DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the Provisional filed on 9/29/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15, 16, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien US 20250331003 (hereinafter “Chien”) in view of Lin US 20250261047 (hereinafter “Lin”)
As to claim 1, 16, and 30 (claim 16 is the method claim for the UE and non-transitory computer-readable medium in claim 1 and 30 respectively):
Chien discloses:
A first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: (“a UE comprising a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the chip is installed to execute the disclosed method and any combination of embodiments of the disclosed method.”, Chien [0013])
transmit a first sidelink message within a first portion of the COT; (FIG. 7 shows PSCCH being transmitted within “first portion of the COT”, Chien)
identify a second sidelink message that is expected to be received within a second portion of the COT based at least in part on transmitting the second-stage sidelink control information message; (“UE-A shares the COT to other UEs with COT sharing information carried in the first stage SCI. [0228] UE-B receives the COT sharing information and determines itself as a qualified UE for utilizing the COT shared by the UE-A. [0229] A UE qualified for utilizing the COT shared by UE-A can be determined based on at least one of the following: [0230] The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID. [0232] UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission. [0233] The target receiver of UE-B's transmission at least includes the initiator UE, i.e., UE-A. [0234] The UE-B can identify UE-A as the initiator UE based on the source ID indicated in the second stage SCI. [0235] If the resource in slot 6 to slot 9 has been reserved in PSCCH A-1 [0236] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT. [0237] Otherwise, UE-A reserves slot 6 to slot 9 and transmits the resource reservation information in the first stage SCI in PSCCH A-2. [0238] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT.”, Chien [0227]) (Examiner’s Note: UE can identify and expect a transmission from another UE based on the ID indicated in the second stage SCI)
perform a second channel access procedure for accessing the COT after identifying the second sidelink message based at least in part on the second sidelink message being expected within a set of resources of the sidelink channel reserved for the second sidelink message; (FIG. 5-7 shows the first UE performing Type 2 LBT after receiving sidelink message from the second UE within resources reserved by the second UE, Chien) (“The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID. [0232] UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission. [0233] The target receiver of UE-B's transmission at least includes the initiator UE, i.e., UE-A. [0234] The UE-B can identify UE-A as the initiator UE based on the source ID indicated in the second stage SCI. [0235] If the resource in slot 6 to slot 9 has been reserved in PSCCH A-1 [0236] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT. [0237] Otherwise, UE-A reserves slot 6 to slot 9 and transmits the resource reservation information in the first stage SCI in PSCCH A-2. [0238] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT.”, Chien [0230])
and transmit a third sidelink message within a third portion of the COT based at least in part on a completion of the second channel access procedure. (FIG. 7 shows PSCCH being transmitted “within a third portion of the COT” after completing Type 2 LBT, Chien)
Chien as described above does not explicitly teach:
monitor a sidelink channel as part of a first channel access procedure for accessing a channel occupancy time (COT) within the sidelink channel;
transmit a second-stage sidelink control information message comprising COT sharing information for sharing the COT with one or more additional UEs;
However, Lin further teaches monitoring a sidelink channel which includes:
monitor a sidelink channel as part of a first channel access procedure for accessing a channel occupancy time (COT) within the sidelink channel; (“During the sidelink transmission in slot k−4, the SL Tx-UE shares its COT by indicating the COT sharing information using both SCI-1 104 and SCI-2 105 in the first half of the slot k−4, and the COT sharing information would include a destination ID points to the UE of the candidate reserved resource 101 for unicast communication. For the UE that reserved the candidate reserved resource 101, it would continue to monitor/sense the unlicensed/shared channel (e.g., for resource selection and data reception purposes) and even try to perform a type 1 LBT channel access procedure for its planned transmission using the candidate reserved resource in slot k 101.”, Lin [0065])
transmit a second-stage sidelink control information message comprising COT sharing information for sharing the COT with one or more additional UEs; (“During the sidelink transmission in slot k−4, the SL Tx-UE shares its COT by indicating the COT sharing information using both SCI-1 104 and SCI-2 105 in the first half of the slot k−4, and the COT sharing information would include a destination ID points to the UE of the candidate reserved resource 101 for unicast communication. For the UE that reserved the candidate reserved resource 101, it would continue to monitor/sense the unlicensed/shared channel (e.g., for resource selection and data reception purposes) and even try to perform a type 1 LBT channel access procedure for its planned transmission using the candidate reserved resource in slot k 101.”, Lin [0065])
Chien and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include monitoring a sidelink channel as described in Lin into Chien. By modifying the method to include monitoring a sidelink channel as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051] and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the first channel access procedure comprises a Type 1 channel access procedure, and wherein the second channel access procedure comprises a Type 2 channel access procedure. (“UE-A successfully initiates a COT based on Type 1 LBT before the selected resource.”, Chien [0223]) (“UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission.”, Chien [0232])
Claim(s) 2-11 and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien US 20250331003 (hereinafter “Chien”) in view of Lin US 20250261047 (hereinafter “Lin”) and in further view of Noh et al. US 20250343633 (hereinafter “Noh”)
As to claim 2 and 17 (claim 17 is the method claim for the UE in claim 2):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit a fourth sidelink message to a second UE, (“With reference to FIG. 7, an example showing steps of Mode 2 resource allocation for multi-consecutive slots transmission is detailed in the following”, Chien [0221])
and wherein the second channel access procedure is performed after identifying the second sidelink message based at least in part on the feedback message being expected within the set of resources reserved for the feedback message. (FIG. 5-7 shows the first UE performing Type 2 LBT after receiving sidelink message from the second UE within resources reserved by the second UE, Chien) (“The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID. [0232] UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission. [0233] The target receiver of UE-B's transmission at least includes the initiator UE, i.e., UE-A. [0234] The UE-B can identify UE-A as the initiator UE based on the source ID indicated in the second stage SCI. [0235] If the resource in slot 6 to slot 9 has been reserved in PSCCH A-1 [0236] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT. [0237] Otherwise, UE-A reserves slot 6 to slot 9 and transmits the resource reservation information in the first stage SCI in PSCCH A-2. [0238] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT.”, Chien [0230])
The combination of Chien and Lin as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the set of resources are reserved for a feedback message responsive to the fourth sidelink message, the second sidelink message comprising the feedback message,
However, Noh further teaches reserving resources for a feedback message which includes:
wherein the set of resources are reserved for a feedback message responsive to the fourth sidelink message, the second sidelink message comprising the feedback message, (FIG. 20 shows transmitting a sidelink message, reserving resources for a feedback message, and transmitting a feedback message, Noh) (“Referring to FIG. 20, multiple reception UEs may each transmit HARQ feedback to a transmission UE. For example, the multiple reception UEs may each transmit HARQ feedback corresponding to the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH to the transmission UE. The multiple reception UEs may each transmit the HARQ feedback to the transmission UE by using an HARQ feedback resource, which is determined based on the PSCCH resource and/or the PSSCH resource.”, Noh [0209])
Chien, Noh, and Lin are analogous because they pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include reserving resources for a feedback message as described in Noh into Chien as modified by Lin. By modifying the method to include reserving resources for a feedback message as taught by Noh, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051], Noh [0457],and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
As to claim 3 and 18 (claim 18 is the method claim for the UE in claim 3):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 2,
wherein the second channel access procedure is performed after identifying the second sidelink message based at least in part on transmitting the COT sharing information to the second UE and identifying the feedback message from the second UE. (FIG. 5-7 shows the first UE performing Type 2 LBT after receiving sidelink message from the second UE within resources reserved by the second UE, Chien) (“The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID. [0232] UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission. [0233] The target receiver of UE-B's transmission at least includes the initiator UE, i.e., UE-A. [0234] The UE-B can identify UE-A as the initiator UE based on the source ID indicated in the second stage SCI. [0235] If the resource in slot 6 to slot 9 has been reserved in PSCCH A-1 [0236] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT. [0237] Otherwise, UE-A reserves slot 6 to slot 9 and transmits the resource reservation information in the first stage SCI in PSCCH A-2. [0238] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT.”, Chien [0230])
Chien as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second-stage sidelink control information message comprising the COT sharing information is transmitted to the second UE,
However, Lin further teaches sending COT sharing information using SCI-2 which includes:
wherein the second-stage sidelink control information message comprising the COT sharing information is transmitted to the second UE, (“During the sidelink transmission in slot k−4, the SL Tx-UE shares its COT by indicating the COT sharing information using both SCI-1 104 and SCI-2 105 in the first half of the slot k−4, and the COT sharing information would include a destination ID points to the UE of the candidate reserved resource 101 for unicast communication. For the UE that reserved the candidate reserved resource 101, it would continue to monitor/sense the unlicensed/shared channel (e.g., for resource selection and data reception purposes) and even try to perform a type 1 LBT channel access procedure for its planned transmission using the candidate reserved resource in slot k 101.”, Lin [0065])
Chien and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sending COT sharing information using SCI-2 as described in Lin into Chien. By modifying the method to include sending COT sharing information using SCI-2 as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051] and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
As to claim 4 and 19 (claim 19 is the method claim for the UE in claim 4):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: identify a satisfaction of a matching identifier criterion based at least in part on a first identifier within the fourth sidelink message matching a second identifier within the COT sharing information, (“A UE qualified for utilizing the COT shared by UE-A can be determined based on at least one of the following: [0230] The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID.”, Chien [0229])
wherein the second channel access procedure is performed after identifying the second sidelink message based at least in part on the satisfaction of the matching identifier criterion. (“UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission.”, Chien [0221]) (“A UE qualified for utilizing the COT shared by UE-A can be determined based on at least one of the following: [0230] The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID.”, Chien [0229])
As to claim 5 and 20 (claim 20 is the method claim for the UE in claim 5):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 4, wherein the first identifier and the second identifier comprise logical identifiers associated with the second-stage sidelink control information message. (“Second stage SCI can indicate at least one of following information for each associated PSSCH: [0339] Activation of SL-HARQ feedback of each associated PSSCH. [0340] CSI feedback request. [0341] Source ID and Destination ID of each associated PSSCH.”, Chien [0335])
As to claim 6 and 21 (claim 21 is the method claim for the UE in claim 6):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive a fourth sidelink message from a second UE, (“With reference to FIG. 7, an example showing steps of Mode 2 resource allocation for multi-consecutive slots transmission is detailed in the following”, Chien [0221])
and wherein the second channel access procedure is performed after identifying the second sidelink message based at least in part on the second sidelink message being expected within the set of resources reserved by the fourth sidelink message. (FIG. 5-7 shows the first UE performing Type 2 LBT after receiving sidelink message from the second UE within resources reserved by the second UE, Chien) (“The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID. [0232] UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission. [0233] The target receiver of UE-B's transmission at least includes the initiator UE, i.e., UE-A. [0234] The UE-B can identify UE-A as the initiator UE based on the source ID indicated in the second stage SCI. [0235] If the resource in slot 6 to slot 9 has been reserved in PSCCH A-1 [0236] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT. [0237] Otherwise, UE-A reserves slot 6 to slot 9 and transmits the resource reservation information in the first stage SCI in PSCCH A-2. [0238] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT.”, Chien [0230])
The combination of Chien and Lin as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the fourth sidelink message reserves the set of resources for the second sidelink message,
However, Noh further teaches reserving resources for a feedback message which includes:
wherein the fourth sidelink message reserves the set of resources for the second sidelink message, (FIG. 20 shows transmitting a sidelink message, reserving resources for a feedback message, and transmitting a feedback message, Noh) (“Referring to FIG. 20, multiple reception UEs may each transmit HARQ feedback to a transmission UE. For example, the multiple reception UEs may each transmit HARQ feedback corresponding to the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH to the transmission UE. The multiple reception UEs may each transmit the HARQ feedback to the transmission UE by using an HARQ feedback resource, which is determined based on the PSCCH resource and/or the PSSCH resource.”, Noh [0209])
Chien, Noh, and Lin are analogous because they pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include reserving resources for a feedback message as described in Noh into Chien as modified by Lin. By modifying the method to include reserving resources for a feedback message as taught by Noh, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051], Noh [0457],and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
As to claim 7 and 22 (claim 22 is the method claim for the UE in claim 7):
The combination of Chien and Lin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The first UE of claim 6, wherein the fourth sidelink message comprises a first-stage sidelink control information message.
However, Noh further teaches reserving resources for a feedback message which includes:
The first UE of claim 6, wherein the fourth sidelink message comprises a first-stage sidelink control information message. (“Accordingly, the UE for transmitting the PSCCH/PSSCH may identify a PSFCH transmission time point from a UE from which the UE for transmitting the PSCCH/PSSCH expects to receive the PSFCH, and may thus notify the UE for performing PSFCH transmission of COT sharing information through explicit signaling (e.g., 1.sup.st SCI) when transferring the PSCCH.”, Noh [0457])
Chien, Noh, and Lin are analogous because they pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include reserving resources for a feedback message as described in Noh into Chien as modified by Lin. By modifying the method to include reserving resources for a feedback message as taught by Noh, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051], Noh [0457],and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
As to claim 8 and 23 (claim 23 is the method claim for the UE in claim 8):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 6,
wherein the second channel access procedure is performed after identifying the second sidelink message based at least in part on transmitting the COT sharing information to the second UE and identifying the second sidelink message from the second UE. (FIG. 5-7 shows the first UE performing Type 2 LBT after receiving sidelink message from the second UE within resources reserved by the second UE, Chien) (“The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID. [0232] UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission. [0233] The target receiver of UE-B's transmission at least includes the initiator UE, i.e., UE-A. [0234] The UE-B can identify UE-A as the initiator UE based on the source ID indicated in the second stage SCI. [0235] If the resource in slot 6 to slot 9 has been reserved in PSCCH A-1 [0236] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT. [0237] Otherwise, UE-A reserves slot 6 to slot 9 and transmits the resource reservation information in the first stage SCI in PSCCH A-2. [0238] Upon successful Type 2 LBT before the reserved resource, UE-A can resume transmission on the COT.”, Chien [0230])
Chien as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second-stage sidelink control information message comprising the COT sharing information is transmitted to the second UE,
However, Lin further teaches sending COT sharing information using SCI-2 which includes:
wherein the second-stage sidelink control information message comprising the COT sharing information is transmitted to the second UE, (“During the sidelink transmission in slot k−4, the SL Tx-UE shares its COT by indicating the COT sharing information using both SCI-1 104 and SCI-2 105 in the first half of the slot k−4, and the COT sharing information would include a destination ID points to the UE of the candidate reserved resource 101 for unicast communication. For the UE that reserved the candidate reserved resource 101, it would continue to monitor/sense the unlicensed/shared channel (e.g., for resource selection and data reception purposes) and even try to perform a type 1 LBT channel access procedure for its planned transmission using the candidate reserved resource in slot k 101.”, Lin [0065])
Chien and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sending COT sharing information using SCI-2 as described in Lin into Chien. By modifying the method to include sending COT sharing information using SCI-2 as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051] and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
As to claim 9 and 24 (claim 24 is the method claim for the UE in claim 9):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: identify a satisfaction of a matching identifier criterion based at least in part on a first identifier within the fourth sidelink message matching a second identifier within the COT sharing information, (“A UE qualified for utilizing the COT shared by UE-A can be determined based on at least one of the following: [0230] The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID.”, Chien [0229])
wherein the second channel access procedure is performed after identifying the second sidelink message based at least in part on the satisfaction of the matching identifier criterion. (“UE-B utilizes the COT shared by UE-A after successful Type 2 LBT and reserves resource, i.e., slot 4 and slot 5, for SL transmission.”, Chien [0221]) (“A UE qualified for utilizing the COT shared by UE-A can be determined based on at least one of the following: [0230] The UE can detect PSCCH and successfully decode the first stage SCI. [0231] An ID carried in the first stage SCI or a second stage SCI can match the UE's ID.”, Chien [0229])
As to claim 10 and 25 (claim 25 is the method claim for the UE in claim 10):
Chien discloses:
The first UE of claim 9, wherein the first identifier and the second identifier comprise logical identifiers associated with the second-stage sidelink control information message. (“Second stage SCI can indicate at least one of following information for each associated PSSCH: [0339] Activation of SL-HARQ feedback of each associated PSSCH. [0340] CSI feedback request. [0341] Source ID and Destination ID of each associated PSSCH.”, Chien [0335])
As to claim 11 and 26 (claim 26 is the method claim for the UE in claim 11):
The combination of Chien and Lin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The first UE of claim 6, wherein the second sidelink message comprises a sidelink shared channel message and a sidelink control channel message.
However, Noh further teaches reserving resources for a feedback message which includes:
The first UE of claim 6, wherein the second sidelink message comprises a sidelink shared channel message and a sidelink control channel message. (FIG. 20 shows transmitting a sidelink message, reserving resources for a feedback message, and transmitting a feedback message, Noh) (“Referring to FIG. 20, multiple reception UEs may each transmit HARQ feedback to a transmission UE. For example, the multiple reception UEs may each transmit HARQ feedback corresponding to the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH to the transmission UE. The multiple reception UEs may each transmit the HARQ feedback to the transmission UE by using an HARQ feedback resource, which is determined based on the PSCCH resource and/or the PSSCH resource.”, Noh [0209])
Chien, Noh, and Lin are analogous because they pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include reserving resources for a feedback message as described in Noh into Chien as modified by Lin. By modifying the method to include reserving resources for a feedback message as taught by Noh, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051], Noh [0457],and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien in view of Lin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun et al. US 20220060944 (hereinafter “Sun”)
As to claim 12 and 27 (claim 27 is the method claim for the UE in claim 12):
The combination of Chien and Lin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting sidelink messages within the second portion of the COT based at least in part on the set of resources of the sidelink channel being reserved for the second sidelink message within the second portion of the COT, wherein the second sidelink message is received based at least in part on refraining from transmitting sidelink messages within the second portion of the COT.
However, Sun further teaches allocating portions of COT specifically for certain messages which includes:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting sidelink messages within the second portion of the COT based at least in part on the set of resources of the sidelink channel being reserved for the second sidelink message within the second portion of the COT, wherein the second sidelink message is received based at least in part on refraining from transmitting sidelink messages within the second portion of the COT. (“cause the first UE to receive SCI that indicates a plurality of sidelink transmission opportunities that are to be reserved for a second UE; and refrain from, based at least in part on the SCI, using radio resources associated with one or more sidelink transmission opportunities of the plurality of sidelink transmission opportunities.”, Sun [0013]) (FIG. 3 shows various sidelink messages that can be transmitted during the transmission opportunities, Sun) (FIG. 5F shows transmission opportunities in different portions of COT, Sun)
Chien, Sun, and Lin are analogous because they pertain to performing channel access procedures.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include allocating portions of COT specifically for certain messages as described in Sun into Chien as modified by Lin. By modifying the method to include allocating portions of COT specifically for certain messages as taught by Sun, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051], Sun [0013],and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 13 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien in view of Lin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. US 20220015186 (hereinafter “Jeong”)
As to claim 13 and 28 (claim 28 is the method claim for the UE in claim 13):
The combination of Chien and Lin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: refrain from processing information included within the second-stage sidelink control information message based at least in part on the second sidelink message being received within the set of resources reserved for the second sidelink message.
However, Jeong further teaches skipping monitoring SCI if there is non-zero resource reservation for future transmissions which includes:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: refrain from processing information included within the second-stage sidelink control information message based at least in part on the second sidelink message being received within the set of resources reserved for the second sidelink message. (“If RX UE(s) receives SCI in PSCCH and/or PSSCH (i.e., SCI format 1-A and SCI format 2-A/2-B, assuming this time as T0) and if the SCI in PSCCH and/or PSSCH contains the DRX indicator and if a resource reservation period is set as a non-zero value, the UE may skip monitoring of SCI in PSCCH and/or PSSCH until the time of the next resource indicated by the resource reservation period that received at T0 (e.g., assuming the time of the first resource after a resource reservation period as T2) if the decoding of the associated PSSCH for the data is successful or if no more resource for HARQ data retransmission is indicated by time resource assignment.”, Jeong [0104]) (Examiner’s Note: it’s not clear what is exactly meant by this limitation but the reference teaches skipping or “refraining from” processing SCI format 2 if there is non-zero “resource reservation” for future sidelink transmissions)
Chien, Jeong, and Lin are analogous because they pertain to sidelink operation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include skipping monitoring SCI if there is non-zero resource reservation for future transmissions as described in Jeong into Chien as modified by Lin. By modifying the method to include skipping monitoring SCI if there is non-zero resource reservation for future transmissions as taught by Sun, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051], Jeong [0104],and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien in view of Lin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pratas et al. US 12648019 (hereinafter “Pratas”)
As to claim 14 and 29 (claim 29 is the method claim for the UE in claim 14):
The combination of Chien and Lin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein identifying the second sidelink message comprises receiving the second sidelink message, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: initiate a decoding procedure for decoding information included within the second sidelink message based at least in part on receiving the second sidelink message, wherein the second channel access procedure is performed prior to a completion of the decoding procedure.
However, Pratas further teaches performing LBT Cat. 2 before sending PSFCH which includes:
The first UE of claim 1, wherein identifying the second sidelink message comprises receiving the second sidelink message, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: initiate a decoding procedure for decoding information included within the second sidelink message based at least in part on receiving the second sidelink message, wherein the second channel access procedure is performed prior to a completion of the decoding procedure. (FIG. 3 and 6 show LBT Cat. 2 being performed before PSFCH is sent by the second UE, Pratas)
Chien, Pratas, and Lin are analogous because they pertain to sidelink operation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include performing LBT Cat. 2 before sending PSFCH as described in Pratas into Chien as modified by Lin. By modifying the method to include performing LBT Cat. 2 before sending PSFCH as taught by Pratas, the benefits of improved sidelink operation (Chien [0051], Pratas [4],and Lin [0071]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471