DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “alternating orientation, antiparallel, and parallel” of claims 36-37, 40-41 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-37, 38-39, 40-41, 44, 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US Patent No. 7174024).
Regarding claims 30, 35, 38-39, 49, Suzuki teaches an acoustic unit for a sound transducer unit (fig. 11, speaker embodiment) for generating and/or detecting sound waves, the acoustic unit comprising: a diaphragm (26, membrane); and a coil arrangement coupled to the diaphragm, the coil arrangement (L11-L38, coils) having at least one electrical conductor, wherein the at least one electrical conductor has conductor sections (fig. 12, coil sections) at least in a first conductor layer and a second conductor layer of the at least one electrical conductor, wherein: the first and second conductor layers are arranged one above the other (as shown by fig. 12); and at least one conductor section of the first conductor layer shares an overlap portion (fig. 13; wherein the dotted line of one section extends to another section for current flow; for illustration see fig. 11 which shows a representation of different sections of the coil connected that would allow current flow) with at least one conductor section of the second conductor layer in which the at least one conductor sections of the first and second conductor layers overlap (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 31, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein:the conductor sections overlap in a transverse direction of the coil arrangement and/or in longitudinal direction of the coil arrangement, and/or the overlap portion extends in the transverse direction and/or in the longitudinal direction of the coil arrangement (fig. 11; as shown the sections are formed in transverse and longitudinal directions based on the Applications own depiction in fig. 1, items 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 32, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein at least two of the conductor sections arranged in at least one of the first conductor layer or the second conductor layer together form a conductor section group (fig. 12; where sections are grouped).
Regarding claim 33, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 32, wherein: a conductor section spacing and/or a conductor group spacing between two adjacent conductor sections and/or conductor section groups is less than 1 mm; and/or the conductor section spacing and/or the conductor group spacing is equal to or less than a magnet element width of a magnet element of the sound transducer unit (fig. 14, for example coil, L38, is shown less than or equal to magnet, m38).
Regarding claim 34, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 32, wherein: a conductor section width of the conductor sections and/or a conductor group width of the conductor section group in a transverse direction of the coil arrangement is equal to or greater than an intended magnet element spacing between two magnet elements of the sound transducer unit; and/or a width of an open area in the transverse direction between two magnet elements of the sound transducer unit that are arranged directly consecutively in the transverse direction.
Regarding claim 36, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein the at least one electrical conductor is arranged such that electric current flowing therein is conductible alternatingly in the first and second conductor layers (fig. 13; it is depicted the current flow between sections alternatively).
Regarding claim 37, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein multiple conductor sections and/or conductor section groups are adjacently arranged in at least one of the first conductor layer or the second conductor layer (fig. 12; wherein it is shown sections and/or groups are adjacently arranged), and the at least one electrical conductor is arranged such that a current direction is alternatingly oriented in opposite directions in the adjacently arranged conductor sections and/or conductor section groups (fig. 13; it is depicted the current flow between sections alternatively).
Regarding claim 40, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein the conductor sections of at least one of the first conductor layer or the second conduct layer form a conductor section group, and the at least one electrical conductor is arranged such that electric currents flowing in the conductor sections of the conductor section group are oriented in parallel with one another and/or in the same direction (partial of fig. 12; the two dots shown in the picture below represent the positive and negative terminals. One terminal connects the bottom of the G4-G6 and the other terminal connects the top of G4-G6, so that the sets are oriented parallel).
Regarding claim 41, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein the at least one electrical conductor is arranged such that electric currents of the conductor sections of two adjacent conductor section groups are oriented antiparallel to each other and/or in opposite directions (fig. 12; the two dots shown in the picture below represent the positive and negative terminals. One terminal connects the bottom of the G4-G6 and the other terminal connects the top of G4-G6, so that, for example, G3 is antiparallel to G6).
Regarding claim 44, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein the at least one electrical conductor and/or the conductor sections have symmetry with respect to a mirror plane and/or a center of symmetry (fig. 11; the electrical coil pattern is symmetrical).
Regarding claim 47, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein: the coil arrangement is connected to the diaphragm and/or the at least one electrical conductor (L11-L38, coil) is formed with the diaphragm (26, vibrating membrane); and/or the coil arrangement is embedded into the diaphragm and/or is surrounded by the diaphragm material.
Regarding claim 48, Suzuki teaches a sound transducer unit (embodiment 2, fig. 11, acoustic device) for generating and/or detecting sound waves, the sound transducer unit comprising: at least one magnet unit (M11-M38, magnet) including multiple magnet elements; and at least one acoustic unit configured in accordance with claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki.
Regarding claim 45, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein: the at least one electrical conductor is printed using a 3D printing process; and/or the coil arrangement is formed by using a lithography process.
Suzuki fails to teach the process used for the electrical conductor. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is extremely well-known for coil windings to be formed on membrane using 3D printing and/or lithography for fabricating repeating patterns.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known process in the invention would have yielded a predictable result.
Regarding claim 46, Suzuki teaches the acoustic unit of claim 30, wherein: the coil arrangement is resistant to deformation; and/or the coil arrangement and/or at least one of the first conductor layer or the second conductor layer is/are formed from silicon substrate.
Suzuki fails to teach the coil and/or conductor layer formed from silicon substrate. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known for coil to be formed from silicon material to benefit from the performance, stability and/or functionality of the material.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known material in the invention would have yielded a predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 42-43 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
For general questions such as application status, Monday–Friday, 8:30AM -5:00PM, inquiry to:
Local: 571-272-1000
Toll-Free: 800-786-9199
TTY: 800-877-8339
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(703) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for informal or draft communications, please label "Proposed" or "Draft" when submitting an informal amendment.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
June 13, 2026
/PHYLESHA DABNEY/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694