DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a processing unit coupled to at least one of the server communication interface, and the data acquisition unit, and when depending on claim 7 the data storage; wherein the processing unit is configured to process the at least one digital measurement signal”. It is unclear what the claim dependence is or is meant “…by and when depending on claim 7 the data storage”. For the purpose of a compact prosecution, we have interpreted the limitation to mean by and when depending on the data storage”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Baldwin et al. (US20140324389), hereinafter referred to as ‘Baldwin’
Regarding Claim 1, Baldwin discloses a portable measurement application device, comprising: at least one measurement port configured to acquire an analog measurement signal (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. All of these components are preferably disposed within a portable housing that is configured for hands-free and cable-free data collection. The dynamic analog sensor generates an analog sensor signal based on measurements of dynamic characteristics of the one or more machines or processes. The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]); an analog-to-digital converter for every measurement port, wherein the analog-to-digital converter is configured to convert the analog measurement signal acquired by the respective measurement port into a digital measurement signal (FIG. 2 depicts a functional block diagram of a preferred embodiment of the transducer 10 which, in addition to the external components discussed above, includes one or more sensors 24, an analog signal processing circuit 26, an analog-to-digital conversion (ADC) 28 circuit [0054]); and a portable device communication interface coupled to each analog-to-digital converter, and configured to output the digital measurement signal of each analog-to-digital converter to a measurement application server (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. [0007]).
Regarding Claim 2, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Baldwin discloses an analog signal processing section for each measurement port that is coupled between the respective measurement port and the respective analog-to-digital converter (FIG. 2 depicts a functional block diagram of a preferred embodiment of the transducer 10 which, in addition to the external components discussed above, includes one or more sensors 24, an analog signal processing circuit 26, an analog-to-digital conversion (ADC) 28 circuit, a decimation processor 29, a digital signal processing circuit 30, memory 32, a data communications interface 18 which may include wireless interface 18a and/or a wired interface port 18b, a location determination circuit 34, and power source 36 [0054]).
Regarding Claim 3, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Baldwin discloses the portable device communication interface is further configured to receive configuration data from the measurement application server, and to forward the configuration data to the analog signal processing section for configuring the analog signal processing section (The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. All of these components are preferably disposed within a portable housing that is configured for hands-free and cable-free data collection. The dynamic analog sensor generates an analog sensor signal based on measurements of dynamic characteristics of the one or more machines or processes. The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]).
Regarding Claim 4, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Baldwin discloses the portable device communication interface at least one of comprises a low latency interface, and is configured to communicate via a low latency protocol (The memory 32 in the digital transducer 10 is typically used to accumulate digital data for subsequent transmission with or without latency. A delayed delivery process using a lossless protocol may overcome latency. For example, a person may carry the transducer 10 and a handheld data collector from measurement location to measurement location accumulating measurement information in the handheld data collector, such as measurement waveforms [0068]).
Regarding Claim 5, Baldwin discloses a measurement application server, comprising: a server communication interface configured to receive at least one digital measurement signal from at least one portable measurement application device (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. All of these components are preferably disposed within a portable housing that is configured for hands-free and cable-free data collection. The dynamic analog sensor generates an analog sensor signal based on measurements of dynamic characteristics of the one or more machines or processes. The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]); a triggering unit coupled to the server communication interface, wherein the triggering unit is configured to detect triggering events in the received at least one digital measurement signal (Thereafter, when an operator places the transducer 10 at a measurement point and triggers the transducer 10 to begin collecting data, it will collect, for example, X, Y, Z, and PeakVue.TM. data one time per day until it is given different instructions [0087]); and a data acquisition unit coupled to the server communication interface, and to the triggering unit (Thereafter, when an operator places the transducer 10 at a measurement point and triggers the transducer 10 to begin collecting data, it will collect, for example, X, Y, Z, and PeakVue.TM. data one time per day until it is given different instructions [0087]), wherein the data acquisition unit is configured to store the at least one digital measurement signal based on the triggering events detected by the triggering unit (…repeating steps (e) through (h) until dynamic digital measurement data has been collected and stored for each of the multiple measurement locations of the measurement route [0019]).
Regarding Claim 6, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Baldwin discloses a remotely accessible user interface coupled to at least one of the server communication interface (In some embodiments, the user input device 14 may be complemented, supplemented, or replaced by a remote control implemented using wired or wireless communications. [0054]), and the data acquisition unit (In another aspect, an embodiment of the invention provides a method for collecting dynamic digital measurement data using a single portable digital transducer at multiple measurement locations associated with one or more machines or processes along a measurement route, and analyzing the dynamic measurement data at a location that may be remote from the multiple measurement locations [0009]); wherein the remotely accessible user interface is configured to at least one of display the received at least one digital measurement signal (In some embodiments, the digital transducer 10 is configured to directly or indirectly receive a route file from a host computer, such as a computer operating machinery analysis software either with or without a handheld device having a display to help guide the operator through a data collection process [0076]), and display the stored at least one digital measurement signal (The transducer 10 preferably includes user interface devices, including a user input device 14 and a display device 16 [0053]).
Regarding Claim 7, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Baldwin discloses a data storage coupled to at least one of the server communication interface, and the data acquisition unit (The memory device stores the synchronized datasets until they are transferred to an external device. The digital signal processing circuit controls the portable digital transducer in collecting the oversampled dynamic digital measurement data and storing the synchronized datasets in the memory device in multiple data groups with information associating each data group. The communications interface transfers configuration settings from an external device to the memory device and transfers the synchronized datasets from the memory device to an external device. The power source powers the portable digital transducer to collect and store the dynamic digital measurement data, and maintain the synchronized datasets in the memory device until they are transferred to the external device [0007]); wherein the data storage is configured to at least one of store the received at least one digital measurement signal (In such approach, much more than enough data is collected, which simplifies the data collection process. However, the extra data requires more resources for collection, storage, and transmission to a remote server where it must be further processed to provide useful information. Typically, that further processing at the remote server reduces a dataset to that portion that is actually needed for analysis [0139]), and store at least one digital measurement signal for the data acquisition unit based on the triggering events (Thereafter, when an operator places the transducer 10 at a measurement point and triggers the transducer 10 to begin collecting data, it will collect, for example, X, Y, Z, and PeakVue.TM. data one time per day until it is given different instructions. The operator may periodically collect data from a leave-in-place digital transducer, or swap out the transducer to download data from the transducer memory to storage on a host computer or server. The computer or server may be local or at a remote location such as a remote analysis service location [0087]).
Regarding Claim 8, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Baldwin discloses a processing unit coupled to at least one of the server communication interface, and the data acquisition unit, and when depending on the data storage; wherein the processing unit is configured to process the at least one digital measurement signal (The digital signal processing circuit controls the portable digital transducer in collecting the oversampled dynamic digital measurement data and storing the synchronized datasets in the memory device in multiple data groups with information associating each data group. The communications interface transfers configuration settings from an external device to the memory device and transfers the synchronized datasets from the memory device to an external device [0007]).
Regarding Claim 9, Baldwin discloses a measurement application comprising: at least one portable measurement application device, each portable measurement application device comprising: at least one measurement port configured to acquire an analog measurement signal (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. All of these components are preferably disposed within a portable housing that is configured for hands-free and cable-free data collection. The dynamic analog sensor generates an analog sensor signal based on measurements of dynamic characteristics of the one or more machines or processes. The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]); an analog-to-digital converter for every measurement port, wherein the analog-to-digital converter is configured to convert the analog measurement signal acquired by the respective measurement port into a digital measurement signal (FIG. 2 depicts a functional block diagram of a preferred embodiment of the transducer 10 which, in addition to the external components discussed above, includes one or more sensors 24, an analog signal processing circuit 26, an analog-to-digital conversion (ADC) 28 circuit [0054]); and a portable device communication interface coupled to each analog-to-digital converter, and configured to output the digital measurement signal of each analog-to-digital converter to a measurement application server (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. [0007]); and a measurement application server, comprising (The communications interface transfers configuration settings from an external device to the memory device and transfers the synchronized datasets from the memory device to an external device [0007]): a server communication interface configured to receive at least one digital measurement signal from at least one portable measurement application device (The communications interface transfers configuration settings from an external device to the memory device and transfers the synchronized datasets from the memory device to an external device. The power source powers the portable digital transducer to collect and store the dynamic digital measurement data, and maintain the synchronized datasets in the memory device until they are transferred to the external device [0007]); a triggering unit coupled to the server communication interface, wherein the triggering unit is configured to detect triggering events in the received at least one digital measurement signal (The transferred data may also be used to trigger the start or stop of data collection or another aspect of dynamic data collection for the remote analysis data collection process [0085]); and a data acquisition unit coupled to the server communication interface, and to the triggering unit (The transferred data may also be used to trigger the start or stop of data collection or another aspect of dynamic data collection for the remote analysis data collection process [0085]), wherein the data acquisition unit is configured to store the at least one digital measurement signal based on the triggering events detected by the triggering unit (Measurement data may be collected, temporarily stored in transducer memory, transferred wirelessly to the portable analyzer, and stored in the analyzer memory. In this example, data is transferred from digital transducer to portable analyzer wirelessly in a lossless file transfer at approximately the same time it is collected [0074]).
Regarding Claim 12, Baldwin discloses a method for operating a measurement application, the method comprising: acquiring at least one analog measurement signal in a portable measurement application device (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. All of these components are preferably disposed within a portable housing that is configured for hands-free and cable-free data collection. The dynamic analog sensor generates an analog sensor signal based on measurements of dynamic characteristics of the one or more machines or processes. The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]); converting the at least one analog measurement signal into at least one respective digital measurement signal in the portable measurement application device (FIG. 2 depicts a functional block diagram of a preferred embodiment of the transducer 10 which, in addition to the external components discussed above, includes one or more sensors 24, an analog signal processing circuit 26, an analog-to-digital conversion (ADC) 28 circuit [0054]); outputting the at least one digital measurement signal to a measurement application server (The operator may periodically collect data from a leave-in-place digital transducer, or swap out the transducer to download data from the transducer memory to storage on a host computer or server [0087]); detecting triggering events in the at least one digital measurement signal in the measurement application server (The transferred data may also be used to trigger the start or stop of data collection or another aspect of dynamic data collection for the remote analysis data collection process [0085]); and storing the at least one digital measurement signal based on the detected triggering events in the measurement application server or a data storage outside of the measurement application server (…an initial data collection is triggered. Thereafter, when an operator places the transducer 10 at a measurement point and triggers the transducer 10 to begin collecting data, it will collect, for example, X, Y, Z, and PeakVue.TM. data one time per day until it is given different instructions. The operator may periodically collect data from a leave-in-place digital transducer, or swap out the transducer to download data from the transducer memory to storage on a host computer or server. The computer or server may be local or at a remote location such as a remote analysis service location [0087]). (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. [0007]).
Regarding Claim 13, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 12.
Baldwin discloses processing the at least one analog measurement signal with an analog signal processing section prior to converting the at least one analog measurement signal into a digital measurement signal (The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]).
Regarding Claim 14, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 12.
Baldwin discloses applying digital processing functions to the received at least one digital measurement signal in the measurement application server prior or after detecting the triggering events (initiating collection of the dynamic digital measurement data by each of the multiple portable digital transducers over a measurement period, and storing the dynamic digital measurement data within memory of each portable digital transducer in association with a timestamp [0028]; The digital processing circuits T1CPU, T2CPU, T3CPU perform real-time post-processing of the signals coming from the ADC's [0097]).
Regarding Claim 15, Baldwin discloses a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the function of the measurement application server including the method of: acquiring at least one analog measurement signal in a portable measurement application device (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. All of these components are preferably disposed within a portable housing that is configured for hands-free and cable-free data collection. The dynamic analog sensor generates an analog sensor signal based on measurements of dynamic characteristics of the one or more machines or processes. The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]); converting the at least one analog measurement signal into at least one respective digital measurement signal in the portable measurement application device (FIG. 2 depicts a functional block diagram of a preferred embodiment of the transducer 10 which, in addition to the external components discussed above, includes one or more sensors 24, an analog signal processing circuit 26, an analog-to-digital conversion (ADC) 28 circuit [0054]); outputting the at least one digital measurement signal to a measurement application server (The operator may periodically collect data from a leave-in-place digital transducer, or swap out the transducer to download data from the transducer memory to storage on a host computer or server [0087]); detecting triggering events in the at least one digital measurement signal in the measurement application server (The transferred data may also be used to trigger the start or stop of data collection or another aspect of dynamic data collection for the remote analysis data collection process [0085]); and storing the at least one digital measurement signal based on the detected triggering events in the measurement application server or a data storage outside of the measurement application server (…an initial data collection is triggered. Thereafter, when an operator places the transducer 10 at a measurement point and triggers the transducer 10 to begin collecting data, it will collect, for example, X, Y, Z, and PeakVue.TM. data one time per day until it is given different instructions. The operator may periodically collect data from a leave-in-place digital transducer, or swap out the transducer to download data from the transducer memory to storage on a host computer or server. The computer or server may be local or at a remote location such as a remote analysis service location [0087]). (One preferred embodiment provides a portable digital transducer for collecting dynamic measurement data associated with one or more machines or processes. The portable digital transducer of this embodiment includes a dynamic analog sensor, an analog signal processing circuit, an analog-to-digital conversion circuit, a decimation processor, a memory device, a digital signal processing circuit, a communications interface, and a power source. [0007]).
Regarding Claim 16, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Baldwin discloses computer readable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform the method including processing the at least one analog measurement signal with an analog signal processing section prior to converting the at least one analog measurement signal into a digital measurement signal (The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]).
Regarding Claim 17, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Baldwin discloses computer readable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform the method including applying digital processing functions to the received at least one digital measurement signal in the measurement application server prior or after detecting the triggering events (The analog signal processing circuit preprocesses the analog sensor signal before conversion into a digital signal. The analog-to-digital conversion circuit oversamples the analog sensor signal at a sampling rate to generate oversampled dynamic digital measurement data [0007]; Some embodiments provide for wireless triggering of a start or stop of data collection or data retention. Using wireless communication protocols, such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, a wireless communication from another transducer, a handheld data analyzer, or an on-line device may be used to trigger the start or stop of data collection or to control a memory buffer [0116]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin and further in view of Araikum et al. (US7778455), hereinafter referred to as ‘Araikum’.
Regarding Claim 10, Baldwin discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 9
Baldwin server communication interface configured to receive at least one digital measurement signal from at least one portable measurement application device (as discussed above); a data storage memory coupled to the server communication interface (as discussed above), wherein the data storage memory is configured to store the received at least one digital measurement signal (as discussed above); and a data output interface coupled to the data storage memory (as discussed above), wherein the data output interface is configured to output the stored at least one digital measurement signal to the measurement application server (as discussed above).
However, Baldwin does not explicitly disclose a caching server, the caching server comprising: a caching server communication interface configured to receive at least one digital measurement signal from at least one portable measurement application device; a data storage memory coupled to the caching server communication interface.
Nevertheless, Araikum discloses a caching server (While the machine-readable medium 322 is shown in an exemplary embodiment to be a single medium, the term "machine-readable medium" should be taken to include a single medium or multiple media (e.g., a centralized or distributed database, and/or associated caches and servers) that store the one or more sets of instructions, Col. 20, Lines 12-17), the caching server comprising: a caching server communication interface configured to receive at least one signal; a data storage memory coupled to the caching server communication interface (While the machine-readable medium 322 is shown in an exemplary embodiment to be a single medium, the term "machine-readable medium" should be taken to include a single medium or multiple media (e.g., a centralized or distributed database, and/or associated caches and servers) that store the one or more sets of instructions, Col. 20, Lines 12-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Baldwin with the teachings of Araikum to store temporary copies of frequently accessed data to reduce latency, cut backend load, and speed up content delivery.
Regarding Claim 11, Baldwin and Araikum discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 10.
Baldwin discloses wherein the triggering unit is configured to detect triggering events in the received at least one digital measurement signal (as discussed above); and wherein the data output interface is configured to transmit the at least one digital measurement signal based on the triggering events detected by the triggering unit (as discussed above).
However, Baldwin does not explicitly disclose the caching server further comprises: a triggering unit coupled to the caching server communication interface.
Nevertheless, Araikum discloses the caching server further comprises: the caching server communication interface (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Baldwin with the teachings of Araikum to stores temporary copies of frequently accessed data to reduce latency, cut backend load, and speed up content delivery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ronald Clarridge (US20170013698) discloses a testing device for determines values of various electrical variables associated with a device within a process system. The testing device provides bi-directional electrical communication with a device to be monitored and automatically provides a connection configuration between a processing unit and a set of input/output ports.
Paul Hayes (US20040083066) discloses A wireless electrical power metering system is provided. A processor having a multichannel power line transceiver, a wireless transceiver, and a power meter attached thereto measures power consumption information on a power line inductively coupled with the power meter.
Robert Johnson (US6553336) discloses a remote monitoring system includes transducers, a transducer control module, a communications device, a monitoring system and end-user display terminals. The transducers are disposed on the property and/or equipment in a manner to measure specific characteristics or parameters and communicate with the transducer control module via a wireless communication protocol.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857