DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2023/0134556) [Hereinafter Yang].
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches A memory device, comprising:
an array of transistors [fig. 7A, vertical transistors 726, para 82] each comprising a semiconductor body [fig. 7A, semiconductor body 730, para 83] extending along a vertical direction [fig. 7A],
wherein gate structures [fig. 7A, gate electrode 734, para 83] of adjacent transistors (fig. 7A, 726) are laterally separated from each other by an insulating layer [fig. 7A, gate dielectric 732, para 83] having a first material [para 84, “gate dielectric 732 includes dielectric materials, such as silicon oxide . . .”];
an array of contact structures [fig. 7A, source/drain 738, para 87] each aligned with a corresponding semiconductor body (fig. 7A, 730) in the vertical direction (fig. 7A),
wherein adjacent contact structures are laterally separated from each other by a protection layer [fig. 7A, bonding layer 720, para 79] having a second material [para 79, “bonding layer 720 can be formed with dielectric materials . . .”] different from the first material; and
an array of capacitors [fig. 7A, capacitor 728, para 82] each in contact with a corresponding one of the array of contact structures (fig. 7A, 738).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches The memory device of claim 1, wherein:
the first material comprises silicon oxide [para 84, “gate dielectric 732 includes dielectric materials, such as silicon oxide . . .”]; and
the second material comprises silicon nitride [para 79, “bonding layer 720 can be formed with dielectric materials . . .” wherein para 85 discloses silicon nitride as an exemplary dielectric material].
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches A method of forming a memory device, comprising:
Forming an array of transistors [fig. 7A, vertical transistors 726, para 82] each comprising a semiconductor body [fig. 7A, semiconductor body 730, para 83] extending along a vertical direction [fig. 7A],
wherein gate structures [fig. 7A, gate electrode 734, para 83] of adjacent transistors (fig. 7A, 726) are laterally separated from each other by an insulating layer [fig. 7A, gate dielectric 732, para 83] having a first material [para 84, “gate dielectric 732 includes dielectric materials, such as silicon oxide . . .”];
forming an array of contact structures [fig. 7A, source/drain 738, para 87] each aligned with a corresponding semiconductor body (fig. 7A, 730) in the vertical direction (fig. 7A),
wherein adjacent contact structures are laterally separated from each other by a protection layer [fig. 7A, bonding layer 720, para 79] having a second material [para 79, “bonding layer 720 can be formed with dielectric materials . . .”] different from the first material; and
forming an array of capacitors [fig. 7A, capacitor 728, para 82] each in contact with a corresponding one of the array of contact structures (fig. 7A, 738).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2023/0134556).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the memory device of claim 1,
wherein each contact structure comprising:
a conductive layer (fig. 7A, 738; wherein the source/drain contact is conductive) in contact with a first electrode [fig. 7A, electrode 742, para 95] of a corresponding one of the array of capacitors (fig. 7A, 728).
Yang fails to explicitly disclose in fig. 7A a silicide layer in contact with a doped end of the corresponding semiconductor body.
However, Yang teaches in para 172 “In some implementations, a silicide layer is formed on source/drain 1321 by performing a silicidation process . . .”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a silicide layer to be in contact with a doped end (source/drain) of the corresponding semiconductor to reduce contact resistance and improve electrical current flow.
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches the memory device of claim 2,
wherein each semiconductor body (fig. 7A, 730) has a cylinder shape without an enlarged end adjacent to the silicide layer [para 84, “semiconductor body 730 has a cuboid shape or a cylinder shape”].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 2 & 7 and further in view of Goebel et al. (WO 2004/030028).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the memory device of claim 2.
Yang fails to explicitly disclose wherein:
the insulating layer extends in between the silicide layer and the protection layer; and
a first lateral dimension of the silicide layer is less than a second lateral dimension of the conductive layer.
However, Goebel teaches wherein:
the insulating layer [fig. 4, spacers 39] extends in between the silicide layer [fig. 4, silicide layer 34] and the protection layer [fig. 4, gate oxide layer, “Below the gate electrode 31 structured in logic region I there is a thin gate oxide layer approximately 3 nm thick”]; and
a first lateral dimension of the silicide layer (fig. 4, 34) is less than a second lateral dimension of the conductive layer [fig. 4, source/drain regions 33].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the insulating layer to extend between the silicide layer and the protection layer to prevent electrical shorts and suppress parasitic capacitance.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 2 & 7 and further in view of Myung et al. (US 2014/0001527).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the memory device of claim 2.
Yang fails to explicitly disclose wherein a sidewall of the silicide layer of each contact structure is vertically aligned with a sidewall of the corresponding semiconductor body.
However, Myung teaches wherein a sidewall of the silicide layer [fig. 2E, metal silicides 100, para 40] of each contact structure is vertically aligned with a sidewall of the corresponding semiconductor body [fig. 2E, bodies 24, para 40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to align the silicide layer vertically with the channel body in a vertical transistor to minimize parasitic contact resistance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
Claims 3 & 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the memory device of claim 2.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose in entirety wherein:
a vertical distance between the silicide layer of each contact structure and the gate structure of the corresponding transistor is in a range from about 40 nm to about 70 nm.
Thereby claim 3 contains allowable subject matter and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches A memory device, comprising:
an array of transistors [fig. 7A, vertical transistors 726, para 82] each comprising a semiconductor body [fig. 7A, semiconductor body 730, para 83] extending along a vertical direction [fig. 7A] and
a gate structure [fig. 7A, gate electrode 734, para 83] at a lateral side of the semiconductor body (fig. 7A, 730);
an array of contact structures [fig. 7A, source/drain 738, para 87] each aligned with a corresponding one of the semiconductor bodies (fig. 7A, 730) of the array of transistors in the vertical direction (fig. 7A),
a protection layer [fig. 7A, bonding layer 720, para 79] located between adjacent contact structures to separate the array of contact structures (fig. 7A, 738) from each other; and
an array of capacitors [fig. 7A, capacitor 728, para 82] each in contact with a corresponding one of the array of contact structures (fig. 7A, 738).
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein vertical distances between the contact structures and the gate structures are in a range from about 40 nm to about 70 nm.
Thereby claim 8 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein.
Claims 9-14 contain allowable subject matter at least based upon their dependency on claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches The method of claim 15.
Yang fails to explicitly disclose wherein forming the array of contact structures comprises:
forming the protection layer covering ends of the semiconductor bodies and between ends of the semiconductor bodies of the array of transistors;
removing portions of the protection layer to expose the ends of the semiconductor bodies; and
removing portions of the ends of the semiconductor bodies to form recesses.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose in entirety wherein forming the array of contact structures comprises:
forming the protection layer covering ends of the semiconductor bodies and between ends of the semiconductor bodies of the array of transistors;
removing portions of the protection layer to expose the ends of the semiconductor bodies; and
removing portions of the ends of the semiconductor bodies to form recesses.
Thereby claim 16 contains allowable subject matter and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17 – 20 contain allowable subject matter at least based upon their dependency on claim 16.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812