DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christensen et al (U.S. Patent No. 6,425,548), hereinafter “Christensen”.
With respect to Claim 1, Christensen, Figures 1-5, teaches a system for installing ribbon material in a printer, comprising:
a spindle 10 provided in the form of a spindle arm 30,50 and a key 54 associated with the spindle arm 30,50; and
a ribbon cartridge 100 having a keyway 112 arranged to align with the key 54 of the spindle arm 30,50 and a ribbon roll including a supply of ribbon material (See Column 1, lines 14-16),
wherein engagement between the key 54 and the keyway 112 positions the ribbon cartridge on the spindle arm 30,50 in a correct orientation.
With respect to Claim 2, Christensen further teaches wherein engagement between the key 54 and the keyway 112 centers the ribbon cartridge with respect to the spindle arm 30,50.
With respect to Claim 3, Christensen further teaches wherein the ribbon material is imparted with one of a first width or a second width, wherein the first width is less than the second width.
With respect to Claim 4, Christensen further teaches wherein engagement between the key and the keyway centers the ribbon cartridge with respect to the printer.
With respect to Claim 6, Christensen further teaches the ribbon cartridge having a first end and a second end opposing the first end, wherein the keyway is positioned at the first end and the first end must be installed on the spindle before the second end in order for the keyway to engage the key and position the ribbon cartridge in the correct orientation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to Claims 1-4 and 6 above, and further in view of Riegner, III et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,038,937), hereinafter “Riegner”.
With respect to Claim 7, Christensen is advanced above. Christensen further teaches the ribbon cartridge further comprising a support member 102 but does not teach an end cap releasably couplable to the support member.
However, Riegner, Figures 1-3, teaches and end cap 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Christensen with an end cap, as taught by Riegner, for the purpose of maintaining the ribbon confined on the support.
With respect to Claim 18, Christensen, Figures 1-5, teaches a method of installing a ribbon cartridge on a spindle of a printer, comprising the steps of:
providing a ribbon cartridge comprising:
a support element positioned at a first end of the ribbon cartridge, the support element including a first opening and a keyway having an end wall; and
aligning the ribbon cartridge with the spindle such that the first end of the ribbon cartridge is positioned adjacent to the spindle;
mounting the ribbon cartridge onto the spindle such that the spindle extends through the first opening before extending through the second opening; and
moving the ribbon cartridge along the spindle until the end wall of the keyway is engaged by a key positioned on the spindle.
Christensen does not teach an end cap positioned at a second end of the ribbon cartridge opposing the first end, the end cap having a second opening.
However, Riegner, Figures 1-3, teaches and end cap 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Christensen with an end cap, as taught by Riegner, for the purpose of maintaining the ribbon confined on the support.
With respect to Claim 19, Christensen further teaches wherein providing a ribbon cartridge, further comprises the steps of: providing a ribbon cartridge having a first width at a first time; and providing a ribbon cartridge having a second width at a second time, wherein the first width is different than the second width, and wherein the first time is different from the second time.
With respect to Claim 20, Christensen further teaches wherein engagement between the end wall of the keyway and the key centers the ribbon cartridge with respect to the spindle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 5 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the system set forth including wherein the supply of ribbon material is wound about a core of the ribbon roll, the spindle further comprising one or more leaf springs for inhibiting the ribbon roll from moving out of alignment with respect to the spindle arm during operation of the printer.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein the supply of ribbon material is wound about a core of the ribbon roll, the spindle further comprising one or more leaf springs for inhibiting the ribbon roll from moving out of alignment with respect to the spindle arm during operation of the printer as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 8 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the system set forth including a transmission member, and the ribbon cartridge further comprising a smart cell capable of transmitting an electrical signal to the printer via the transmission member, wherein the printer detects whether the ribbon cartridge is intended for use with the spindle based on the electrical signal transmitted by the smart cell.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest a transmission member, and the ribbon cartridge further comprising a smart cell capable of transmitting an electrical signal to the printer via the transmission member, wherein the printer detects whether the ribbon cartridge is intended for use with the spindle based on the electrical signal transmitted by the smart cell as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the system set forth including one or more fail-safe features and the ribbon cartridge further comprising one or more fail-safe members, wherein the fail-safe members are configured to engage the fail-safe features and inhibit installation of the ribbon cartridge with an incorrect orientation relative to the spindle.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest one or more fail-safe features and the ribbon cartridge further comprising one or more fail-safe members, wherein the fail-safe members are configured to engage the fail-safe features and inhibit installation of the ribbon cartridge with an incorrect orientation relative to the spindle as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Claims 10-17 are allowed.
Claims 10-17 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the ribbon cartridge set forth including a ribbon cartridge for installation on a spindle of a printer, comprising: a supply of ribbon material; and a ribbon holder for holding the supply of ribbon material, the ribbon holder including: a support member having a flange, a first opening extending through the flange, and a first fail-safe member disposed about the first opening; and an end cap releasably couplable to the support member, the end cap including a second opening extending therethrough and a second fail-safe member disposed about the second opening, wherein the first fail-safe member and the second fail-safe member are configured to engage at least a portion of the spindle when the ribbon cartridge is being installed in an incorrect orientation, and wherein engagement between the spindle and the first fail-safe member or the second fail-safe member inhibits movement of the ribbon cartridge along the spindle.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest a ribbon cartridge for installation on a spindle of a printer, comprising: a supply of ribbon material; and a ribbon holder for holding the supply of ribbon material, the ribbon holder including: a support member having a flange, a first opening extending through the flange, and a first fail-safe member disposed about the first opening; and an end cap releasably couplable to the support member, the end cap including a second opening extending therethrough and a second fail-safe member disposed about the second opening, wherein the first fail-safe member and the second fail-safe member are configured to engage at least a portion of the spindle when the ribbon cartridge is being installed in an incorrect orientation, and wherein engagement between the spindle and the first fail-safe member or the second fail-safe member inhibits movement of the ribbon cartridge along the spindle as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the ribbon cartridge in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654