai, when implemented in the Dunsmore and Banka system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to enforce user-defined policy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pai in the Dunsmore and Banka system in order to enable users/administrators to provide requirements related to provision of probes.
As for claim 10, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka fails to teach wherein a node information is indicative of resources available at each of a plurality of nodes or traffic loads of each of a plurality of nodes.
Pai discloses
wherein a node information is indicative of resources available at each of a plurality of nodes or traffic loads of each of a plurality of nodes (paragraphs [0062]-[0065] describe a collector device uses overall load on an edge device including RTT requirements to select an edge device out of multiple edge devices).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Pai for collecting operational characteristics of edge devices. The teachings of Pai, when implemented in the Dunsmore and Banka system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art evaluate capabilities of an edge node, e.g. transmission rate, bandwidth availability. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pai in the Dunsmore and Banka system in order to dynamically deployed edge devices based on need.
As for claim 19, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the apparatus generates the optimal agent deployment plan according to a policy (Banka: paragraph [0037] describes the SDN controller implements a distributed probe selection algorithm to generate an optimized probing plan based on per tenant policy).
The combined system of Dunsmore and Banka fails to teach wherein a policy is set via a user interface.
Pai discloses
wherein a policy is set via a user interface (paragraph [0031] describes administrators use a controller device to specify certain operational characteristics, operational policy, device accessibility, traffic engineering, QoS, etc.; paragraphs [0041]-[0042] describe a collector device executes a user interface module to receive input from and/or provide output to a user interface).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Pai for implementing a user interface. The teachings of Pai, when implemented in the Dunsmore and Banka system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to enforce user-defined policy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Pai in the Dunsmore and Banka system in order to enable users/administrators to provide requirements related to provision of probes.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunsmore (US 2022/0061059) in view of Banka (US 2022/0166663) further in view of Kumar et al. (US 10,958,555), hereinafter Kumar.
As for claim 8, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein causing the probing agents to be deployed comprises: configuring the probing agents to probe paths of the computer network (Banka: paragraph [0046] describes the selected nodes configured as probe generators send probes on various paths; paragraph [0038] describes the probing plan specifies the interval at which to send probes).
The combined system of Dunsmore and Banka fails to teach where probe action is performed at specified times.
Kumar discloses
where probe action is performed at specified times (col. 16, lines 19-21 describe an SDN WAN appliance generates probes at a constant time interval. For example, every 100 ms, the SDN-WAN interval generates one probe).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kumar for sending probing signals periodically. The teachings of Kumar, when implemented in the Dunsmore and Banka system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kumar in the Dunsmore and Banka system in order to adjust the synthetic probing process based on the system state and application traffic and preserve network bandwidth and obtain accurate round trip time and jitter values.
As for claim 18, the combined system of Dunsmore and Banka teaches wherein the apparatus causes the probing agents to be deployed comprises: configuring the probing agents to probe paths of the computer network (Banka: paragraph [0046] describes the selected nodes configured as probe generators send probes on various paths; paragraph [0038] describes the probing plan specifies the interval at which to send probes).
The combined system of Dunsmore and Banka fails to teach where probe action is performed at specified times.
Kumar discloses
where probe action is performed at specified times (col. 16, lines 19-21 describe an SDN WAN appliance generates probes at a constant time interval. For example, every 100 ms, the SDN-WAN interval generates one probe).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Kumar for sending probing signals periodically. The teachings of Kumar, when implemented in the Dunsmore and Banka system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to generate probes to match the real application traffic. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kumar in the Dunsmore and Banka system in order to adjust the synthetic probing process based on the system state and application traffic and preserve network bandwidth and obtain accurate round trip time and jitter values.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 21, the claim recites the limitations “The method as in claim 1, wherein selecting the set of mobile endpoints comprises:
estimating, based on historical availability patterns and roaming histories of the plurality of mobile endpoints represented by the historical data, testing coverage provided by deployment of a probing agent to each of at least some of the plurality of mobile endpoints; and
selecting the set of mobile endpoints based on the estimated testing coverage.
As for claim 22, the claim recites the limitations “The method as in claim 1, further comprising:
after the probing agents are deployed to the selected set of nodes, dynamically assigning tests among the probing agents deployed to the set of mobile endpoints based on real-time locations and availability of the set of mobile endpoints.”
Dunsmore discloses a central monitoring service sends test instructions to software agents running on test devices. Those devices use cellular networks to run connectivity tests such as ping, traceroute, download, or upload tests against target resources. The targets can be in a cloud region, a local zone, or an edge location inside a communications service provider network. The test devices can be mobile, so the tests can reflect real-world conditions in different places and at different times. Dunsmore fails to teach “dynamically assigning tests among the probing agents deployed to the set of mobile endpoints based on real-time locations and availability of the set of mobile endpoints.”
Claims 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the indefinite issue was resolved.
Conclusions
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vuolteenaho et al. (US 2017/0279681) teach methods for distributed testing of network configurations for zero-rating
Chu et al. (US 2007/0004394) teach assessing wireless network quality
Agarwal et al. (US 12,238,539) teach intelligent monitoring systems and methods for wi-fi metric-based resolutions for cloud-based wi-fi networks.
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459