Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “universal joint 28” is not fixed relative to a base supporting the first and the second footpad,” which is incorrect. The universal 28 is fixed relative to a base support 6 as seen in fig. 8(A).
Applicant argued Tani does not discloses “tilting along the axis”, which is incorrect. Tani discloses (24) The walk surface mechanism may preferably include a walk base plate freely tilted, the left and right walk plates held by the walk base plate as being capable of being freely horizontally shiftable and rotatable, and a walk-plate slantwise-driving means which supports one end of the walk base plate, which can be tilted any direction. Moreover, Tani discloses a virtual reality simulation apparatus which includes software of images easily prepared and fits or corresponds realistically to participants' motions or movements such as walking or running, and more particularly to a virtual reality simulation apparatus through which participants can have quasi experiences, with full reality, of walk in various directions and on slopes and steps while being positioned at the same position.
Applicant argued that Tani has three different embodiments which is correct. However, the claims are rejected in different embodiments in different dependent claims. Applicant instant application also discloses many different embodiments. The independent claims 1, 9, 17 are using the same embodiment.
To further assist the Applicant with the guidance with claim language interpretations so that the Applicant can add further/more details limitations from the specification to the claims to overcome the prior arts, the Examiner is presenting MPEP, section 2111, Claim Interpretation; Broadest Reasonable Interpretation as follow: “The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from reading limitations of the specification into a claim,' to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.). See also In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The court held that the PTO is not required, in the course of prosecution, to interpret claims in applications in the same manner as a court would interpret claims in an infringement suit. Rather, the “PTO applies to verbiage of the proposed claims the broadest reasonable meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, taking into account whatever enlightenment by way of definitions or otherwise that may be afforded by the written description contained in applicant's specification.”)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tani (US 6,102,832).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 17, Tani discloses a foot-operated input device comprising: a first footpad that is movable by tilting along an axis. The walk surface mechanism may preferably include a walk base plate freely tilted, the left and right walk plates held by the walk base plate as being capable of being freely horizontally shiftable and rotatable, and a walk-plate slantwise-driving means which supports one end of the walk base plate); a second footpad that is movable by tilting along the axis, wherein: the first footpad and the second footpad are independently tiltable in a same direction or in an opposite direction along the axis, the axis is located below the first footpad and the second footpad, and the axis is fixed relative to a base supporting the first footpad and the second footpad (see element universal joint 28 and col. 2, lines 1-10, a walk surface mechanism which has a function of detecting a foot-bottom position of a participant, and a function of performing a horizontal walk simulation in which left and right walk plates, on which left and right feet of the participant are placed separately, are individually horizontally shifted forward, backward, leftward and rightward, a simulation of walk on slopes in which the left and right walk plates are individually slanted, and a simulation of walk on steps in which the left and right walk plates are individually raised or lowered, fig.3……The travel means 53 has at lateral ends an upper guide roller 54 whose rotation axis extends horizontally and a side guide roller 55 whose rotation axis extends perpendicularly. The travel means 53 is mounted on the travel means 40 by the upper guide rollers 54, with the side guide rollers 55 sandwiching the travel means 40 to allow the travel means 53 to be shiftable stably leftward and rightward on the travel means 40); a set of sensors configured to detect a position of the first footpad and the second footpad (The signal transmission member 10 and sensor 11 forming the foot bottom-position detecting means 12 are each provided on shoes 9 and walk plates 6, respectively in the same manner as the foregoing walk surface mechanism 3); and a processor configured to generate control signals from the position detected by the set of sensors, wherein the control signals are based, at least in part, on a relative position of the first footpad and the second footpad about the axis (A plurality (three in this example) of sensors 11 are provided on the walk plates 6 at a foot-supporting position, i.e., at specific points corresponding to the signal transmission members 10 on the shoes 9 which are placed on the walk plates 6 at the foot-supporting position. Each sensor 11 on the walk plate 6 receives the standard signal transmitted from the specific or corresponding signal transmission member 10 (on the shoe 9 moved away from the walk plate 6) to thereby detect specific positions of the foot bottom of the participant which has been moved away from the walk plate 6. Accordingly, the signal transmission members 10 at the shoes 9 and the sensors 11 on the walk plates 6 constitute a foot bottom-position detecting means 12. The walk-plate horizontally-driving means 8 functions to shift, on the basis of a detection result or output of the foot bottom-position detecting means 12, the walk plate 6 to allow the participant's foot-bottom to be placed in a predetermined position and direction on the walk plate 6, and also functions to pull back, correspondingly to kinds of exercises such as walking and running, the walk plate 6 (on which one of the feet of the participant, i.e., a foot bottom, has been placed or has trodden) toward the trunk of the participant M to thereby keep the participant's trunk in a constant or fixed position).
Regarding claims 3, 11, Tani figs 5-8, 21—23, the foot-operated input device of claim 1, further comprising: one or more stanchions configured to support the first footpad and the second footpad on the base (FIGS. 21- 23. In the walk surface mechanism 3 a pair of walk plates 6 are arranged in a shallow pit 18A formed on the floor and are supported by support bases P. The support bases P are movable horizontally by use of a walk-plate horizontally-driving means 8 including a linkage mechanism (a bendable linkage mechanism). The linkage mechanism forming the horizontally-driving means 8 comprises a first rotation cylinder 105 on the mouth edge of the pit 18A, a first arm 106 swingable by the rotation cylinder 105, a second rotation cylinder 107 at a remote end of the arm 106 and a second arm 108 connecting the rotation cylinder 107 with the walk-plate support base P. In the horizontally-driving means 8, the rotation cylinders 105 and 107 are controlled to rotate so that the arms 106 and 108 are swung to horizontally shift the walk-plate support bases P in the pit 18A. Free rollers 111 are provided on the bottom surfaces of the joint or connecting parts of the arms 106, 108 and at the bottoms of the support bases P for making smooth the horizontal movement of the support bases supporting the walk plates).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani (US 6,102,832), in view of Roston (US5872438).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 19, Tani figs 5-8, 21-23, the foot-operated input device of claim 1.
Roston (US 5872438) discloses a virtual-reality system provides a full-body, digitally programmed, kinesthetic display in the form of a foot -haptic system incorporating a pair of footpads (abstract); and the invention resides in electromechanical apparatus and methods associated with locomotion simulation in the form of a foot-haptic system which provides force feedback in response to a user position and orientation. Broadly, this system includes a pair of footpads, one associated with each foot of a user, and a multi-axis electromechanical interface coupled to each footpad (col. 2, lines 41-55).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the before the effective filing date of the invention to provide one or more haptic de vices to operatively coupled to the first footpad and the second footpad in Tani, as suggested Roston, the motivation in order to enabling the interface to generate electrical signals representative of footpad position and orientation.
Therefore, the combination of Tani and Roston, discloses the foot-operated input device of claim 1, further comprising: one or more haptic devices operatively coupled to the first footpad and the second footpad, wherein the one or more haptic devices is configured to provide feedback to the first footpad a (Tani figs. 1-3, see col. 2, lines 1-10, Roston col. 2, lines 41-55).
Regarding claims 2, 10, the combination of Tani and Roston, discloses the, Tani figs 5-8, 21-23, the foot-operated input device of claim 1, wherein the control signals are customizable via a configurator interface; and/or wherein the display system is configured to depict a configurator interface for customizing the control signals ((see Roston abstract, this system includes a pair of footpads, one associated with each foot of a user, and a multi-axis electromechanical interface coupled to each footpad. The interface includes an actuator associated with each axis responsive to user position and orientation, enabling the interface to generate electrical signals representative of footpad position and orientation. A computer, in communication with the electromechanical interface, is programmed to perform the following functions: (14) store data representative of a visual virtual environment, including a virtual terrain associated with a ground plane, (15) analyze the position and orientation of each footpad relative to the virtual terrain to determine any interaction therebetween, (16) generate at least one force field in response to the interaction, if present, and (17) generate a force signal for each axis of the electromechanical interface as a function of the force field, wherein the actuators are responsive to their respective force signals to provide a force to each axis for creating the force feedback).
Regarding claims 6, 14, 18, the combination of Tani and Roston, discloses the, Tani figs 5-8, 21-23, the foot-operated input device of claim 1, further comprising: a communications interface configured to transmit the control signals to one of a virtual reality system or a mechanical device (see Roston abstract, this system includes a pair of footpads, one associated with each foot of a user, and a multi-axis electromechanical interface coupled to each footpad. The interface includes an actuator associated with each axis responsive to user position and orientation, enabling the interface to generate electrical signals representative of footpad position and orientation. A computer, in communication with the electromechanical interface, is programmed to perform the following functions: (14) store data representative of a visual virtual environment, including a virtual terrain associated with a ground plane, (15) analyze the position and orientation of each footpad relative to the virtual terrain to determine any interaction therebetween, (16) generate at least one force field in response to the interaction, if present, and (17) generate a force signal for each axis of the electromechanical interface as a function of the force field, wherein the actuators are responsive to their respective force signals to provide a force to each axis for creating the force feedback).
Regarding claims 7, 15, the combination of Tani and Roston, discloses the, Tani figs 5-8, 21-23, the system of claim 6, wherein the control signals effectuate turning movement in the virtual reality system or the mechanical device when the first footpad and the second footpad are positioned at different degrees of tilt along the axis (see Tani (24) The walk surface mechanism may preferably include a walk base plate freely tilted, the left and right walk plates held by the walk base plate as being capable of being freely horizontally shiftable and rotatable, and a walk-plate slantwise-driving means which supports one end of the walk base plate).
Regarding claims 8, 16, 20, the combination of Tani and Roston, discloses the, Tani figs 5-8, 21-23, the foot-operated input device of claim 6, wherein the control signals effectuate straight-line movement in the virtual reality system or the mechanical device when the first footpad and the second footpad are positioned at the same degree of tilt along the axis (see Tani (24) The walk surface mechanism may preferably include a walk base plate freely tilted, the left and right walk plates held by the walk base plate as being capable of being freely horizontally shiftable and rotatable, and a walk-plate slantwise-driving means which supports one end of the walk base plate).
Claim(s) 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani (US 6,102,832), in view of Roston (US5872438).
Regarding claims 5, 13, Tani figs 5-8, 21-23, the foot-operated input device of claim 1,
Latham et al. (US5913684) discloses the square tubes 65 are held side-to-side by two coil springs 69 and 70 and slide in the X direction on a smooth steel base plate 71. Displacement by sliding on the base plate 71 is controlled by a hydraulic actuator 72 which moves one of the cross members 68 relative to a neutral position line 73. Hydraulic power is used to permit use of a more compact actuator (Latham fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the square tubes 65 are held side-to-side by two coil springs 69 and 70 and slide in the X direction on a smooth steel base plate 71 in Tani, as suggested Lamtham et al., the motivation in order to the hydraulic power is used to permit use of a more compact actuator.
Therefore, the combination of Tani and Roston, discloses the foot-operated input device of claim 1, further comprising:`1 a first set of springs operatively connected to the first footpad; a second set of springs operatively connected to the second footpad, wherein the first set of springs and the second set of springs compress in response to forces exerted on the first footpad and the second footpad (The square tubes 65 are held side-to-side by two coil springs 69 and 70 and slide in the X direction on a smooth steel base plate 71. Displacement by sliding on the base plate 71 is controlled by a hydraulic actuator 72 which moves one of the cross members 68 relative to a neutral position line 73. Hydraulic power is used to permit use of a more compact actuator).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN N CHOW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627