Detailed Action
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 18/790,529, filed on 07/31/2024. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 1, 16 and 19 are independent claim.
Priority
This application has PRO 63/584,032 filed on 09/20/2023. This application has PRO 63/584,029 filed on 09/20/2023. This application has PRO 63/584,037 filed on 09/20/2023.
Drawing
The drawings filed on 07/31/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS's) submitted on 07/31/2024 and 09/15/2025, are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, claims 1-20 are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
The claims 1-20 are directed to the abstract idea, an idea of itself. The claim 1-20 recite executing trusted and untrusted process, restricting tasks associated with untrusted process and using security criteria. Limitations in claim herein can be related to different situations like collecting new information and comparing new and stored information. Claim 1 recites isolating trusted and untrusted tasks and implementing security measures. Thus all of these concepts relate to comparing new and stored information and using rules to identify option. The steps can also be related to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A. (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The claims do not require the use of a machine and may simply be performed mentally or with a pen and paper. A person can do the calculations and make the decisions without the assistance of a computer. The limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than recited “memory/processing circuitry, non-transitory medium, nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind (or with a pen and paper). For example, but for the generically claimed hardware language, the steps amount to a user manually reviewing the entitlements of user currently has and using this data to perform a corrective action. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Therefore the claims are abstract. The machines claimed to implement the abstract idea are merely generic computer components, including the processor, modules, computing system and computer readable medium. There is nothing present in the claims to indicate that these computing elements differ from any standard computer setup that can execute code with instructions as detailed in the claims.
Furthermore, with respect to the claimed details towards performing set of neural network operations, these do not provide a practical application nor significantly more than abstract idea. The neural network model amounts to automating steps previously performed by a human (where a human can generate prompts e,g. questions related to the entitlements). The specification further shows that the neural network models are conventionally pre-trained models.
Claims can be directed to an abstract idea that stands alone without technical implementation required to execute it to be considered abstract. Even if the steps of collecting data, comparing data, updating data and sending the updated data back are implemented via computer instructions, the step of “a user pressing a button to initiate the process” is directed to a conventional human activity that is irrelevant to the patentable features of the instant claim(s) (mayo v. prometheus). The claims do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are merely instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and require no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bali (US Patent Application Publication No 2016/0364559 A1) in view of Yitbarek (US Patent Application Publication No 2020/0145419 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bali discloses a computing device, comprising:
one or more processors configured to (Bali, Fig-1, ¶[0019], one or more processor):
co-execute trusted processes and untrusted processes in an isolated manner that includes implementing a secure environment in which a set of security criteria is enforced for data of the trusted processes (Bali, Fig-1, ¶[0020]- ¶[0022], the application execution environment includes an untrusted application execution environment and a trusted application execution environment. Unauthorized or unauthenticated users may access or modify data and applications in the untrusted application execution environment. For protecting confidential information from theft or misuse, the untrusted application execution environment may not be suitable for storing or processing biometric data. ¶[0023], the trusted execution environment includes data storage that is isolated from memory used by unauthorized process. Trusted environment securely quarantines certain data, including biometric data); and
Bali does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Yitbarek teaches:
multiple heterogenous hardware accelerators configured to (Yitbarek, Fig-1, ¶[0034], the accelerator may be FPGA, ASIC, GPU):
implement exclaves of the secure environment that extend enforcement of one or more of the set of security criteria within the hardware accelerators for data distributed to the hardware accelerators for performance of tasks associated with the trusted processes (Yitbarek, ¶[0041], the provisioning agent may be configured to determine whether any other trusted execution environment is using the TIO device and securely command the TIO device to exit the trusted I/O mode. ¶[0044], each of the TEEs may be embodied as a trust domain. Each TEE is isolated or otherwise protected from VMM, host partition and other TEEs with hardware support of the computing device).
Bali in view of Yitbarek are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “trusted and untrusted communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bali in view of Yitbarek to include the idea of accelerator devices that typically communicate directly with host devices and also directly with each other to ensure that only accelerators that are within the same trust boundary can communicate and malicious accelerator can not extract sensitive data (Yitbarek, ¶[0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein, to extend the enforcement of the one or more security criteria, one or more of the hardware accelerators are further configured to:
restrict tasks associated with the untrusted processes from accessing memory regions assigned to the trusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes).
Regarding claim 3, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 2, wherein, to restrict the tasks, the one or more hardware accelerators are further configured to:
store virtual-to-physical address translations for the memory regions assigned to the trusted processes and for memory regions assigned to the untrusted processes (Yitbarek, ¶[0031], computing device may control access to particular memory pages by configuring one or more page tables. ¶[0112], the VMM, the host operating system and host driver may set registers, read and write memory addresses); and
prevent the tasks associated with the untrusted processes from accessing the virtual-to-physical address translations for the memory regions assigned to the trusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes).
Regarding Claim 4, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 2, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators includes a graphics processing unit (GPU) configured to (Yitbarek, ¶[0034], ¶[0147], accelerators may be implemented as GPU):
maintain a table identifying the memory regions assigned to the trusted processes and memory regions assigned to the untrusted processes (Yitbarek, ¶[0127], trusted agent may maintain a requester ID table or other data structure with bindings); and
perform memory accesses in accordance with the table (Yitbarek, ¶[0099], page table for each trust domain).
Regarding Claim 5, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein, to extend the enforcement of the one or more security criteria, one or more of the hardware accelerators are further configured to:
physically isolate the distributed data associated with the trusted processes from distributed data associated with the untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes. Also Yitbarek, Fig-1, ¶[0034]).
Regarding Claim 6, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 5, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include pipelines configured to:
perform tasks associated with the untrusted processes and tasks associated with the trusted processes, wherein the pipelines include one or more additional pipeline stages that process the distributed data associated with the trusted processes and do not process the distributed data associated with the untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0033], in response to receiving a biometrics request from the untrusted application, the driver sends a command to the trusted biometric application via the trusted biometric service to generate a cryptographic key for encrypting biometric data captured from biometric fingerprint sensor).
Regarding Claim 9, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 5, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include one or more additional data buffers configured to:
store the distributed data associated with the trusted processes, wherein the one or more additional buffers do not store the distributed data associated with the untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes. Also Yitbarek, Fig-1, ¶[0034]).
Regarding Claim 11, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein, to extend the enforcement of the one or more security criteria, one or more of the hardware accelerators are further configured to:
restrict sensor data provided to trusted processes from being provided to untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes).
Regarding Claim 12, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include an image signal processor configured to:
process sensor data received from a camera sensor, wherein the image signal processor includes a cutoff switch configured to enable or disable providing the sensor data to an untrusted process in response to the one or more security criteria being satisfied (Bali, ¶[0020], the biometric component includes sensor hub. Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes).
Regarding Claim 13, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 12, wherein the one or more security criteria include an indication being present in a frame being displayed to a user to indicate that the camera sensor is currently in use (Bali, ¶[0068], biometric component includes biometric sensor).
Regarding Claim 14, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include an audio unit configured to:
process sensor data received from a microphone sensor, wherein the audio unit includes a cutoff switch configured to enable or disable providing the sensor data to an untrusted process in response to the one or more security criteria being satisfied (Bali, ¶[0014], voice recognition sensor).
Regarding Claim 15, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 1, further comprising:
a system on a chip (SoC) that includes the one or more processors and the one or more hardware accelerators (Yitbarek, ¶[0032], I/O subsystem may form a portion of a system on chip (SoC)).
Regarding Claim 16, Bali discloses a computing device, comprising:
one or more processors (Bali, Fig-1, ¶[0019], one or more processor);
memory have program instructions stored therein that are executable by the one or more processors to (Bali, Fig-1, ¶[0019], one or more processor):
isolate co-executing trusted processes and untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-1, ¶[0020]- ¶[0022], the application execution environment includes an untrusted application execution environment and a trusted application execution environment. Unauthorized or unauthenticated users may access or modify data and applications in the untrusted application execution environment. For protecting confidential information from theft or misuse, the untrusted application execution environment may not be suitable for storing or processing biometric data. ¶[0023], the trusted execution environment includes data storage that is isolated from memory used by unauthorized process. Trusted environment securely quarantines certain data, including biometric data); and
Bali does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Yitbarek teaches:
a plurality of heterogenous hardware accelerators (Yitbarek, Fig-1, ¶[0034], the accelerator may be FPGA, ASIC, GPU); and
distribute data to ones of the plurality of heterogenous hardware accelerators to perform tasks requested by the processes (Yitbarek, Fig-1, ¶[0034], the accelerator may be FPGA, ASIC, GPU); and
wherein the heterogenous hardware accelerators are configured to: receive indications of a manner in which the trusted processes and untrusted processes are isolated (Yitbarek, ¶[0041], the provisioning agent may be configured to determine whether any other trusted execution environment is using the TIO device and securely command the TIO device to exit the trusted I/O mode. ¶[0044], each of the TEEs may be embodied as a trust domain. Each TEE is isolated or otherwise protected from VMM, host partition and other TEEs with hardware support of the computing device); and
based on the received indications, extend isolation of the trusted and untrusted processes for co-executing tasks operating on the distributed data (Yitbarek, ¶[0041], the provisioning agent may be configured to determine whether any other trusted execution environment is using the TIO device and securely command the TIO device to exit the trusted I/O mode. ¶[0044], each of the TEEs may be embodied as a trust domain. Each TEE is isolated or otherwise protected from VMM, host partition and other TEEs with hardware support of the computing device).
Regarding Claim 17, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 16, wherein, to extend isolation of the trusted and untrusted processes, one or more of the hardware accelerators are further configured to:
store virtual-to-physical address translations for memory regions assigned to the trusted processes and for memory regions assigned to the untrusted processes (Yitbarek, ¶[0031], computing device may control access to particular memory pages by configuring one or more page tables. ¶[0112], the VMM, the host operating system and host driver may set registers, read and write memory addresses); and
prevent the tasks associated with the untrusted processes from accessing the virtual-to-physical address translations for the memory regions assigned to the trusted processes to restrict tasks associated with the untrusted processes from accessing memory regions assigned to the trusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes).
Regarding Claim 18, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 16, wherein, to extend isolation of the trusted and untrusted processes, one or more of the hardware accelerators are further configured to:
physically isolate the distributed data associated with the trusted processes from distributed data associated with the untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purposes. Also Yitbarek, Fig-1, ¶[0034]).
Regarding Claim 19, Bali discloses a computing device, comprising: one or more processors configured to:
co-execute trusted processes and untrusted processes such that the trusted processes are isolated from the untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-1, ¶[0020]- ¶[0022], the application execution environment includes an untrusted application execution environment and a trusted application execution environment. Unauthorized or unauthenticated users may access or modify data and applications in the untrusted application execution environment. For protecting confidential information from theft or misuse, the untrusted application execution environment may not be suitable for storing or processing biometric data. ¶[0023], the trusted execution environment includes data storage that is isolated from memory used by unauthorized process. Trusted environment securely quarantines certain data, including biometric data); and
Bali does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Yitbarek teaches:
multiple heterogenous hardware accelerators configured to (Yitbarek, Fig-1, ¶[0034], the accelerator may be FPGA, ASIC, GPU):
perform tasks requested by the trusted processes (Yitbarek, ¶[0041], the provisioning agent may be configured to determine whether any other trusted execution environment is using the TIO device and securely command the TIO device to exit the trusted I/O mode. ¶[0044], each of the TEEs may be embodied as a trust domain. Each TEE is isolated or otherwise protected from VMM, host partition and other TEEs with hardware support of the computing device); and
negotiate conditions in which tasks requested by the untrusted processes are permitted to be performed (Yitbarek, ¶[0041], the provisioning agent may be configured to determine whether any other trusted execution environment is using the TIO device and securely command the TIO device to exit the trusted I/O mode. ¶[0044], each of the TEEs may be embodied as a trust domain. Each TEE is isolated or otherwise protected from VMM, host partition and other TEEs with hardware support of the computing device).
Bali in view of Yitbarek are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “trusted and untrusted communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bali in view of Yitbarek to include the idea of accelerator devices that typically communicate directly with host devices and also directly with each other to ensure that only accelerators that are within the same trust boundary can communicate and malicious accelerator can not extract sensitive data (Yitbarek, ¶[0005]).
Regarding Claim 20, Bali in view of Yitbarek discloses the computing device of claim 19, wherein one of the negotiated conditions includes a notification to a user indicative of a task requested by one of the untrusted processes (Bali, Fig-3, ¶[0032], the device does not permit applications or other processes executing in the untrusted environment, including the untrusted application to directly access sensitive data that unauthorized users could exploit for improper purpose).
Claim 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bali (US Patent Application Publication No 2016/0364559 A1) in view of Yitbarek (US Patent Application Publication No 2020/0145419 A1) and further in view of Bates (US Patent No US 8,493,399 B1).
Regarding Claim 7, Bali in view of Yitbarek does not disclose the following limitation that Bates teaches:
computing device of claim 6, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include a display unit having a display pipeline configured to:
render frames for a display of the computing device, wherein the display pipeline includes a blend pipeline stage configured to:
blend pixel data received from a trusted process into a frame being rendered by the display pipeline and including pixel data from an untrusted process (Bates, col 3, line 10-25, application 110 may be graphics application that processes trusted and untrusted application content. Application 110 may include FPU that renders frames from application content and SPU that renders frames from application content. Col 3, line 50-60, FPU may render or generate frame).
Bali in view of Yitbarek and Bates are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “trusted and untrusted communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bali in view of Yitbarek and Bates to include the idea of rendering process to render a frame of data from an application onto a buffer. Then a GPU renders the buffered data (Bates, col, 1, line 10-20).
Regarding Claim 8, Bali in view of Yitbarek and Bates discloses the computing device of claim 6, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include a display unit having a display pipeline configured to:
render frames for a display of the computing device, wherein the display pipeline includes an extraction pipeline stage configured to:
extract pixel data from a frame being rendered by the display pipeline; and provide the extracted pixel data to a trusted process (Bates, col 3, line 10-25, application 110 may be graphics application that processes trusted and untrusted application content. Application 110 may include FPU that renders frames from application content and SPU that renders frames from application content. Col 3, line 50-60, FPU may render or generate frame).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bali (US Patent Application Publication No 2016/0364559 A1) in view of Yitbarek (US Patent Application Publication No 2020/0145419 A1) and further in view of Chen (US Patent Application Publication No 2020/0050945 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Bali in view of Yitbarek does not disclose the following limitation that Chen discloses:
the computing device of claim 9, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include a neural engine configured to:
perform set of neural network operations, wherein the neural engine includes the one or more data buffers to store distributed data for tasks associated with the trusted processes (Chen, ¶[0048], a deep learning method to train an initial neural network based on a training set. The training set is an untrusted data set (i.e., not from a trusted source).
Bali in view of Yitbarek and Chen are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “trusted and untrusted communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bali in view of Yitbarek and Chen to include the idea of training a machine learning model to perform a particular task using trusted and untrusted data (Chen, ¶[0026])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-Form 892).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASIKA NIPA whose telephone number is (571)272-8923. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Pwu can be reached on 571-272-6798. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433