DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1.Claims 2-4, 9, 12-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bansal et al (US 20210367985) in view of Yassaie et al. (US 5977995).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Bansal discloses a method for providing a video conferencing session (Paragraph: 0006 and fig.1: Bansal discusses a video conferencing system), the method comprising: generating for display a first video captured from a first imaging device whose first field of view is configured to capture multiple participants of the video conferencing session (Paragraphs: 0006, 0034 and 0038: Bansal discusses how the first video capturing device positioned over the at least one display screen and configured to capture one or more participants seated on the conference table; and how the display screens display a presentation being presented within the conference room during the local meeting), the multiple participants including at least a first participant (Paragraphs: 0006, 0038 and fig.1: Bansal discusses how first video capturing device capture one or more participants seated on the conference table; and how the system identify a speaker in the conference, i.e. the first participant in the multiple participants conference ); receiving a second video captured from a second imaging device, the second video depicting the first participant of the multiple participants (Paragraphs: 0006 and 0025-0026: Bansal discusses how at least one second video capturing device positioned over the at least one display screen and configured to capture one or more participants seated on the conference table);
Bansal discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “regenerating the first video to include a first display element, based on the second video, at a first position relative to a position, in the first video, of the first participant”
Yassaie however discloses regenerating the first video to include a first display element, based on the second video, at a first position relative to a position, in the first video, of the first participant (Col.8 lines 20-28 and Col.9 lines 56-62: Yassaie discusses how a system selectively processing video image signals in response to a set of video processing instructions so as to produce a set of regenerated video image signals representative of a video image to be displayed, i.e. it is obvious that a set of video processing instructions to regenerated video image signals can also set or instruct to display element based on the second video at a first position relative to a position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bansal, and modify a system wherein regenerating the first video to include a first display element, based on the second video, at a first position relative to a position, in the first video, of the first participant, as taught by Yassaie, thus allowing easy and cost effective addition of special function modules for multimedia capability, as discussed by Yassaie.
4. Claim(s) 5-8, 10, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bansal et al (US 20210367985) in view of Yassaie et al. (US 5977995) and further in view of Peters et al. (US 20220086393).
Considering claims 5 and 15, Bansal in view of Yassaie fail to disclose claims 5 and 15. Peters however discloses the method of claims 5 and 15, further comprising: determining information associated with the first participant (Paragraph: 0080: Peters discusses how the degree of quality and level of participation is indicated relative to degrees of quality and level of participation determined for participants corresponding to other endpoints); and regenerating the first video to include a second display element displaying the information at a position relative to the first display element (Paragraphs: 0224, 0500, 0607 and fig.9A-B, 25C: Peters discusses how the system provide ways to restore (i.e. regenerate) a significant amount of the information to participants in a video conference or other remote interaction and added content 2222a-2222c into the video conference interface (e.g., overlay or combination with the video streams and other user interface elements displayed); and fig 9A-B shows how a second display element displaying the information at a position relative to the first display element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bansal in view of Yassaie, and modify a system to determine information associated with the first participant; and regenerating the first video to include a second display element displaying the information at a position relative to the first display element, as taught by Peters, thus allowing to manage video conferences and communication sessions among networked devices, as discussed by Peters.
Considering claims 6 and 16, Peters further discloses the method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the first display element is configured to obscure the first participant depicted in the first video (Paragraph: 0300: Peters discusses how the system overlapping analysis windows to avoid the analysis window boundaries obscuring an expression, by examining frames).
Considering claims 7 and 17, Peters further discloses the method of claims 1 and 11, further comprising: regenerating the first video to include a third display element, wherein the third display element comprises a selectable icon configured to enable communication with the first participant (fig.12A, Icon conversation management); receiving a user input selecting the selectable icon; and establishing communication with the first participant via a communication application (Paragraphs: 0023, 0327 and fig.9C: Peters discusses selecting one or more actions to adjust or interact with a particular sub-session).
Considering claims 8 and 18, Peters further discloses the method of claims 7 and 17, wherein the establishing communication with the first participant comprises: determining that the second imaging device is part of a user device of the first participant (Paragraph: 0033, 0035 and fig.12: Peter discusses capturing, by the electronic device, video data using a camera (i.e. using the second imaging device used by the first participant), the video data including video of a face of a user of the electronic device and also discusses a camera of the first endpoint device); determining that at least one communication application is active on the user device of the first participant (Paragraphs: 0153, 0624 and 0195: Peters discusses how the system indicated Active Mode and updating of status indicators); and selecting the at least one communication application to receive the communication (Paragraph: 0623-0625 and fig.12A and 12C).
Considering claims 10 and 20, Peters further discloses the method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the regenerating the first video comprises: including, in the regenerated first video, a sixth display element (fig.1, 12f, endpoint with display) indicating a connection between the first display element and a depiction of the first participant in the first video (Paragraph: 0159, 0211 and fig.16-17).
Conclusion
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691