DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 8/2/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0100886 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A immersive image” should be –An immersive image--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0011602 A1 to Brav et al.
As to claim 1, Brav discloses a immersive image experiencing device comprising:
a main body configured to be hung around a user's neck (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0072, where band (106) is hung around user’s neck); and
a sensory unit configured to be provided on one side of the main body (Fig. 3B, paragraphs 0071-0072, where elements (102) are the sensory unit) and linked to a display for outputting a video being viewed by the user (Fig. 1, paragraphs 0065-0066, display module (40), display device (70)) and to provide a sensory effect for each screen to the user's neck according to a sensory effect code provided for each screen of the video (Fig. 3B, paragraphs 0074 and 0095, where several different sensory simulations are provided by elements (102)).
As to claim 2, Brav discloses the immersive image experiencing device,
wherein the main body comprises a rear holder including an inner side facing a back of the user's neck; and
a side holder extending from both left and right sides of the rear holder and including an inner side facing left and right sides of the user's neck (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0072, where band (106) has an inner side facing the back and sides user’s neck).
As to claim 6, Brav discloses the immersive image experiencing device, further comprising a conductive pad provided on one side of the main body and capable of contacting both left and right sides of the user's neck, and providing a feeling of coolness and warmth to the user (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0095, where elements (102) provide a temperature change by including a heating/cooling element which transmits through band (106)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 8-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0011602 A1 to Brav et al.
As to claim 3, Brav Fig. 3B discloses the immersive image experiencing device,
wherein the sensory unit comprises a coolness and warmth providing unit provided on one side of the main body to provide coolness and warmth to the user's neck (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0095, where elements (102) provide a temperature change by including a heating/cooling element); and
a touch providing unit provided on one side of the main body to create a tactile sensation on the user's neck (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0071, where elements (102) provide haptic feedback).
Brav Fig. 3B is deficient in disclosing an air supply unit provided on one side of the main body to blow wind toward the user.
However, Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C disclose an air supply unit provided on one side of the main body to blow wind toward the user (Fig. 11, paragraph 0128, where elements (102) include an air puffer).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the sensory unit with a coolness and warmth providing unit as taught by Brav Fig. 3B by including an air supply unit as taught by Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C. The suggestion/motivation would have been so the user can experience several different sensations.
As to claim 5, Brav Fig. 3B is deficient in disclosing the immersive image experiencing device,
wherein the air supply unit further comprises a plurality of first discharge holes through which air is discharged toward the back of the user's neck, and
a plurality of second discharge holes through which air is discharged toward the left and right sides of the user's neck.
However, Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C discloses wherein the air supply unit further comprises a plurality of first discharge holes through which air is discharged toward the back of the user's neck, and
a plurality of second discharge holes through which air is discharged toward the left and right sides of the user's neck (Fig. 11 and 16A-C, paragraphs 0125-0128, where air from the air puffer of haptic elements (102) goes in and out through the holes made for wireways (522)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 3.
As to claim 8, Brav Fig. 3B discloses the immersive image experiencing device,
wherein the coolness and warmth providing unit comprises a conductive pad formed on each side holder connected to each side of the rear holder of the main body and contacting both left and right sides of the user's neck (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0095, where elements (102) provide a temperature change by including a heating/cooling element through band (106));
a cooling and heating means built into the main body and electrically connected to the conductive pad and heating or cooling the conductive pad (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0095, where elements (102) are the heating and cooling means); and
a cooling and heating controller built into the main body and electrically connected to the cooling and heating means and heating or cooling the cooling and heating means (Fig. 1 and 3B, paragraph 0100, where processing circuit (30) controls the temperature).
As to claim 9, Brav Fig. 3B is deficient in disclosing the immersive image experiencing device,
wherein the air supply unit comprises an air generating means built into the main body to discharge air toward the user's neck;
a plurality of first discharge holes penetrating the rear holder of the main body to discharge air generated from the air generating means toward the back of the user's neck; and
a plurality of second discharge holes penetrating the side holders connected to both sides of the rear holder to discharge air generated from the air generating means toward the left and right sides of the user's neck.
However, Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C discloses the immersive image experiencing device,
wherein the air supply unit comprises an air generating means built into the main body to discharge air toward the user's neck (Fig. 11, paragraph 0128, where elements (102) include an air puffer);
a plurality of first discharge holes penetrating the rear holder of the main body to discharge air generated from the air generating means toward the back of the user's neck; and
a plurality of second discharge holes penetrating the side holders connected to both sides of the rear holder to discharge air generated from the air generating means toward the left and right sides of the user's neck (Fig. 11 and 16A-C, paragraphs 0125-0128, where air from the air puffer of haptic elements (102) goes in and out through the holes made for wireways (522)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 3.
As to claim 10, Brav Fig. 3B discloses the immersive image experiencing device,
wherein the touch providing unit comprises an installation slot formed by cutting into the rear holder of the main body facing the back of the user's neck (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0072, where elements (102) is attached to band (106) and faces the back of user’s neck).
Brav Fig. 3B is deficient in disclosing a contact piece having a surface exposed through the installation slot, contacting the back of the user's neck to provide a sense of touch, and made of one or a combination of at least one of fiber, synthetic fiber, resin, and synthetic resin, and
wherein the contact piece is moved to provide the sense of touch to the user's neck.
However, Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C discloses a contact piece having a surface exposed through the installation slot, contacting the back of the user's neck to provide a sense of touch, and made of one or a combination of at least one of fiber, synthetic fiber, resin, and synthetic resin (Fig. 11 and 16A-C, paragraph 0126, where the vibration-reducing covering (526) is made of rubber), and
wherein the contact piece is moved to provide the sense of touch to the user's neck (Fig. 11 and 16A-C, paragraph 0126, where vibration-reducing covering (526) is moved by vibration from haptic element (102)).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the touch providing unit as taught by Brav Fig. 3B by including a contact piece as taught by Brav Fig. 3B and 11A-C. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce the vibration intensity (Brav, paragraph 0126).
As to claim 13, Brav Fig. 3B discloses the immersive image experiencing device, further including a goosebump-inducing mode that provides a cool sensation to the user by the coolness and warmth providing unit along with the operation of the touch providing unit (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0095, where elements (102) provide a temperature change by including a heating/cooling element).
Brav Fig. 3B is deficient in disclosing allows goosebumps on the skin of the user who is watching the video by blowing wind toward the user by the air supply unit.
However, Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C discloses allows goosebumps on the skin of the user who is watching the video by blowing wind toward the user by the air supply unit (Fig. 11, paragraph 0128, where elements (102) include an air puffer).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the immersive image experience device as taught by Brav Fig. 3B by including a wind sensation as taught by Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C. The suggestion/motivation would have been so that the user can experience several different immersive sensations.
As to claim 14, Brav Fig. 3B discloses the immersive image experiencing device, further including a climate sensation mode that allows the user who is watching the video to experience the atmosphere and climate in the video with the operation of the coolness and warmth providing unit (Fig. 3B, paragraph 0095, where elements (102) provide a temperature change by including a heating/cooling element).
Brav Fig. 3B is deficient in disclosing the immersive image experiencing device, further including a climate sensation mode that allows the user who is watching the video to experience the atmosphere and climate in the video by blowing wind toward the user by the air supply unit.
However, Brav Fig. 11 and 16A-C discloses the immersive image experiencing device, further including a climate sensation mode that allows the user who is watching the video to experience the atmosphere and climate in the video by blowing wind toward the user by the air supply unit (Fig. 11, paragraph 0128, where elements (102) include an air puffer). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 13.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0011602 A1 to Brav et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0400325 A1 to Fujino.
As to claim 7, Brav is deficient in disclosing the immersive image experiencing device, further comprising a vibration pad electrically connected to the main body and be in contact with the user's back, and transmitting sound and voice through the user's back in a bone conduction manner.
However, Fujino discloses the immersive image experiencing device, further comprising a vibration pad electrically connected to the main body and be in contact with the user's back, and transmitting sound and voice through the user's back in a bone conduction manner (Fig. 2, paragraph 0063, where sound emission unit (84) emits sound and voice through the user’s back in a bone conduction manner).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the immersive image experiencing device as taught by Brav by including transmitting sound and voice through the user’s back in a bone conduction manner as taught by Fujino. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to set the physical distance between the sound emission unit and sound collecting units as a maximum distance so as to prevent an echo (Fujino, paragraph 0046).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, 12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone, or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or render obvious, “wherein the sensory unit comprises a shock vibration providing unit provided on one side of the main body to provide vibration to the user”, in combination with the other limitations set forth in claim 4.
Claims 11 and 12 are dependent on claim 4.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone, or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or render obvious, “a sensory effect code processing unit configured to be capable of communicating with or electrically connecting to the sensory unit and generates and stores a reality connected cinema (RCC) code, which is a sensory effect code that causes a plurality of different sensory effects to be transmitted to the user's body by the sensory unit to appear and disappear for a predetermined period of time at a required playback point on a screen in a video to be watched by the user, and synchronize the RCC code with the screen in the video to be watched by the user”, in combination with the other limitations set forth in claim 15.
Conclusion
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627