DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “comprises”, “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagayama et (JP 2003-203716). Regarding Claim 1, Nagayama discloses a connector assembly configured to be connected to a board (22), wherein: the board extends along a horizontal plane (Fig. 13b), the board being formed with two passing holes (22i), each of the passing holes passing through the board in an up-down direction (Fig. 13b) perpendicular to the horizontal plane, the board having an upper surface (Fig. 13b) which is formed with a signal line (22a), the signal line extending in a front-rear direction perpendicular to the up-down direction and being located between the two passing holes in a lateral direction (Fig. 13b) perpendicular to both the up-down direction and the front-rear direction; the connector assembly comprises a coaxial connector (26), a fixed member (27) and two fixing members (20a, 20b); the coaxial connector is configured to be attached to a front end of a coaxial cable (not shown); the coaxial connector comprises an outer terminal (26z), a center terminal (26a) and an insulation member (26b); the insulation member insulates the outer terminal and the center terminal from each other; the outer terminal has an end surface (Fig. 13c) and two projecting portions (26c, 26d); the two projecting portions are apart from each other in the lateral direction and project forward from the end surface; the center terminal has a contact portion (Fig. 13c); the contact portion is located between the two projecting portions in the lateral direction and extends forward beyond the end surface; the fixed member has a pressed portion (27m); the fixed member is located below the board under a connected state where the connector assembly is connected to the board; and under the connected state, the two fixing members are fixed to the two projecting portions of the outer terminal through the two passing holes of the board, respectively, while pressing the pressed portion of the fixed member against a lower surface (Fig. 13c) of a part of the board on which the signal line is formed, thereby the contact portion of the center terminal being pressed against and being brought into contact with the signal line of the board.
Regarding Claim 2, Nagayama discloses the fixed member being formed with two fixing holes (27a, 27b); each of the fixing holes passes through the fixed member in the up-down direction; the pressed portion is located between the two fixing holes in the lateral direction; each of the fixing members is a screw (20a, 20b); each of the projection portions is formed with a screw hole (Fig. 13a); and each of the fixing members is screwed into the screw hole through the fixing hole of the fixed member and the passing hole of the board under the connected state.
Regarding Claim 3, Nagayama discloses the fixed member and the two fixing members being integrally formed with each other; each of the fixing members is a press-fit portion (27); each of the projecting portions is formed with a press-fit hole (26c, 26d); and each of the fixing members is press-fit into the press-fit hole through the passing hole of the board under the connected state.
Regarding Claim 4, Nagayama discloses the pressed portion protruding upward (Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 5, Nagayama discloses the contact portion of the center terminal having a fan shape (Fig. 13c) in a plane perpendicular to the front-rear direction.
Regarding Claim 6, Nagayama discloses the contact portion of the center terminal extending forward and downward (Fig. 13c) under a pre-connected state where the connector assembly is not yet connected to the board.
Regarding Claim 7, Nagayama discloses a structure (Figs. 11 and 13) comprising the connector assembly and the board, wherein: the board is located between the projecting portions and the fixed member in the up-down direction; and the signal line of the board is pressed by the fixed member from below and is pressed against the contact portion of the center terminal.
Regarding Claim 8, Nagayama discloses the board being formed with two slits (22h, 22i); the two slits are apart from each other in the lateral direction; each of the slits extends forward from a rear end (Fig. 13c) of the board; the signal line is located between the two slits in the lateral direction and extends in the front-rear direction; and the pressed portion of the fixed member is pressed against a part (Fig. 13c) of the board which corresponds to the signal line in the front-rear direction.
Regarding the limitation “configured to be connected to a flexible board”, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex. parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses coaxial assemblies, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having coaxial connectors, boards, terminals and fixing members.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831