DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/31/2024 where claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024, 08/28/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 07/31/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Regarding claim 1 of the application 18/790,123, is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patent as being unpatentable over claims 1 of US Patent US 12096443 B2. of application 17/164,606
Independent claim 1 of 18/790,123
Independent claim 1 of US 12096443 B2
1. A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes a table parameter, the table parameter indicating a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicating whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, and wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; select, based at least in part on a value of the table parameter in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and decode the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
1. A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes at least one dedicated table bit that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicates whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, and wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; receiving a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; selecting, based at least in part on at least one value of the at least one dedicated table bit in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and decoding the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
2. The UE of claim 1, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
3. The UE of claim 1, wherein the table parameter comprises a single bit.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one dedicated table bit comprises a single bit.
4. The UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, in the DCI transmission, a physical downlink shared channel resource allocation for the downlink traffic.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, in the DCI transmission, a physical downlink shared channel resource allocation for the downlink traffic
5. The UE of claim 4, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is not based at least in part on the RNTI.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is not based at least in part on the RNTI.
6. The UE of claim 4, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is based at least in part on the RNTI.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is based at least in part on the RNTI.
7. The UE of claim 1, wherein the RRC message comprises a plurality of table parameters that indicate whether the UE is to use, to decode the downlink traffic, the first modulation order and the first target code rate corresponding to the first MCS table, the second modulation order and the second target code rate corresponding to the second MCS table, or at least a third modulation order and at least a third target code rate corresponding to at least a third MCS table.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one dedicated table bit comprises a plurality of dedicated table bits that indicate whether the UE is to use, to decode the downlink traffic, the first modulation order and the first target code rate corresponding to the first MCS table, the second modulation order and the second target code rate corresponding to the second MCS table, or at least a third modulation order and at least a third target code rate corresponding to at least a third MCS table.
8. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI 1_2 format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising selecting the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS-cell-radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI 1_2 format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier.
9. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format other than DCI format 1_2 in a UE-specific search space having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier.
10. The method of claim 8, further comprising selecting the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS-cell-radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format other than DCI format 1_2 in a UE-specific search space having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier.
10. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier 2 (MCS-C-RNTI2), and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by the MCS-C-RNTI2.
11. The method of claim 8, further comprising selecting the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is configured with an MCS-cell-radio network temporary identifier 2 (MCS-C-RNTI2), and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by the MCS-C-RNTI2.
11. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_2 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_2 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission.
12. The method of claim 8, further comprising selecting the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_2 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_2 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission.
12. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_1 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_1 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission.
13. The method of claim 8, further comprising selecting the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_1 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_1 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission.
13. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to overwrite the RRC message to enable one or more functionalities associated with the table parameter.
14. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to overwrite the RRC message to enable one or more functionalities associated with the at least one dedicated table bit.
14. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a semi-persistent scheduling configuration that comprises a set of default MCS parameters associated with an MCS table corresponding to a lower QAM than an MCS table corresponding to a set of current MCS parameters.
15. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a semi-persistent scheduling configuration that comprises a set of default MCS parameters associated with an MCS table corresponding to a lower QAM than an MCS table corresponding to a set of current MCS parameters.
15. The UE of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that a number of negative acknowledgements transmitted within a measurement window satisfies a threshold; and select the set of default MCS parameters based at least in part on determining that the number of negative acknowledgements satisfies the threshold.
16. The method of claim 15, further comprising: determining that a number of negative acknowledgements transmitted within a measurement window satisfies a threshold; and selecting the set of default MCS parameters based at least in part on determining that the number of negative acknowledgements satisfies the threshold.
16. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a group configuration that indicates an association between a group of SPS configurations and a set of MCS parameters, wherein the table parameter indicates the group of SPS configurations.
17. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a group configuration that indicates an association between a group of SPS configurations and a set of MCS parameters, wherein the at least one dedicated table bit indicates the group of SPS configurations.
17. The UE of claim 16, wherein the group of SPS configurations corresponds to a priority level, and wherein the table parameter indicates the priority level.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the group of SPS configurations corresponds to a priority level, wherein the at least one dedicated table bit indicates the priority level.
18. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a channel state information (CSI) report that indicates a suggested MCS table to be used in interpreting the CSI report.
19. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report that indicates a suggested MCS table to be used in interpreting the CSI report.
19. The UE of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication, based at least in part on the suggested MCS table, to use one or more MCS tables in computing a channel quality indicator.
20. The method of claim 19, further comprising receiving an indication, based at least in part on the suggested MCS table, to use one or more MCS tables in computing a channel quality indicator.
20. A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes at least one table parameter that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicates whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; transmit a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; select, based at least in part on at least one value of the table parameter in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and transmit the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
1. A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes a table parameter, the table parameter indicating a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicating whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, and wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; select, based at least in part on a value of the table parameter in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and decode the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
21. The network entity of claim 20, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
22. The method of claim 21, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
22. The network entity of claim 20, wherein the table parameter comprises a single bit.
23. The method of claim 21, wherein the at least one dedicated table bit comprises a single bit.
23. The network entity of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, in the DCI transmission, a physical downlink shared channel resource allocation for the downlink traffic, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection to use the modulation order and the target code rate is not based at least in part on the RNTI.
24. The method of claim 23, further comprising transmitting, in the DCI transmission, a physical downlink shared channel resource allocation for the downlink traffic wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection to use the modulation order and the target code rate is not based at least in part on the RNTI.
24. The network entity of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, in the DCI transmission, a physical downlink shared channel resource allocation for the downlink traffic, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection to use the modulation order and the target code rate is based at least in part on the RNTI.
25. The method of claim 23, further comprising transmitting, in the DCI transmission, a physical downlink shared channel resource allocation for the downlink traffic wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and wherein the selection to use the modulation order and the target code rate is based at least in part on the RNTI.
25. The network entity of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a semi-persistent scheduling configuration that comprises a set of default MCS parameters associated with an MCS table corresponding to a lower QAM than an MCS table corresponding to a set of current MCS parameters.
27. The method of claim 21, further comprising transmitting a semi-persistent scheduling configuration that comprises a set of default MCS parameters associated with an MCS table corresponding to a lower QAM than an MCS table corresponding to a set of current MCS parameters.
26. The network entity of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a group configuration that indicates an association between a group of SPS configurations and a set of MCS parameters, wherein the table parameter indicates the group of SPS configurations.
28. The method of claim 21, further comprising transmitting a group configuration that indicates an association between a group of SPS configurations and a set of MCS parameters, wherein the at least one dedicated table bit indicates the group of SPS configurations.
27. A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes at least one table parameter that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicates whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; receiving a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; selecting, based at least in part on at least one value of the table parameter in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and decoding the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
29. A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes at least one dedicated table bit that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicates whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, and wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; select, based at least in part on at least one value of the at least one dedicated table bit in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and decode the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
28. The method of claim 27, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
29. A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes at least one table parameter that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicates whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; selecting, based at least in part on at least one value of the table parameter in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and transmitting the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
21. A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes at least one dedicated table bit that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables and indicates whether the UE is to use, to decode downlink traffic, a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables, and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; selecting, based at least in part on at least one value of the at least one dedicated table bit in the RRC message and the DCI format, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; and transmitting the downlink traffic according to the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate.
30. The method of claim 29, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
22. The method of claim 21, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table.
A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where a claim in an application under examination claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter claimed in a prior patent or a co-pending application. The claim under examination is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) if the claim under examination is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
In this case, as can be demonstrated, the claims 1 of US 12096443 B2 discloses the features of 18/790,123 independent claims 1, 20, 27, 29 “a value of the table parameter” recited in claim 1 is not taught by US 12096443 B2.
However, in the analogous art, Xi et al. (US 20200287654 A1) teaches in para [0209] A WTRU may be configured to select/use a certain MCS table via RRC signaling (e.g., by an “mcs-table” parameter, which may be in “PDSCH-config” IE or “PUSCH-config” IE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xi with the teaching of US 12096443 B2 because Xi teaches selecting table parameters would reduce the number of retransmitted CBs, and increase the reliability of retransmissions, e.g., given fixed resources.(Xi [0210]).
The claims 20 and 27 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10.14.18,19-24, 27-30is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al. (US 20200287654 A1) hereinafter Xi and further in view of Park (US Pub 20190215095 A1) hereinafter Park and further in view of Park et al. (US 20210013991 A1) hereinafter Park991
As to claim 1 Xi teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receive radio resource control message that transmission includes at least one dedicated table bit that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table of a set of MCS tables of a set of MCS tables ([0161][0209] A WTRU may be configured to select/use a certain MCS table via RRC signaling, bit(s) used to indicate a MCS table selection, MCS table includes modulation order and code rate; there are multiple MCS tables)
and indicates whether the UE is to use, to decode the downlink traffic ([0222] [0223] WTRU receives (e.g., first receives) a DL eMBB PDSCH, the WTRU decode the eMBB CBG-based data based on the configured MCS table for eMBB)
a first modulation order and a first target code rate corresponding to a first MCS table of the set of MCS tables or a second modulation order and a second target code rate corresponding to a second MCS table of the set of MCS tables (0209] One or more MCS tables (e.g., MCS table 1 and MCS table 3) may include entries with a modulation order (e.g., a highest modulation order) of 64QAM. One or more MCS tables (e.g., MCS table 1) may include entries with a first code rate (e.g., a highest code rate) of 948/1024; there are multiple MCS tables)
and wherein the MCS table is the first MCS table or the second MCS table; and 0209] One or more MCS tables (e.g., MCS table 1 and MCS table 3) may include entries with a modulation order (e.g., a highest modulation order) of 64QAM)
select, based at least in part on a value of the table parameter in the RRC message and the DCI format, ([0178][0209] DCI formats may be selected and/or used for URLLC data, A WTRU may be configured to select/use a certain MCS table via RRC signaling (e.g., by an “mcs-table” parameter, which may be in “PDSCH-config” IE or “PUSCH-config” IE) )
Xi does not teach and wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; decode the downlink traffic according to the selected modulation order and the selected target code rate
Park teaches and wherein the second MCS table corresponds to 1024 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), (0202] MCS table having an MCS index may be configured based on a higher order modulation scheme such as 64QAM, 256QAM, or 1024QAM)
Decode the downlink traffic according to the selected modulation order and the selected target code rate . ([0214] [0227] Fig. 12, table 1, UE decodes the physical downlink shard channel (PDSCH) based on the specific MCS information, determining specific MCS information i.e., selected, used for the physical data channel using the specific MCS index and one of two or more MCS tables containing modulation order information corresponding to the specific MCS index (S1220) and target code rate corresponding to the specific MCS index)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Park with the teaching of Xi because Park teaches that where defining an MCS table based on different target BLERs would allow to efficiently operate the MCS table. (Park [0197])
The combination of Xi and Park does not teach receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format;, a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables;
Park 991 teaches receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a DCI format; ([0047] downlink data or uplink data is delivered from a base station to a terminal through downlink control information (DCI) including DCI format)
a modulation order and a target code rate corresponding to an MCS table of the set of MCS tables; ([0069][0074] Fig. 3, terminal performs search and decoding under the assumption that the corresponding DCI format i.e., DCI format 1A , a DCI format 2B ; if the 1-bit MCS table indicator indicates “0” (operation 320), the terminal determines a modulation order and a target code rate of downlink data or uplink data using the first MCS table and the index value of the corresponding table (operations 330, 350, and 360);, if the 1-bit MCS table indicator indicates “1” (operation 320), the terminal determines a modulation order and a target code rate of downlink data or uplink data using the second MCS table )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Park991 with the teaching of Xi and Park because Park991 teaches that supporting by base station in various services having different latency and reliability requirements for different respective terminals would provide a terminal to receive support of various modulation and coding schemes in a communication system. (Park991[0014])
Claims 20, 27 and 29 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2. the combination of Xi, Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches, wherein the first MCS table comprises at least one of: a 256-QAM table, or a 64-QAM low spectral efficiency table. ([0209] One or more MCS tables (e.g., MCS table 1 and MCS table 3) may include entries with a modulation order (e.g., a highest modulation order) of 64QAM)
Claims 21, 28 and 30 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3. the combination of Xi, Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches, wherein the table parameter comprises a single bit. ([0153] a single bit may be used (e.g., added) in the DCI or UCI indicating the selection between a triangular interleaver and a block interleaver.)
Claim 22 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 4. the combination of Xi, Park and Park991 specifically Park teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, in the DCI transmission, a physical downlink shared channel resource allocation for the downlink traffic. ([0158] a base station transmits modulation and coding scheme (MCS) indication information for PDSCH or PUSCH transmission/reception to a UE through downlink control information (DCI). i.e., MCS index information, indicated through the DCI, and a TBS is mapped based on the TBS index and the number of allocated TBSs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Park with the teaching of Xi because Park teaches that where defining an MCS table based on different target BLERs would allow to efficiently operate the MCS table. (Park [0197])
As to claim 5. the combination of Xi, Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), ), ([0215] WTRU may receive the DCI with the CRC masked by the additional RNTI)
Xi does not teach and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is not based at least in part on the RNTI.
Park teaches and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is not based at least in part on the RNTI. ([0176] [0180][0214] [0227] Fig. 12, scheduling control information based on a MCS table defined i.e., the C-RNTI or the CS-RNTI allocated for UE-specific DL or UL allocation in DCI; information for selecting an MCS table is determined as when an N = 2, then log 2N = 1 (one) bit, UE determines the specific MCS information using the specific MCS index and one of two or more MCS tables; MCS tables containing modulation order and target code rate information corresponding to the specific MCS index (S1220))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Park with the teaching of Xi because Park teaches that where defining an MCS table based on different target BLERs would allow to efficiently operate the MCS table. (Park [0197])
Claim 23 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 6. the combination of Xi, Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches, wherein the DCI corresponds to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), ( [0215] The WTRU may receive the DCI with the CRC masked by the additional RNTI.
Xi does not teach and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is based at least in part on the RNTI.
Park teaches and wherein the selection of the modulation order and the target code rate is based at least in part on the RNTI. ([0176] [0180][0214] [0227] Fig. 12, scheduling control information based on a MCS table defined i.e., the C-RNTI or the CS-RNTI allocated for UE-specific DL or UL allocation in DCI; information for selecting an MCS table is determined as when an N = 2, then log 2N = 1 (one) bit, UE determines the specific MCS information using the specific MCS index and one of two or more MCS tables; MCS tables containing modulation order and target code rate information corresponding to the specific MCS index (S1220))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Park with the teaching of Xi because Park teaches that where defining an MCS table based on different target BLERs would allow to efficiently operate the MCS table. (Park [0197])
Claim 24is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
As to claim 7. the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches wherein the RRC message comprises a plurality of table parameters that indicate whether the UE is to use, to decode the downlink traffic, the first modulation order and the first target code rate corresponding to the first MCS table, the second modulation order and the second target code rate corresponding to the second MCS table, or at least a third modulation order and at least a third target code rate corresponding to at least a third MCS table. (([0209] One or more MCS tables (e.g., MCS table 1 and MCS table 3) may include entries with a modulation order (e.g., a highest modulation order) of 64QAM. One or more MCS tables (e.g., MCS table 1) may include entries with a first code rate (e.g., a highest code rate) of 948/1024; there are multiple MCS tables; One or more MCS tables (e.g., MCS table 3) may include entries with a first code rate (e.g., a highest code rate) of 772/1024)
As to claim 10. the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 specifically Xi teaches , wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, ([0220][0222] A second MCS table may be configured/selected for URLLC service. WTRU is configured to select a first MCS table for eMBB and a second (e.g., separate) MCS table for URLLC through RRC signaling (e.g., via the “mcs-table” parameter in the “PDSCH-config” IE).)
the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 does not teach that the UE is configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier 2 (MCS-C-RNTI2), and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by the MCS-C-RNTI2.
Park teaches that the UE is configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier 2 (MCS-C-RNTI2), and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by the MCS-C-RNTI2. ([0175] UE derive corresponding MCS table selection information based on the MCS-C-RNTI, which is the new RNTI. The MCS-C-RNTI is scrambled by a CRC of the PDCCH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Park with the teaching of Xi because Park teaches that where defining an MCS table based on different target BLERs would allow to efficiently operate the MCS table. (Park [0197])
As to claim 14. the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 specifically Park teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a semi-persistent scheduling configuration that comprises a set of default MCS parameters associated with an MCS table corresponding to a lower QAM than an MCS table corresponding to a set of current MCS parameters. ([0165] in the case of an MCS table for reliability-critical data, such as in the URLLC, it is possible to configure an MCS table based on lower order modulation; is, according to the target BLER values, as the target BLER is higher, it is possible to configure an MCS table having an MCS index based on a higher order modulation scheme such as 64QAM, 256QAM, or 1024QAM and when target BLER is lower, it is possible to configure another MCS table having an MCS index based on a lower order modulation scheme such as QPSK or 16 QAM may be constructed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Park with the teaching of Xi because Park teaches that where defining an MCS table based on different target BLERs would allow to efficiently operate the MCS table. (Park [0197])
Claim 25 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
As to claim 18. the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a channel state information (CSI) report that indicates a suggested MCS table to be used in interpreting the CSI report. (0214] A gNB may decide to dynamically switch the MCS table for its current PDSCH transmission, for example, based on a CQI report indicating bad channel conditions (e.g., low SNR). The switch may be from a first MCS table, e.g., MCS table 1, which may have been configured, to a second MCS table, e.g., MCS table 3)
As to claim 19. the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication, based at least in part on the suggested MCS table, to use one or more MCS tables in computing a channel quality indicator. (0214] A gNB may decide to dynamically switch the MCS table for its current PDSCH transmission, for example, based on a CQI report indicating bad channel conditions (e.g., low SNR). The switch may be from a first MCS table, e.g., MCS table 1, which may have been configured, to a second MCS table, e.g., MCS table 3/suggested MCS table)
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi , Park and Park991, and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e, Online, October 26th – November 13th 2020, Tdoc R1-2009209 hereinafter 3GPP; copy attached
As to claim 8. the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter ([0220][0222] A second MCS table may be configured/selected for URLLC service. WTRU is configured to select a first MCS table for eMBB and a second (e.g., separate) MCS table for URLLC through RRC signaling (e.g., via the “mcs-table” parameter in the “PDSCH-config” IE).)
the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 does not teach corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI 1_2 format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier.
3GPP teaches corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI 1_2 format having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier. ([3GPP] Proposal 6, Proposal 7, when two RRC parameters in PDSCH-Config to configure usage of the 1024-QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-1 and DCI format 1-2, respectively and when higher layers configure usage of 1024-QAM for DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) , i.e., not by C-RNTI, the 1024-QAM MCS table is used for PDSCH scheduled with DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI and CRC scrambled by CS-RNTI if the UE is not configured with mcs-Table in SPS-Config)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because 3GPP teaches that utilizing another RRC parameter would enable 1024QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-2. (3GPP, Proposal 5)
As to claim 9. the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 specifically Xi teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter ([0220][0222] A second MCS table may be configured/selected for URLLC service. WTRU is configured to select a first MCS table for eMBB and a second (e.g., separate) MCS table for URLLC through RRC signaling (e.g., via the “mcs-table” parameter in the “PDSCH-config” IE).)
the combination of Xi , Park and Park991 does not teach corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format other than DCI format 1_2 in a UE-specific search space having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier.
3GPP teaches corresponds to the second MCS table, that the UE is not configured with an MCS cell radio network temporary identifier, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format other than DCI format 1_2 in a UE-specific search space having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier. ([3GPP] Proposal 6, Proposal 7, when two RRC parameters in PDSCH-Config to configure usage of the 1024-QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-1 and DCI format 1-2, respectively and when higher layers configure usage of 1024-QAM for DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) , i.e., not by C-RNTI, the 1024-QAM MCS table is used for PDSCH scheduled with DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI and CRC scrambled by CS-RNTI if the UE is not configured with mcs-Table in SPS-Config)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because 3GPP teaches that utilizing another RRC parameter would enable 1024QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-2. (3GPP, Proposal 5)
As to claim 11. the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 specifically Xi teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, ([0220][0222] A second MCS table may be configured/selected for URLLC service. WTRU is configured to select a first MCS table for eMBB and a second (e.g., separate) MCS table for URLLC through RRC signaling (e.g., via the “mcs-table” parameter in the “PDSCH-config” IE).)
the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 does not teach that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_2 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_2 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission.
3GPP teaches that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_2 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_2 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission. ([3GPP] Proposal 6, Proposal 7, when two RRC parameters in PDSCH-Config to configure usage of the 1024-QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-1 and DCI format 1-2, respectively and when higher layers configure usage of 1024-QAM for DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) , i.e., not by C-RNTI, the 1024-QAM MCS table is used for PDSCH scheduled with DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI and CRC scrambled by CS-RNTI if the UE is not configured with mcs-Table in SPS-Config)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because 3GPP teaches that utilizing another RRC parameter would enable 1024QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-2. (3GPP, Proposal 5)
As to claim 12. the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 specifically Xi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the second MCS table based at least in part on a determination that the value of the table parameter corresponds to the second MCS table, ([0220][0222] A second MCS table may be configured/selected for URLLC service. WTRU is configured to select a first MCS table for eMBB and a second (e.g., separate) MCS table for URLLC through RRC signaling (e.g., via the “mcs-table” parameter in the “PDSCH-config” IE).)
the combination of Xi , Park, Park99 does not teach that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_1 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_1 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission.
3GPP teaches that the UE is not configured with a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) dedicated table parameter, and that the DCI transmission associated with the downlink traffic comprises a DCI format 1_1 having a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier or that SPS is activated by the DCI format 1_1 without a corresponding physical downlink control channel transmission. . ([3GPP] Proposal 6, Proposal 7, when two RRC parameters in PDSCH-Config to configure usage of the 1024-QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-1 and DCI format 1-2, respectively and when higher layers configure usage of 1024-QAM for DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) , i.e., not by C-RNTI, the 1024-QAM MCS table is used for PDSCH scheduled with DCI format 1-1 (DCI format 1-2) with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI and CRC scrambled by CS-RNTI if the UE is not configured with mcs-Table in SPS-Config)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because 3GPP teaches that utilizing another RRC parameter would enable 1024QAM MCS table for DCI format 1-2. (3GPP, Proposal 5)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi , Park, Park991, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US Pub: 20200245166 A1) hereinafter Kwak
As to claim 13. the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 specifically Xi teaches to enable one or more functionalities associated with the table parameter. ([0178][0209] DCI formats may be selected and/or used for URLLC data, A WTRU may be configured to select/use a certain MCS table via RRC signaling (e.g., by an “mcs-table” parameter, which may be in “PDSCH-config” IE or “PUSCH-config” IE) )
the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to overwrite the RRC message to enable one or more functionalities associated with the table parameter
Kwak teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to overwrite the RRC message to enable one or more functionalities associated with the table parameter. ([0247] base station toggle existing RRC configuration via MAC CE or DCI or overwrite existing RRC configuration via a new signal)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Kwak with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because Kwak teaches that overwriting RRC configuration using MAC CE would flexibly support improving of coverage of an UL channel control signal or obtaining of more information by reducing the size of payload required for a report. (Kwak [0248])
Claim(s) 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi , Park, Park991, and further in view of Levy et al. (US Pub 20210344399 A1) hereinafter Levy
As to claim 15. the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 does not teach, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that a number of negative acknowledgements transmitted within a measurement window satisfies a threshold; and select the set of default MCS parameters based at least in part on determining that the number of negative acknowledgements satisfies the threshold.
Levy teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that a number of negative acknowledgements transmitted within a measurement window satisfies a threshold; ( [0073] a number of HARQ NACKs failing to satisfy a certain threshold, each CSF report include a timestamp indicating a time when the CSF report is generated or transmitted).
and select the set of default MCS parameters based at least in part on determining that the number of negative acknowledgements satisfies the threshold. ([0034][0073] wireless devices selecting appropriate transmission parameters (e.g., a modulation coding scheme MCS) for a given channel state at a given time instant, a number of HARQ NACKs failing to satisfy a certain threshold)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Levy with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because Levy teaches that receiving the report through MAC signaling would reduce the load on the control channel (e.g., PUCCH), lowering the impact on the network's uplink throughout, and allow detailed reporting. (Levy [0073])
Claim(s) 16,17 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi , Park, Park991 and further in view of Lin et al. (US Pub 20200413425 A1) hereinafter Lin
As to claim 16. . the combination of Xi , Park, Park991 does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a group configuration that indicates an association between a group of SPS configurations and a set of MCS parameters, wherein the table parameter indicates the group of SPS configurations.
Lin teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a group configuration that indicates an association between a group of SPS configurations and a set of MCS parameters, wherein the table parameter indicates the group of SPS configurations. 0048] [0056] [0057] [0081] MCS table indication received via the UE-specific PDSCH/PUSCH MAC CE, PDSCH/PUSCH: indicates whether MCS table indication is for the PDSCH or PUSCH. SPS configuration ID i.e., multiple SPS configurations, ID: indicates to which PS configurations the MCS table indication is applied/associated with and , new field include one bit to indicate whether or not the activated SPS PDSCH is prioritized)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because Lin teaches that indicating whether or not the activated SPS PDSCH is prioritized would improve and efficient mechanism for a UE to handle UCI collision within a slot. (Lin [0003])
Claim 26 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16.
As to claim 17. the combination of Xi , Park, Park991, Lin specifically Lin teaches , wherein the group of SPS configurations corresponds to a priority level, and wherein the table parameter indicates the priority level. . ([0081] bit having a value of ‘1’ regarded as ‘a prioritized SPS PDSCH , (e.g., high priority), whereas the bit having a value of ‘0’ may be regarded as ‘a deprioritized SPS PDSCH’ (e.g., low priority transmission), alternatively, the bit having a value of ‘0’ regarded as ‘a prioritized SPS PDSCH)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lin with the teaching of Xi , Park, Park991 because Lin teaches that indicating whether or not the activated SPS PDSCH is prioritized would improve and efficient mechanism for a UE to handle UCI collision within a slot. (Lin [0003])
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon; Hwan-Joon et al. [US 20150195819 A1] SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR MODULATION AND CODING SCHEME SELECTION AND CONFIGURATION
Einhaus; Michael et al. [US 20160036618 A1] MCS TABLE ADAPTATION FOR 256-QAM
Chen; Wanshi et al. [US 20140192732 A1] IDENTIFYING MODULATION AND CODING SCHEMES AND CHANNEL QUALITY INDICATORS
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413