Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 sets forth “the positive spin polarization material comprises Fe, Co, Ni or an alloy thereof; and the negative spin polarization material comprises Fe1-xCrx where x < 0.7, a Mn2VGa Heusler alloy, Fe4N or SrRuO3.”. The element and compound abbreviations should be written in full during at least their first reference in the claims, for example, “Iron (Fe), Cobalt (Co), Nickel (Ni), etc. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7, 9-11, 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first antiparallel state" and “the second antiparallel state” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although claim 2, from which claim 5 depends, sets forth “a first fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction” and “a second fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction”, this does not provide antecedent basis for “the first antiparallel state” and “the second antiparallel state”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6-7 are rejected as dependent upon claim 5.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first antiparallel state" and “the second antiparallel state” in lines 5-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although claim 2, from which claim 9 depends, sets forth “a first fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction” and “a second fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction”, this does not provide antecedent basis for “the first antiparallel state” and “the second antiparallel state”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10-11 are rejected as dependent upon claim 9.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first antiparallel state" and “the second antiparallel state” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although claim 2, from which claim 17 depends, sets forth “a first fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction” and “a second fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction”, this does not provide antecedent basis for “the first antiparallel state” and “the second antiparallel state”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is rejected as dependent upon claim 17.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first antiparallel state" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although claim 2, from which claim 17 depends, sets forth “a first fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction”, this does not provide antecedent basis for “the first antiparallel state”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is rejected as dependent upon claim 19.
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 sets forth the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 1, wherein: the positive spin polarization material comprises Fe, Co, Ni or an alloy thereof; and the negative spin polarization material comprises Fe1-xCrx where x < 0.7, a Mn2VGa Heusler alloy, Fe4N or SrRuO3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not set forth a positive spin polarization material and/or a negative spin polarization material. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210320245 A1 (Kalitsov, et al., hereinafter Kalitsov).
Regarding claim 1, Kalitsov teaches a magnetoresistive memory cell, (Kalitsov, FIG. 1-2; Kalitsov, “an array of magnetoresistive or magnetoelectric memory cells…”) comprising: a magnetic polarizer layer (Kalitsov, [0003]: “the polarizer layer, also known as a reference layer.”; [0004]: “plurality of reference layers”; [0043]: “The magnetic tunnel junction 140 includes a reference layer 132 (which may also be referred to as a “pinned” layer) having a fixed vertical magnetization, a nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 134, and the free layer 136 (which may also be referred to as a “storage” layer) having a magnetization direction that can be programmed.”) having a hard magnetization along a hard magnetization direction; (Kalitsov, [0139]: “In one embodiment, the reference layer 132 may be provided as a component within a synthetic antiferromagnetic structure (SAF structure) 120. The SAF structure 120 can include a hard (i.e., fixed) ferromagnetic layer 112 with fixed magnetization along a vertical direction,”) a first magnetic tunnel junction (Kalitsov, “magnetic tunnel junction 140”) located on a first side of the magnetic polarizer layer and comprising a first reference layer having a first side facing the magnetic polarizer layer, (Kalitsov, FIG. 1) a first free layer facing a second side of the first reference layer, (Kalitsov, “the free layer 136.”) and a first tunnel barrier layer located between the first free layer and the first reference layer; (Kalitsov, FIG. 14-18, including FIG. 15; Kalitsov, [0022]: “tunnel barrier layer”) and a second magnetic tunnel junction (Kalitsov, “a magnetic tunnel junction 240”) located on a second side of the magnetic polarizer layer and comprising a second reference layer having a second side facing the magnetic polarizer layer, (Kalitsov, FIG. 1, 16; Kalitsov, [0211]: “The magnetic tunnel junction 240 can comprise, in order, a first reference layer 132, a first nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 134, a free layer 136, a second nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 234, and a second reference layer 232.”) a second free layer facing a first side of the second reference layer, (Kalitsov, [0211]: “The magnetic tunnel junction 240 can comprise, in order, a first reference layer 132, a first nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 134, a free layer 136, a second nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 234, and a second reference layer 232.”) and a second tunnel barrier layer located between the second free layer and the second reference layer. (Kalitsov, [0211]: “Generally, the eighth exemplary structure (as illustrated in FIG. 16 or as derived from any of the previously described exemplary structures) may include a memory device including: a first electrode 32, a second electrode 92, and a magnetic tunnel junction 240”; also Kalitsov, [0212]: “In some embodiments, the free layer 136 contacts the first nonmagnetic tunnel barrier 134 layer and the second nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 234. In some embodiments, the first nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 134 contacts the first reference layer 132, and the second nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 234 contacts the second reference layer 232.”)
Regarding claim 2, Kalitsov teaches the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 1, wherein: the first reference layer faces the first side of the magnetic polarizer layer, is antiferromagnetically coupled to the magnetic polarizer layer, and has a first fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction; (Kalitsov, [0047]: “In one embodiment, the reference layer 132 may be provided as a component within a synthetic antiferromagnetic structure (SAF structure) 120. The SAF structure 120 can include a hard (i.e., fixed) ferromagnetic layer 112 with fixed magnetization along a vertical direction, an antiferromagnetic coupling layer 114, and the reference layer 132 which remains adjacent to the nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 134. “) and the second reference layer faces the second side of the magnetic polarizer layer, antiferromagnetically coupled to the magnetic polarizer layer, and has a second fixed magnetization direction that is antiparallel to the hard magnetization direction. (Kalitsov, including FIG. 16-19; “second reference layer 232; Kalitsov, [0005]: “In one embodiment, the plurality of reference layers comprise a first reference layer and a second reference layer, and the at least one free layer is located between the first reference layer and the second reference layer.”; [0208]: “ second reference layer 232 between the free layer 136 and a material layer that directly overlies, and contacts, a top surface of the free layer 136. In this case, the second nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 234 contacts a top surface of the free layer 136, and the second reference layer 232 contacts a top surface of the second nonmagnetic tunnel barrier layer 234. In one embodiment, the second reference layer 132 may be provided as a component within a second synthetic antiferromagnetic structure (SAF structure)….”)
Regarding claim 3, Kalitsov teaches the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 2, wherein: the first magnetic tunnel junction has a first parallel state resistance when a magnetization direction of the first free layer is parallel to the first fixed magnetization direction; and the second magnetic tunnel junction has a second parallel state resistance when a magnetization direction of the second free layer is parallel to the second fixed magnetization direction. (Kalitsov, including [0003]: “A resistance differential of a magnetic tunnel junction between different magnetization states of the free layer can be employed to store data within the magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) cell depending if the magnetization of the free layer is parallel or antiparallel to the magnetization of the polarizer layer, also known as a reference layer.”)
Regarding claim 4, Kalitsov teaches the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 3, wherein the first free layer and the second free layer both comprise a positive spin polarization material. (Instant specification defines “positive spin polarization material” as “[0106]: (e.g., a ferromagnetic material such as CoFeB having a positive spin polarization)” (Kalitsov, [0048]: “The free layer 136 includes a ferromagnetic material such as CoFeB, CoFe, Co, Ni, NiFe, or a combination thereof. If a CoFeB alloy is included in the free layer 136, then the atomic concentration of boron atoms within the CoFeB alloy may be in a range from 10% to 30% (such as 20%),”); Kalitsov, [0024]: “Each of the first free layer 136 and the second free layer 236 may have any material composition that may be employed for the free layer 136 in previously described embodiments. “)
Regarding claim 15, Kalitsov teaches the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 1, wherein the magnetic polarizer layer comprises a hard magnet layer. (Kalitsov, [0047]: “In one embodiment, the reference layer 132 may be provided as a component within a synthetic antiferromagnetic structure (SAF structure) 120. The SAF structure 120 can include a hard (i.e., fixed) ferromagnetic layer 112 with fixed magnetization along a vertical direction,”)
Regarding claim 16, Kalitsov teaches the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 1, wherein: the first reference layer underlies the magnetic polarizer layer; the first free layer underlies the first reference layer; the second reference layer overlies the magnetic polarizer layer; and the second free layer overlies the second reference layer. (Kalitsov, FIG. 1, 16; [0030]: “As used herein, a “layer” refers to a material portion including a region having a thickness. A layer may extend over the entirety of an underlying or overlying structure, or may have an extent less than the extent of an underlying or overlying structure. Further, a layer may be a region of a homogeneous or inhomogeneous continuous structure that has a thickness less than the thickness of the continuous structure.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 9-11, and 17-20 include reference to a “relatively low” resistance magnetic configuration and a “relatively high” resistance magnetic configuration. These are relative terms which are being interpreted in the context of the specification; i.e., “relatively low” refers specifically to magnetic configuration (e.g.,”00” or “0” configuration) in which the first magnetic tunnel junction 130 is in the first parallel state, and “relatively high” refers specifically to magnetic configuration (e.g., “11” or “1” configuration) in which the first magnetic tunnel junction 130 is in the first antiparallel state.
Further, claims 5-7, 9-11, and 17-20 are rejected for indefiniteness issues. The subject matter of these claims does not appear to be taught by the prior art of record. However, further search and consideration is required upon resolution of the indefiniteness issues; in particular, clarification as to the meaning and function of “a/the first antiparallel state” and “a/the second antiparallel state” is required.
Claims 8, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 sets forth the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 3, wherein the first free layer comprises a positive spin polarization material and the second free layer comprises a negative spin polarization material.
Although a positive spin polarization material and a negative spin polarization material are well-known in the art, it appears to be novel that in a magnetoresistive memory cell, a first magnetic tunnel junction has a first parallel state resistance when a magnetization direction of the first free layer is parallel to the first fixed magnetization direction; and the second magnetic tunnel junction has a second parallel state resistance when a magnetization direction of the second free layer is parallel to the second fixed magnetization direction, wherein the first free layer comprises a positive spin polarization material and the second free layer comprises a negative spin polarization material. Although the prior art of record, including Kalitsov, teaches a positive spin polarization material composition, the prior art does not teach wherein the first free layer comprises a positive spin polarization material and the second free layer comprises a negative spin polarization material.
Claim 13 sets forth the magnetoresistive memory cell of Claim 1, wherein the magnetoresistive memory cell further comprises a selector element.
As set forth by the instant specification, [0084], a selector element is “located under the first free layer 138 or over the second free layer 238 and providing non-Ohmic resistive characteristics such that the selector element 110 allows conduction of electrical current therethrough only when a voltage difference across the selector element 110 has a magnitude that is greater than a threshold voltage magnitude.”
Although a “selector element” is known in the art, the prior art of record does not teach a magnetoresistive memory cell, comprising: a magnetic polarizer layer having a hard magnetization along a hard magnetization direction; a first magnetic tunnel junction located on a first side of the magnetic polarizer layer and comprising a first reference layer having a first side facing the magnetic polarizer layer, a first free layer facing a second side of the first reference layer, and a first tunnel barrier layer located between the first free layer and the first reference layer; and a second magnetic tunnel junction located on a second side of the magnetic polarizer layer and comprising a second reference layer having a second side facing the magnetic polarizer layer, a second free layer facing a first side of the second reference layer, and a second tunnel barrier layer located between the second free layer and the second reference layer, wherein the magnetoresistive memory cell further comprises a selector element located under the first free layer or over the second free layer 238 and providing non-Ohmic resistive characteristics such that the selector element allows conduction of electrical current therethrough only when a voltage difference across the selector element 110 has a magnitude that is greater than a threshold voltage magnitude.”
Claim 14 is objected to as dependent upon claim 13.
Conclusion
/DANIEL JOHN KING/Examiner, Art Unit 2827 /AMIR ZARABIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2827