DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (US 20220347805 A1) in view of Labba (US 20230103522 A1) in further view of Ueno (US 20150343579 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchida teaches A device for an automated production of screw connections, the device comprising: ([0055] A device mainly used to automatically tighten a screw may be generally called a “nut runner” or an “automatic fastener”. Examples of the screw fastening device body 5 include an impact type screw fastening device and a continuous type screw fastening device. )
an articulated arm robot (Fig. 1 SCARA robot 10) having an output element (Fig. 4 11 screw fastening device) and an end member (Fig. 1 device body 5), the output element being arranged on the end member so as to be rotatable about an effector axis; (Fig. 1 L2 screw fastening axis)
a screwdriving tool unit that is rotatable about the effector axis via the output element ([0037] the screw fastening device 11 to tighten a screw on a workpiece), the screwdriving tool unit comprising a hub (Fig. 6 extension bar 55/55a) and a profile shaft (Fig. 6 drive shaft 54) with a screw blade arranged at an end of the profile shaft ([0056] As shown in FIG. 4, the screw fastening device body 5 includes the drive 50, the drive shaft 54, an extension bar 55, and a tool 56.), the profile shaft and the hub are connected to each other in a form-fitting manner in a circumferential direction, the profile shaft being disposed inside of the hub and being displaceable relative to the hub along the effector axis; (Fig. 6 [0065] The cylindrical part 55 a has a cylindrical hole 5S of which an inner diameter is larger than the maximum outer diameter of the shaft bar 54 b, which enables the shaft bar 54 b to be inserted into the cylindrical hole 5S)
a linear drive unit mounted at the end member ([0056] As shown in FIG. 4, the screw fastening device body 5 includes the drive 50, the drive shaft 54, an extension bar 55, and a tool 56 [0057] As shown in FIG. 5, the drive 50 includes the motor 51, a reduction gear 52, and an output shaft 53.), the linear drive unit comprising a working element that is axially displaceable parallel to the effector axis; and ([0063] Referring back to FIG. 4, the extension bar 55 is a member that extends downwardly the output shaft of the screw fastening device body 5 along the screw fastening axis L2 and moves telescopically. The extension bar 55 has the cylindrical part 55 a and a connecting part 55 b. [0070] the drive shaft 54 and the extension bar 55 are so connected to rotate together in the circumferential direction and to move in the axial direction.)
a fastener (Fig. 4 connecting plate 71) rigidly connected to the working element (Fig. 4 leading end shaft 43) and connected to the profile shaft (Fig. 4 drive shaft 54) via a rotary bearing (Fig. 4 two ball bearings 72 a and 72 b.) so that the profile shaft is displaceable along the effector axis via the linear drive unit, ([0050] The rotation of the motor 41 moves the leading end shaft 43 up and down (in the axial direction). The leading end shaft 43 moves up and down at a speed according to the rotational speed of the motor 41, and is positioned at a position (height position) according to the amount of rotation of the motor 41. In positioning of the leading end shaft 43 at the height position, keeping at the height position depends on the holding force at the stop of the motor 41 or on the holding force of a brake device provided separately.)
wherein the fastener has at least one driver, wherein the profile shaft and a shaft ring of the rotary bearing are actively connected to each other in the circumferential direction and in the axial direction via at least one driver ([0084] The ball bearings 72 a and 72 b are prevented from coming off with retaining rings 73 a and 73 b (see FIG. 4), [0087] The housing case 70 has a flange part 70 a that is bolted to one end of the connecting plate 71, and the other end of the connecting plate 71 is bolted to a flange part 43 a of the leading end shaft 43. In such a case, the connecting plate 71 is attached in such a manner that the central axes of the drive shaft 54 and the extension bar 55 coincide with the screw fastening axis L2 and further the extension bar 55 smoothly moves up and down along the screw fastening axis L2)
Tsuchida does not expressly disclose but Labba discloses wherein the inner diameter of the rotary bearing is greater than the outer diameter of the hub of the screwdriving tool unit so that the rotary bearing encloses the hub, wherein the hub has at least one axially running slot to accommodate at least one driver so that the rotary bearing is to be axially displaced relative to the hub while enclosing the hub and ([0027] FIGS. 2A-B show that the manoeuvring sleeve 15 is arranged in the blocking element in the inner cavity of the spindle and has a first end 15.1 protruding towards the saw blade in the longitudinal opening 9.3 of the hub, and a second end 15.2, which is coaxially arranged and slidably displaceable in the feed-through opening 14 of the blocking element and is coupled to the manoeuvring means 18 as well as an intermediate piece 15.3, which connects the first and second ends of the manoeuvring sleeve…The outer diameter of the first end is smaller than the inner diameter d1 of the hub to enable that the manoeuvring sleeve can be displaced out through the longitudinal opening 9.3 of the hub for picking an unused saw blade.)
wherein the at least one driver of the fastener extends transversely to the effector axis, such that the at least one driver extends transversely through the at least one axially running slot of the hub and extends into the profile shaft to form a form-fitting connection with the profile shaft, so that as the rotary bearing is axially displaced relative to the hub, the profile shaft is axially displaced with the rotary bearing. ([0010] FIG. 1 shows a remote-controlled demolition robot 1 with a saw tool 3 carried by a free end of a manoeuvrable robot arm 2 associated with the demolition robot. [0026] FIGS. 2A-B further show that the end 4.1 of the spindle is coaxially arranged with the hub 6 and end 9 of the saw blade, the blocking element 10, the manoeuvring sleeve 15 and the manoeuvring means, whereby the blocking element further is coaxially arranged around the manoeuvring sleeve 15, so that the blocking element 10 is arranged between the inner limitation surface 9.4 of the hub and the manoeuvring sleeve. Thereby a compact and reliable release mechanism is obtained.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchida with the teachings of Labba with a reasonable expectation of success by improving safety and reduce work environment risks for the operator as taught by Labba ([0003]).
Tsuchida does not expressly disclose but Ueno discloses pin-shaped driver (Fig. 3A and 3B [0027] FIG. 2 shows two nuts 23 disposed on the inner surface of the first claw 21 and ball rollers 24 rotatably disposed in the nuts 23. The two ball rollers 24 are successively arranged along a line parallel to the center axis C. FIG. 2 also shows two nuts 25 disposed on the inner surface of the second claw 22 and ball rollers 26 rotatably disposed in the nuts 25. The two ball rollers 26 are successively arranged along a line parallel to the center axis C )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchida with the teachings of Ueno with a reasonable expectation of success by easily positioning a socket when the nut runner is used horizontally as taught by Ueno ([0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchida does not expressly disclose but Ueno discloses The device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one pin-shaped driver of the fastener comprises four pin-shaped drivers, which are rigidly arranged at a distance of 90° each on the shaft ring of the rotary bearing and each form the form-fitting connection with the profile shaft, wherein the at least one axially running slot of the hub includes four axially running slots to accommodate the four pin-shaped drivers. ([0033] Further, as can be seen from FIGS. 3A and 3B, a pair of the nut 23 and ball roller 24 is provided on the respective inclined surfaces 21 a and 21 b of the first claw 21. Likewise, a pair of the nut 25 and ball roller 26 is provided on the respective inclined surfaces 22 a and 22 b of the second claw 22 [0034] As can be seen from FIGS. 2 and 3A, each of the first claw 21 and the second claw 22 have four ball rollers. Accordingly, in the illustrated embodiment, each inclined surface has two ball rollers. Note that each inclined surface should have at least two ball rollers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchida with the teachings of Ueno with a reasonable expectation of success by easily positioning a socket when the nut runner is used horizontally as taught by Ueno ([0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuchida teaches The device according to claim 1, wherein the linear drive unit is a pneumatic cylinder or is an electromechanical linear drive unit. ([0050] The rotation of the motor 41 moves the leading end shaft 43 up and down (in the axial direction). The leading end shaft 43 moves up and down at a speed according to the rotational speed of the motor 41, and is positioned at a position (height position) according to the amount of rotation of the motor 41. In positioning of the leading end shaft 43 at the height position, keeping at the height position depends on the holding force at the stop of the motor 41 or on the holding force of a brake device provided separately.)
Regarding claim 7, Tsuchida teaches The device according to claim 1, wherein the device has a gearbox, wherein the gearbox is actively connected to the output element and the screwdriving tool unit and transmits a speed between the output element and the screwdriving tool unit. (Fig. 4 a bearing box 62 [0050] The rotation of the motor 41 moves the leading end shaft 43 up and down (in the axial direction). The leading end shaft 43 moves up and down at a speed according to the rotational speed of the motor 41, and is positioned at a position (height position) according to the amount of rotation of the motor 41. )
Claims 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (US 20220347805 A1) in view of Labba (US 20230103522 A1) in further view of Ueno (US 20150343579 A1) in further view of Kornelsen (US 20220258292 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuchida does not expressly disclose but Kornelsen discloses The device according to claim 1, further comprising a mouthpiece to provide a screw, wherein the mouthpiece is mounted on the end member. ([0059] By virtue of that articulated mounting of the mouthpiece 4, the mouthpiece can be pivoted through an angle α, as shown in FIG. 6, so that in the event of a tilted position of the screwdriving unit 2, the feed head 4 can be positioned flat on the component during the entire screwdriving operation and the screw is screwed in perpendicular to the component)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchida with the teachings of Kornelsen with a reasonable expectation of success by providing an automatic screwdriving system for connection of components that require high contact pressures for their screw connection as taught by Kornelsen ([0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuchida does not expressly disclose but Kornelsen discloses A method for the automated production of a screw connection via the device according to claim 1, the method comprising:
displacing the profile shaft by the linear drive unit to a protective position in which the screw blade is retracted behind a mouthpiece; ([0059] By virtue of that articulated mounting of the mouthpiece 4, the mouthpiece can be pivoted through an angle α, as shown in FIG. 6, so that in the event of a tilted position of the screwdriving unit 2, the feed head 4 can be positioned flat on the component during the entire screwdriving operation and the screw is screwed in perpendicular to the component.)
moving the articulated arm robot into a starting pose relative to components to be screwed together; ([0020] The reset cylinder is actuated so that a component of the screwdriving unit, preferably the cylinder for the linear drive/tool stroke, is in contact with the fixed stop. Once the screw has been screwed in, the axial force of the screwdriving tool is withdrawn and the robot returns to its starting position.)
feeding a screw into the mouthpiece; ([0059] By virtue of that articulated mounting of the mouthpiece 4, the mouthpiece can be pivoted through an angle α, as shown in FIG. 6, so that in the event of a tilted position of the screwdriving unit 2, the feed head 4 can be positioned flat on the component during the entire screwdriving operation and the screw is screwed in perpendicular to the component.)
displacing the profile shaft via the linear drive unit into an engagement position in which the screw blade is engaged with the screw; ([0020] The screwdriving unit is positioned with the feed head on the workpiece.)
screwing in the screw to produce the screw connection by turning the output element and driving the screw blade forward by displacing the profile shaft via the linear drive unit; and ([0020] The screwdriving tool moves to the screw, which is located in the feed head, and is then subjected to high axial force.)
displacing the profile shaft via the linear drive unit to the protective position after the screw connection has been produced. ([0020] Once the screw has been screwed in, the axial force of the screwdriving tool is withdrawn and the robot returns to its starting position. The actuator for the linear drive is reset and the screwdriving unit lifts away from the workpiece.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchida with the teachings of Kornelsen with a reasonable expectation of success by providing an automatic screwdriving system for connection of components that require high contact pressures for their screw connection as taught by Kornelsen ([0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant argues that the claim objection to the claims should not be maintained in view of “Applicant hereby amends claim 1 in a manner believed to address the objections.” This argument is persuasive in view of the amendment. Therefore the objection is not maintained.
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 103 rejections to the claims should not be maintained in view of “As shown in Fig. 4, the alleged hub 54/54b of Tsuchida is provided inside of the alleged profile shaft 55/55a. On the other hand, claim 1 now clarifies that the profile shaft is disposed inside of the hub. As such, claim 1, as amended, is patentable over Tsuchida for at least this reason.” However, in view of the amendment a new ground of rejection is above.
Applicant argues “Applicant submits that the alleged fastener 7 of Tsuchida fails to disclose the claimed fastener, as now clarified in amended claim 1. For example, Tsuchida fails to disclose a pin-shaped driver. Also, the alleged hub 54/54b of Tsuchida fails to include at least one axially running slot to accommodate at least one pin-shaped driver so that the rotary bearing is axially displaceable relative to the hub while enclosing the hub.” However, in view of the amendment a new ground of rejection is above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656