DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 02/26/2025 is entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024, 04/17/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDSs have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is invited to point out any particular reference(s) in the IDS that they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this Office Action. It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 40, 48, 55, recite, inter alia, “, the consecutive symbols meeting the following set of conditions:
a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in all of the N slots are the same, ..; or a non-SBFD symbol” .
However, there is no support in the specification and drawings for this feature. Without identifying “all of the N slots are the same, ..; or a non-SBFD symbol ” the properties claimed specifically “the consecutive symbols meeting the following set of conditions:
a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in “all of the N slots are the same”, ..; or “a non-SBFD symbol”” is vague and uncertain to cause one of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably be able to assume that applicant had possession of the invention as claimed. MPEP 2163.01.
Following the from Applicant’s speciation, GOU et al. (US 20240389104 A1) paragraphs 0142-0144.
“ [0142] The first two types are typical scenarios.
[0143] For the above case 1 and case 2, the following methods can be used to determine slots and PUCCH resources for PUCCH repetition.
[0144] It is noted that, a symbol configured for a UL subband is a symbol configured for the subband full duplex operation, and this symbol is also called SBFD symbol. They are just described differently.”
The above paragraph appears to merely disclose a SBFD symbol ; however, no further details are provided as claimed. It doesn’t appear to have support for “ the consecutive symbols meeting the following set of conditions: a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in “all of the N slots are the same”, ..; or “a non-SBFD symbol” as claimed.
Thus, Applicant does not appear to be in possession of the claimed subject matter.
As such, the examiner has taken broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the above specification, to reject the independent claims with respect to “the consecutive symbols meeting the following set of conditions: ….. a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in all of the N slots are the same, the symbol type being one of: ….. or a non-SBFD symbol.”
Applicant is welcome to point out where in the specification the Examiner can find written description for the above-mentioned limitations if Applicant believes otherwise.
All Dependent claims which depend on the above rejected independent claims are also interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for their respective independent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-41, 43-55, 57-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US 20210392666 A1; hereinafter as “HUANG”) in view of SEOK et al. (US 20250168854 A1; hereinafter as “SEOK”, which has a priority date July 20, 2022).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to HUANG unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 40, HUANG teaches, a wireless communication method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see fig. 14: UE; [0002], [0045] ), comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS) (BS in Fig. 14 ), a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising and a signaling to indicate to the UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions using the PUCCH resource, N being an integer larger than 1 (see fig. 14 element 1435, Fig. 16 element 1610,BS determine a first slot for a first install of a PUCCH repetition that will be transmitted to UE.
“ a base station may provide at least two PUCCH resource indicators (e.g., in DCI) instead of just one PUCCH resource indicator. Each PUCCH resource indicator may indicate a PUCCH resource with an RE configuration (e.g., M frequency tones*N OFDM symbols), and thus PUCCH resources of different RE configurations may be used for instances of a PUCCH repetition. A UE may be able to schedule instances of a PUCCH repetition in adjacent slots (or closer slots) and reduce or eliminate latency between instances. The UE may save signaling resources and improve a quality of service.”: [0093]; “ BS 1410 may determine, based at least in part on a first slot type of the first slot, a first PUCCH resource indicator that corresponds to an RE configuration that will fit in the first slot . BS 1410 may determine, based at least in part on a second slot type of a second slot, a second PUCCH resource indicator that corresponds to an RE configuration that will fit in the second slot. The first slot type and the second slot type may be different and thus the first slot type may have a PUCCH resource indicator and the second slot type may have a second PUCCH resource indicator that is different.
[0099] As shown by reference number 1435, BS 1410 may transmit, and UE 1420 may receive, the first PUCCH resource indicator for the first instance and the second PUCCH resource indicator for the second instance.”: [0093]-[0099], UE receives via RRC/DCI signaling from gNB configuring N repetitions for PUCCH (N>1) using a configured PUCCH resource index/set : [0092]-[0099] ; UE is “ receiving, from a base station, a first PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, and a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message (block 1610). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may receive, from a base station, a first PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, and a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message”: [0110]; slots with symbols : [0094]; see fig. 3 each slot includes a set of L symbols period: [0061]; see fig. 4 where one slots has 14 symbols: 0063; PUCCH resource indicators with symbols are providing for PUCCH repetition : [0093]; NOTE: Crossed/Missed limitation will be addressed by another reference as shown below); and
identifying N slots for transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions, such each of the N slots includes consecutive symbols beginning from the start PUCCH symbol, the consecutive symbols (UE receives two PUCCH indicators, map first instance to first slot and second instance to second slot (==first slot and second slots which become N Slots ( two in this case)): [0129]; UE is “ determining a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance (block 1620). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may determine a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance”: [0110]; “ each slot may include fourteen symbol periods (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3), seven symbol periods, or another number of symbol periods (==each slot with consecutive fourteen symbols beginning from the start PUCCH symbols). In a case where the subframe includes two slots (e.g., when m=1), the subframe may include 2L symbol periods, where the 2L symbol periods in each subframe may be assigned indices of 0 through 2L−1. In some aspects, a scheduling unit for the FDD may be frame-based, subframe-based, slot-based, mini-slot based, symbol-based, and/or the like.”: {0061]; “ UE 1420 may prepare for each instance transmission by locating a next slot that has OFDM symbols configured or signaled by the BS 1410 for uplink transmission, and selecting a PUCCH resource to use (corresponding to a PUCCH resource indicator) based at least in part on a slot type of the next slot. In some aspects, there may be a mapping between PUCCH resource indicators and slot types. For example, the first PUCCH resource indicator may be for an uplink slot, the second PUCCH resource indicator may be for a special slot, and the third indicator may be for the SBFD slot.” : [0101]);
transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions in the N slots (aforesaid UE sends PUCCH repetitions in first slot and second slot : see fig. 14 element 1445 “As shown by reference number 1445, UE 1420 may transmit the first instance in the first PUCCH resource in the first slot and transmit the second instance in the second PUCCH resource in the second slot. As the slots may be closer together, or even adjacent, the UE experiences less latency.” “ UE 1420 may prepare for each instance transmission by locating a next slot that has OFDM symbols configured or signaled by the BS 1410 for uplink transmission, and selecting a PUCCH resource to use (corresponding to a PUCCH resource indicator) based at least in part on a slot type of the next slot. In some aspects, there may be a mapping between PUCCH resource indicators and slot types. For example, the first PUCCH resource indicator may be for an uplink slot, the second PUCCH resource indicator may be for a special slot, and the third indicator may be for the SBFD slot. Based at least in part on a determined slot type for a given slot, the UE may use a corresponding PUCCH resource indicator for transmitting an instance in that slot”: :[0101]-[0102]).
While HUANG teaches, Fig. 14, Fig. 16 “receiving, from a base station (BS) , a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising …a number of PUCCH symbols, and a signaling to indicate to the UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions using the PUCCH resource” (see fig. 14, Fig. 16 ) ;
HUANG does not expressively disclose:
… receiving, from a base station (BS) , a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising a start PUCCH symbol;
the consecutive symbols meeting the following set of conditions:
a number of the consecutive symbols is equal to or greater than the number of PUCCH symbols; and
a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in all of the N slots are the same, the symbol type being one of:
a subband full-duplex (SBFD) symbol configured for a subband full-duplex operation; or a non-SBFD symbol.
SEOK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
… receiving, from a base station (BS) , a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising a start PUCCH symbol ( UE receives vis RRC signal from Base station PUCCH repeating including starting OFDM symbol of constant position of each slot : [0082] );
the consecutive symbols (== slots with same constant length: [0082] ) meeting the following set of conditions:
a number of the consecutive symbols is equal to or greater than the number of PUCCH symbols (constant length of symbols in a slot: [0082]; “ A slot format may be configured for the UE by the base station in a TDD or unpaired spectrum system. The slot format may refer to the type of symbols in the slot. The symbol type may be at least one of a downlink symbol (DL symbol), an uplink symbol (UL symbol), or a flexible symbol. A symbol type of a slot in a radio frame may be configured for the UE by the base station” : 0116]-[0119]; “ In the NR system, to secure wide coverage, the UE may be configured to repeatedly transmit long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1, 3, 4) in 2, 4, or 8 slots. When the UE is configured to repeatedly transmit PUCCH, the same UCI may be repeatedly transmitted in each slot. The symbol configurations of PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted are the same (==equal to PUCCH symbols). That is, the PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted start from the same symbol in each slot and include the same number of symbols.”: [0193]); and
a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in all of the N slots are the same ( “In the NR system, to secure wide coverage, the UE may be configured to repeatedly transmit long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1, 3, 4) in 2, 4, or 8 slots. When the UE is configured to repeatedly transmit PUCCH, the same UCI may be repeatedly transmitted in each slot. The symbol configurations of PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted are the same. That is, the PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted start from the same symbol in each slot and include the same number of symbols.”: [0193]),
the symbol type being one of:
a subband full-duplex (SBFD) symbol configured for a subband full-duplex operation; or a non-SBFD symbol ( “UE may be configured or instructed to transmit a ..PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed.”: [0221]; SBSB symbol configured for subband full-duplex operation or non-SBFD symbol : [0224]; “ the SBFD interval includes symbol(s) (or symbol set) in which an uplink subband is configured/instructed. The SBFD interval includes SBFD slots and/or SBFD symbol(s). The SBFD interval may include one or more subbands in the frequency domain. When multiple subbands are configured in the SBFD interval, the subbands are FDMed. Multiple subbands (DL subbands or UL subbands) in the SBFD interval may be configured to avoid overlapping each other in the frequency domain. [0225] Non-SBFD interval: refers to a time interval in which a subband is not configured/instructed on a cell/BWP. The non-SBFD interval includes non-SBFD slots and/or non-SBFD symbols. The non-SBFD interval refers to a legacy interval or a normal interval. The non-SBFD interval includes at least one of a DL symbol, a flexible symbol, and a UL symbol according to the slot format. For example, when the SBFD operation is configured/instructed for a UL BWP, the non-SBFD interval includes a UL slot/symbol”: [0224]-[0226]; [0262] -[0264]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 41, HUANG in view of SEOK teaches the invention of claim 40 as set forth above. Further, SEOK teaches, the wireless communication method of claim 40, wherein the non-SBFD symbol comprises an uplink (UL) symbol or a flexible (F) symbol ( “ According to the first embodiment, flexible frequency hopping is possible at least for SBFD slot/symbol(s). However, since PUCCH resources are information configured for the UE via RRC signals, applying the PUCCH resources equally to SBFD slot/symbol(s) and non-SBFD slot/symbol(s) may limit flexible PUCCH resource configuration. Hereinafter, embodiments for a flexible PUCCH resource configuration will be disclosed.”:[0266]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 43, HUANG in view of SEOK teaches the invention of claim 40 as set forth above. Further, SEOK teaches, The wireless communication method of claim 40, wherein use of a configured PUCCH resource having mixed symbol types for the PUCCH transmission is prohibited and a slot with the configured PUCCH resource having mixed symbol types is not selected as one of the N slots ( “ when the information on the symbol type is configured with the UE-specific RRC signal, the base station may signal whether the flexible symbol is a DL symbol or an UL symbol in the cell-specific RRC signal.”: [0047]; [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 44, HUANG in view of SEOK teaches the invention of claim 40 as set forth above. Further, SEOK teaches, The wireless communication method of claim 40, wherein whether the consecutive symbols between the N slots for transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions must be of the same symbol type is signaled from the BS ( “ the UE may be configured to repeatedly transmit long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1, 3, 4) in 2, 4, or 8 slots. When the UE is configured to repeatedly transmit PUCCH, the same UCI may be repeatedly transmitted in each slot. The symbol configurations of PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted are the same. That is, the PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted start from the same symbol in each slot and include the same number of symbols.”: [0193]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 45, HUANG in view of SEOK teaches the invention of claim 40 as set forth above. Further, SEOK teaches, The wireless communication method of claim 40, wherein whether the consecutive symbols between the N slots for transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions must be of the same symbol type is determined based on a capability of the UE ( “ the UE may be configured to repeatedly transmit long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1, 3, 4) in 2, 4, or 8 slots. When the UE is configured to repeatedly transmit PUCCH, the same UCI may be repeatedly transmitted in each slot. The symbol configurations of PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted are the same. That is, the PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted start from the same symbol in each slot and include the same number of symbols.”: [0193]; “ When the UE performs PUCCH repetition transmission and the symbol(s) that should transmit PUCCH in a specific slot overlaps with an invalid symbol (e.g., a DL symbol that is configured semi-statically via a TDD configuration or a symbol configured for reception of an SS/PBCH block), the UE may defer the PUCCH transmission to the next slot, instead of transmitting PUCCH in the corresponding slot. Subsequently, when the symbol(s) that should transmit PUCCH in a slot where PUCCH transmission is deferred overlap with no invalid symbol, the UE may transmit the PUCCH in the corresponding slot.”: [0194]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 46, HUANG in view of SEOK teaches the invention of claim 40 as set forth above. Further, SEOK teaches, The wireless communication method of claim 40, wherein whether the consecutive symbols between the N slots for transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions must be of the same symbol type is predetermined ( PUCCH with two OFDM symbols: [0076]; [0193]-[0194]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 47, HUANG in view of SEOK teaches the invention of claim 40 as set forth above. Further, SEOK teaches, The method of claim 40, wherein transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions comprises transmitting each of the N PUCCH repetitions in a corresponding slot of the N slots using a same symbol position determined based on the start PUCCH symbol and the number of PUCCH symbols of the PUCCH resource ( “ PUCCH repetition transmission, the UE may sequentially assign a transmission slot index, based on the first slot for which PUCCH repetition transmission (slot index for repetition) is instructed. The UE may determine, as 0, the repetition transmission slot index of the first slot for which PUCCH repetition transmission is instructed. For subsequent slots, the UE may sequentially assign a repetition transmission slot index regardless of whether PUCCH is transmitted in the corresponding slot. The UE may transmit PUCCH in the first hop in the slot corresponding to the even-numbered repetition transmission slot index, and transmit PUCCH in the second hop in the slot corresponding to the odd-numbered repetition transmission slot index.”: [0219]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 48, HUANG teaches, A wireless communication method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station (BS), a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising a start PUCCH symbol and a number of PUCCH symbols, and a signaling to indicate to the UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions using the PUCCH resource, N being an integer larger than 1; and identifying N slots for transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions, such that each of the N slots include consecutive symbols beginning from the start PUCCH symbol, the consecutive symbols meeting the following set of conditions:
a number of the consecutive symbols is equal to or greater than the number of PUCCH symbols; and a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in each of the N slots are the same but is permitted to be different between one and another of the N slots,
the symbol type being one of: a subband full-duplex (SBFD) symbol configured for a subband full-duplex operation; or a non-SBFD symbol (Regarding claim 48, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 40).
Regarding claim 49, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 41.
Regarding claim 50, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 43.
Regarding claim 51, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 44.
Regarding claim 52, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 45.
Regarding claim 53, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 46.
Regarding claim 54, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 47.
Regarding claim 55, HUANG teaches, A wireless communication method performed by a base station (BS) (see fig. 14: BS 1410 ) , comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (==fig. 14 UE), a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising a number of PUCCH symbols, and a signaling to indicate to the UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions using the PUCCH resource, N being an integer larger than 1(see fig. 14 element 1435, Fig. 16 element 1610,BS determine a first slot for a first install of a PUCCH repetition that will be transmitted to UE.
“ a base station may provide at least two PUCCH resource indicators (e.g., in DCI) instead of just one PUCCH resource indicator. Each PUCCH resource indicator may indicate a PUCCH resource with an RE configuration (e.g., M frequency tones*N OFDM symbols), and thus PUCCH resources of different RE configurations may be used for instances of a PUCCH repetition. A UE may be able to schedule instances of a PUCCH repetition in adjacent slots (or closer slots) and reduce or eliminate latency between instances. The UE may save signaling resources and improve a quality of service.”: [0093]; “ BS 1410 may determine, based at least in part on a first slot type of the first slot, a first PUCCH resource indicator that corresponds to an RE configuration that will fit in the first slot . BS 1410 may determine, based at least in part on a second slot type of a second slot, a second PUCCH resource indicator that corresponds to an RE configuration that will fit in the second slot. The first slot type and the second slot type may be different and thus the first slot type may have a PUCCH resource indicator and the second slot type may have a second PUCCH resource indicator that is different.
[0099] As shown by reference number 1435, BS 1410 may transmit, and UE 1420 may receive, the first PUCCH resource indicator for the first instance and the second PUCCH resource indicator for the second instance.”: [0093]-[0099], UE receives via RRC/DCI signaling from gNB configuring N repetitions for PUCCH (N>1) using a configured PUCCH resource index/set : [0092]-[0099] ; UE is “ receiving, from a base station, a first PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, and a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message (block 1610). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may receive, from a base station, a first PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a first PUCCH resource for a first instance of a repeated PUCCH message, and a second PUCCH resource indicator, which indicates a second PUCCH resource for a second instance of the repeated PUCCH message”: [0110]; slots with symbols : [0094]; see fig. 3 each slot includes a set of L symbols period: [0061]; see fig. 4 where one slots has 14 symbols: 0063; PUCCH resource indicators with symbols are providing for PUCCH repetition : [0093]; NOTE: Crossed/Missed limitation will be addressed by another reference as shown below); and
identifying N slots for receiving the N PUCCH repetitions, such each of the N slots includes consecutive symbols beginning from the start PUCCH symbol, the consecutive symbols (UE receives two PUCCH indicators, map first instance to first slot and second instance to second slot (==first slot and second slots which become N Slots ( two in this case)): [0129]; UE is “ determining a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance (block 1620). For example, the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, transmit processor 264, controller/processor 280, memory 282) may determine a first slot for the first instance and a second slot for the second instance”: [0110]; “ each slot may include fourteen symbol periods (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3), seven symbol periods, or another number of symbol periods (==each slot with consecutive fourteen symbols beginning from the start PUCCH symbols). In a case where the subframe includes two slots (e.g., when m=1), the subframe may include 2L symbol periods, where the 2L symbol periods in each subframe may be assigned indices of 0 through 2L−1. In some aspects, a scheduling unit for the FDD may be frame-based, subframe-based, slot-based, mini-slot based, symbol-based, and/or the like.”: {0061]; “ UE 1420 may prepare for each instance transmission by locating a next slot that has OFDM symbols configured or signaled by the BS 1410 for uplink transmission, and selecting a PUCCH resource to use (corresponding to a PUCCH resource indicator) based at least in part on a slot type of the next slot. In some aspects, there may be a mapping between PUCCH resource indicators and slot types. For example, the first PUCCH resource indicator may be for an uplink slot, the second PUCCH resource indicator may be for a special slot, and the third indicator may be for the SBFD slot.” : [0101]);
transmitting the N PUCCH repetitions in the N slots (aforesaid UE sends PUCCH repetitions in first slot and second slot : see fig. 14 element 1445 “As shown by reference number 1445, UE 1420 may transmit the first instance in the first PUCCH resource in the first slot and transmit the second instance in the second PUCCH resource in the second slot. As the slots may be closer together, or even adjacent, the UE experiences less latency.” “ UE 1420 may prepare for each instance transmission by locating a next slot that has OFDM symbols configured or signaled by the BS 1410 for uplink transmission, and selecting a PUCCH resource to use (corresponding to a PUCCH resource indicator) based at least in part on a slot type of the next slot. In some aspects, there may be a mapping between PUCCH resource indicators and slot types. For example, the first PUCCH resource indicator may be for an uplink slot, the second PUCCH resource indicator may be for a special slot, and the third indicator may be for the SBFD slot. Based at least in part on a determined slot type for a given slot, the UE may use a corresponding PUCCH resource indicator for transmitting an instance in that slot”: :[0101]-[0102]).
While HUANG teaches, Fig. 14, Fig. 16 “transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising a number of PUCCH symbols, and a signaling to indicate to the UE to perform a PUCCH transmission with N PUCCH repetitions using the PUCCH resource” (see fig. 14, Fig. 16 );
HUANG does not expressively disclose:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) , a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising a start PUCCH symbol;
the consecutive symbols .. meeting the following set of conditions:
a number of the consecutive symbols is equal to or greater than the number of PUCCH symbols; and
a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in all of the N slots are the same, the symbol type being one of:
a subband full-duplex (SBFD) symbol configured for a subband full-duplex operation; or a non-SBFD symbol.
SEOK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) , a configuration for a PUCCH resource comprising a start PUCCH symbol ( UE receives vis RRC signal from Base station PUCCH repeating including starting OFDM symbol of constant position of each slot : [0082]);
the consecutive symbols (== slots with same constant length: [0082] .. meeting the following set of conditions:
a number of the consecutive symbols is equal to or greater than the number of PUCCH symbols (constant length of symbols in a slot: [0082]; “ A slot format may be configured for the UE by the base station in a TDD or unpaired spectrum system. The slot format may refer to the type of symbols in the slot. The symbol type may be at least one of a downlink symbol (DL symbol), an uplink symbol (UL symbol), or a flexible symbol. A symbol type of a slot in a radio frame may be configured for the UE by the base station” : 0116]-[0119]; “ In the NR system, to secure wide coverage, the UE may be configured to repeatedly transmit long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1, 3, 4) in 2, 4, or 8 slots. When the UE is configured to repeatedly transmit PUCCH, the same UCI may be repeatedly transmitted in each slot. The symbol configurations of PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted are the same (==equal to PUCCH symbols). That is, the PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted start from the same symbol in each slot and include the same number of symbols.”: [0193]); and
a symbol type of the consecutive symbols in all of the N slots are the same ( “In the NR system, to secure wide coverage, the UE may be configured to repeatedly transmit long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1, 3, 4) in 2, 4, or 8 slots. When the UE is configured to repeatedly transmit PUCCH, the same UCI may be repeatedly transmitted in each slot. The symbol configurations of PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted are the same. That is, the PUCCHs that are repeatedly transmitted start from the same symbol in each slot and include the same number of symbols.”: [0193]),
the symbol type being one of:
a subband full-duplex (SBFD) symbol configured for a subband full-duplex operation; or a non-SBFD symbol ( “UE may be configured or instructed to transmit a ..PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed.”: [0221]; SBSB symbol configured for subband full-duplex operation or non-SBFD symbol : [0224]; “ the SBFD interval includes symbol(s) (or symbol set) in which an uplink subband is configured/instructed. The SBFD interval includes SBFD slots and/or SBFD symbol(s). The SBFD interval may include one or more subbands in the frequency domain. When multiple subbands are configured in the SBFD interval, the subbands are FDMed. Multiple subbands (DL subbands or UL subbands) in the SBFD interval may be configured to avoid overlapping each other in the frequency domain. [0225] Non-SBFD interval: refers to a time interval in which a subband is not configured/instructed on a cell/BWP. The non-SBFD interval includes non-SBFD slots and/or non-SBFD symbols. The non-SBFD interval refers to a legacy interval or a normal interval. The non-SBFD interval includes at least one of a DL symbol, a flexible symbol, and a UL symbol according to the slot format. For example, when the SBFD operation is configured/instructed for a UL BWP, the non-SBFD interval includes a UL slot/symbol”: [0224]-[0226]; [0262]-[0264]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of HUANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by SEOK. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved flexible PUCCH resource configuration to UE : (SEOK; [0266]).
Regarding claim 57, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 43.
Regarding claim 58, HUANG teaches,
A wireless device comprising a memory for storing instructions and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform the method of claim 40 (Regarding claim 58, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 40).
Regarding claim 59, HUANG teaches,
A wireless device comprising a memory for storing instructions and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform the method of claim 48 (Regarding claim 59, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claime 42, 56 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411