FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,175,947 to Oezmen et al. (hereinafter Oezmen) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0097183 to McCracken (hereinafter McCracken).
Oezmen discloses:
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying, by a network analyzer, an impacted service reporting an error, the network analyzer being a device that includes a processing resource (col. 4, lns. 29-31 and col. 10, lns. 49-52);
identifying, by the network analyzer, one or more upstream services related to the impacted service based on a service dependency between the one or more upstream services and the impacted service (col. 8, lns. 12-24 and col. 12, ln. 55-col. 13, ln. 2);
identifying, by the network analyzer, at least one modification in one or more of the impacted service or the one or more upstream services based on respective versions of the impacted service and the one or more upstream services (col. 9, lns. 55-65, col. 10, lns. 5-19 and col. 13, lns. 2-21);
determining, by the network analyzer, a relevancy score for each candidate modification of a set of candidate modifications based on respective weights assigned to each relationship link between the impacted service and the one or more upstream services related to the impacted service, the set of candidate modifications selected from the at least one modification as probable causes of the error (col. 9, lns. 31-37 and lns. 55-59, col. 10, lns. 44-61); and
reporting, by the network analyzer, the set of candidate modifications according to the relevancy score for each candidate modification of the set of candidate modifications (col. 11, lns. 1-12, col. 13, lns. 22-32).
Oezmen does not disclose expressly a service dependency graph, the relevancy score for a given candidate modification determined based on the weights of the relationship link or relationship links along a path in the service dependency graph between the service in which the given candidate modification was made and the impacted service.
McCracken teaches a service dependency graph (paras. [0055]-[0056] and Fig. 2), the relevancy score for a given candidate modification determined based on the weights of the relationship link or relationship links along a path in the service dependency graph between the service in which the given candidate modification was made and the impacted service (paras. [0064]-[0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Oezmen by using a service dependency graph an determining scores, as taught by McCracken. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the time from failure to resolution, as discussed by McCracken (para. [0047]).
Modified Oezmen discloses:
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the at least one modification comprises a code change, a configuration change, a hardware change, an operating environment change, or combinations thereof (Oezmen - col. 5, lns. 17-20).
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising identifying, by the network analyzer, the error based on service performance data corresponding to a plurality of services (Oezmen - col. 10, lns. 49-52).
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising selecting, by the network analyzer, the set of candidate modifications from the at least one modification based on a timestamp associated with the at least one modification (Oezmen - col. 12, lns. 28-54).
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein:
the method further comprises:
assigning, by the network analyzer, the respective weight to each relationship link between the impacted service and the one or more upstream services related to the impacted service (Oezmen - col. 9, lns. 24-31); and
rank-ordering, by the network analyzer, the set of candidate modifications based on the relevancy score for each candidate modification (Oezmen - col. 9, lns. 37-67); and
reporting, by the network analyzer, the set of candidate modifications according to the relevancy score for each candidate modification of the set of candidate modifications comprises reporting the set of candidate modifications, as rank-ordered (Oezmen - col. 10, lns. 65-col. 11, ln. 12).
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the relevancy score for a given candidate modification is determined as a product of the respective weights of each relationship link between the impacted service and a service in which the given candidate modification is made (Oezmen - Fig. 2E).
Claims 9, 10, 13, 14 are a network analyzer for performing the identical steps as performed by the method of claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and are rejected under the same rationale.
12. The network analyzer of claim 9, wherein non-transitory machine-readable storage medium is configured to store a service dependency database comprising information representing relationships between a plurality of services, and wherein the processing resource is configured to execute one or more of the instructions to determine the one or more upstream services based on the relationships between a plurality of services stored in the service dependency database (Oezmen - col. 9, lns. 24-54).
15. The network analyzer of claim 14, wherein a value of the respective weight is in a range from 0 (zero) to 1 (one) (Oezmen - Fig. 2E).
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are a non-transitory machine-readable medium for performing the identical steps as performed by the method of claims 1, 6, and 8, and are rejected under the same rationale.
20. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions to rank-order the set of candidate modifications in descending order of the respective relevancy score (Oezmen - col. 9, lns. 55-67).
Claims 4, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oezmen in view of McCracken, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0026676 to Sharma et al. (hereinafter Sharma).
Oezmen does not disclose expressly:
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the service performance data comprises information from one or more of incident logs, error logs, or service health logs.
Sharma teaches wherein the service performance data comprises information from one or more of incident logs, error logs, or service health logs (para. [0033]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Oezmen by using error logs, as taught by Sharma. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to efficiently provide notifications without frequent polling necessary, as discussed by Sharma (para. [0013]).
Modified Oezmen discloses:
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein each entry in one or more of the incident logs, error logs, or device health logs comprises a unique identifier associated with a service relating to the entry, and wherein identifying the impacted service comprises identifying the unique identifier corresponding to impacted service reporting the error based on one more of the incident logs, error logs, or device health logs (Sharma – para. [0034]).
Claim 11 is a network analyzer for performing the identical steps as performed by the method of claims 4 and 5, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oezmen in view of McCracken, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,943,154 to Bodell et al. (hereinafter Bodell).
Oezmen does not disclose expressly:
21. The computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein the respective weights assigned to each relationship link between the impacted service and the one or more upstream services related to the impacted service are assigned according to a relationship distance between the impacted service and the one or more upstream services.
Bodell teaches wherein the respective weights assigned to each relationship link between the impacted service and the one or more upstream services related to the impacted service are assigned according to a relationship distance between the impacted service and the one or more upstream services (col. 2, lns. 20-37, col. 4, lns. 36-43 – weights of edges may be based on hop count).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Oezmen by using weights according to a hop count, as taught by Bodell. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to more efficiently resolve issues, as discussed by Bodell (col. 1, lns. 22-25).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP GUYTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113