Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 6-8 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities: “AP taper”. The Examiner suggests using the full description of the “AP” such as, --- first and second anterior-posterior taper---. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second AP taper must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Does the two taper lines at the Tp is the second AP taper? If yes, looking at the drawing (Fig. 10) it seems like the second AP taper is part of the transition point and is not extending from the transition point. Claim 1 says the second AP taper is extending from the transition point and not part of the transition point. Correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The “first AP taper” and “the second AP taper” are indefinite, since, it is not clear what is tapering. Does the AP taper is the area tapering at the lateral side, as shown in Fig. 10?
Regarding claims 7 and 8, The AP taper angle has an angle relative to what? To the longitudinal axis of the implant? Correction is required.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, what does the applicant’s representative means with having “a constant arc of curvature”? Does the perimeter of the medial side from the shoulder towards the distal end is the one having the constant arc of curvature? Correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fridshtand et al US Patent Pub. 2006/0190092 A1.
Fridshtand et al discloses a hip stem implant comprising: a body including an anterior side, a posterior side, a medial side, a lateral side, a shoulder, and a distal tip (see Figs. 1, 2, 11 and 12), the body defining a proximal region and a distal region (see figure below); wherein the anterior and posterior sides include: a first anterior-posterior taper extending toward each other, the first anterior-posterior taper extending from the shoulder to a transition point; a second anterior-posterior taper extending toward each other, the second anterior-posterior taper extending from the transition point to the distal tip; and the second anterior-posterior taper is different from the first anterior-posterior taper. See figure below for the Examiner’s interpretation.
Regarding claim 2, the AP taper is symmetrical.
Regarding claim 3, see Fig. 1 showing the lateral side (where element 24 is pointing) having a convex lateral outer surface.
Regarding claim 6, see elements 80 and 100 showing that the second AP taper is larger than the first AP taper.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, see paragraph 25 and claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, see paragraph 27, element 60 disclosing the porous coating.
Regarding claim 11, see element 100 as the distal region including a non-porous coated region.
Regarding claim 15, see Fig. 2 disclosing a constant arc at the exterior perimeter of the medial side of the implant in the proximal region.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, the Examiner has a different interpretation of the second AP taper (see below), therefore, the Examiner can select a random point along the length of the stem (see figure below for selected random point) to be called the transition point so it can be positioned at a point between 15 to 25 percent of the total length of the body and also being positioned at a point between 18mm to 35mm from the distal tip.
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Serbousek et al US Patent 6,652,591B2.
Regarding claim 16, Serbousek et al discloses a hip stem implant comprising a body including an anterior side, a posterior side, a medial side, a lateral side, a shoulder, and a distal tip (see Figs. 1 and 3). The body defining a proximal region and a distal region; wherein the proximal region includes a porous coated surface (92), see column 9, lines 42-51, the distal region being configured as a non-porous coated region (see Fig. 1), and the anterior and posterior sides of the proximal region further include a plurality of grooves formed therein, the plurality of grooves formed on the anterior side extend to the medial side such that the plurality of grooves wrap around an anterior-medial corner of the body (see Fig. 1 and col. 8, lines 51-53 and Fig. 3 showing how the grooves extends to the medial side).
Regarding claim 18, see Fig. 2A disclosing that the connection between surfaces 76, 82 and 80 form a concave surface.
Regarding claim 19, see Fig. 1 disclosing angled downward grooves extending from the lateral side to the medial side.
Regarding claim 20, see Fig. 3 showing a constant arc at the exterior perimeter of the medial side of the implant in the proximal region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridshtand et al US Patent Pub. 2006/0190092 A1 in view of Serbousek et al US Patent 6,652,591B2.
Fridshtand et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Fridshtand et al does not disclose hydroxyapatite, a plurality of grooves in the anterior and posterior sides, a plurality of angled grooves extending downward from the lateral side to the medial side and that the grooves extends to the medial side.
As disclosed above the Serbousek et al reference discloses all the missing limitations from the Fridshtand et al reference. See Figs. 1, 1A and 3 and the structural limitations of the implant above.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to substitute the one single groove of the Fridshtand et al reference with the multiple declined grooves of the Serbousek et al for the purpose of promoting the anchoring of the implant during installation and to promote the fixation of the implant after the implant is set in position.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serbousek et al US Patent 6,652,591B2 in view of Fridshtand et al US Patent Pub. 2006/0190092 A1.
Serbousek et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Serbousek et al does not disclose a first AP taper, a second AP taper and wherein the second AP taper is different from the first AP taper.
As disclosed above the Fridshtand et al reference discloses all the missing limitations from the Serbousek et al reference.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the proximal and distal regions of the Serbousek et al implant by forming two distinct AP taper as disclosed by the Fridshtand et al reference in order to create a strong attachment between the implant and the intramedullary canal of the patient.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 9/10/26