DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18790222 has claims 1-15 are pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on April 06, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0042858 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajamani et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0166759 A1; hereinafter Raja) in view of Huang et al. (Pub. No. US 20130311692 A1; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Raja discloses an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit; and at least one processor configured to: control communication performed by the communication circuit, perform a search for another electronic device to which a peer-to-peer (P2P) connection is allowed, (See ¶0041, In P2P mode, which is defined entirely within the WFA, STAs sending Probe Requests/Response frames to other STAs are part of the P2P discovery) receive connection setup information of a second electronic device from the second electronic device, based on the search, (See ¶0025, the discovery response 116 may include, or may provide an inference for determining a TDLS capability indication 118 of one or more peer STAs providing the discovery response 116, e.g., a discovered station or stations. Such a discovered station may be considered a peer device. The TDLS capability indication 118 may be used for identifying a TDLS capable STA, TDLS capabilities of the identified STA, and/or any other parameters for establishing a TDLS communication, e.g., the TDLS direct link 109, with the identified STA.) identify whether the second electronic device supports a tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) connection through the P2P connection, based on the connection setup information, (See ¶0025, the discovery response 116 may include, or may provide an inference for determining a TDLS capability indication 118 of one or more peer STAs providing the discovery response 116, e.g., a discovered station or stations. Such a discovered station may be considered a peer device. The TDLS capability indication 118 may be used for identifying a TDLS capable STA, TDLS capabilities of the identified STA, and/or any other parameters for establishing a TDLS communication, e.g., the TDLS direct link 109, with the identified STA.)
Raja fails to disclose transmit a TDLS connection request to the second electronic device through a group owner device of a P2P group to which the electronic device or the second electronic device belongs when the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through the P2P connection,
and perform communication with the second electronic device through the TDLS connection when the TDLS connection is established through the P2P connection with the second electronic device.
Huang discloses transmit a TDLS connection request to the second electronic device through a group owner device of a P2P group to which the electronic device or the second electronic device belongs when the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through the P2P connection, (20130311692-See ¶0076, At 606, the dockee 230 may establish a docking session with the docking host 220, joining as a P2P client of the P2P group of which the docking host 220 is the P2P GO; See ¶0077, if TDLS is enabled, then at step 610, in a connection negotiation phase, the dockee 230 may transmit to the docking host 220 a request to utilize TDLS as its payload connection type to directly communicate with the peripheral(s) 210. Once accepted, at 612 the dockee 230 may communicate with the docking host 220 to establish the TDLS direct communication link 506 between the dockee 230 and the peripheral(s) 210 for direct communication, and at 614 the direct communication link 506 utilizing TDLS may be established between the dockee 230 and the peripheral(s) 210.) and perform communication with the second electronic device through the TDLS connection when the TDLS connection is established through the P2P connection with the second electronic device. (See ¶0077, if TDLS is enabled, then at step 610, in a connection negotiation phase, the dockee 230 may transmit to the docking host 220 a request to utilize TDLS as its payload connection type to directly communicate with the peripheral(s) 210. Once accepted, at 612 the dockee 230 may communicate with the docking host 220 to establish the TDLS direct communication link 506 between the dockee 230 and the peripheral(s) 210 for direct communication, and at 614 the direct communication link 506 utilizing TDLS may be established between the dockee 230 and the peripheral(s) 210.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include establishing the TDLS connection to communicate between two devices. The motivation to combine is increase efficiency by direct pairing between the dockee 230 and one or more peripherals 210 (see 0067-0068).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raja in view of Huang and, further in view of Qi et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0045422 A1; hereinafter Qi).
Regarding claim 2, Raja in view of Huang fails to disclose the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a request to invite the second electronic device to the P2P group when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through P2P, and the electronic device corresponds to a group client device of the P2P group.
Qi discloses transmit a request to invite the second electronic device to the P2P group when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through P2P, (20140045422-See 0086, initiating a peer-to-peer connection comprises receiving an invite from the second device to request that the first device join a group; initiating, by the first device, a peer-to-peer connection comprises initiating a Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) link.) and the electronic device corresponds to a group client device of the P2P group. (See 0067, P2P Client" indicates that the device is capable of the P2P connection and is joined with but not a group owner of a P2P group; See 0086, initiating a peer-to-peer connection comprises receiving an invite from the second device to request that the first device join a group)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Raja in view of Huang to include request the device to setup TDLS link. The motivation to combine is enable multiple vendor's applications and services interoperability via methods and arrangements to enable Peer-to-Peer (P2P) connection limited to allow traffic from user-invoked services on, e.g., a Wi-Fi Direct connection (See 0012).
Regarding claim 4, Raja in view of Huang fails to disclose the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a request to participate in the P2P group to which the second electronic device belongs as a group client device when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through P2P, and the second electronic device corresponds to the group client device of the P2P group.
Qi discloses to transmit a request to participate in the P2P group to which the second electronic device belongs as a group client device (See 0068, if the receiver is a P2P device and the sender is a P2P device, one of the receiver or sender may start a new group and then invite the other device to join. If the receiver is a P2P device and the sender is a P2P GO, the sender may invite the receiver to join the P2P group.) when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through P2P, (20140045422-See 0086, initiating a peer-to-peer connection comprises receiving an invite from the second device to request that the first device join a group; initiating, by the first device, a peer-to-peer connection comprises initiating a Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) link.) and the second electronic device corresponds to the group client device of the P2P group. (See 0067, P2P Client" indicates that the device is capable of the P2P connection and is joined with but not a group owner of a P2P group; See 0086, initiating a peer-to-peer connection comprises receiving an invite from the second device to request that the first device join a group)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Raja in view of Huang to include request the device to setup TDLS link. The motivation to combine is enable multiple vendor's applications and services interoperability via methods and arrangements to enable Peer-to-Peer (P2P) connection limited to allow traffic from user-invoked services on, e.g., a Wi-Fi Direct connection (See 0012).
Claim(s) 3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raja in view of Huang and, further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20150181633 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Raja in view of Huang fails to disclose the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the TDLS connection request to the second electronic device through the group owner device of the P2P group when the second electronic device is identified as participating in the P2P group as the group client device.
Kim discloses transmit the TDLS connection request to the second electronic device through the group owner device of the P2P group when the second electronic device is identified as participating in the P2P group as the group client device. (20150181633-See 109, the WFD group owner 1630 of the B 1620 plays a role of an AP STA in TDLS link setup in a step of setting a link. In other word, if the A 1610 transmits TDLS link setup request information to the group owner 1630, the group owner 1630 delivers the TDLS link setup request information to the B 1620.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Regarding claim 5, Raja in view of Huang fails to disclose the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the TDLS connection request to the second electronic device through the group owner device of the P2P group when participating in the P2P group as the group client device.
Kim discloses the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the TDLS connection request to the second electronic device through the group owner device of the P2P group when participating in the P2P group as the group client device. (20150181633-See 109, the WFD group owner 1630 of the B 1620 plays a role of an AP STA in TDLS link setup in a step of setting a link. In other word, if the A 1610 transmits TDLS link setup request information to the group owner 1630, the group owner 1630 delivers the TDLS link setup request information to the B 1620.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Regarding claim 6, Raja in view of Huang fails to disclose the connection setup information comprises information on whether the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through the P2P connection and a communication channel of the second electronic device.
Kim discloses the connection setup information comprises information on whether the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through the P2P connection and a communication channel of the second electronic device. (20150181633-See 0079, or the TDLS, one STA (e.g., first STA 1010)) transmits a TDLS request message on a base channel and another STA (e.g., second STA 1020)) transmits a TDLS response message on the base channel. By doing so, TDLS supporting capability and the like of the two STAs can be checked)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Regarding claim 7, Raja in view of Huang fails to discloses the at least one processor is further configured to identify whether the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through an access point device based on the connection setup information when the second electronic device does not support the TDLS connection through P2P, and wherein the connection setup information comprises information on whether the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through the access point device.
Kim discloses identify whether the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through an access point device based on the connection setup information when the second electronic device does not support the TDLS connection through P2P,( 20150181633-See 109, The A 1610 determines whether the link setup is accepted via the link setup response information received from the B 1620. If the link setup is accepted, the A 1610 can transmit link setup confirmation information including information on a determined group owner and a group client to the B 1620 via the group owner 1630 using a method identical to the method of transmitting the link setup request information.) and wherein the connection setup information comprises information on whether the second electronic device supports the TDLS connection through the access point device. (See 109, After the A 1610 has discovered the B 1620, the WFD group owner 1630 of the B 1620 plays a role of an AP STA in TDLS link setup in a step of setting a link. In other word, if the A 1610 transmits TDLS link setup request information to the group owner 1630, the group owner 1630 delivers the TDLS link setup request information to the B 1620)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Regarding claim 8, Raja in view of Huang fails to discloses the at least one processor is further configured to request the second electronic device to be connected to the access point device to which the electronic device is connected or perform a connection to the access point device to which the second electronic device is connected when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through the access point device.
Kim discloses request the second electronic device to be connected to the access point device to which the electronic device is connected or perform a connection to the access point device to which the second electronic device is connected when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through the access point device. (See 0083, a first STA 1110 intending to discover a neighboring STA transmits TDLS discovery request information to an AP 1130. In this case, the AP 1130 corresponds to an AP for the first STA 1110. The AP 1130 transmits the TDLS discovery request information received from the first STA 1110 to STAs belonging to an area of the AP 1130. This transmission scheme can include a unicast or broadcast method; Figure 14, the STA are connected through the AP via TDLS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Regarding claim 9, Raja discloses the at least one processor is further configured to transmit connection setup information of the access point device which the electronic device connects to the second electronic device. (20130166759 -See 0047, the encapsulated TDLS discovery request/response frames 160 and 162 may include at least a respective Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) element 168 and 170, which identifies a respective BSSID 172 and 174 of the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the AP to which the STA sending the TDLS discovery request frame 160 or discovery response frame 162 is associated.)
Regarding claim 10, Raja in view of Huang fails to discloses the at least one processor is further configured to perform communication with the second electronic device through the TDLS connection through the access point device when the second electronic device and the electronic device are connected to the same access point device.
Kim discloses to perform communication with the second electronic device through the TDLS connection through the access point device when the second electronic device and the electronic device are connected to the same access point device. (20150181633- figure 14, the both devices are connected through the AP via a TDLS connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Claim(s) 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajamani et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0166759 A1; hereinafter Raja) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20150181633 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 11, Raja discloses an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit; and at least one processor configured to: control communication performed by the communication circuit, perform a search for another electronic device to which a peer-to-peer (P2P) connection is allowed, (See ¶0041, In P2P mode, which is defined entirely within the WFA, STAs sending Probe Requests/Response frames to other STAs are part of the P2P discovery) receive connection setup information of a second electronic device from the second electronic device, based on the search, identify whether the second electronic device supports a tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) connection through an access point device, based on the connection setup information, (See ¶0025, the discovery response 116 may include, or may provide an inference for determining a TDLS capability indication 118 of one or more peer STAs providing the discovery response 116, e.g., a discovered station or stations. Such a discovered station may be considered a peer device. The TDLS capability indication 118 may be used for identifying a TDLS capable STA, TDLS capabilities of the identified STA, and/or any other parameters for establishing a TDLS communication, e.g., the TDLS direct link 109, with the identified STA.)
However, Raja fails to disclose request the second electronic device to be connected to the access point device to which the electronic device is connected or perform a connection to the access point device to which the second electronic device is connected when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through the access point device, and perform communication with the second electronic device through the TDLS connection through the access point device when the second electronic device and the electronic device are connected to the same access point device.
Kim discloses request the second electronic device to be connected to the access point device to which the electronic device is connected or perform a connection to the access point device to which the second electronic device is connected when the second electronic device is identified as supporting the TDLS connection through the access point device, (20150181633-See 0083, a first STA 1110 intending to discover a neighboring STA transmits TDLS discovery request information to an AP 1130. In this case, the AP 1130 corresponds to an AP for the first STA 1110. The AP 1130 transmits the TDLS discovery request information received from the first STA 1110 to STAs belonging to an area of the AP 1130. This transmission scheme can include a unicast or broadcast method. A second STA 1120 receives the information indicating that the first STA 1110 requests discovery of a neighboring STA from the first STA and may be then able to transmit second STA discovery response information to the first STA 1110. When the second STA 1120 transmits the discovery response information to the first STA 1110, the second STA 1120 can directly transmit the discovery response information to the first STA 1110 without passing through the AP 1130.) and perform communication with the second electronic device through the TDLS connection through the access point device when the second electronic device and the electronic device are connected to the same access point device. (Fig. 14 shows the STA using TDLS to communicate between each via AP)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Regarding claim 12, the at least one processor is further configured to request the second electronic device to be connected to the access point device to which the electronic device is connected when the electronic device is identified as connected to the access point device.
Kim discloses the at least one processor is further configured to request the second electronic device to be connected to the access point device to which the electronic device is connected when the electronic device is identified as connected to the access point device. (See 0083, a first STA 1110 intending to discover a neighboring STA transmits TDLS discovery request information to an AP 1130. In this case, the AP 1130 corresponds to an AP for the first STA 1110. The AP 1130 transmits the TDLS discovery request information received from the first STA 1110 to STAs belonging to an area of the AP 1130. This transmission scheme can include a unicast or broadcast method; Figure 14, the STA are connected through the AP via TDLS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Regarding claim 13, Raja discloses the at least one processor is further configured to transmit connection setup information of the access point device which the electronic device connects to the second electronic device. (20130166759 -See 0047, the encapsulated TDLS discovery request/response frames 160 and 162 may include at least a respective Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) element 168 and 170, which identifies a respective BSSID 172 and 174 of the Media Access Control (MAC) address of the AP to which the STA sending the TDLS discovery request frame 160 or discovery response frame 162 is associated.)
Regarding claim 14, the at least one processor is further configured to perform a connection to the access point device to which the second electronic device is connected when the second electronic device is identified as connected to the access point device.
Kim discloses the access point device to which the second electronic device is connected when the second electronic device is identified as connected to the access point device. (20150181633- figure 14, the both devices are connected through the AP via a TDLS connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify is verify both devices have TDLS capabilities to connect to each other include using TDLS to transmit data through AP. The motivation to combine is efficiently performing a WFD link setup using a TDLS scheme in case of setting a WFD link (See 0093).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qi et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0306228 A1)-See 0084, where AP1 receives the TDLS initiator STA's discovery process with logical AP MLD MAC address M1. At step 1104, AP1 identifies the TDLS information and starts a logical-to-physical AP MLD switching procedure. At step 1106, AP1 disassociates from logical AP MLD with MAC address M1, and associates to physical AP MLD with MAC address M2. At step 1108, AP1 notifies the TDLS initiator STA with the current AP MLD address M2 and confirm when it completes the switch. At step 1110, AP1 continues the TDLS discovery procedure by forwarding the TDLS discovery request frame with the updated logical MAC address to the responder STA.
Guo et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0215085 A1)-See 0036, Based on the technical solution, the method may be used in a plurality of communication processes applied to the TDLS. When the first radio frame is a TDLS discovery request frame and the second radio frame is a TDLS discovery response frame, the method is applied to a TDLS discovery process, or when the first radio frame is a TDLS setup request frame and the second radio frame is a TDLS setup response frame, the method is applied to a TDLS setup process. Alternatively, when the first radio frame is a TDLS setup confirm frame and the second radio frame is a first acknowledgment frame, the process may be referred to as a TDLS authentication process, and when the first radio frame is a TDLS data frame and the second radio frame is a second acknowledgment frame, the process may be referred to as a TDLS data frame transmission process.
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472