DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION CONCERNING RESPONSES
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on January 15, 2026, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on November 5, 2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, claims 1 and 8-18 have been amended. As a result, claims 1-20 are now pending in this application.
The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn due to the amendment filed January 15, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Due to Applicant’s amendments for claims 1-14 filed on January 15, 2026, the rejection based on 35 USC 112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on January 15, 2026, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on November 5, 2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Hence, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further review a new ground of rejection has been made in view of Pilolli et al. (Publication Number US 2015/0019787 A1).
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Aiki et al. (Patent Number US 5,410,540) in view of Jalan et al. (Publication Number US 2018/0239530 A1) and Pilolli et al. (Publication Number US 2015/0019787 A1).
As per claim 1, Aiki et al. discloses “A method, comprising: receiving, via a decoder (focus on the port select decoder 61; FIG. 4) coupled to a feature register resident on a memory device interface (write access register (WAR) 621 to 62N; FIG. 4; Column 3, lines 66-68 to Column 4, lines 1-11) that is divided into a first feature register portion and a second feature register portion (there are several instances of WAR (621 to 62N); FIG. 4), a bit string comprising at least one bit indicative of selection between the first feature register portion and the second feature register portion (through routing information contained in the additional header of the ATM cell; Column 3, lines 66-68 to Column 4, lines 1-11; Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6).” Though Aiki et al. discloses individual registers [there are several instances of WAR (621 to 62N); FIG. 4], Aiki et al. does not disclose writing to selected registers as disclosed in the limitation “and responsive to the at least one bit being indicative of selecting the first feature register portion, writing the bit string to the first feature register portion of the memory device interface, or responsive to the at least one bit being indicative of selecting the second feature register portion, writing the bit string to the second feature register portion of the memory device interface.”
Jalan et al. discloses writing to selected registers as disclosed in the limitation “and responsive to the at least one bit being indicative of selecting the first feature register portion, writing the bit string to the first feature register portion of the memory device interface, or responsive to the at least one bit being indicative of selecting the second feature register portion, writing the bit string to the second feature register portion of the memory device interface (where write enable signals cause data to be written in enabled registers; Paragraph 0028; FIG. 2).”
Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of memory control systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. to enable parallel functionality of circuits [Paragraph 0003].
However, Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. do not disclose “wherein the first feature register portion includes a first set of memory resources to register address information for a first signal received from a host device and the second feature register portion includes a second set of memory resources to register address information for a second signal received from the host device.”
Pilolli et al. discloses “wherein the first feature register portion includes a first set of memory resources to register address information for a first signal received from a host device and the second feature register portion includes a second set of memory resources to register address information for a second signal received from the host device (where the register 230 can be divided into a plurality of portions corresponding to the plurality of interfaces [Paragraph 0023; FIG. 2]. See also the data register 331 (divided into portions 1-4) and cache register 333 (divided into portions 1-4), each corresponding to planes 301 in [FIG. 3]).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. with elements of Pilolli et al. to enable higher density memories without increasing the number of memory cells since each cell can represent more than one unit of data. [Paragraph 0005].
As per claim 2, Aiki et al. discloses “The method of claim 1 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the first feature register portion and the second feature register portion are designated to circuitry associated to a single output channel (WAR 621 to 62N are connected to a single bus L42 to memory 4; FIG. 4).”
As per claim 3, Aiki et al. discloses “The method of claim 1 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), further comprising receiving a signal from a first input channel at an input of the decoder (focus on the multiple buses LO1 to LON that connect to a multiplexer 2 and subsequently to selector 36; FIG. 4).”
As per claim 4, Aiki et al. discloses “The method of claim 3 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), further comprising receiving the signal at the input of the decoder from a multiplexor coupled to the first input channel and to a second input channel (multiplexer 2 to buses LO1 to LON; FIG. 4).”
As per claim 5, Aiki et al. discloses “The method of claim 1 (as disclosed by *** above), wherein the first feature register portion is a first designated memory address map and the second feature register portion is a second designated memory address map (through routing information contained in the additional header of the ATM cell; Column 3, lines 66-68 to Column 4, lines 1-11; Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6).”
As per claim 6, Jalan et al. discloses “The method of claim 5 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the first designated memory address map comprises a first 1 kilobyte address map and the second designated memory address map comprises a second 1 kilobyte address map (note that the number of control bits can be up to 16,384 bits with each register being 32 bits each with individual control registers assigned to an address in the range 0 through 511 [Paragraph 0013]. Note that the size of the memory address maps can also be considered a design choice in the size of the memory address maps can vary depending on the amount of memory present).”
As per claim 7, Aiki et al. discloses “The method of claim 1 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), further comprising directly accessing one of the first feature register portion or the second feature register portion based on an address decode bit (through routing information contained in the additional header of the ATM cell; Column 3, lines 66-68 to Column 4, lines 1-11; Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6).”
As per claim 8, Aiki et al. discloses “A system, comprising: a controller (cell copy section 3 connection to the port select decoder 61 in the buffer memory controller; FIG. 4).” Aiki et al. discloses “and a memory device interface to transfer communication between the controller and the plurality of memory [dice] (cell copy section 3 connection to the port select decoder 61; FIG. 4), wherein the memory device interface comprises: a feature register divided into a first feature register portion and a second feature register portion (through routing information contained in the additional header of the ATM cell; Column 3, lines 66-68 to Column 4, lines 1-11; Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6), wherein the first feature register portion and the second feature register portion are designated to circuitry associated to a single output channel (WAR 621 to 62N are connected to a single bus L42 to memory 4; FIG. 4).” Aiki et al. discloses “a command decoder coupled to a first input of the first feature register portion and a second input of the second feature register portion (focus on the port select decoder 61; FIG. 4).” Though Aiki et al. discloses individual registers [there are several instances of WAR (621 to 62N); FIG. 4], Aiki et al. does not disclose writing to selected registers as disclosed in the limitation “discloses “and an address decode bit written to the first feature register portion to designate a selection between the first feature register portion and the second feature register portion when receiving signals from the command decoder “ or “a plurality of memory dice.”
Jalan et al. discloses “a plurality of memory dice (Jalen et al. discloses die packages [Paragraph 0044] which are well known in the art).”
Jalan et al. discloses writing to selected registers as disclosed in the limitation and an address decode bit written to the first feature register portion to designate a selection between the first feature register portion and the second feature register portion when receiving signals from the command decoder (where write enable signals cause data to be written in enabled registers; Paragraph 0028; FIG. 2).”
Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of memory control systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. to enable parallel functionality of circuits [Paragraph 0003].
However, Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. do not disclose “wherein the first feature register portion includes a first set of memory resources to register address information for a first signal received from a host device and the second feature register portion includes a second set of memory resources to register address information for a second signal received from the host device.”
Pilolli et al. discloses “wherein the first feature register portion includes a first set of memory resources to register address information for a first signal received from a host device and the second feature register portion includes a second set of memory resources to register address information for a second signal received from the host device (where the register 230 can be divided into a plurality of portions corresponding to the plurality of interfaces [Paragraph 0023; FIG. 2]. See also the data register 331 (divided into portions 1-4) and cache register 333 (divided into portions 1-4), each corresponding to planes 301 in [FIG. 3]).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. with elements of Pilolli et al. to enable higher density memories without increasing the number of memory cells since each cell can represent more than one unit of data. [Paragraph 0005].
As per claim 9, Jalan et al. discloses “The system of claim 8 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the first feature register portion is a standard address map quantity of memory and the second feature register portion is the standard address map quantity of memory (note that the number of control bits can be up to 16,384 bits with each register being 32 bits each with individual control registers assigned to an address in the range 0 through 511 [Paragraph 0013]. Note that the size of the memory address maps can also be considered a design choice in the size of the memory address maps can vary depending on the amount of memory present).”
As per claim 10, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 8 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), comprising a multiplexor, wherein an output of the multiplexor is coupled to an input of the command decoder and an input of the multiplexor is coupled to a first input channel and a second input channel (focus on the multiple buses LO1 to LON that connect to a multiplexer 2 and subsequently to selector 36; FIG. 4).”
As per claim 11, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 8 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), comprising a third feature register portion and a fourth feature register portion coupled to an output of an additional decoder (see the buffer 64 where read address register (RAR) data with decoder 65 (Column 5, lines 7-20) come into play with the write address register (WAR) with decoder 61 data [Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6] resulting in a copy operation by the cell copy section; Column 5, lines 21-27).”
As per claim 12, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 11 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), comprising an additional address decode bit is written to the third feature register portion to designate a selection between the third feature register portion and the fourth feature register portion when receiving signals from the additional decoder (with read address register (RAR) data with decoder 65 (Column 5, lines 7-20) coming into play with the write address register (WAR) with decoder 61 data [Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6] resulting in a copy operation by the cell copy section; Column 5, lines 21-27).”
As per claim 13, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 11 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the third feature register portion and the fourth feature register portion are designated to the circuitry associated to a different output channel than the single output channel (see bus L43 for the read address registers (RAR) to bus L42 for the write address registers (WAR); FIG. 4).”
As per claim 14, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 8 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the memory device interface operates in a one of a one channel mode and a two channel mode (see bus L43 for the read address registers (RAR) to bus L42 for the write address registers (WAR); FIG. 4).”
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Aiki et al. (Patent Number US 5,410,540) in view of Jalan et al. (Publication Number US 2018/0239530 A1), Pilolli et al. (Publication Number US 2015/0019787 A1), and Kim et al. (Publication Number US 2019/0378551 A1).
As per claim 15, Aiki et al. discloses “and a processing device coupled to the memory sub-system by a memory device interface, the memory device interface comprising: a feature register divided into a first plurality of designated feature register portions designated to circuitry associated with a first set of output channels and a second plurality of designated feature register portions designated to a circuitry associated with a second set of output channels (there are several instances of WAR (621 to 62N); FIG. 4).” Aiki et al. discloses “a first command decoder coupled to a first input of the first plurality of designated feature register portions (focus on the port select decoder 61; FIG. 4).” Aiki et al. discloses “a second command decoder coupled to a second input of the second plurality of designated feature register portions (see the buffer 64 where read address register (RAR) data with decoder 65 (Column 5, lines 7-20) come into play with the write address register (WAR) with decoder 61 data [Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6] resulting in a copy operation by the cell copy section; Column 5, lines 21-27).” Aiki et al. discloses “a multiplexor coupled to an input of the second command decoder (focus on the multiple buses LO1 to LON that connect to a multiplexer 2 and subsequently to selector 36; FIG. 4).”
However, Aiki et al. does not disclose “A system comprising: a memory sub-system comprising a non-volatile memory device.”
Jalan et al. discloses “A system comprising: a memory sub-system comprising a non-volatile memory device (Paragraph 0004).”
Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of memory control systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. to enable parallel functionality of circuits [Paragraph 0003]. Also, non-volatile memory is known in the art as a means of fast long-term data storage.
However, Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. do not disclose the presence of more than two decoders as disclosed in the limitation “and a third command decoder coupled to an input of the first command decoder and an input of the multiplexor.” Kim et al. discloses “and a third command decoder coupled to an input of the first command decoder and an input of the multiplexor (see the CMD decoder 150 that cascades into the rower decoder 140 and column decoder 130 [FIG. 2]. Note that Aiki et al. discloses the use of a multiplexer at the input in [FIG. 4]).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Aiki et al. and Jalan et al. with elements of Kim et al. to more properly handle various other components within a memory system (as the CMD decoder controls other decoders such as column decoder and row decoder [Paragraph 0044]).
However, Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Kim et al. do not disclose “wherein the first feature register portion includes a first set of memory resources to register address information for a first signal received from a host device and the second feature register portion includes a second set of memory resources to register address information for a second signal received from the host device.”
Pilolli et al. discloses “wherein the first feature register portion includes a first set of memory resources to register address information for a first signal received from a host device and the second feature register portion includes a second set of memory resources to register address information for a second signal received from the host device (where the register 230 can be divided into a plurality of portions corresponding to the plurality of interfaces [Paragraph 0023; FIG. 2]. See also the data register 331 (divided into portions 1-4) and cache register 333 (divided into portions 1-4), each corresponding to planes 301 in [FIG. 3]).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Aiki et al., Jalan et al., and Kim et al. with elements of Pilolli et al. to enable higher density memories without increasing the number of memory cells since each cell can represent more than one unit of data. [Paragraph 0005].
As per claim 16, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 15 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., Kim et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the processing device is to write a first address decode bit to the first plurality of designated feature register portions to designate a selection between the first plurality of designated feature register portions for signals received from the first command decoder (through routing information contained in the additional header of the ATM cell; Column 3, lines 66-68 to Column 4, lines 1-11; Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6).”
As per claim 17, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 16 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., Kim et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the processing device is to write a second address decode bit to the second plurality of designated feature register portions to designate a selection between the second plurality of designated feature register portions for signals received from the second command decoder (see the buffer 64 where read address register (RAR) data with decoder 65 (Column 5, lines 7-20) come into play with the write address register (WAR) with decoder 61 data [Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6] resulting in a copy operation by the cell copy section; Column 5, lines 21-27).”
As per claim 18, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 15 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., Kim et al., and Pilolli et al. above), comprising a first input channel coupled to the third command decoder (Kim et al. discloses a third decoder in [FIG. 2]) and a second input channel coupled to the multiplexor (FIG. 4).”
As per claim 19, Aiki et al. discloses “The system of claim 18 (as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., Kim et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the second input channel is disabled to execute a one channel mode utilizing the first input channel (see bus L43 for the read address registers (RAR) for read operations [Column 5, lines 7-20] to bus L42 for the write address registers (WAR) for write operations; Column 4, lines 58-68 to Column 5, lines 1-6; FIG. 4).”
As per claim 20, Kim et al. discloses “The system of claim 15 (a as disclosed by Aiki et al., Jalan et al., Kim et al., and Pilolli et al. above), wherein the first set of output channels includes a first output channel coupled to a first portion of NAND dice and a second output channel coupled to a second portion of NAND dice (Paragraph 0021).”
RELEVENT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and relied upon is citied to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The following references teach data transfer as they pertain to registers:
U.S. PATENT NUMBERS:
2011/0072170 A1 – register file 620 [FIG. 6; Paragraph 0053]
5,454,092 – map register 45 with map register 1 and map register 2 [FIG. 4]
6,629,232 B1 – see the register file copy 310 and 320 [FIG. 3]
CONCLUDING REMARKS
Conclusions
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.W.Y/Examiner, Art Unit 2181 March 13, 2026
/IDRISS N ALROBAYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2181