DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. Claims 1-20 filed August 24, 2026 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group (I) in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made the continuation of Application 17653611, now U.S. Patent 12,083,083. Application 17653611 is a continuation of Application 16946744, now U.S. Patent 11,298,329. Application 16946744 is continuation of Application 15720636, now U.S. Patent 10,736,860. Application 15720636 is a continuation of Application 13795219, now U.S. Patent 9,808,435. Application 13795219 was filed 03/12/2013.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Paragraph B
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is directed to the composition of claim 13 wherein the sulfonated surfactant is an aromatic sulfonated surfactant. Claim 20 is directed to the composition of claim 19 wherein the sulfonated surfactant is one or more of alpha olefin sulfonate, hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate or ethyl hexyldisulfonate.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation alpha olefin sulfonate in claim 20 as the claim from which it depends (claim 19) requires the sulfonated surfactant to be an aromatic sulfonated surfactant.
As evidenced by CAS Registry Database above, the sulfonated surfactant alpha olefin sulfonate is not an “aromatic sulfonated surfactant”. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the subject matter for which Applicant was presently seeking protection.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Claim 20 embraces the compound ethyl hexyldisulfonate as a species of sulfonated surfactant in the composition of claim 19. The metes and bounds of the phrase “ethyl hexyldisulfonate” are unclear. Neither the instant specification nor CAS registry database provide chemical structure, physical properties, chemical properties or other written description requirements of the surfactant ethyl hexyldisulfonate.
Alternatively, page 15 of the specification discloses 2-ethylhexyl sulfonate as a species of sulfonated surfactant and it is unclear if Applicant meant to claim the sulfonated surfactant 2-ethylhexyl sulfonate (CAS 126-92-1) in the genus of sulfonated surfactants listed in claim 20. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of the invention would not have been reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the subject matter for which Applicant is presently seeking protection.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner has interpreted the surfactant ethyl hexyldisulfonate as 2-ethylhexyl sulfonate as found in page 15 of the instant specification and subsequent examination is based on this interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-17 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Cheng (US2006/0293214 published 12/28/2006).
Cheng (US2006/0293214 published 12/28/2006) teaches antimicrobial compositions comprising an alpha-hydroxycarboxylic acid, a monohydric alcohol and an anionic tenside (abstract). Embraced within the compositions of Cheng includes composition 2E comprising 3% wt. C6 2-hyroxycarboxylic acid citric acid, 3% wt. ethanol, 2% wt. of the aromatic sulfonated surfactant disodium N-decyldiphenyl ether disulfonate C12DADS and water ([0092], [0121]). Regarding claim 8, Cheng teaches said antimicrobial composition comprises a pH of 2.3 ([0118]) Cheng teaches that said compositions require the alpha-hydroxycarboxylic acid, the monohydric alcohol and the anionic tenside to yield their synergistic antimicrobial efficacy ([0117]). Cheng further teaches that 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid, 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid and 2-hydroxydecanoic acid are all suitable alternative alpha-hydroxycarboxylic for the antimicrobial composition ([0027]-[0029]).
Regarding the capacity of the antimicrobial composition of Cheng to cause a greater than 3 log reduction in norovirus population in less than one minute, Applicant is reminded that said property is not explicitly described in the cited prior art of Cheng,
the composition 2E comprising 3% wt. C6 2-hyroxycarboxylic acid citric acid, 3% wt. ethanol, 2% wt. of the aromatic sulfonated surfactant disodium N-decyldiphenyl ether disulfonate C12DADS and water is identical to that of instantly claimed. Therefore, the property of the composition to cause a greater than 3 log reduction in norovirus population in less than one minute must necessarily be present in the prior art composition of Cheng, because products of identical chemical composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when prepared or used in the same manner under the same circumstances. In other words, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical or physical structure of the composition, (i.e., a virucidally effective amount of a branched alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid, an effective amount of a sulfonated surfactant, a linear alcohol and water), and the composition is used in the same manner (i.e., administered in the same manner to the same surface, the properties that Applicant discloses and/or claims must necessarily be present. Furthermore, as stated in MPEP 2112.02, “[u]nder the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered anticipated by the prior art device.”
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 13, 15, 17-18, 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Zimmerman (U.S. Patent 5,443,817 published 08/22/1995).
Zimmerman (U.S. Patent 5,443,817 published 08/22/1995) teaches a composition comprising 5% wt. ethanol (SD-40), 5.16% wt. of the sulfonated surfactant alpha olefin sulfonate (Bioterge-AS-40), 0.05% wt. of the alpha hydroxycarboxylic acid 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid (2-hydroxycaprylic acid) and water (Table 1; composition #6, col. 6. Lines 5-50). Regarding claim 8, the pH of said composition is between 4.7-4.9 (col. 6 lines 5-50).
Regarding the capacity of the antimicrobial composition of Zimmerman to cause a greater than 3 log reduction in norovirus population in less than one minute, Applicant is reminded that said property is not explicitly described in the cited prior art of Zimmerman, composition 6 comprising 5% wt. ethanol (SD-40), 5.16% wt. of the sulfonated surfactant alpha olefin sulfonate (Bioterge-AS-40), 0.05% wt. of the alpha hydroxycarboxylic acid 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid (2-hydroxycaprylic acid) and water is identical to that of instantly claimed. Therefore, the property of the composition to cause a greater than 3 log reduction in norovirus population in less than one minute must necessarily be present in the prior art composition of Zimmerman, because products of identical chemical composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when prepared or used in the same manner under the same circumstances. In other words, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical or physical structure of the composition, (i.e., a virucidally effective amount of a branched alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid, an effective amount of a sulfonated surfactant, a linear alcohol and water), and the composition is used in the same manner (i.e., administered in the same manner to the same surface, the properties that Applicant discloses and/or claims must necessarily be present. Furthermore, as stated in MPEP 2112.02, “[u]nder the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered anticipated by the prior art device.”
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 13, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Simon (U.S. Patent 7,148,187 published 12/12/2006).
Simon (U.S. Patent 7,148,187 published 12/12/2006) teaches antimicrobial compositions comprising 2-hydroxycarboxylic acids and amphoteric surfactants (abstract). Embraced within the teachings of Simon is composition L which comprises 10 %wt. of the C6 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid citric acid, 0.5% wt. of the aromatic sulfonated surfactant Dowfax 2A1 (sodium dodecyl diphenyloxide disulfonate), 3% wt. of the C1-C6 alcohol isopropanol and water (Table 4, col. 21 lines 1-40). Said composition comprises a pH of less than 7 which reads on the limitation of less than about 6.8 as found in claim 8. Regarding the capacity of the antimicrobial composition of Simon to cause a greater than 3 log reduction in norovirus population in less than one minute, Applicant is reminded that said property is not explicitly described in the cited prior art of Zimmerman, composition L comprising 10 %wt. of the C6 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid citric acid, 0.5% wt. of the sulfonated surfactant Dowfax 2A1 (sodium dodecyl diphenyloxide disulfonate), 3% wt. of the C1-C6 alcohol isopropanol and water is identical to that of instantly claimed. Therefore, the property of the composition to cause a greater than 3 log reduction in norovirus population in less than one minute must necessarily be present in the prior art composition of Simon, because products of identical chemical composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when prepared or used in the same manner under the same circumstances. In other words, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical or physical structure of the composition, (i.e., a virucidally effective amount of a branched alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid, an effective amount of a sulfonated surfactant, a linear alcohol and water), and the composition is used in the same manner (i.e., administered in the same manner to the same surface, the properties that Applicant discloses and/or claims must necessarily be present. Furthermore, as stated in MPEP 2112.02, “[u]nder the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered anticipated by the prior art device.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cheng (US2006/0293214 published 12/28/2006) and Dowfax product page (published 2000).
Cheng teaches aqueous synergistic ternary biocidal compositions comprising at least one alpha-hydroxycarboxylic acids, water soluble monohydric alkanols, and anionic sulfonated surfactants (abstract, [0009], [0027]). Cheng exemplifies composition 2E comprising 3% wt. C6 2-hyroxycarboxylic acid citric acid, 3% wt. ethanol, 2% wt. of the aromatic sulfonated surfactant disodium N-decyldiphenyl ether disulfonate C12DADS and water ([0092], [0121]). Regarding claim 8, Cheng teaches said antimicrobial composition comprises a pH of 2.3 ([0118]) Cheng teaches that said compositions require the alpha-hydroxycarboxylic acid, the monohydric alcohol and the anionic tenside to yield their synergistic antimicrobial efficacy ([0117]). Cheng further teaches that 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid, 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid and 2-hydroxydecanoic acid are all suitable alternative alpha-hydroxycarboxylic for the antimicrobial composition ([0027]-[0029]).
The difference between the instantly claimed and composition 2E of Cheng is that Cheng does not explicitly exemplify the 2-alkyl hydroxycarboxylic acid 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid, 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid and 2-hydroxydecanoic acid in the composition (claim 18), or a sulfonated surfactant selected from the group consisting of alpha olefin sulfonate, hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate or ethyl hexyldisulfonate (claim 20).
Regarding claim 18, the elected 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid, 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid and 2-hydroxydecanoic acid are each taught by Cheng as three of a possible 60 different suitable alternative alpha hydroxycarboxylic acids for the synergistic biocide composition ([0027]-[0033]). Cheng teaches that the alpha-hydroxycarboxylic acid is present in 0.5-5% wt. of the synergistic biocide composition which reads on the amounts embraced within claims 6, 13 and 14 ([0036]).
Regarding claim 20, while Cheng exemplifies the aromatic sulfonated surfactant disodium N-decyldiphenyl ether disulfonate C12DADS in the composition, an alkyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate surfactants comprising a C6 carbon chain (hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate) is also embraced as a suitable sulfonated surfactant for the synergistic biocide composition in order to reduce surface tension of the composition ([0052]; See Dowfax product page, published 2000 page 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of invention would have found it prima facie obvious to substitute the 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid citric acid and sulfonated surfactant dodecyl diphenyl oxide disulfonate in the synergistic biocide composition 2E of Cheng for an alternative 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid and alkyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate surfactant, such as 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid and hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate in view of Cheng, arriving at the claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
MPEP 2143 provides a rationale for a conclusion of obviousness including (B): Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
Applicant is reminded that “[I]t is well settled that it is a matter of obviousness for one of ordinary skill in the art to select a particular component from among many disclosed by the prior art as long as it is taught that the selection will result in the disclosed effect, even when the possible selections number 1200 or in the thousands. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Corkill, 771 F.2d 1496, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” Applicant is also reminded of MPEP 2144.07 wherein the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
In the instant case, Cheng teaches the elected 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid as one of a possible 60 different suitable alternative alpha hydroxycarboxylic acids for the synergistic biocide composition, while the sulfonated surfactant alkyldiphenyl oxide disulfonates comprising a C6 alkyl chain (hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate) is taught as an alternative suitable sulfonated surfactant for the synergistic biocide composition ([0027]-[0033], [0052]-[0053]).
Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have predicted with a reasonable expectation of success that the resulting substituted composition 2E of Cheng comprising the alternative 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid and the alternative alkyldiphenyl oxide disulfonated surfactant hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate would have been an effective synergistic antimicrobial composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,808,435.
Claims 1-6 of US Patent 9,808,435 comprises a composition for 30-99% wt. ethanol, 0.5-2% wt. of a 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid which includes one or more of 2-hydroxydecanoic acid and 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid, 0.002-1.75% wt. sulfonated surfactant selected from alpha olefin sulfonate, hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate or ethylhexyl disulfonate and water, which anticipates that composition embraced in instant claims 1-9 and 13-20.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,736,860.
The referenced copending application and the instant application are claiming a common subject matter comprising an antimicrobial composition comprising 0.5-2%wt. of a 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid which includes one or more of 2-hydroxydecanoic acid, 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid and 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid; between 0.1-5%wt. of a sulfonated surfactant selected from alpha olefin sulfonate, hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate and ethyl hexyldisulfonate; wherein water comprises up to about 60% wt. of the composition and the composition is free of phenolic antimicrobials. For double patenting of previously disclosed, but newly claimed utility, please see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 1389 (2010). In Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 1389 (2010), states that “[W]e have held, however that there are “certain instances” where the specification of an earlier patent may be used in the obvious-type double patenting analysis. In re Basell, 547, F.3d at 1378. Specifically, the specification’s disclosure may be used to determine whether the claim “merely defines an obvious variation of what is earlier disclosed and claimed”, “to learn the meaning of claim terms” and to “interpret the coverage of a claim” (page 12)... and that “[t]here is nothing that prevents us from looking to the specification to determine the proper scope of the claims. Thus, we have expressly held that, when a patent claims a compound, a court performing obvious-type double patenting analysis should examine the specification to ascertain the coverage of the claim." (page 12). Furthermore, the court expounds that a [p]erson of ordinary skill in the art is deemed to read all the claim term and not only in context of the particular claim in which the disputed term appears, but in the context of the entire patent including the specification" ICU Med., Inc v. Alaris Med Sys., Inc., 558, F.3d 1368, 1374 (Fed. Cir 2009) and (page 14 of the opinion).
In the instant case, the composition embraced in claims 1-7 of US 10,736,860 is directed to reducing the pathogenesis of the non-enveloped virus norovirus, which is the intended use of the instantly claimed composition.
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,298,329.
Claims 1-8 of US Patent 11,298,329 are directed to a composition comprising an alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid comprising one or more of 2-hydroxydecanoic acid, 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid and 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid, a sulfonated surfactant, water a C1-C6 alcohol and wherein the composition diluted with water forms a use solution comprising 0.0002 to 1.75% wt. of the alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid, from about 0.0002 to 1.75% wt. of the sulfonated surfactant and from about 0.05 to 35% wt. of the C1-C6 alcohol. The composition embraced within claim 1 lies inside the composition embraced within the presently claimed.
Claims 1-9, 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,083,083.
Claims 1-6, 8 of US Patent 12,083,083 are directed to an antiviral composition having activity against non-enveloped viruses comprising an alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid, at least 0.5 % wt. of a sulfonated surfactant selected from one or more of hexyldiphenyl oxide disulfonate or a C8-C18 alkyl diphenyl oxide disulfonate, at least 30% of a C1-C6 alcohol and water. Claim 2 is directed to wherein the alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid is a C6-C20 alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid, which overlaps with the subject matter of instant claim 5, while claim 3 is directed to wherein the alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid is one or more of 2-hydroxydecanoic acid, 2-hydroxyoctanoic acid and 2-hydroxyhexanoic acid, which overlaps with the subject matter of instant claims 1, 13 and 18. Claims 4-5 are directed to wherein the C1-C6 alcohol is ethanol which overlaps with instant claims 1-4. Claim 6 is directed to wherein the alkyl 2-hydroxycarboxylic acid is present in a concentration of 0.5-10% wt., which overlaps with the amount embraced within instant claim 6.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621