DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano et al. (US Pub No. 20150123148).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakano et al discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 8) comprising: a semiconductor substrate (Figure 8, area in between lower most portion of 522 and upper most portion of 621) containing silicon carbide (Para. 0066, Element 52 and 53), the semiconductor substrate having a first main surface (621 upper most portion, Fig.8) and a second main surface opposite to each other (522 lower most portion, Fig. 8); an n-type region (53, Fig.8) provided in the semiconductor substrate (Figure 8, area in between lower most portion of 522 and upper most portion of 621) a p-type region (57, 73, and 103, Fig. 8) provided in the semiconductor substrate (Figure 8, area in between lower most portion of 522 and upper most portion of 621), between the first main surface (621 upper most portion, Fig.8) of the semiconductor substrate (Figure 8, area in between lower most portion of 522 and upper most portion of 621) and n-type region (53, Fig. 8), the p-type region (57, 73, and 103, Fig. 8) being in contact with the n-type region (53, Fig. 8); a first electrode (63, Fig. 8) electrically connected (Para. 0073) to the p-type region (57, 73, and 103, Fig. 8); and a second electrode (55, Fig. 8) electrically connected to the n-type region (53, Fig. 8), wherein at least one portion of the p-type region (57, 73, and 103, Fig. 8) is a p-type polysilicon portion (Para. 0085).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakano et al discloses wherein a remaining portion of the p-type region excluding the p-type polysilicon portion is a p-type silicon carbide portion (57 and 73 Fig. 8) (Para. 0077).
Regarding Claim 3, Nakano et al discloses wherein the p-type region is entirely constituted by the p-type polysilicon portion (103, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakano et al discloses further comprising a plurality of n-type partial regions selectively provided in the semiconductor substrate, between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the p-type region, wherein each of the plurality of n-type partial regions is entirely constituted by an n-type silicon carbide portion (56, Fig 8) (Para. 0068).
Regarding Claim 5, Nakano et al discloses further comprising a plurality of n-type partial regions selectively provided in the semiconductor substrate, between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the p-type region (56 and 102 Fig.8), wherein each of the plurality of n-type partial regions is formed by an n-type polysilicon portion (102) and an n-type silicon carbide (56) portion that are mutually exclusive, the n-type polysilicon portion is selectively provided in the p-type polysilicon portion (102 and 103), and the n-type silicon carbide portion is selectively provided in the p-type silicon carbide portion (56 and 73) (Para. 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 7, Nakano et al discloses wherein: the semiconductor substrate has an active region (18 Fig. 2a); and the semiconductor device further includes a predetermined device element structure provided in the active region (64), the predetermined device element structure having a pn junction between the p-type region and the n-type region (P.70), wherein the first electrode is provided at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and is electrically connected to the device element structure (source electrode 63), and the second electrode is provided at the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate (drain electrode 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano et al. (US Pub No. 20150123148) in view of Hoshi (US Pub No. 20220077312 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Nakano et al discloses, further comprising a termination region surrounding a periphery of the active region (18 Fig. 2a) in a plan view of the semiconductor device, wherein the p-type region is one of a plurality of p-type regions provided in the semiconductor substrate, the plurality of p-type regions further includes: a first p-type region (73, Fig. 8) provided in the active region and configuring the device element structure (64).
However, Nakano et al does not disclose the termination region having a predetermined voltage withstanding structure disposed therein, and a second p-type region provided in the termination region and configuring the voltage withstanding structure
Hoshi discloses a voltage withstanding structure (20, Fig. 2) located in the edge termination region (2, Fig. 2), having a second p-type region (24, Fig. 2) (Para. 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling of the invention to modify Nakano et al. with the teachings of Hoshi to include a voltage withstanding structure because the structure would be able to withstand high electric fields applied to the MOSFET when off and break down the voltage applied (Para. 0085).
Regarding Claim 9, Nakano et al and Hoshi disclose all of the above claimed subject matter of claim 8.
However, Nakano et al does not disclose further comprising: a boundary region between the active region and the termination region; and a wiring layer provided in the boundary region, on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an insulating layer, wherein the plurality of p-type regions further includes a third p-type region electrically connected to the first electrode, the third p-type region being provided in the boundary region and facing the wiring layer in a depth direction of the semiconductor device via the insulating layer.
Hoshi discloses a boundary region (3, Fig. 2 of Hoshi) between an active region and the termination region; and a wiring layer (82 and 83) in the boundary region, on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an insulating layer (81), wherein the plurality of p-type regions further includes a third p-type region (36a) electrically connected to the first electrode (Source electrode), the third p-type region being provided in the boundary region and facing the wiring layer in a depth direction of the semiconductor device via the insulating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling of the invention to modify Nakano et al. with the teachings of Hoshi to add the boundary region of Hoshi in between the active and termination regions of Nakano et al because the region would be able to mitigate electric fields and sustain breakdown voltages in MOSFET devices (Para. 0053).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano et al. (US Pub No. 20150123148) in view of Wada et al. (US Pub No. 20120248462).
Regarding Claim 10, Nakano et al discloses a p-type polysilicon portion (103, Fig. 8).
However, Nakano et al. does not teach wherein the p-type polysilicon portion has aluminum or boron as a p-type dopant therein.
Wada et al. discloses p-type polysilicon doped with boron and aluminum (Para.0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling of the invention to modify Nakano et al. with the teachings of Wada et al. such that the p-type polysilicon portion has boron as a p-type dopant therein, because the threshold voltage can be shifted positive by increasing the doping concentration using boron or aluminum.
Regarding Claim 11, Nakano et al discloses n-type polysilicon portion (102, Fig. 8).
Nakano et al. does not teach wherein the n-type polysilicon portion has arsenic or nitrogen as a n-type dopant therein.
Wada et al. discloses n-type polysilicon doped with arsenic (Para.0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling of the invention to modify Nakano et al. with the teachings of Wada et al. such that the n-type polysilicon portion has arsenic as a n-type dopant therein, because arsenic is used for activating source regions used in MOSFETS (Para. 0097).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest a semiconductor device further comprising a plurality of n-type partial regions selectively provided in the semiconductor substrate, between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the p-type region, wherein each of the plurality of n-type partial regions is entirely constituted by an
Conclusion
/R.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815