DETAILED ACTION
The instant detailed action is in response to Applicant's submission filed on 31 July 2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: storage controller in claim 1, support for which was taken as FIG 1: 110 and [0039]-[0042] of the Specification. Support further appears at FIG 19 1251 and [0213]-[214] of the Specification.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9,13-17,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US PG PUB No. 20160283111) in view of Sankaranarayanan (US Pat No. 20230068605).
As per claim 1, Guo discloses a storage device (see Guo FIG 1: 140)comprising:
a nonvolatile memory device comprising a first plane and a second plane (see Guo FIG 2: 150); and
a storage controller configured to sequentially send to the nonvolatile memory device a first command corresponding to a first operation of the first plane, a second command corresponding to a second operation of the first plane, and a third command corresponding to a third operation of the second plane in response to a first request, a second request, and a third request sequentially received from an external host device (see Guo FIG 4: 415 and [0017]),
[Guo discloses receiving multiple requests from an external host device specifying a die and a plane and storing them in a queue.]
wherein the first request corresponds to the first command, the second request corresponds to the second command, and the third request corresponds to the third command (see Guo FIG 4: 415 and [0017]),
[The commands are from the host and therefore correspond to the requests from the host.]
However, Guo does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Sankaranarayanan discloses
wherein the nonvolatile memory device is configured to sequentially receive the first command, the second command, and the third command from the storage controller, and to perform the third operation prior to the second operation based on the first, the second, and the third commands regardless of an order in which the first command, the second command and the third command are received (see Sankaranarayanan [0014]: “The die can process the memory access command entries in the order received (e.g., first in, first out, “FIFO”), based on the priority of the entries, or based on other processing schemes”), and
wherein the nonvolatile memory device further comprise a command reorder module configured to determine an order of the first command, second command and the third command (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 460 and [0014]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further execute the third operation prior to the second operation as taught by Sankaranarayanan.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve read processing (see Sankaranarayanan [0013]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further preform the third operation prior to the second operation for the benefit of improving read processing to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 2, the storage device of claim 1, wherein the storage controller is further configured to:
transmit data to, or receive data from, the nonvolatile memory device through a first transfer path (see e.g., Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 472 and [0064]), and
send the first, the second, and the third commands to the nonvolatile memory device through a second transfer path (see e.g., Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 472 and [0064]).
As per claim 3, the storage device of claim 1,
wherein the nonvolatile memory device is configured to generate a first combined command corresponding to the first plane and the second plane based on the first command and the third command (see Guo FIG 4: 435 and [0019]).
As per claim 4, the storage device of claim 1,
wherein the first, the second, and the third operations are not a write operation of the nonvolatile memory device (see Guo [0015]: “read operations”).
As per claim 5, the storage device of claim 3,wherein the nonvolatile memory device further comprises a command queue, and wherein the nonvolatile memory device is further configured to:
store a first operation command corresponding to the first operation in the command queue in response to the first command, store a second operation command corresponding to the second operation in the command queue in response to the second command, and store a third operation command corresponding to the third operation in the command queue in response to the third command (see Guo [0015]: “read queue”)
As per claim 6, the storage device of claim 5,
wherein the nonvolatile memory device further comprises a command reorder module configured to generate the first combined command based on a plane corresponding to each of the first, the second, and the third operation commands, and an operation type of each of the first, the second, and the third operation commands (see Guo [0019]-[0020])
wherein the nonvolatile memory device further comprises a command reorder module configured to generate the first combined command based on a processing priority of each of the first, the second, and the third operation commands (see Sankaranarayanan [0014]).
As per claim 7, the storage device of claim 6,
wherein the command reorder module is further configured to generate the first combined command by combining the first operation command and the third operation command based on: the operation type of the first operation command being identical to the operation type of the third operation command (see Guo [0019]: “read”), the plane corresponding to the first operation command being different from the plane corresponding to the third operation command (see Guo [0019]), and the processing priority of the first operation command being identical to the processing priority of the third operation command (see Sankaranarayanan [0014]).
As per claim 8, the storage device of claim 6,
wherein the command reorder module is further configured to identify an order of processing the first combined command and the second operation command based on the processing priority of each of the first, the second, and the third operation commands (see Sankaranarayanan [0014]).
As per claim 9, the storage device of claim 1, wherein the storage controller is further configured to:
send the first, the second, and the third commands to the nonvolatile memory device while transmitting data to, or receiving data from, the nonvolatile memory device (see e.g., Sankaranarayanan [0045]).
As per claim 13, a method of operating a storage device, the method comprising:
sequentially receiving, from the an external host device, a first request, a second request, and a third request (see Guo FIG 4: 415 and [0017]),
[Guo discloses receiving multiple requests from an external host device specifying a die and a plane and storing them in a queue.]
sequentially sending to a nonvolatile memory device of the storage device, by a storage controller of the storage device, a first command corresponding to a first operation of a first plane of the nonvolatile memory device, a second command corresponding to a second operation of the first plane, and a third command corresponding to a third operation of a second plane of the nonvolatile memory device, wherein the first command corresponds to the first request, the second command corresponds to the second request, and the third command corresponds to the third request (see FIG 4: 415 and [0017]), and
[The commands executed by the memory device are taken to correspond to the requests issued by the host.]
However, Guo does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Sankaranarayanan discloses
determining, by the nonvolatile memory device, a processing order of the first command, the second command, and the third command, regardless of an order in which the first command, the second command and the third command are received received (see Sankaranarayanan [0014]: “The die can process the memory access command entries in the order received (e.g., first in, first out, “FIFO”), based on the priority of the entries, or based on other processing schemes”); and
performing, by the nonvolatile memory device, the third operation prior to the second operation based on the determined processing order (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 460 and [0014]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further execute the third operation prior to the second operation as taught by Sankaranarayanan.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve read processing (see Sankaranarayanan [0013]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further preform the third operation prior to the second operation for the benefit of improving read processing to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 14, the method of claim 13, further comprising:
transmitting data, by the storage controller, to the nonvolatile memory device through a first transfer path (see e.g., Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 472 and [0064]);
receiving data, by the storage controller, from the nonvolatile memory device through the first transfer path (see e.g., Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 472 and [0064]); and
sending, by the storage controller, the first, the second, and the third commands to the nonvolatile memory device through a second transfer path (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 472 and [0014]).
As per claim 15, the method of claim 13, further comprising:
queuing in a command queue, by the nonvolatile memory device, a first operation command corresponding to the first operation in response to the first command; queuing in the command queue, by the nonvolatile memory device, a second operation command corresponding to the second operation in response to the second command; queuing in the command queue, by the nonvolatile memory device, a third operation command corresponding to the third operation in response to the third command (see Guo [0015]);
generating, by the nonvolatile memory device, a first combined command based on the first operation command and the third operation command (see Guo FIG 4: 435); and
identifying an order of processing the first combined command and the second operation command (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 460 and [0014]).
wherein the first combined command comprises a multi-plane command related to the first plane and the second plane (see Guo [0019]).
As per claim 16, the method of claim 15, wherein the generating of the first combined command comprises:
identifying whether an operation type of the first operation command is identical to an operation type of the third operation command (see Guo [0019]: “read”); and
identifying whether a processing priority of the first operation command is identical to a processing priority of the third operation command (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 460 and [0014]).
As per claim 17, the method of claim 16, wherein the identifying the order of processing the first combined command and the second operation command comprises:
comparing the processing priorities of the first operation command and the third operation command with a processing priority of the second operation command (see Guo [0076]).
As per claim 19, a method of operating a nonvolatile memory device which includes a first plane and a second plane, the method comprising:
sequentially receiving a first command corresponding to a first operation of the first plane, a second command corresponding to a second operation of the first plane, and a third command corresponding to a third operation of the second plane (see Guo FIG 4: 415 and [0017]),
[Guo discloses receiving multiple requests specifying a die and a plane and storing them in a queue.]
queuing, in a command queue, a first operation command corresponding to the first command, a second operation command corresponding to the second command, and a third operation command corresponding to the third command, wherein the first, the second, and the third operation commands are queued in an order in which the first, the second, and the third operation commands are received (see Guo FIG 4: 415 and [0018]: “FIFO”);
determining a processing order of the first command, second command, and the third command, regardless of an order in which the first command, the second command, and the third command are received (see Guo FIG 4: 415 and [0015]); and
performing the first, the second, and the third operations based on the determined processing order (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 4: 460 and [0014]).
However, Guo does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Sankaranarayanan discloses
wherein the first command, the second command and the third command correspond to a first request, a second request, and a third request generated by an external host device (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 1: 120), respective, and are generated by an external storage controller received (see Sankaranarayanan FIG 1: 115 and [0014])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further execute the third operation prior to the second operation as taught by Sankaranarayanan.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve read processing (see Sankaranarayanan [0013]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further preform the third operation prior to the second operation for the benefit of improving read processing to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 20, the method of claim 19,
wherein the first, the second, and the third operations are not a write operation of the nonvolatile memory device (see Guo [0015]: “read operations”).
Claim 10-12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US PG PUB No. 20160283111) in view of Sankaranarayanan (US Pat No. 20230068605) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Hsu (US Pat No. 20160202914).
As per claim 10, the storage device of claim 5,
wherein the storage controller is further configured to send a fourth command to the nonvolatile memory device (see Guo [0015]),
However, Guo does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Hsu discloses
wherein the nonvolatile memory device is further configured to send queue status information to the storage controller in response to the fourth command, and wherein the queue status information comprises information about a processing state of each of the first, the second, and the third operation commands (see Hsu [0078]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further receive queue status information as taught by Hus.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of detecting possible errors (See Hsu [0078]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further receive queue status information for the benefit of detecting possible error to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 11, the storage device of claim 10,
wherein the storage controller is further configured to identify, based on the queue status information, whether the first, the second, and the third operations are completely performed (see Hsu [0078])
As per claim 12, the storage device of claim 10,
wherein the storage controller is further configured to, based on data transmission to or data reception from the nonvolatile memory device terminating for period greater than or equal to a reference time, send the fourth command (see Hsu [0078]).
As per claim 18, the method of claim 17, further comprising:
sending, by the storage controller, a fourth command to the nonvolatile memory device (see Guo [0015]); and
However, Guo does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Hsu discloses
sending, by the nonvolatile memory device, queue status information to the storage controller in response to the fourth command, wherein the queue status information comprises information about a processing state of each of the first, the second, and the third operation commands (see Hsu [0078]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further receive queue status information as taught by Hus.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of detecting possible errors (See Hsu [0078]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo to further receive queue status information for the benefit of detecting possible error to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
RESPOSNE TO ARGUMENTS
1st ARGUMENT:
In citing to Guo, the Office Action also states, "Guo discloses receiving multiple requests specifying a die and a plane and storing them in a queue." However, nothing in the cited portion of Guo recites the specific order of commands recited in claim 1. Specifically, claim 1 expressly recites that "a first command corresponding to a first operation of the first plane, a second command corresponding to a second operation of the first plane, and a third command corresponding to a third operation of the second plane", and that such commands are "sequentially" sent by the storage controller to the nonvolatile memory device. While Guo discloses the general idea of multiple requests involving specific dies and planes, this general disclosure is not the same as specifically reciting first and second commands "sequentially" sent and both involving "a first plane", as well as a "third command" sequentially sent after the second command and involving "a second plane."
Examiner maintains the cited reference teaches sending a sequence as recited because it is managing a scenario where the requests are managed according to plane access, so if a request matches at FIG 4: 430 in Guo, it is because the first two commands were previously sent as recited. Examiner maintains a person of ordinary skill in the art would take Guo to disclose receiving the claimed sequence because Guo is designed to address the same problem.
2nd ARGUMENT:
Additionally, without conceding the merit of the current rejections, and solely to advance prosecution, the independent claims have been amended to clarify that command reordering in the present invention is performed by the nonvolatile memory device, not the storage controller..
Examiner notes Sankaranarayanan is relied upon to teach the argued subject matter..
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/KALPIT PARIKH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137
KALPIT . PARIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2137