DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothfuss, et al. (US 2016/0200011) in view of Panda (Panda, et al., Additive manufacturing of geopolymer for sustainable built environment, November 20, 2017, Journal of Cleaner Production, Volume 167, Pages 281-288).
In reference to Claim 1, Rothfuss discloses making a three-dimensional object ([0003]) (a component made of a cured material), 3D printing layers of matrix material ([0020]) (which component has a plurality of layers produced in a 3D printing process) and reinforcement materials added ([0019]), with the reinforcement material suspending within the feedstock ([0051]).
Rothfuss does not disclose reinforcing elements connecting said layers, wherein the reinforcing elements form a strand extending through all of the layers of the component and are interconnected.
Panda discloses reinforcements needed in concrete printed parts for structural safety and reliability and optimizing reinforcement placement for structural elements (Section 5.1) (reinforcing elements connecting said layers) to improve directional strength, addition of reinforcements can be used to improve the bonding between the layers (Section 4.3) (wherein the reinforcing elements form a strand extending through all of the layers of the component and are interconnected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the component of Rothfuss using the reinforcement addition like Panda because the strength it adds. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the reinforcement from Panda in the component of Rothfuss because it adds to the safety component of the final component. The reasonable expectation of combining the reinforcement placement of Panda for the object of Rothfuss would be a stronger, safer component.
In reference to Claim 2, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 1, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses concrete being the printed and cured material ([0091]-[0093]) (the cured material is concrete).
In reference to Claim 3, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 1, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses a strong reinforcement material ([0019]) (the reinforcing elements consist of a rigid material).
In reference to Claim 4, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 3, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses the reinforcement material can be metal, ceramic, polymers, or any combination thereof ([0019]) (the rigid material is a steel or plastics material).
In reference to Claim 5, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 1, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses the reinforcement material is suspended in the feedstock ([0051]).
Panda discloses adding reinforcement to improve the directional strength across a perpendicular layer (Section 4.3) (the strands extend perpendicularly and/or horizontally to the layers).
In reference to Claim 6, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 1, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses the reinforcement material is suspended in the feedstock ([0051]).
Panda discloses adding reinforcement to improve the directional strength across a perpendicular layer (Section 4.3) (the strands extend at an angle between 90° and 45° to the layers).
In reference to Claim 7, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 1, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses the reinforcement material can be fibers, whiskers, wires, or mesh ([0051]) (the reinforcing elements are rod-shaped or designed as a wire, rod, cable, chain or roving).
In reference to Claim 8, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 1, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses the material can include fibers ([0013]) (the curable material is mixed with fibers).
In reference to Claim 9, modified Rothfuss discloses the component of Claim 8, as described above.
Rothfuss discloses the material can include carbon fibers, metal fibers, carbon nanotubes, graphene flakes ([0013]) or glass fibers, steel fibers, etc. ([0051]) (the fibers are one of: steel fibers, polymer fibers, glass fibers, or carbon fibers.
Conclusion
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742