Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15, 17, 18 and 24 have been cancelled.
Claims 16, and 19-23 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Substitution of the phrase “are present in an amount of” for “total” is deemed appropriate so that the claim is in compliance with US Patent Practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2919/0023215 to Huelsewede et al. (hereinafter “Huelsewede”) in view of US 2009/0270545 to Sahnoune et al. (hereinafter “Sahnoune”).
As to claims 1, 4 and 5, Huelsewede discloses a laminate airbag cover comprising a foam layer and a single cover layer overlying and operably bonded to the foam layer (abstract, and paragraph 24). The cover layer is obtained from a composition comprising a thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) and a polar polymer (paragraph 17).
Huelsewede does not explicitly disclose the composition for the cover layer comprising up to 15 wt% of random copolymer polypropylene (rPP), 5-20 wt% of homopolymer polypropylene (hPP), 25-45 wt% of TPV, 25-50 wt% of polyolefin elastomer, and up to 10 wt% of one or more mineral fillers.
Sahnoune discloses an airbag cover comprising a film layer obtained from a composition comprising a blend of a soft thermoplastic polymer blend (STPB), a propylene dominated component (PDC) and a tertiary polymer component (TPC) (paragraph 122). The film layer is extrudable or calenderable, and has a shore A hardness according to ASTM D22240 within the claimed range (paragraph 116; and tables 5 ad 6).
The STPB is a combination of a thermoplastic polyolefin (TPO) and a thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) (paragraphs 24 and 42) wherein the TPV is present in a higher amount than the TPO (paragraph 20).
Sahnoune discloses that the TPV includes polypropylene as a thermoplastic phase and ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) as an elastomer phase (paragraphs 21 and 22).
Sahnoune discloses that the TPO is a TPO/TPE product commercially available under the tradename SP-3810 from Spartech Polycom (paragraph 42), corresponding to the claimed olefin elastomer. Spartech PP SP-3810 technical data sheet is further provided to show that the SP-3810 is a polyolefin elastomer.
The PDC is a copolymer having at least 65 wt% PP and at least 0.1 mole % of a least one other comonomer (paragraph 44). The PDC comprises a random PP copolymer (rPP) (paragraph 57).
The TPC is comprised of a polypropylene homopolymer (hPP) (paragraph 81 and 83). In particular, the TPC is a combination of Escorene™ PP3155 and PP1105 from Exxon Mobil Chemical CO. of Houston, Tex., and each of which being a polypropylene homopolymer (paragraphs 87 and 123).
A. Sahnoune teaches that the composition comprises 50-75 wt% of STPB, 10-25 wt% of PDC (rPP) and a 10-30 wt% of TPC (hPP), and 10-20 wt% of an inorganic filler comprising clay, talc, calcium carbonate (paragraphs 95, 114 and 119), based on the total weight of hydrocarbons in the composition. The clay, talc, or calcium carbonate reads on the claimed mineral filler. This is a clear indication that the content of the mineral filler is less than 10 wt% based on the total weight of the composition. Sahnoune also discloses the composition comprising an amount of processing aid in a range of 0.5 to 5 parts by weight per 100 parts of the polymer (paragraph 96). Hence, the proportion of the polymer should be at least 95 wt% of the composition.
When the combined content of STPB of 50 wt% and TPV is greater than TPO, TPV is least 25 wt% and TPO is less than 25 wt%.
When the combined content of STPB of 75 wt% and TPV is greater than TPO, TPV is least 37.5 wt% and TPO is less than 37.5 wt%.
Hence, the examiner can conclude: TPV in the range from 37.5 to 75 wt% and TPO of less than 37.5 wt% to maintain the relation of TPO less than TPV.
B. Alternatively, Sahnoune also discloses that the TPV comprises PP continuous phase and an elastomer dispersed phase which is crosslinked while the TPO comprises PP continuous phase and an elastomer dispersed phase which is not crosslinked (abstract, and paragraph 20). Given that the polyolefin composition comprises 50-75 wt% which is a combined content of the TPV and TPO, the content of the dispersed elastomer in the composition should be less than 75 wt%. The elastomer comprises EPDM, ethylene plastomer which is a copolymer of ethylene and an alpha-olefin having 3-8 carbon atoms (paragraph 25), corresponding to the claimed polyolefin elastomer (PoE) comprising a copolymer of ethylene and butene (paragraphs 22 and 25).
Sahnoune also teaches that the composition comprises 10-20 wt% of an inorganic filler comprising clay, talc, calcium carbonate (paragraphs 95, 114 and 119), based on the total weight of hydrocarbons in the composition. The clay, talc, or calcium carbonate reads on the claimed mineral filler. This is a clear indication that the content of the mineral filler is less than 10 wt% based on the total weight of the composition. Sahnoune teaches that the composition comprises 50-75 wt% of STPB, 10-25 wt% of PDC (rPP) and a 10-30 wt% of TPC (hPP), and 10-20 wt% of an inorganic filler comprising clay, talc, calcium carbonate (paragraphs 95, 114 and 119), based on the total weight of hydrocarbons in the composition. The clay, talc, or calcium carbonate reads on the claimed mineral filler. This is a clear indication that the content of the mineral filler is less than 10 wt% based on the total weight of the composition. Sahnoune also discloses the composition comprising an amount of processing aid in a range of 0.5 to 5 parts by weight per 100 parts of the polymer (paragraph 96). Hence, the proportion of the polymer should be at least 95 wt% of the composition.
Sahnoune does not explicitly disclose the composition comprising up to 15 wt% of rPP, 5-20 wt% of hPP, 25-45 wt% of TPV, 25-50 wt% of polyolefin elastomer and up to 10 wt% of one or more mineral fillers, based on the total weight of the composition.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the contents of the rPP, hPP, TPV, TPO/TPE, and mineral fillers will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the contents are critical or provide unexpected results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single cover layer disclosed in Huelsewede with the film layer of Sahnoune, motivated by the desire to obtain improved fluidity at processing temperature and improved toughness in the ultimate product.
As to claim 2, Huelsewede discloses that the laminate airbag cover is an unweakened airbag cover (paragraph 35).
As to claims 6 and 7, Huelsewede discloses a laminate airbag cover comprising a foam layer and a single cover layer overlying and operably bonded to the foam layer (abstract, and paragraph 24). The cover layer is obtained from a composition comprising a thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) and a polar polymer (paragraph 17).
Huelsewede does not explicitly disclose the composition for the cover layer comprising mineral fillers and PoE in the absence of LDPE and olefin block copolymer (OBC).
Sahnoune discloses an airbag cover comprising a film layer obtained from a composition comprising a blend of a soft thermoplastic polymer blend (STPB), a propylene dominated component (PDC) and a tertiary polymer component (TPC) (paragraph 122). The film layer is extrudable or calenderable, and has a shore A hardness according to ASTM D22240 within the claimed range (paragraph 116; and tables 5 ad 6). The composition does not include LDPE and OBC (tables 2 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single cover layer disclosed in Huelsewede with the film layer of Sahnoune, motivated by the desire to obtain improved fluidity at processing temperature and improved toughness in the ultimate product.
As to claim 8, Huelsewede discloses a laminate airbag cover comprising a foam layer and a single cover layer overlying and operably bonded to the foam layer (abstract, and paragraph 24). The cover layer is obtained from a composition comprising a thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) and a polar polymer (paragraph 17).
Huelsewede does not explicitly disclose the composition comprising at least 95 wt% of polymer components.
Sahnoune discloses an airbag cover comprising a film layer obtained from a composition comprising a blend of a soft thermoplastic polymer blend (STPB), a propylene dominated component (PDC) and a tertiary polymer component (TPC) (paragraph 122). The film layer is extrudable or calenderable, and has a shore A hardness according to ASTM D22240 within the claimed range (paragraph 116; and tables 5 ad 6). Sahnoune also teaches that the composition comprises 10-20 wt% of an inorganic filler comprising clay, talc, calcium carbonate (paragraphs 95, 114 and 119), based on the total weight of hydrocarbons in the composition. The clay, talc, or calcium carbonate reads on the claimed mineral filler. Sahnoune also discloses the composition comprising an amount of processing aid in a range of 0.5 to 5 parts by weight per 100 parts of the polymer (paragraph 96). Hence, the proportion of the polymer should be at least 95 wt% of the composition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single cover layer disclosed in Huelsewede with the film layer of Sahnoune, motivated by the desire to obtain improved fluidity at processing temperature and improved toughness in the ultimate product.
As to claim 10, Huelsewede does not explicitly disclose the TPV comprising PP continuous phase and EPDM rubber dispersed phase.
Sahnoune, however, discloses that the TPV includes polypropylene as a thermoplastic phase and EPDM as an elastomer phase (paragraphs 21 and 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single cover layer disclosed in Huelsewede with the film layer of Sahnoune, motivated by the desire to obtain improved fluidity at processing temperature and improved toughness in the ultimate product.
As to claim 11, Huelsewede does not explicitly disclose the PoE(s) which are not crosslinked, wherein the PoE(s) are selected from ethylene-octene copolymers (EOC), ethylene-butene copolymers (EBC) and/or ethylene-hexene copolymers (EHC).
Sahnoune, however, teaches that the composition comprises 50-75 wt% of STPB, 10-25 wt% of PDC (rPP) and a 10-30 wt% of TPC (hPP), and 10-20 wt% of an inorganic filler comprising clay, talc, calcium carbonate (paragraphs 95, 114 and 119), based on the total weight of hydrocarbons in the composition. The STPB is a combination of TPV and TPO where the TPV comprises PP continuous phase and an elastomer dispersed phase which is crosslinked while the TPO comprises PP continuous phase and an elastomer dispersed phase which is not crosslinked (abstract, and paragraph 20). The elastomer comprises EPDM, ethylene plastomer which is a copolymer of ethylene and an alpha-olefin having 3-8 carbon atoms (paragraph 25), corresponding to the claimed polyolefin elastomer (PoE) comprising a copolymer of ethylene and butene (paragraphs 22 and 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the single cover layer disclosed in Huelsewede with the film layer of Sahnoune, motivated by the desire to obtain improved fluidity at processing temperature and improved toughness in the ultimate product.
As to claim 13, Huelsewede discloses that the foam layer has a density in a range from 40 to 200 kg/m3 (paragraph 22).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huelsewede in view of Sahnoune as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of CN103012952 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”).
Neither Huelsewede nor Sahnoune discloses or suggests the composition for the cover layer comprising low density polyethylene (LDPE) in an amount of 15 to 25 wt%.
Li, however, discloses an airbag cover obtained from a composition comprising 21-48 wt% of high melt strength polypropylene; 10-50 wt% of olefin polymer; 10-40 wt% of styrene-based thermoplastic elastomer, and 2-15 wt% of compatibilizer (paragraphs 11-14). The olefin polymer is one or mixture of LDPE, LLDPE, ethylene-butene copolymer, and ethylene-octene copolymer (paragraph 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate LDPE disclosed in Li in the composition for the cover layer of Huelsewede/ Sahnoune, motivated by the desire to obtain improved toughness in the ultimate product.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huelsewede in view of Sahnoune as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2024/0308116 to Farrar et al. (hereinafter “Farrar”).
Neither Huelsewede nor Sahnoune discloses or suggests a density of the composition of forming a single cover layer.
Farrar, however, discloses a laminate airbag cover comprising a foam layer and a skin layer on the foam layer (figure 2 and abstract). The skin layer is made of a TPO-based composition, having a density of 0.89 to 0.92 g/cc (paragraph 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the single cover layer disclosed in Huelsewede/Sahnoune having a density disclosed in Farrar, motivated by the desire to provide a good balance of lightweight and structural integrity. Low mass benefit reduces the energy needed to deploy the airbag, improving fuel efficiency. Further, that density is still high enough to maintain tensile strength and impact resistance during deployment.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huelsewede in view of Sahnoune as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2002/0061976 to Krabbenborg et al. (hereinafter “Krabbenborg”).
Neither Huelsewede nor Sahnoune discloses or suggests the inorganic filler having a particle size in a range from 0.5 to 5 microns.
Krabbeborg, however, discloses a fabricated automotive article comprising a propylene polymer composition comprising a polypropylene, a metallocene catalyst interpolymer and optionally a filler (abstract). The fabricated automotive article includes an airbag cover (paragraph 9). The filler comprises calcium carbonate, talc, clay, mica or silica and each of which having a particle size of less than 3 microns (paragraphs 47 and 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the inorganic filler disclosed in Huelsewede/Sahnoune having a particle size disclosed in Krabbeborg, motivated by the desire to maintain desired levels of toughness and stiffness, thereby obtaining improved scratch and mar resistance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahnoune.
The term “optionally” indicates that the claimed composition is free of LDPE and mineral filler.
Sahnoune discloses a composite comprising a film and a layer provided on one or both surfaces of the film (paragraph 139) wherein the film is obtained from a composition comprising a blends of a soft thermoplastic polymer blend (STPB), a propylene dominated component (PDC) and a tertiary polymer component (TPC) (paragraph 122). The layer reads on the claimed substrate.
The STPB is a combination of a thermoplastic polyolefin (TPO) and a thermoplastic vulcanizate (TPV) (paragraphs 24 and 42) wherein the TPV is present in a higher amount than the TPO (paragraph 20). The TPO is a TPO/TPE product commercially available under the tradename SP-3810 from Spartech Polycom (paragraph 42), corresponding to the claimed olefin elastomer. Spartech PP SP-3810 technical data sheet is further provided to show that the SP-3810 is a polyolefin elastomer.
The PDC is a copolymer having at least 65 wt% PP and at least 0.1 mole % of a least one other comonomer (paragraph 44). The PDC comprises a random PP copolymer (rPP) (paragraph 57).
The TPC is comprised of a polypropylene homopolymer (hPP) (paragraph 81 and 83). In particular, the TPC is a combination of Escorene™ PP3155 and PP1105 from Exxon Mobil Chemical CO. of Houston, Tex., and each of which are polypropylene homopolymers (paragraphs 87 and 123).
A. Sahnoune teaches that the composition comprises 50-75 wt% of STPB, 10-25 wt% of PDC (rPP) and a 10-30 wt% of TPC (hPP), and 10-20 wt% of an inorganic filler comprising clay, talc, calcium carbonate (paragraphs 95, 114 and 119), based on the total weight of hydrocarbons in the composition.
When the combined content of STPB of 50 wt% and TPV is greater than TPO, TPV is least 25 wt% and TPO is less than 25 wt%.
When the combined content of STPB of 75 wt% and TPV is greater than TPO, TPV is least 37.5 wt% and TPO is less than 37.5 wt%.
Hence, the examiner can conclude: TPV in the range from 37.5 to 75 wt% and TPO less than 37.5 wt% to maintain the relation of TPO less than TPV.
B. Alternatively, Sahnoune also discloses that the TPV comprises PP continuous phase and an elastomer dispersed phase which is crosslinked while the TPO comprises PP continuous phase and an elastomer dispersed phase which is not crosslinked (abstract, and paragraph 20). Given that the polyolefin composition comprises 50-75 wt% which is a combined content of the TPV and TPO, the content of the dispersed elastomer in the composition should be less than 75 wt%. The elastomer comprises EPDM, ethylene plastomer which is a copolymer of ethylene and an alpha-olefin having 3-8 carbon atoms (paragraph 25), corresponding to the claimed polyolefin elastomer comprising a copolymer of ethylene and butene (paragraphs 22 and 25).
Sahnoune does not explicitly disclose the composition comprising up to 15 wt% of rPP, 5-20 wt% of hPP, 25-45 wt% of TPV, 25-50 wt% of polyolefin elastomers.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the contents of the rPP hPP, TPV, and TPO/TPE will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the contents are critical or provide unexpected results.
Therefore, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the contents of the rPP, hPP, TPV, and TPO/TPE in the ranges instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to obtain improved fluidity at processing temperature and improved toughness in the ultimate product. This is in line with In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 which holds discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788