DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 02/02/2026 is acknowledged. As such, Claims 13-20 have been withdrawn from consideration for being directed towards the non-elected Group II. Claims 1-12 have been examined as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “a second position in the first portion” in line 7, needs to be changed to “a second position in which the first portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts (US 5,556,369).
Regarding claim 1, Roberts teaches a strap assembly configured for use during exercise comprises:
an inelastic elongated strap member (i.e., 16A with 26A, Fig. 2) that includes a grip (i.e., 40A) positioned at a first end (Fig. 2); and
a rotating connector (i.e., 22A) positioned along the strap member between the first end and a second end (Fig. 2), the rotating connector configured to allow operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the strap (i.e., 26A) located between the first end and the rotating connector (Fig. 2) is aligned with a second portion of the strap (i.e., 16A) located between the rotating connector and the second end (Fig. 2), and in a second position in which the first portion of the strap (i.e., 26A) is longitudinally rotated relative to the second portion of the strap (i.e., 16A, Figs. 2, 10-11 and 14, col. 3 lines 44-54, as shown in Fig. 2, the rotating connector (i.e., 22A) is a double-gated, swivel ring element (that includes two rings, an upper ring and a lower ring, that are rotatably connected to each other with a pin in the middle. The pin enables the lower ring to rotate 360 degrees relative to the upper ring and vice versa). The double-gated, swivel ring element is rotatably connecting the first portion of the strap (i.e., 26A) to the second portion of the strap (i.e., 16A). The double-gated, swivel ring element as the connector enables operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the strap is aligned with the second portion of the strap (see Fig. 2), and in a second position in which the first portion of the strap (i.e., 26A) is longitudinally rotated (via rotation of the lower ring of the swivel element relative to the upper ring of the swivel element about the pin)).
Regarding claim 2, Roberts teaches wherein the first portion of the strap (i.e., 26A) is connected to a first coupler (i.e., the lower ring of 22A) of the rotating connector (as shown below) and the second portion of the strap (i.e., 16A) is connected to a second coupler (i.e., the upper ring of 22A) of the rotating connector (as shown below, please note that an enlarged portion of Fig. 2 has been shown below for clarification).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second bar)][AltContent: textbox (First bar)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First coupler)][AltContent: textbox (Second coupler)]
Regarding claim 3, Roberts teaches wherein the first portion of the strap is wrapped around a first bar (as shown in the enlarged portion of Fig. 2 above) of the first coupler and the second portion of the strap is wrapped around a second bar of the second coupler (as shown in the enlarged portion of Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Roberts teaches wherein the rotating connector (i.e., 22A) comprises a first coupler (as shown in the enlarged portion of Fig. 2 above) and a second coupler (as shown in the enlarged portion of Fig. 2 above) configured to rotate relative to each other, the first coupler and the second coupler connected to each other via a pin (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 44-54, as shown in Fig. 2, the rotating connector (i.e., 22A) is a double-gated, swivel ring element. A double-gated swivel ring element inherently includes a pin between two rings, an upper ring and a lower ring to enable for swiveling of connecting parts relative to each other. In this case, the double-gated swivel ring element (i.e., 22A) includes a lower ring (first coupler) and an upper ring (second coupler), rotatably connected to each other via a pin and rotate/swivel relative to each other).
Regarding claim 10, Roberts teaches the strap assembly further comprising: a second inelastic elongated strap member (i.e., 18A with 28A, Fig. 2) that includes a second grip (i.e., 42A) positioned at a first end of the second inelastic elongated strap (Fig. 2); and a second rotating connector (i.e., 24A) positioned along the second strap member between the first end and a second end (Fig. 2), the second rotating connector configured to allow operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the second strap (i.e. 28A) located between the first end and the rotating connector is aligned with a second portion of the second strap (i.e., 18A) located between the second rotating connector (i.e., 24A) and the second end (Fig. 2), and in a second position in the first portion of the second strap (i.e., 28A) is longitudinally rotated relative to the second portion of the second strap (i.e., 18A, Figs. 2, 10-11 and 14, col. 3 lines 44-54, as shown in Fig. 2, the rotating connector (i.e., 24A) is a double-gated, swivel ring element (that includes two rings, an upper ring and a lower ring, that are rotatably connected to each other with a pin in the middle. The pin enables the lower ring to rotate 360 degrees relative to the upper ring and vice versa). The double-gated, swivel ring element (i.e., 24A) is rotatably connecting the first portion of the second strap (i.e., 28A) to the second portion of the second strap (i.e., 18A). The double-gated, swivel ring element as the connector enables operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the second strap is aligned with the second portion of the second strap (see Fig. 2), and in a second position in which the first portion of the second strap (i.e., 28A) is longitudinally rotated (via rotation of the lower ring of the swivel element relative to the upper ring of the swivel element about the pin)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feigenbaum et al. (US 2007/0173383 A1) in view of Jeune (US 2023/0377541 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Feigenbaum teaches a strap assembly configured for use during exercise comprises:
an inelastic elongated strap member (10 along with 40 and 22 in Fig. 2 is considered an inelastic elongated strap member), that includes a grip (24) positioned at a first end (Fig. 2); and
a connector (i.e. 28/32) positioned along the strap member between the first end and a second end (Fig. 2), the connector configured to allow operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the strap (22) located between the first end and the connector is aligned with a second portion of the strap (10) located between the connector and the second end (Fig. 2).
Feigenbaum is silent about the connector being a rotating connector and in addition to the first position, the rotating connector allowing operation of the strap assembly in a second position in the first portion of the strap is longitudinally rotated relative to the second portion of the strap.
Regarding claim 1, Jeune, in an analogous art (see the Note below for details) teaches an inelastic elongated strap (12B with 26 and with/without 14 in Figs. 1-2, is considered an elastic elongated strap) having a first end (towards the neck of the instrument in Fig. 1), a rotating connector (combination of 16, 16A, 18, 20, 20A, 22 and 24 as shown in Figs. 2-3) positioned along the strap member between the first end (towards the neck of instrument in Fig. 1) and a second end (towards the end of the body of the instrument Fig. 1), the rotating connector configured to allow operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the strap (at 14 in Figs. 2-3) located between the first end and the rotating connector is aligned with a second portion of the strap (at 26) located between the rotating connector and the second end (as shown in Fig. 2) and in a second position in which the first portion of the strap (at 14) is longitudinally rotated relative to the second portion of the strap (at 26, as shown in Fig. 4B and 4E, note that the other types of rotating connectors shown in Figs. 5-8 can also be used).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector of Feigenbaum’s invention with a rotating connector that allows operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the strap located between the first end and the rotating connector is aligned with a second portion of the strap located between the rotating connector and the second end and in a second position in which the first portion of the strap is longitudinally rotated relative to the second portion of the strap, as taught by Jeune in order to enable for a wider variety of exercises and easier maneuvering of the handle while performing various exercises while preventing the user from potential harm and discomfort during exercise.
Note:
According to ¶ [0023] and [0028]-[0029] of applicant’s specification, the particular problem with which the current application’s inventor is concerned is the user’s discomfort which may be caused by movement of various portions of the strap during exercise. According to ¶ [2]-[4] of Jeune, Jeune is also concerned with the same problem which is a twisted strap, for connecting to and enable holding a music instrument, causing discomfort for the user during performance and presents an invention (similar to applicant’s claims) to solve such problem. As such, Jeune is considered analogous art since Jeune is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor is concerned.
Regarding claim 2, Feigenbaum in view of Jeune teaches wherein the first portion of the strap (Jeune: at 14) is connected to a first coupler (Jeune: 16 with 16A) of the rotating connector and the second portion of the strap (Jeune: at 26) is connected to a second coupler (Jeune: 20 with 20A) of the rotating connector (Jeune: Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Feigenbaum in view of Jeune teaches wherein the first portion of the strap (Jeune: at 14) is wrapped around a first bar (Jeune: 16A) of the first coupler (Jeune: Figs. 2-3) and the second portion of the strap (Jeune: at 26) is wrapped around a second bar (Jeune: 20A) of the second coupler (Jeune: Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Feigenbaum in view of Jeune teaches wherein the first portion of the strap (Jeune: at 14) forms a first loop that is connected back on itself to connect the first portion to the first coupler (Jeune: Figs. 2-4A).
Regarding claim 5, Feigenbaum in view of Jeune teaches wherein the rotating connector comprises a first coupler (Jeune: 16 with 16A) and a second coupler (Jeune: 20 with 20A) configured to rotate relative to each other (Jeune: Figs. 2, 4A-4E), the first coupler and the second coupler connected to each other via a pin (Jeune: 22, Figs. 2-4E).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feigenbaum in view of Jeune as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jones (US 2022/0126162 A1).
Feigenbaum in view of Jeune is silent about wherein the grip comprises: a core portion comprising a rigid cylinder defining a longitudinal inner cavity and a slot for accessing the inner cavity; and a cover portion rotatably coupled to the core portion, wherein the cover portion is operable in an open position in which an opening in the cover portion is aligned with the slot and in a closed position in which the opening in the cover portion is not aligned with the slot.
Regarding claim 11, Jones teaches a grip (100), wherein the grip comprises: a core portion (200) comprising a rigid cylinder (202) defining a longitudinal inner cavity (Figs. 1 and 5) and a slot (201) for accessing the inner cavity (Figs. 1, 3 and 5, ¶ [22], [25]); and a cover portion (300) rotatably coupled to the core portion (Fig. 2), wherein the cover portion is operable in an open position in which an opening (304, Fig. 4) in the cover portion is aligned with the slot and in a closed position in which the opening in the cover portion is not aligned with the slot (¶ [24], [27]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector of Feigenbaum’s invention in view of Jeune, wherein the grip comprises: a core portion comprising a rigid cylinder defining a longitudinal inner cavity and a slot for accessing the inner cavity; and a cover portion rotatably coupled to the core portion, wherein the cover portion is operable in an open position in which an opening in the cover portion is aligned with the slot and in a closed position in which the opening in the cover portion is not aligned with the slot as taught by Jones in order to enable easy exchange of the handle when need be.
Regarding claim 12, Feigenbaum in view of Jeune and Jones teaches wherein the grip is removable from the elongated strap (Jones: strap 800, Fig. 8) when in the open position (Jones: ¶ [27], please note that upon modification of Feigenbaum’s invention in view of Jeune with features of Jones, the grip would be removable from the elongated strap of Feigenbaum).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claims 6-9, the prior arts of record (see above), teach a strap assembly configured for use during exercise comprises: an inelastic elongated strap member that includes a grip positioned at a first end; and a rotating connector positioned along the strap member between the first end and a second end, the rotating connector configured to allow operation of the strap assembly in a first position in which a first portion of the strap located between the first end and the rotating connector is aligned with a second portion of the strap located between the rotating connector and the second end, and in a second position in the first portion of the strap is longitudinally rotated relative to the second portion of the strap (see above for details), but fail to disclose, teach or render obvious the strap assembly further comprising a connector cover wherein the connector cover is configured to operate in a restricting position and in a free position, the connector cover positioned over the rotating connector when in the restricting position to restrict rotation of the rotating connector (recited in claim 6).
Please see attached PTO-892 for further pertinent prior art references.
Conclusion
/SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784