DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on June 20, 2025, in which claim 1 is amended and rejection of claims 1-18 are traversed and still pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. (US 2021/0280770 A1, hereinafter referred as “Kamiya”) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2013/0009520 A1, hereinafter referred as “Kobayashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Kamiya discloses a sensor (title and abstract discloses piezoelectric sensor) comprising:
a piezoelectric film (1) including an upper principal surface (first surface) and a lower principal surface (second surface) aligned in an up-down direction (Figs. 1-3, ¶0011-¶0013 and ¶0028 discloses a cross-sectional view of the piezoelectric sheet 1 having a first surface and second surface);
a first electrode (2) on the upper principal surface (first surface) of the piezoelectric film (1) (Figs. 1-2 and ¶0028 discloses a signal electrode layer 2 on a surface (first surface) of the piezoelectric sheet 1);
a second electrode (3) on the lower principal surface (second surface) of the piezoelectric film (1) (Figs. 1-2 and ¶0028 discloses a ground electrode layer 3 on another surface (second surface) of the piezoelectric sheet 1); and
a first cured resin layer (5) covering at least a part of the second electrode (3) as viewed in the up-down direction (Figs. 2-3 and ¶0040 discloses the piezoelectric sensor A may be configured by supporting (integrally layering)… the ground electrode layer 3 on surface of elastic synthetic resin sheet… 5).
Kamiya doesn’t disclose wherein the first cured resin layer is an adhesive layer of a carrier tape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kobayashi discloses wherein the first cured resin layer is an adhesive layer of a carrier tape (Fig. 4b and ¶0038 discloses the tape 21 includes an ultraviolet-curable adhesive layer 21a on its surface and has an adhesive property; and ¶0039 discloses tape 21 attached to the second electrode 17 of the piezoelectric element substrate 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamiya for the purpose of temporarily securing the piezoelectric elements for fabrication and enabling precision formation of individual piezoelectric elements while preventing misalignment.
Regarding claim 2, Kamiya discloses the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the second electrode (3) is connected to a ground potential (abstract and ¶0028 discloses ground electrode layer 3), and the first electrode (2) is constructed to output a detection signal (¶0028 discloses piezoelectric sheet of the piezoelectric sensor can be measured by measuring the potential of the signal electrode 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kamiya discloses the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first cured resin layer (5) is in contact with the second electrode (3) (Figs. 2-3 and ¶0040 discloses the piezoelectric sensor A may be configured by supporting (integrally layering)… the ground electrode layer 3 on surface of elastic synthetic resin sheet… 5).
Regarding claim 6, Kamiya discloses the sensor according to claim 1, wherein a material of the first cured resin layer (5) is a UV cured resin (¶0037 discloses the curable resin is cured by… ionizing radiation to form a binder resin, so that the signal electrode layer 2 or the ground electrode layer 3 is integrally layered on the surface of the piezoelectric sheet 1. Examples of the ionizing radiation include… an ultraviolet ray).
Regarding claim 7, Kamiya discloses the sensor according to claim 1, further comprising a second cured resin layer (4) on the first electrode (2) (Figs. 2-3 and ¶0040 discloses the piezoelectric sensor A may be configured by supporting (integrally layering) the signal electrode layer 2… on surface of elastic synthetic resin sheets 4).
Regarding claim 8, Kamiya discloses the sensor according to claim 7, wherein the second cured resin layer (4) is on a side of the first electrode (2) opposite to the piezoelectric film (1) and the second electrode (3) (Fig. 2 illustrates resin sheet 4 is on the side of the signal electrode layer 2 opposite the piezoelectric sheet 1 and the ground electrode layer 3).
Regarding claim 13, Kamiya discloses the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first cured resin layer (5) is on a side of the second electrode (3) opposite to the piezoelectric film (1) and the first electrode (2) (Fig. 2 illustrates resin sheet 5 is on the side of the ground electrode layer 3 opposite the piezoelectric sheet 1 and the signal electrode layer 2).
6. Claim(s) 3-4, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya in view of Kobayashi and in further view of Tanimoto et al. (US 2016/0238466 A1, hereinafter referred as “Tanimoto”).
Regarding claim 3, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first cured resin layer covers entirety of the second electrode as viewed in the up-down direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tanimoto discloses wherein the first cured resin layer (18) covers entirety of the second electrode (16) as viewed in the up-down direction (Fig. 2a, abstract and ¶0049 discloses an electrode… that is in contact with part or all of a surface of the curable resin layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of having a stronger bond between the resin and the electrode layer.
Regarding claim 4, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first cured resin layer covers a part of the second electrode as viewed in the up-down direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tanimoto discloses wherein the first cured resin layer (18) covers a part of the second electrode (16) as viewed in the up-down direction (Fig. 2a, abstract and ¶0049 discloses an electrode… that is in contact with part or all of a surface of the curable resin layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of having quicker turn-around times and thus improving yield.
Regarding claim 11, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric film comprises polylactic acid.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tanimoto discloses wherein the piezoelectric film comprises polylactic acid ¶0282 discloses Production of Polymeric Piezoelectric Element (Polylactic Acid Film: PLA Film).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of using a material that is sensitive to a minute force.
Regarding claim 14, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first cured resin layer is on a same side of the second electrode as the piezoelectric film and the first electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tanimoto discloses wherein the first cured resin layer is on a same side of the second electrode as the piezoelectric film and the first electrode (Figs. 1, 2d, and ¶0068 discloses A pressure-sensing component 30 that includes one of the first electrodes 16, the curable resin layer 18, the polymeric piezoelectric element 20, the curable resin layer 18, and the other of the first electrodes 16, starting from the side on which the pressed component 12 is disposed (see FIG. 2D)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya so that the curable resin layer functions as a support of the polymeric piezoelectric element and can suppress the dimensional change in the polymeric piezoelectric element due to change in shape and properties of the polymeric piezoelectric element (¶0045).
7. Claim(s) 9 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya in view of Kobayashi and in further view of Kawamura (US 2016/0169753 A1, hereinafter referred as “Kawamura”).
Regarding claim 9, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode is connected to a ground potential, and the second electrode is constructed to output a detection signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawamura discloses wherein the first electrode (122) is connected to a ground potential (Fig. 2 and ¶0052 discloses connecting the electrode 122 [which is disposed closer to the operation surface] to a ground potential), and the second electrode (124) is constructed to output a detection signal (Fig. 2 and ¶0051 discloses electrode 124 [which is disposed away from the operation surface] detects electric charges and thus it is possible to obtain the detected voltage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of shielding the detecting voltage of the piezoelectric sensor from internal noise.
Regarding claim 15, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose an electronic device comprising: an operation panel; and the sensor according to claim 1 fixed to the operation panel so as to detect deformation of the operation panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawamura discloses operation panel (Fig. 2 and ¶0037 discloses cover glass 21); and the sensor (10) according to claim 1 fixed to the operation panel (21) (Fig. 2 and ¶0032 discloses piezoelectric sensor 10 is bonded to a back surface of the operation receiving member 20 by the adhesive member 30) so as to detect deformation of the operation panel (21) (Fig. 2 and ¶0035 discloses press on the operation surface is transmitted to the piezoelectric sensor 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of protecting the internal components of the device from the external environment.
Regarding claim 16, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the electronic device according to claim 15, further comprising a display panel between the operation panel and the sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kawamura discloses further comprising a display panel (23) between the operation panel (21) and the sensor (10) (Fig. 2 illustrates the display panel 23 is located between the cover glass 21 and the piezoelectric sensor 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of achieving 3-dimensional touch detection of gui objects on a display screen.
8. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya in view of Kobayashi and in further view of Mori et al. (US 2017/0160872 A1, hereinafter referred as “Mori0872”).
Regarding claim 10, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric film is constructed such that a polarity of a charge generated by the piezoelectric film when the piezoelectric film is stretched in a left-right direction is different from a polarity of a charge generated by the piezoelectric film when the piezoelectric film is stretched in a front-back direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mori0872 discloses wherein the piezoelectric film is constructed such that a polarity of a charge generated by the piezoelectric film when the piezoelectric film is stretched in a left-right direction is different from a polarity of a charge generated by the piezoelectric film when the piezoelectric film is stretched in a front-back direction (¶0052 discloses the piezoelectric film 11P1 produces the same potential (positive potential) near two facing sides (edge sides in the vertical direction) when seen from the plan view, and a reverse potential (negative potential) of the same level is produced near the other two sides (edge sides in the horizontal direction)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya so that a shape whose thickness changes along the vertical direction and does not change along the horizontal direction similar to the panel 40 according to the present embodiment makes it possible to detect a pressing operation and a pressing amount irrespectively of a pressing position (¶0055).
9. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya in view of Kobayashi and in further view of Agarwal et al. (US 2016/0259465 A1, hereinafter referred as “Agarwal”).
Regarding claim 12, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the sensor according to claim 1, further comprising a substrate on the first electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Agarwal discloses further comprising a substrate (608) on the first electrode (614) (Fig. 6 and ¶0046 discloses a strain sensitive structure 610 comprising first set of independent strain-sensitive films 614 below the rear polarizer 608. ¶0040 and ¶0007 discloses the force sensing device comprising the strain gauges can be replaced with a piezoelectric sensing device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of polarizing the light in a specific direction that comes from the backlight 624.
10. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya in view of Kobayashi and in further view of Kawamura and still in further view of Agarwal.
Regarding claim 17, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the electronic device according to claim 16, further comprising a plate-shaped member between the display panel and the sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Agarwal discloses further comprising a plate-shaped member (608) between the display panel (606) and the sensor (610) (¶0046 discloses rear polarizer 608 may be positioned below the display layer 606, and a strain sensitive structure 610 below the rear polarizer 608. ¶0040 and ¶0007 discloses the force sensing device comprising the strain sensitive structure can be replaced with a piezoelectric sensing device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of polarizing the light in a specific direction that comes from the backlight 624.
11. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya in view of Kobayashi, in further view of Kawamura and still in further view of Mori et al. (US 2019/0214544 A1, hereinafter referred as “Mori4544”).
Regarding claim 18, Kamiya as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the sensor is located at a center of the operation panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mori4544 discloses wherein the sensor is located at a center of the operation panel (Figs. 1-2 illustrate the piezoelectric sensor 13 located in the center of the rectangular operation plate 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamiya for the purpose of capturing the pressing force at the most likely location of operation.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRIYANK J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619