DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Mimura (US PG Pub No. 2020/0094875).
Regarding claim 1, Mimura teaches A vehicle configured to be able to automatically change lanes, the vehicle comprising:
a first processor (120 figure 3 and 160 paragraph 87) configured to recognize a surrounding vehicle present around the vehicle and to calculate a relative position of the surrounding vehicle with respect to the vehicle; and (paragraph 55 and 64)
a second processor (190 display controller paragraph 87) configured to display information to be provided to an occupant of the vehicle,
wherein the second processor is configured to:
display the surrounding vehicle at the relative position calculated by the first processor; (IMC and IMD figure 8)
display a mark showing that the vehicle is scheduled to perform an automatic lane change; and (IMB figure 7 paragraph 87 notification on image that notifies observer that subject of vehicle M is in state of auto lane change IMB)
make a position of the mark change in accordance with the relative position of the surrounding vehicle presenting at a destination driving lane. (IM1 figure 7 as opposed to IM2 figure 8 where IMC and IMO show prohibited lane change; no IMC and IMD is mark change in accordance with relative position of surrounding vehicle)
Regarding claim 2, Mimura teaches a third processor configured to automatically perform part or all of driving operations relating to acceleration, steering, and braking of the vehicle,
wherein the third processor is configured to control speed of the vehicle so that the mark approaches the vehicle. (160 figure 3 paragraph 63 and 96 figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, Mimura teaches wherein the third processor is configured to change lanes when the vehicle is positioned next to the mark. (S104-S122 figure 10)
Regarding claim 6, Mimura teaches wherein the mark extends perpendicular to a direction of travel of the vehicle (IMB figure 7).
Regarding claim 8 and 9, see the rejection of claim 1 as the limitations are substantially similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura (US PG Pub No. 2020/0094875) in view of Mimura (2) (US PG Pub No 2019/0144004)
Regarding claim 4, Mimura does not explicitly teach however Mimura (2) teaches wherein the second processor is configured to change a shape of the mark when a lane change is possible (628-4 figure 6 paragraph 92 advanced notice of lane changing of vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Mimura based on the teachings of Mimura (2) to teach wherein the second processor is configured to change a shape of the mark when a lane change is possible. The motivation would be to give advanced notice of lane change (Mimura (2) paragraph 95)
Regarding claim 5, Mimura does not explicitly teach however Mimura (2) teaches giving symbolic animation for the purpose of informing lane change (paragraph 95 exampels of automation include external shape… polygon and the like… still of moving images).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to teach wherein the second processor is configured to change the mark from a line mark to a planar mark when the lane change is possible. The motivation would be to give advanced notice of lane change (Mimura (2) paragraph 95)
Regarding claim 7, see the rejection of claim 4 above.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747