DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications filed 31 July 2024.
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 July 2024 and 06 November 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 8 and 15-16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, "the serving cells" is recited with insufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, "the first layer" is recited with insufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, "the original configuration template" is recited with insufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 15, "the radio environment" is recited with insufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 16 "the protocol stack", "the 5G, New Radio, NR, Radio Protocol Stack", "the first layer", "the 5G RRC layer", "the 5G NR Radio Protocol stack", "the one or more second layers", "the 5G MAC layer", "the 5G PHY layer" and "the 5G NR Radio Protocol Stack" are recited with insufficient antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 12-13, 15 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “like” in claims 1, 4-6, 12-13, 15 and 18-20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term "like" makes unclear what type of, in example wireless communication system the claims pertain to, how alike or unalike it is to be and what limits or definiteness there is to a 3GPP system as per claims 1, 6 and 19-20. It also makes unclear what is alike to a reference signal in claim 4, an eSIM in claims 5 and 18, a base station/UE in claims 12-13, and transmission/reception in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, 11-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-12232201-B2) hereinafter Yu in view of Velammal et al. (US-11770455-B2) hereinafter Velammal.
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses:
A user device, UE ([18:36-19:19] wireless device (WD) … may be used interchangeably herein with user equipment (UE; i.e. user device)), for a wireless communication system ([18:36-19:19] wireless device … operable to communicate wirelessly with network nodes and/or other wireless devices), like a 3rd Generation Partnership Project, 3GPP, system ([18:36-19:19] WD may … in a 3GPP context), the UE comprising:
one or more antennas ([19:20-30] includes antenna),
a signal processor connected to the antenna ([19:43-67] radio front end circuitry 58 is connected to antenna 42 and processing circuitry 46), and
one or more configurations ([31:15-49] communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile),
wherein the configuration
- is associated with one or more certain operations to be performed by the signal processor ([36:48-37:16] bandwidth, location in frequency domain, numerology, cyclic prefix, see [38:9-16] WD to change UL waveform from CP-OFDM to DFT-S-OFDM in a semi-dynamic manner by applying DCI based BWP switch),
- defines one or more fields concerning the certain operation ([31:50-65] each RRC configuration profile in the first RRC configuration profile group shares a set of common RRC configuration parameter values, see [36:48-37:16] BWP specific RRC configuration which includes two parts: the first is the definition of BWP with its RF parameters … the second part are parameters for physical channels and signals associated with BWP (i.e. fields with parameter values)), and
- comprises for each field one or more field values to be applied or used by the UE when performing the certain operation ([31:50-65] each RRC configuration profile in the first RRC configuration profile group shares a set of common RRC configuration parameter values, see [36:48-37:16] BWP specific RRC configuration which includes two parts: the first is the definition of BWP with its RF parameters … the second part are parameters for physical channels and signals associated with BWP (i.e. fields with parameter values)),
wherein the UE is to operate in accordance with the configuration ([31:15-49] communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile (i.e. operates in accordance to first RRCE configuration profile; the configuration) [36:48-37:16] parameters for data communication between the device (e.g., WD 14) and the network), and
Yu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE is to generate a new configuration by modifying the configuration by replacing the field value for a field in the configuration by a new field value.
However, Velammal discloses:
wherein the UE is to generate a new configuration by modifying the configuration by replacing the field value for a field in the configuration by a new field value ([19:64-20:10] pre-configured templates comprise two types of placeholders, including generic place holders and system placeholders … receive the values for replacing the generic placeholders from the user … prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations (i.e. new configuration by modifying, e.g. replacing, values in configurations)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Velammal to have generated new configurations by modifying the configuration by replacing the value field in the configuration by a new field value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to receive input values during generation of the deployment configurations (Velammal, [19:64-20:10]).
Regarding claim 2, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, wherein the UE is to modify the configuration for acquiring a new configuration, set forth above,
Yu does not explicitly disclose:
- responsive to one or more control messages, the control message comprising for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration one or more new field values, or
- responsive to one or more criteria, wherein the UE is to select for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration one or more new field values in accordance with the one or more criteria.
However, Velammal discloses:
- responsive to one or more control messages, the control message comprising for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration one or more new field values ([19:64-20:10] each string (i.e. field(s)) of generic placeholders wrapped with symbol “#S” (i.e. control message) is prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations as per the target cloud platform (i.e. new configuration values as above)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Velammal to have modified the configuration for acquiring a new configuration responsive to one or more control messages comprising for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration one or more new field values. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to receive input values during generation of the deployment configurations (Velammal, [19:64-20:10]).
Regarding claim 4, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, set forth above,
Yu discloses:
wherein the UE is to operate in accordance with the new configuration ([33:51-34:10] switching from communicating in the cell according to the first RRC configuration profile to communicating in the cell according to the second RRC configuration profile), and
wherein the UE is to operate in accordance with the new configuration for a predefined time ([31:15-49] RRC profile indicator comprised in the DCI and a timer expiring for the wireless device, switching … such as by one or more of processing circuitry … from communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile to communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the second RRC configuration profile) and/or until one or more of the following conditions are met:
- an activation of a different configuration from the one or more configurations,
- a certain event or trigger occurs, such as a cell, a beam or a TRP change, or a control information signal reception indicating a change in spatial and other QCL-relations in DL reference signals, causing a change in
o a cell-level, a beam level and a CSI measurement and reporting, specifying a change in reporting quantity, measurement granularity, measurement resources, power-levels associated with reporting, etc.,
o a DL or UL BWP, its subcarrier spacing and cyclic prefix configuration,
o the UE’s configuration of MIMO layers, antenna and codebook configuration,
o a DRX configuration,
o any of the above or other appropriate parameters in any of the serving cells,
- one or more certain other events or triggers, like a reference signal RSRP/RSRQ/SINR of a serving cell/beam falling below a predefined threshold and/or a neighbor cell/beam reference signal RSRP/RSRQ/SINR exceeding a predefined threshold, or an interference level on a specified resource of a serving cell/beam exceeding or falling below a predefined threshold, causing the UE to, e.g., change a cell-level, a beam level and a CSI measurement and reporting, specifying a change in reporting quantity, measurement granularity, measurement resources,
- one or more events or triggers internal to the UE, causing the UE to modify, e.g., a DRX configuration, or a power level and frequency and granularity of cell or beam and CSI measurement and reporting, a scheduling requests configuration, a change in the UE’s configuration of MIMO layers and antenna configuration, a change or deactivation of CA or DC cells, specific events or triggers such as
o a battery level falls below a predefined threshold,
o a memory or CPU usage reaches a predefined threshold,
o a buffer exceeds a predefined threshold,
o an overheating.
Regarding claim 5, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, set forth above,
Yu discloses:
wherein the UE is preconfigured with the configuration ([31:15-65] communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile … RRC profile indicator is comprised in at least one field in the DCI … maps to one of a plurality of pre-configured RRC configuration profiles)
- at a time of initial connection with the wireless communication system ([31:15-65] communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile … RRC profile indicator is comprised in at least one field in the DCI … maps to one of a plurality of pre-configured RRC configuration profiles (i.e. in the cell with the pre-configured configuration)), e.g., via a signaling in the first layer of a protocol stack of the wireless communication system ([2:4-15] payload of physical layer (i.e. first layer) control information (i.e. signaling) has to be kept at a reasonably small size for considering the limited physical resource for control channel in each scheduling period, see [39:65-40:20] dynamic assignment/grant by DCI indication fields is carried on a per slot, or multiple slot basis (i.e. scheduling period as above), see also [31:15-49] downlink control information (DCI; i.e. control information as above, signaling)),
- at a time of provisioning the UE for operation with the wireless communication system, e.g., by inserting a Subscriber Identity Module, SIM, holding the configuration or the configuration template or by activating an embedded SIM, eSIM, holding the configuration or the configuration template, or
- at a time of manufacturing the UE, e.g., by storing the configuration or the configuration template in a memory of the UE, like in an eSIM or in any other memory element.
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses:
A user device, UE ([18:36-19:19] wireless device (WD) … may be used interchangeably herein with user equipment (UE; i.e. user device)), for a wireless communication system ([18:36-19:19] wireless device … operable to communicate wirelessly with network nodes and/or other wireless devices), like a 3rd Generation Partnership Project, 3GPP, system ([18:36-19:19] WD may … in a 3GPP context), the UE comprising:
one or more antennas ([19:20-30] includes antenna),
a signal processor connected to the antenna ([19:43-67] radio front end circuitry 58 is connected to antenna 42 and processing circuitry 46), and
one or more configuration templates ([31:15-49] communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile (i.e. template)),
wherein the configuration template
- is associated with one or more certain operations to be performed by the signal processor ([36:48-37:16] bandwidth, location in frequency domain, numerology, cyclic prefix, see [38:9-16] WD to change UL waveform from CP-OFDM to DFT-S-OFDM in a semi-dynamic manner by applying DCI based BWP switch),
- defines one or more fields concerning the certain operation ([31:50-65] each RRC configuration profile in the first RRC configuration profile group shares a set of common RRC configuration parameter values, see [36:48-37:16] BWP specific RRC configuration which includes two parts: the first is the definition of BWP with its RF parameters … the second part are parameters for physical channels and signals associated with BWP (i.e. fields with parameter values)), and
Yu does not explicitly disclose:
- comprises for one, some or all fields a placeholder for one or more field values,
wherein the UE is to generate a configuration for performing the certain operation by replacing in the configuration template the placeholder for a field by a field value.
However, Velammal discloses:
- comprises for one, some or all fields a placeholder for one or more field values ([19:64-20:10] pre-configured templates comprise two types of placeholders, including generic place holders and system placeholders),
wherein the UE is to generate a configuration for performing the certain operation by replacing in the configuration template the placeholder for a field by a field value ([19:64-20:10] pre-configured templates comprise two types of placeholders, including generic place holders and system placeholders … receive the values for replacing the generic placeholders from the user … prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations (i.e. new configuration by modifying, e.g. replacing, values in configurations)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Velammal to have placeholders for field values and generated new configurations by replacing the placeholder field in the configuration by a new field value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to receive input values during generation of the deployment configurations (Velammal, [19:64-20:10]).
Regarding claim 7, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 6, set forth above,
Yu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE is to replace a placeholder for a field by a field value
- responsive to one or more control messages, the control message comprising for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration template one or more field values, or
- responsive to one or more criteria, wherein the UE is to select for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration template one or more field values in accordance with the one or more criteria.
However, Velammal discloses:
wherein the UE is to replace a placeholder for a field by a field value ([19:64-20:10] pre-configured templates comprise two types of placeholders, including generic place holders and system placeholders … receive the values for replacing the generic placeholders from the user … prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations (i.e. new configuration by modifying, e.g. replacing, values in configurations))
- responsive to one or more control messages, the control message comprising for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration template one or more field values ([19:64-20:10] each string (i.e. field(s)) of generic placeholders wrapped with symbol “#S” (i.e. control message) is prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations as per the target cloud platform (i.e. new configuration values as above)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Velammal to have replace a placeholder for a field by a field value responsive to one or more control messages comprising for one or more or all of the fields of the configuration one or more new field values. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to receive input values during generation of the deployment configurations (Velammal, [19:64-20:10]).
Regarding claim 9, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 6, set forth above,
Yu discloses:
wherein the UE is to operate in accordance with the generated configuration ([33:51-34:10] communicating in the cell according to the first RRC configuration profile).
Regarding claim 11, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 6, wherein the UE, set forth above, is to
Yu discloses:
- operate in accordance with the new configuration ([33:51-34:10] switching from communicating in the cell according to the first RRC configuration profile to communicating in the cell according to the second RRC configuration profile).
Yu does not explicitly disclose:
- modify the generated configuration by replacing the field value for a field in the generated configuration by a new field value,
However, Velammal discloses:
- modify the generated configuration by replacing the field value for a field in the generated configuration by a new field value ([19:64-20:10] pre-configured templates comprise two types of placeholders, including generic place holders and system placeholders … receive the values for replacing the generic placeholders from the user … prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations (i.e. new configuration by modifying, e.g. replacing, values in configurations)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Velammal to have generated new configurations by modifying the configuration by replacing the value field in the configuration by a new field value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to receive input values during generation of the deployment configurations (Velammal, [19:64-20:10]).
Regarding claim 12, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, set forth above, wherein
Yu discloses:
- the UE is to receive from one or more entities of the wireless communication system ([31:15-49] sending … to the wireless device … a second RRC configuration profile), like a base station or another UE ([31:15-49] network node 12), an activation signal or activation condition of the new configuration / new configuration template ([31:15-49] sending … a downlink control information, DCI … RRC profile indicator comprised in the DCI and a timer expiring (i.e. switching from first to second RRC profile on timer expiry is the activation condition)), and
- the UE is to make use of the new configuration / new configuration template only responsive to the activation signaling or activation condition ([31:15-49] RRC profile indicator comprised in the DCI and a timer expiring for the wireless device, switching … such as by one or more of processing circuitry … from communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile to communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the second RRC configuration profile).
Regarding claim 13, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, set forth above, wherein
Yu does not explicitly disclose:
- the UE is to receive the one or more control messages / further control signals from one or more entities of the wireless communication system, like a base station or another UE, and
- the UE is to signal a completion of creating a configuration / new configuration template, e.g., to the entity of the wireless communication system that provided the control message.
However, Velammal discloses:
- the UE is to receive the one or more control messages / further control signals from one or more entities of the wireless communication system ([19:64-20:10] each string (i.e. field(s)) of generic placeholders wrapped with symbol “#S” (i.e. control message) is prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations as per the target cloud platform (i.e. new configuration values as above)), like a base station or another UE ([14:66-15:11] migration unit 126, see [FIG. 1A] of Cloud Assessment and Migration System 11), and
- the UE is to signal a completion of creating a configuration / new configuration template, e.g., to the entity of the wireless communication system that provided the control message ([19:64-20:10] each string (i.e. field(s)) of generic placeholders wrapped with symbol “#S” (i.e. control message) is prompted to the user for receiving input values during generation of the deployment configurations as per the target cloud platform (i.e. new configuration values as above) see [14:66-15:11] migration unit 126 is configured to migrate … using the generated deployment configurations and the transformed application code (i.e. must receive from UE; signaling to the migration unit, e.g. entity that provided the control message)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Velammal to have received the one or more control messages/control signals from one or more entities of the wireless communication system, like a base station or another UE, and signal, by the UE, a completion of creating a configuration or a new configuration template to the entity that provided the control message. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to receive input values during generation of the deployment configurations (Velammal, [19:64-20:10]).
Regarding claim 14, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, wherein the field value for a field in a configuration, set forth above, comprises one or more of:
Yu discloses:
- a certain value for a parameter specified by the field ([31:50-65] each RRC configuration profile in the first RRC configuration profile group shares a set of common RRC configuration parameter values, see [36:48-37:16] BWP specific RRC configuration which includes two parts: the first is the definition of BWP with its RF parameters … the second part are parameters for physical channels and signals associated with BWP (i.e. fields with parameter values)),
- a resolution of a value in terms of a certain unit value, e.g. xx digits before and/or after comma
- a reference to another configuration for the UE,
- a procedural command describing an operation on values described in fields,
- a concatenation order of commands.
Regarding claim 15, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, wherein the certain operation, set forth above, incudes one or more of the following:
Yu discloses:
- a communication, like a transmission and/or a reception of data, with to one or more entities of the wireless communication system ([33:51-34:10] switching from communicating in the cell according to the first RRC configuration profile to communicating in the cell according to the second RRC configuration profile),
- a measurement of the radio environment and reporting of the measurements to one or more entities of the wireless communication system,
- configuration/change of PHY and/or higher layer for transmissions and/or reception
- a feedback to be provided by the UE to one or more entities of the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 18, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, set forth above,
Yu discloses:
wherein the UE is preconfigured with the configuration ([31:15-65] communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile … RRC profile indicator is comprised in at least one field in the DCI … maps to one of a plurality of pre-configured RRC configuration profiles) or the configuration template
- at a time of initial connection with the wireless communication system ([31:15-65] communicating in the cell with the wireless device according to the first RRC configuration profile … RRC profile indicator is comprised in at least one field in the DCI … maps to one of a plurality of pre-configured RRC configuration profiles (i.e. in the cell with the pre-configured configuration)), e.g., via a signaling in the first layer of a protocol stack of the wireless communication system ([2:4-15] payload of physical layer (i.e. first layer) control information (i.e. signaling) has to be kept at a reasonably small size for considering the limited physical resource for control channel in each scheduling period, see [39:65-40:20] dynamic assignment/grant by DCI indication fields is carried on a per slot, or multiple slot basis (i.e. scheduling period as above), see also [31:15-49] downlink control information (DCI; i.e. control information as above, signaling)),
- at a time of provisioning the UE for operation with the wireless communication system, e.g., by inserting a Subscriber Identity Module, SIM, holding the configuration or the configuration template or by activating an embedded SIM, eSIM, holding the configuration or the configuration template, or
- at a time of manufacturing the UE, e.g., by storing the configuration or the configuration template in a memory of the UE, like in an eSIM or in any other memory element.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, they do not further define nor teach over the limitations set forth above as in claims 1 and 6, therefore, claims 19 and 20 are rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above as in claims 1 and 6.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-12232201-B2) hereinafter Yu in view of Velammal et al. (US-11770455-B2) hereinafter Velammal further in view of Wu (WO-2021092102-A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, set forth above,
Yu-Velammal do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE is to report the new configuration to one or more network entities using, e.g., one or more report messages comprising a description of the new configuration indicating the fields modified in the configuration and the one or more new field values associated with the modified fields.
However, Wu discloses:
wherein the UE is to report the new configuration to one or more network entities using, e.g., one or more report messages comprising a description of the new configuration indicating the fields modified in the configuration and the one or more new field values associated with the modified fields ([0107] use the delta C-SN configuration to modify the updated first SN configuration … UE needs to only use a portion of the updated first SN configuration … UE updates the first SN configuration … UE … transmits an RRC reconfiguration complete message (i.e. RRC reconfiguration complete in view of updated portion is equated to the report message with the fields and values modified as being completed in reconfiguring)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu-Velammal in view of Wu to have reported the new configuration to one or more network entities using one or more report messages comprising a description of the new configuration indicating the fields modified in the configuration and the one or more new field values associated with the modified fields. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to have the MN transmit a SN Reconfiguration Complete message to the SN so that the UE in DC with the MN and the SN use the updated configuration to communicate (Wu, [0107]).
Regarding claim 10, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 6, set forth above,
Yu-Velammal do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE is to report the generated configuration to one or more network entities using, e.g., one or more report messages comprising a description of the generated configuration indicating the fields in the generated configuration and the one or more new field values associated with the fields.
However, Wu discloses:
wherein the UE is to report the generated configuration to one or more network entities using, e.g., one or more report messages comprising a description of the generated configuration indicating the fields in the generated configuration and the one or more new field values associated with the fields ([0107] use the delta C-SN configuration to modify the updated first SN configuration … UE needs to only use a portion of the updated first SN configuration … UE updates the first SN configuration … UE … transmits an RRC reconfiguration complete message (i.e. RRC reconfiguration complete in view of updated portion is equated to the report message with the fields and values modified as being completed in reconfiguring)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu-Velammal in view of Wu to have reported the new configuration to one or more network entities using one or more report messages comprising a description of the new configuration indicating the fields modified in the configuration and the one or more new field values associated with the modified fields. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to have the MN transmit a SN Reconfiguration Complete message to the SN so that the UE in DC with the MN and the SN use the updated configuration to communicate (Wu, [0107]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-12232201-B2) hereinafter Yu in view of Velammal et al. (US-11770455-B2) hereinafter Velammal further in view of Schmitt et al. (US-11533311-B2) hereinafter Schmitt.
Regarding claim 8, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 6, wherein, for generating the configuration, set forth above,
Yu-Velammal do not explicitly disclose:
the UE is to copy the configuration template and replace in the copied configuration template the placeholder for a field by a field value from the control message, thereby generating the configuration for performing the certain operation and maintaining the original configuration template.
However, Schmitt discloses:
the UE is to copy the configuration template and replace in the copied configuration template the placeholder for a field by a field value from the control message, thereby generating the configuration for performing the certain operation and maintaining the original configuration template ([22:12-43] configuration file templates (which are configuration files that contain placeholders or variables that are filled with variables in the system rules that may be made known in the template so that the controller can turn configuration templates into configuration files [69:16-31] set up and allocate the clone resources and copies any of the following from the environment to the clone: data, configurations … copies the templates [69:32-57] clone may be used as a development environment where changes can be made to the clone’s code … templates and other changes (i.e. copying templates and modifying the copies instead of the originals would maintain the originals)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu-Velammal in view of Schmitt to have copied the configuration template and replace in the copied configuration template the placeholder for a field by a field value from the control message, to generate the configuration for performing the certain operation and maintaining the original configuration template. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to isolate the cloned environment from the production environment during testing or until the cloned environment is ready to go online as a new production environment (Schmitt, [68:22-55]).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-12232201-B2) hereinafter Yu in view of Velammal et al. (US-11770455-B2) hereinafter Velammal further in view of Feng (US-11064557-B2).
Regarding claim 16, Yu-Velammal disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 1, set forth above, wherein
Yu discloses:
- the wireless communication system is a 3rd Generation Partnership Project, 3GPP, system ([18:36-19:19] WD may … in a 3GPP context),
- the configuration is a Radio Resource Control, RRC, configuration ([31:15-49] RRC configuration),
- the protocol stack is the 5G ([22:10-33] 5G), New Radio, NR, Radio Protocol Stack ([30:54-64] New Radio (NR),
- the control message comprises a DCI ([31:15-49] RRC profile indicator comprised in the DCI and a timer expiring for the wireless device) or a MAC CE or both.
Yu does not explicitly disclose:
- the first layer is the 5G RRC layer of the 5G NR Radio Protocol Stack,
- the one or more second layers comprises one or both of the 5G MAC layer and the 5G PHY layer of the 5G NR Radio Protocol Stack, and
However, Feng discloses:
- the first layer is the 5G RRC layer of the 5G NR Radio Protocol Stack ([FIG. 2] RRC layer),
- the one or more second layers comprises one or both of the 5G MAC layer and the 5G PHY layer of the 5G NR Radio Protocol Stack ([FIG. 2] MAC and PHY layers), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Feng to have the first layer as the 5G RRC layer and the one or more second layers as the 5G MAC and 5G PHY layers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to use the protocol stack in the future 5G network and configured for D2D (Feng, [13:65-14:7]).
Regarding claim 17, Yu-Velammal-Feng disclose:
The user device, UE, of claim 16, set forth above,
Yu discloses:
wherein the RRC configuration ([31:15-49] RRC configuration) or the configuration template comprises one or more fields ([31:50-65] each RRC configuration profile in the first RRC configuration profile group shares a set of common RRC configuration parameter values, see [36:48-37:16] BWP specific RRC configuration which includes two parts: the first is the definition of BWP with its RF parameters … the second part are parameters for physical channels and signals associated with BWP (i.e. fields with parameter values)), which are defined using information elements, IEs ([36:48-37:16] BWP specific RRC configuration which includes two parts: the first is the definition of BWP with its RF parameters … the second part are parameters for physical channels and signals associated with BWP (i.e. RF parameters as information elements for RF, and second part as information elements as parameters for channels and signals)), each IE comprises one or more IE fields ([36:48-37:16] bandwidth, location in frequency domain, numerology, cyclic prefix), and each IE field comprises one or more field values to be applied or used by the UE when performing the certain operation ([36:48-37:16] bandwidth, location in frequency domain, numerology, cyclic prefix, see [38:9-16] WD to change UL waveform from CP-OFDM to DFT-S-OFDM in a semi-dynamic manner by applying DCI based BWP switch).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Magnusson et al. (US-20180295019-A1) CONFIGURATION TECHNIQUE FOR A NETWORK ELEMENT IN A COMMUNICATION NETWORK.
/Alex Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453