DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for US Application 18/790,534 for a Modular Contour Adaptive Channel Assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “chain-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "chain-like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 11-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,833,876 to Kitao et al. Regarding claim 1, Kitao et al. discloses a modular contour adaptive channel assembly (see figures 1 and 2), comprising a plurality of modules (2) releasably and adjustably connected to one another in a chain to define a common cable channel. Each module of the plurality of modules includes a base (4a, 4b, and 7), a cover (6) removably disposed on the base, and a cable passage defined by and between the cover and the base.
The base includes a front connector (3), a rear connector (3’), and a base fastener (38-40 or 32). The cover includes a cover fastener (35-37 or 29), and the cover fastener and the base fastener are engaged with one another releasably connecting the cover and the base. Adjacent modules of the plurality of the plurality of the modules are pivotably and releasably connected to one another via engagement of the front connector of the a first module of the adjacent modules and the rear connector of a second module of the adjacent modules. The cable passage of each of the plurality of modules collectively define the common cable channel.
Regarding claim 2, the cover fastener includes a latch projection (36), the base fastener includes a tab (39), and the latch projection and the tab are engaged with one another releasably connecting the cover and the base. Regarding claim 5, the front connector (3) includes a pivot projection, the rear connector (3’) includes a pivot opening complimentary to the pivot projection, and the pivot projection of the first module is disposed in the pivot opening of the second module pivotably and releasably connecting the first module and the second module (see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 6, the rear connector includes a rear connector body and a guide surface (the back half of 4a including 3’), the pivot opening disposed in the rear connector body and the rear connector body defining the guide surface, and the guide surface extending from an edge of the rear connector body to the pivot opening facilitating engagement of the pivot opening with the pivot projection of another module of the plurality of modules (the portion of 4a behind opening 3’ is a guide surface that facilitates the insertion of projection 3 into the opening 3’).
Regarding claim 11, the base includes a base body (7) and a side wall (4a and 4b) extending from the base body, and the front connector (3) and the rear connector (3’) are disposed at opposite ends of the side wall. Regarding claim 12, the side wall includes a recess (32) disposed between at least a portion of the front connector and at least a portion of the rear connector, and the cover includes an outer side wall at least a portion of which (29) is disposed in the recess of the base. Regarding claim 13, the base fastener is disposed on the side wall of the base adjacent a bottom of the recess.
Regarding claim 15, the cover fastener (29) projects from the outer side wall of the cover. Regarding claim 16, the cover includes an inner side wall, and at least a portion of the side wall of the base is disposed between the cover fastener and the inner side wall of the cover (see figures 6a and 6b). Regarding claim 17, the side wall of the base and the outer side wall of the cover are substantially aligned with one another (see figures 6a and 6b).
Regarding claim 18, the front connector and the rear connector are disposed at least partially offset from one another (see figure 1… the modules are arranged at angles resulting in the front connector and the rear connector being offset from one another). Regarding claim 19, the cover includes a cable opening (46) that at least partially defines a second common cable channel. Regarding claim 20, there is at least one attachment (8) selectively and releasably connectable to the plurality of modules. The base includes an attachment formation (47, 48) via which the at least one attachment is releasably connectable to the base (at 45), and the at least one attachment is releasably connected to a module of the plurality of modules via the attachment formation of the module (via 45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7-10, and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 3 and 4, the relevant prior art found does not disclose or suggest the elements of claim 1 with the additional limitations of latch projections engage with at least one of a plurality of tabs releasably connecting the cover and the base, wherein a dimension of the cable passage varies based on which oof the plurality of tabs is engaged by the latch projection. Regarding claims 7-10, the relevant prior art does not disclose the features of claims 1, in addition to the front or rear connector including a front or rear connector body, respectively, and a channel or goove disposed in the front or rear connector body, respectively. Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not disclose the features of claims 1 and 11-13, wherein cover fastener includes a latch projection that is engaged with one of the a plurality of tabs of the base fastener releasably connecting the cover and the base, wherein the outer side wall is disposed completely in the recess when the latch projection is engaged with a first tab, and is disposed only partially in the recess when the latch projection is engaged with a second tab.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0211658 to Lu
US 2013/0161453 to Hsieh
US 2016/0149384 to Lu
US 7047720 to Ikeda
US 6107565 to O’Rourke
US 6997412 to Komiya
US 9057420 to Hsieh US 9941681 to Tseng
US 2006/0289188 to Komiya
DE 202013101462 to Igus
DE 202006006492 to Igus
DE 202013101457 to Igus
The above prior art discloses various modular cable attachment assemblies.
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632