DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 38-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,324,888. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the elements of the application claims can be found in the patent claims.
Regarding claim 38 of the application, claim 1 of the patent recites an infusion system configured to automatically control an infusion pump (Claim 1, lines 50-51), the system comprising an infusion pump configured to pump an infusion fluid along a flow path, a first acoustic sensor positioned at a first location along the flow path, the first acoustic sensor configured to detect a first acoustic signal (Claim 1, lines 54-56), a second acoustic sensor positioned at a second location downstream from the first acoustic sensor along the flow path, the second acoustic sensor configured to detect a second acoustic signal (Claim 1, lines 58-61). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that claim 1 of the patent recites additional features and is therefore more specific than the application claim. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the specific invention. See In re Goodman, UAPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the application claim is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
Regarding claim 50 of the application, claim 12 of the patent recites a method of controlling an infusion pump configured to pump infusion fluid along a flow path (Claim 12, line 37-39), the method comprising detecting a first acoustic signal from a first acoustic sensor positioned at a first location along the flow path (Claim 12, lines 40-41), detecting a second acoustic signal from a second acoustic sensor positioned at a second location downstream from the first acoustic sensor along the flow path (Claim 12, lines 44-46), determining a first volumetric flow rate of the infusion fluid based on the detected first acoustic signal and the detected second acoustic signal (Claim 12, lines 49-51). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that claim 12 of the patent recites additional features and is therefore more specific than the application claim. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the specific invention. See In re Goodman, UAPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the application claim is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
See table below for full claim correspondence:
Application
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
11,324,888
1
2
3
4
5
1
6
7
8
9
10
Application
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
11,324,888
11
12
13
14
15
6
7
8
9
Claims 38, 40-42, 44-50, and 52-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,531. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the elements of the application claims can be found in the patent claims.
Regarding claim 38 of the application, claim 1 of the patent recites an infusion system for automatically detecting and adjusting a volumetric flow rate delivered by an infusion pump comprising an infusion pump configured to pump infusion fluid (Claim 1, lines 55-57), at least one upstream acoustic sensor located at an upstream location of the flow path, at least one downstream acoustic sensor located at a downstream location of the flow path wherein the at least one downstream acoustic sensor is configured to detect an upstream acoustic signal emitted by the at least one upstream acoustic sensor parallel to the flow path, and the at least one upstream acoustic sensor is configured to detect a downstream acoustic signal emitted by the at least one downstream acoustic sensor parallel to the flow path (Claim 1, lines 61-67, 1-4). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that claim 1 of the patent recites additional features and is therefore more specific than the application claim. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the specific invention. See In re Goodman, UAPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the application claim is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
Regarding claim 50 of the application, claim 8 of the patent recites a method for automatically detecting and adjusting a volumetric flow rate delivered by an infusion pump comprising pumping infusion fluid with an infusion pump along a flow path, detecting an upstream acoustic signal emitted by at least one upstream acoustic sensor parallel to the flow path (Claim 8, lines 16-22), detecting a at least one downstream acoustic signal emitted by the at least one downstream acoustic sensor parallel to the flow path, located at the downstream location of the flow path (Claim 8, lines 26-29). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that claim 8 of the patent recites additional features and is therefore more specific than the application claim. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the specific invention. See In re Goodman, UAPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the application claim is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
See table below for full claim correspondence:
Application
38
40
41
42
44
45
46
47
48
12,076,531
1
2
3
3
4
1
1
4
4
Application
49
50
52
53
54
55
56
57
12,076,531
4
8
2
3
8
8
8
10
Claim Objections
Claims 45-46 and 55-56 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 45, line 2, reads “associated the first acoustic signal”, should read, “associated with the first acoustic signal”.
Claim 46, line 2, reads “associated the second acoustic signal”, should read, “associated with the second acoustic signal”.
Claim 55, line 2, reads “associated the first acoustic signal”, should read, “associated with the first acoustic signal”.
Claim 56, line 2, reads “associated the second acoustic signal”, should read, “associated with the second acoustic signal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 38-41, 43-44, 47-54, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US Pub No. 20120035535 A1, herein, Johnson).
Regarding claim 38, Johnson discloses an infusion system (10 – Fig.1) comprising:
an infusion pump (12 – Fig.1) configured to pump an infusion fluid along a flow path (16 – Fig.1A)(“vary the fluid flow rate within the tubing using the pump” – Para [0030]);
a first acoustic sensor (24 -Fig.1A) positioned at a first location along the flow path (Fig.1A), the first acoustic sensor configured to detect a first acoustic signal (“receive acoustic signals directed at or through the tubing” – Para [0016], “first acoustic signal received by a CMUT sensor” – Para [0031]); and
a second acoustic sensor (26 – Fig.1A) positioned at a second location downstream from the first acoustic sensor along the flow path (Fig.1A), the second acoustic sensor configured to detect a second acoustic signal (“receive acoustic signals directed at or through the tubing” – Para [0016], “a second acoustic signal that is generated by one of the sensors” – Para [0031]).
Regarding claim 39, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, wherein the first acoustic signal originated from the second acoustic sensor (“first acoustic signal received by a CMUT sensor 24 or 26” – Para [0031]) and the second acoustic signal originated from the first acoustic sensor (“a second acoustic signal that is generated by one of the sensors” – Para [0031]).
Regarding claim 40, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, wherein the first acoustic sensor comprises a first transducer and the second acoustic sensor comprises a second transducer (“first and second capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducer (hereinafter CMUT) sensors 24 and 26” – Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 41, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, wherein the first acoustic sensor comprises a first transmitter and a first receiver and the second acoustic sensor comprises a second transmitter and a second receiver (“capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducer sensor assembly adapted to operatively couple with the tubing to transmit and receive acoustic signals directed at the tubing” – Para [0042], “transmitting transducer 24 or 26” – Para [0040], “emitting and receiving modes“ – Para [0033]).
Regarding claim 43, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, further comprising a controller (14 – Fig.1) configured to: determine a first volumetric flow rate of the infusion fluid based on the detected first acoustic signal and the detected second acoustic signal (“The sensor 24 and 26 can be used to determine a fluid flow rate of fluid in the tube with the controller” – Para [0031], “The controller determines the actual fluid flow rate based on the determined inner diameter and the determined flow velocity” – Para [0016]), and control the infusion pump to pump the infusion fluid at a second volumetric flow rate based on the detected first volumetric flow rate (“The controller adjusts the operation of the pumping mechanism to adjust or vary the flow rate” – para [0016], “ based on any of these readings or characteristics the controller 14 utilizes an algorithm to cause the pump 12 to vary the fluid flow rate” – Para [0031]).
Regarding claim 44, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, wherein the first volumetric flow rate of the infusion fluid is calculated over each stroke of the infusion pump (“force sensors to infer internal pressure information during peristaltic pumping and an algorithm to adjust pump speed accordingly, such an algorithm can be used to determine precise flow rate variances for the output of the sensors” – Para [0030]).
Regarding claim 47, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a length between the first location and the second location (Fig.2A, “determine the distance between the transducers” – Para [0035]).
Regarding claim 48, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a first time it takes the first acoustic signal to travel between the second acoustic sensor and the first acoustic sensor (“Transit time difference is one method used to measure the flow rate” – Para [0033], “The acoustic signal propagates in the fluid and is collected by the opposite probe. The propagation times in the upstream and downstream directions are measured.” – Para [0033]).
Regarding claim 49, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a first time it takes the second acoustic signal to travel between the first acoustic sensor and the second acoustic sensor (“Transit time difference is one method used to measure the flow rate” – Para [0033], “The acoustic signal propagates in the fluid and is collected by the opposite probe. The propagation times in the upstream and downstream directions are measured.” – Para [0033]).
Regarding claim 50, Johnson discloses a method of determining a volumetric flow rate of an infusion fluid along a flow path (16 – Fig.1A) in an infusion pump (12 – Fig.1), the method comprising:
detecting a first acoustic signal (“first acoustic signal received by a CMUT sensor” – Para [0031]) from a first acoustic sensor (24 -Fig.1A) positioned at a first location (Fig.1A) along the flow path (“receive acoustic signals directed at or through the tubing” – Para [0016]);
detecting a second acoustic signal (“a second acoustic signal that is generated by one of the sensors” – Para [0031], “receive acoustic signals directed at or through the tubing” – Para [0016]) from a second acoustic sensor (26 – Fig.1A) positioned at a second location downstream from the first acoustic sensor along the flow path (Fig.1A); and
determining a first volumetric flow rate of the infusion fluid based on the detected first acoustic signal and the detected second acoustic signal (“The sensor 24 and 26 can be used to determine a fluid flow rate of fluid in the tube with the controller” – Para [0031], “The controller determines the actual fluid flow rate based on the determined inner diameter and the determined flow velocity” – Para [0016]).
Regarding claim 51, Johnson discloses the method of determining a volumetric flow rate as set forth above, wherein the first acoustic signal originated from the second acoustic sensor (“first acoustic signal received by a CMUT sensor 24 or 26” – Para [0031]) and the second acoustic signal originated from the first acoustic sensor (“a second acoustic signal that is generated by one of the sensors” – Para [0031]).
Regarding claim 52, Johnson discloses the method of determining a volumetric flow rate as set forth above, wherein the first acoustic sensor comprises a first transducer and the second acoustic sensor comprises a second transducer (“first and second capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducer (hereinafter CMUT) sensors 24 and 26” – Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 53, Johnson discloses the method of determining a volumetric flow rate as set forth above, wherein the first acoustic sensor comprises a first transmitter and a first receiver and the second acoustic sensor comprises a second transmitter and a second receiver (“capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducer sensor assembly adapted to operatively couple with the tubing to transmit and receive acoustic signals directed at the tubing” – Para [0042], “transmitting transducer 24 or 26” – Para [0040], “emitting and receiving modes“ – Para [0033]).
Regarding claim 54, Johnson discloses the method of determining a volumetric flow rate as set forth above, wherein the first volumetric flow rate of the infusion fluid is calculated over each stroke of the infusion pump (“force sensors to infer internal pressure information during peristaltic pumping and an algorithm to adjust pump speed accordingly, such an algorithm can be used to determine precise flow rate variances for the output of the sensors” – Para [0030]).
Regarding claim 57, Johnson discloses the method of determining a volumetric flow rate as set forth above, wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a length between the first location and the second location (Fig.2A, “determine the distance between the transducers” – Para [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of DelCastilio et al. (US Pub No. 20110137241 A1, herein, DelCastilio).
Regarding claim 42, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, but Johnson does not expressly disclose wherein the first receiver and the second receiver each comprise at least one noise cancelling component.
DelCastilio teaches an infusion system (10 – Fig.1) wherein a receiver (26 – Fig.1) comprises at least one noise cancelling component (“a noise reduction filter” – Para [0021]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the first and the second receiver of Johnson to comprise at least one noise cancelling component as taught by DelCastilio since the noise cancelling component suppresses the peaks and valleys of the signal and the patient or operator induced artifacts, which quickly detects an occlusion within the infusion system and to reduce the number of false alarms (DelCastilio, Para [0021]).
Claims 45-46 and 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Bennison (US Pub No. 20090082676 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, but Johnson does not expressly disclose wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a first phase delay associated with the first acoustic signal.
Bennison teaches an infusion system (10 – Fig.1) wherein a volumetric flow rate is determined based on a phase delay associated with an acoustic signal (“The phase is simply the difference in timing between the incident wave and the reflected wave” – Para [0049], “the quiescent phase is different at each flow rate, and the phase difference increases with increasing flow rate, suggesting a greater phase difference as the flow rate increases” – Para [0049]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the first volumetric flow rate of Johnson to be determined based on a first phase delay associated with the first acoustic signal as taught by Bennison since it is useful in detecting access disconnects and leaks (Bennison, Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 46, Johnson discloses the infusion system as set forth above, but Johnson does not expressly disclose wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a second phase delay associated with the second acoustic signal.
Bennison teaches an infusion system (10 – Fig.1) wherein a volumetric flow rate is determined based on a phase delay associated with an acoustic signal (“The phase is simply the difference in timing between the incident wave and the reflected wave” – Para [0049], “the quiescent phase is different at each flow rate, and the phase difference increases with increasing flow rate, suggesting a greater phase difference as the flow rate increases” – Para [0049]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the first volumetric flow rate of Johnson to be determined based on a second phase delay associated with the second acoustic signal as taught by Bennison since it is useful in detecting access disconnects and leaks (Bennison, Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 55, Johnson discloses the method of determining a volumetric flow rate as set forth above, but Johnson does not expressly disclose wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a first phase delay associated with the first acoustic signal.
Bennison teaches an infusion system (10 – Fig.1) wherein a volumetric flow rate is determined based on a phase delay associated with an acoustic signal (“The phase is simply the difference in timing between the incident wave and the reflected wave” – Para [0049], “the quiescent phase is different at each flow rate, and the phase difference increases with increasing flow rate, suggesting a greater phase difference as the flow rate increases” – Para [0049]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the first volumetric flow rate of Johnson to be determined based on a first phase delay associated with the first acoustic signal as taught by Bennison since it is useful in detecting access disconnects and leaks (Bennison, Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 56, Johnson discloses the method of determining a volumetric flow rate as set forth above, but Johnson does not expressly disclose wherein the first volumetric flow rate is determined based on a second phase delay associated with the second acoustic signal.
Bennison teaches an infusion system (10 – Fig.1) wherein a volumetric flow rate is determined based on a phase delay associated with an acoustic signal (“The phase is simply the difference in timing between the incident wave and the reflected wave” – Para [0049], “the quiescent phase is different at each flow rate, and the phase difference increases with increasing flow rate, suggesting a greater phase difference as the flow rate increases” – Para [0049]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the first volumetric flow rate of Johnson to be determined based on a second phase delay associated with the second acoustic signal as taught by Bennison since it is useful in detecting access disconnects and leaks (Bennison, Para [0048]).
Conclusion
/MARISSA TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783