DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on July 31, 2024 for application number 18/790,217. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). No certified copies have been filed for the parent application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“manipulation unit” and “brake pedal detection unit” in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamakado et al. (US PG Pub No. 2014/0145498), hereinafter “Yamakado”.
Regarding claim 1, Yamakado discloses a vehicle brake force distribution control apparatus (Abstract: Vehicular motion control system comprising controller that independently controls driving force and/or braking force of each of four wheels) comprising: a manipulation unit (Fig. 10 (16)) configured to select at least one of a parallel moving mode (Parallel moving mode is interpreted as a straight-ahead moving direction), a diagonal moving mode (Diagonal moving mode is interpreted as a right/left turn moving direction), and an in-situ turn mode (This mode is interpreted as a near-zero turning radius of the vehicle); a brake pedal detection unit (32; paragraph 189) configured to detect a brake pedal (11) open value to predict a target deceleration in the parallel moving mode (Parallel moving mode is interpreted as a straight-ahead moving direction) or the diagonal moving mode (Diagonal moving mode is interpreted as a right/left turn moving direction); a sensor (paragraph 109: a steering angle input by the driver of a handle unit 1101 is input to a steering controller 1120 via a steering angle sensor) configured to generate and output steering amount information and longitudinal/lateral deceleration information (paragraph 217) according to the brake pedal open value detected by the brake pedal detection unit (32; paragraph 189); and a controller (40) configured to distribute a brake force of each wheel in the parallel moving mode or the diagonal moving mode according to the target deceleration (paragraph 181), correct the brake force of each wheel on the basis of the steering amount information and the longitudinal/lateral deceleration information output from the sensor, and allow a real brake force of each wheel to follow a corrected target brake force in the parallel moving mode or the diagonal moving mode (Abstract; paragraphs 109, 181-184).
Regarding claim 2, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller calculates a variable brake force distribution ratio and a weight transfer ratio for each wheel on the basis of the steering amount information and the longitudinal/lateral deceleration information output from the sensor, and corrects the brake force to follow the target brake force according to the calculated variable brake force distribution ratio and weight transfer ratio (Abstract; paragraphs 181-184).
Regarding claim 3, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the controller controls an open value of a hydraulic valve for each wheel for following the target brake force, and compares hydraulic pressure information for each wheel detected from the hydraulic valve with target hydraulic pressure information of the target brake force (paragraphs 288-292).
Regarding claim 4, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the controller repeatedly controls the open value of the hydraulic valve for each wheel so that the hydraulic pressure information matches the target hydraulic pressure information (paragraphs 181-183, 187-189).
Regarding claim 5, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the controller detects current hydraulic pressure information for each wheel for following the target brake force, and compares the current hydraulic pressure information with target hydraulic pressure information of the target brake force of each wheel (paragraphs 181-184, 187-189).
Regarding claim 6, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the controller generates, in a case where the current hydraulic pressure information for each wheel exceeds the target hydraulic pressure information, driving force in the same direction as a vehicle movement direction by controlling a drive motor (Abstract; paragraphs 187-189, 214, 362).
Regarding claim 7, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the controller generates, in a case where the current hydraulic pressure information for each wheel is lower than the target hydraulic pressure information, the brake force in a direction opposite to a vehicle movement direction by controlling a drive motor (paragraphs 109, 181-184, 187-189).
Regarding claim 8, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in correcting the brake force of each wheel to follow the target brake force, the controller performs control for correcting a brake force error due to a braking deviation (Abstract; paragraphs 232-233, 362).
Regarding claim 9, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the controller determines, in a case where a yaw value output from a yaw rate sensor that belongs to the sensor exceeds a set value, that the braking deviation has occurred, and performs feedback control for correcting the brake force error for each wheel (paragraphs 217, 225-227).
Regarding claim 10, Yamakado discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller distributes, in a case where a drive mode is switched to the in-situ turn mode by the manipulation unit, the brake forces for the respective wheels to be the same (paragraphs 187-189).
Regarding claim 11, Yamakado discloses a vehicle brake force distribution control method (Abstract), comprising: determining whether a manipulation unit (Fig. 10 (16)) is manipulated to select at least one of a parallel moving mode (Parallel moving mode is interpreted as a straight-ahead moving direction), a diagonal moving mode (Diagonal moving mode is interpreted as a right/left turn moving direction), and an in-situ turn mode (This mode is interpreted as a near-zero turning radius of the vehicle), by a controller (Abstract; paragraphs 109, 181, 189); predicting, in a case where a drive mode is switched to the parallel moving mode (Parallel moving mode is interpreted as a straight-ahead moving direction) or the diagonal moving mode (Diagonal moving mode is interpreted as a right/left turn moving direction) by the manipulation unit (paragraphs 187-189), a target deceleration according to a brake pedal open value by the controller (paragraph 109); distributing brake forces for respective wheels in the parallel moving mode (Parallel moving mode is interpreted as a straight-ahead moving direction) or the diagonal moving mode (Diagonal moving mode is interpreted as a right/left turn moving direction) necessary for the target deceleration, by the controller (paragraphs 109, 181-184); and performing control for correcting the distributed brake force of each wheel and allowing a real brake force of each wheel to follow a corrected target brake force in the parallel moving mode or the diagonal moving mode, by the controller (Abstract; paragraphs 109, 181-184, 187-189).
Regarding claim 12, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the performing control for allowing the real brake force to follow the target brake force, comprises: calculating a variable brake force distribution ratio and a weight transfer ratio for each wheel on the basis of steering amount information and longitudinal/lateral deceleration information output from a plurality of sensors, and correcting the brake force to follow the target brake force according to the calculated variable brake force distribution ratio and the weight transfer ratio (Abstract; paragraphs 181-184).
Regarding claim 13, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the performing control for allowing the real brake force to follow the target brake force, comprises: controlling an open value of a hydraulic valve for each wheel for following the target brake force, and comparing hydraulic pressure information for each wheel detected from the hydraulic valve with target hydraulic pressure information of the target brake force (paragraphs 288-292).
Regarding claim 14, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the performing control for allowing the real brake force to follow the target brake force, comprises: repeatedly controlling the open value of the hydraulic valve for each wheel so that the hydraulic pressure information matches the target hydraulic pressure information (paragraphs 181-183, 187-189).
Regarding claim 15, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the performing control for allowing the real brake force to follow the target brake force, comprises: detecting current hydraulic pressure information for each wheel for following the target brake force, and comparing the current hydraulic pressure information with target hydraulic pressure information of the target brake force of each wheel (paragraphs 181-184, 187-189).
Regarding claim 16, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the performing control for allowing the real brake force to follow the target brake force, comprises: generating, in a case where the current hydraulic pressure information for each wheel exceeds the target hydraulic pressure information, driving force in the same direction as a vehicle movement direction by controlling a drive motor (Abstract; paragraphs 187-189, 214, 362).
Regarding claim 17, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the performing control for allowing the real brake force to follow the target brake force, comprises: generating, in a case where the current hydraulic pressure information for each wheel is lower than the target hydraulic pressure information, the brake force in a direction opposite to a vehicle movement direction by controlling a drive motor (paragraphs 109, 181-184, 187-189).
Regarding claim 18, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: correcting a brake force error due to a braking deviation in correcting the brake force of each wheel to follow the target brake force, by the controller (Abstract; paragraphs 232-233, 362).
Regarding claim 19, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the performing control for allowing the real brake force to follow the target brake force, comprises: determining, in a case where a yaw value output from a yaw rate sensor that belongs to the sensor exceeds a set value, that the braking deviation has occurred, and performing feedback control for correcting the brake force error for each wheel (paragraphs 217, 225-227).
Regarding claim 20, Yamakado discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the performing distributing brake forces for respective wheels comprises: distributing the brake forces so that the brake forces for the respective wheels are the same in a case where the drive mode is switched to the in-situ turn mode by the manipulation unit (paragraphs 187-189).
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747