DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
output mechanism in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Surma et al. (WO 2021/195566 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Surma et al. discloses a method comprising:
receiving gas at a gas input receiver (118), resulting in input gas (see para. [0019]; Fig. 1);
forcing the input gas from the gas input receiver through a fluidization plate (117) and into a reaction chamber (112), the reaction chamber encircled by an inductive coil (115), the fluidization plate (117) located between the gas input receiver (118) and the reaction chamber (112), resulting in fluidized gas in the reaction chamber (see para. [0019]; Fig. 1);
mixing the fluidized gas with a catalyst (114) stored in the reaction chamber, resulting in at least one catalyzed molecule (see para. [0024]);
generating, via the inductive coil, an electromagnetic field within the reaction chamber, the electromagnetic field causing pyrolysis of the at least one catalyzed molecule in reaction chamber, resulting in at least two cracked elements, at least one of the two cracked elements being a bespoke form of carbon (see paras. [0026]; [0034]; Fig. 1); and
removing the at least two cracked elements from the reaction chamber via at least one output mechanism (119, 120) (see paras. [0034]; [0035]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Surma et al. discloses the method, wherein, during operation: at least one processor communicates with an oscillator to cause the inductive coil to create the electromagnetic field using an alternating current (see paras. [0026]-[0028]; [0055]; [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Surma et al. discloses the method, wherein the electromagnetic field causes pyrolysis, thereby creating a fluidizing affect without the use of gases (see para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Surma et al. discloses the method, wherein the gas comprises hydrocarbons, and wherein the at least two cracked elements further comprise at least one resulting gas (see para. [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surma et al. (WO 2021/195566 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the claim depends from claim 1 such that the reasoning applied to claim 1 above is applied herein for the dependent portion of the claim. The reference Surma et al. teaches that while generating the electromagnetic field: at least one processor communicates with at least one sensor (see paras. [0055]; [0069]). The reference Surma et al. is, however, silent with respect to the least one processor communicating with at least one sensor to determine a remaining amount of the catalyst within the reaction chamber. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one processor communicate with at least one sensor to determine a remaining amount of the catalyst within the reaction chamber, since the reference Suma et al. teaches that different vertical portions of the bed of particles in the reaction chamber may be selectively heated to different temperatures using multiple sets of induction coils (see paras. [0028]; [0055]; [0064]; [0069]).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Surma et al. discloses the method, wherein the at least one sensor communicates with a processor to determine a rate of generating the at least two cracked elements (see paras. [0069]; [0072]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 7 is allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: wherein the catalyst of the reaction chamber and the additional catalyst of the at least one additional reaction chamber are distinct such that the at least two cracked elements produced by the reaction chamber are distinct from the at least two additional cracked elements produced by the at least one additional reaction chamber, as recited in claim 7.
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774