DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment dated 14 August 2026. Claims 1, 8, 13, 16 and 20 are amended. No claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1-20 remain pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 August 2026 has been received, entered into the record, and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,079,535 and claims 1-4, 7-11 and 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,599,325. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the features of the claims listed above of the instant application are anticipated by or are obvious variants, as would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, of the identified claims of the reference patents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US 2009/0249224 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2014/0033068 A1) and further in view of Myllyla et al. (US 2008/0275960 A1).
As for independent claim 1, Davis teaches the method comprising:
receiving a notification indicating a deletion of a document markup in a first document markup application, the document markup being a visual element overlaid on an underlying document on the first document markup application [(e.g. see Davis paragraph 0022) ”If a client (i.e. an author of the document) is editing the document and removes a paragraph for which a comment is made … the orphaned comments are removed from the document and a message is displayed to the user indicating that the content the paragraph was made has been removed and the comment is no longer valid”].
inviting one or more document markup applications across the plurality of devices to a markup modification session with the first document markup application for interactively exchanging the deletion of the markup in real-time [(e.g. see Davis paragraphs 0019, 0020) ”Once a document, such as document 27, is created, reviewers are invited to make comments to the document. The reviewers may be invited automatically using functionality that is associated with an application, such as a document collaboration application, or the reviewers may be invited by some other method … the comments from multiple authors can be synchronized between multiple copies of the file in real-time”].
extracting a first markup object that is representative of the deletion of the document markup by the first document markup application [(e.g. see Davis paragraphs 0020, 0030) ”a user may add content, delete content, move content, and the like … each comment is stored as a data structure that includes information associating the comment with the section of the document to which the comment was made; whether the comment is a suggested edit; and the text of the comment”].
and transmitting the second markup object to the second document markup application invited to the markup modification session synchronously with the deletion of the document markup by the first document markup application, such that the second markup object is accessible at the second document markup application in real-time as the first document markup application deletes the document markup from the underlying document, the second markup object being accessible at the second document markup application during the markup modification session [(e.g. see Davis paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0036) ”the comment made by one client is provided to the other clients. This may include the client accessing the updated document and/or sending each client comment information relating to the comment. For example, each client could include the comment and a section of the document to which the comment pertains … The reviewers may be invited automatically using functionality that is associated with an application, such as a document collaboration application, or the reviewers may be invited by some other method … The collaborating users (i.e. Clients 1-3) may then simultaneously open the document and make comments. As illustrated, some users simultaneously access the document using the same or different rich application, while other users access the document using a thin client. Each user may insert comments at the same time into the document. According to one embodiment, a user makes a comment on content of the document by selecting the content of the document and then inserting the text of the comment into a text box. Other methods of inserting the comment text may also be used. For example, a user could select the content then right click and enter the comment text. The comment is associated with the selected content. According to one embodiment, content of the document is selectable in sections. For example, a user may select a paragraph of the document to comment on. In addition to making comments, one or more of the clients may be designated as an author or owner that has editing privileges with the document that allow structural changes to be made to the document. For example, a user may add content, delete content, move content, and the like. According to one embodiment, one client is designated as the author or owner of document 27. When an author has the document open for editing, other users are prevented from editing the content currently being edited and are limited to making comments on the content. In this way, the comments from multiple authors can be synchronized between multiple copies of the file in real-time, enabling each author to see any comments entered by other authors while they have a copy of the document open for editing”].
Davis does not specifically teach translating the first markup object to a second markup object that is cross-compatible and different than the first markup object. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Gupta teaches:
translating the first markup object to a second markup object that is cross-compatible and different than the first markup object [(e.g. see Gupta paragraphs 0040, 0095) ”The electronic content 524 may comprise a document, such as a word processing document, text, drawings, a data file, a spreadsheet, audio recordings, video recordings, multimedia presentations, comment history files 538, and other types of content. Documents may be organized according to a page descriptive format, which includes a portable document format … An example of a commercially available portable document format (PDF) is … ADOBE.RTM. Portable Document Format … The comments can be converted to any desired format, such as XML, and then uploaded to collaboration comment repository. Each reviewer can then synchronize the instance of the document they see with the state of the repository, and are thus able to see comments published by other reviewers”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Davis and Gupta, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add translating the first markup object to a second markup object that is cross-compatible and different than the first markup object, as taught by Gupta, to the teachings of Davis because it allows for more efficient collaboration workflow processes that are also better understood by all of the participants (e.g. see Gupta paragraph 0129).
Davis and Gupta do not specifically teach [translating…] when the first markup object is incompatible for display with a second document markup application of the one or more document markup applications. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Myllyla teaches:
[translating…] when the first markup object is incompatible for display with a second document markup application of the one or more document markup applications [(e.g. see Myllyla paragraph 0031) ”content to be propagated to a local device might not be in a compatible format. For example, a local device may only have a PDF viewer while the content is formatted as a MICROSOFT WORD document. FIG. 6 is a flowchart illustrating a method for converting content to a compatible format. In step 600, a coordinating device may identify and retrieve content to be downloaded or propagated to a second device on the local network. In step 605, the coordinating device may determine a format associated with the content. In step 610, the coordinating device may then determine whether the content format is compatible with or understandable by the second device. The coordinating device may make such a determination based on capability information obtained from the second device. If the content format is incompatible with the second device, the coordinating device may convert the content into a second format compatible with the second device in step 615. Once converted, the content may be transmitted to the second device in step 620”]. Due to the conditional nature of this claim limitation present within a method claim, this limitation carries no patentable weight while giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, as the claimed invention can be practiced without the first condition occurring. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) – Contingent Limitations.
Therefore, considering the teachings of Davis, Gupta and Myllyla, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add [translating…] when the first markup object is incompatible for display with a second document markup application of the one or more document markup applications, as taught by Myllyla, to the teachings of Davis and Gupta because it allows the receiving device to view a content item even without the ability to understand the content item's native format (e.g. see Myllyla paragraph 0033).
As for dependent claim 2, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 1 and Davis further teaches:
wherein prior to translating the first markup object to the second markup object, the method comprises: determining a first type of client application of the first document markup application; and determining a second type of client application of the second document markup application [(e.g. see Davis paragraph 0018, 0020 and Fig. 2) ”Clients 1 and 3 include a rich application 62 that provides editing and commenting ability on document 27. The rich client application may be a word processing application that created document 27, or some other application that provides a rich set of functionality for editing and changing structure of document 27 … Client 2 is illustrated with a thin application 64 that provides a limited set of functionality (as compared to rich client application 62) for making comments on document 27 … The collaborating users (i.e. Clients 1-3) may then simultaneously open the document and make comments. As illustrated, some users simultaneously access the document using the same or different rich application, while other users access the document using a thin client”].
As for dependent claim 4, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 2 and Davis further teaches:
wherein the first type of client application is one of a thick client application or a thin client application comprising a web-based document markup application, and the second type of client application includes another of the thick client application or the thin client application [(e.g. see Davis paragraph 0018, 0020 and Fig. 2) ”Clients 1 and 3 include a rich application 62 that provides editing and commenting ability on document 27. The rich client application may be a word processing application that created document 27, or some other application that provides a rich set of functionality for editing and changing structure of document 27 … Client 2 is illustrated with a thin application 64 that provides a limited set of functionality (as compared to rich client application 62) for making comments on document 27 … The collaborating users (i.e. Clients 1-3) may then simultaneously open the document and make comments. As illustrated, some users simultaneously access the document using the same or different rich application, while other users access the document using a thin client”].
As for dependent claim 5, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 1 and Davis further teaches:
further comprising: determining the first document markup application is a thin client application; and determining a third document markup application is another thin client application, such that the first document markup application and the third document markup application are of a same type of client application [(e.g. see Davis paragraph 0020 and Fig. 2) ”The collaborating users (i.e. Clients 1-3) may then simultaneously open the document and make comments. As illustrated, some users simultaneously access the document using the same or different rich application, while other users access the document using a thin client”].
As for dependent claim 6, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 5 and Davis further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting the first markup object to the third document markup application in lieu of the second markup object, in response to determining the first document markup application and the third document markup application are thin client applications [(e.g. see Davis paragraph 0036) ”Transitioning to operation 440, the comment made by one client is provided to the other clients. This may include the client accessing the updated document and/or sending each client comment information relating to the comment. For example, each client could include the comment and a section of the document to which the comment pertains”].
As for dependent claim 7, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 1, but Davis does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Gupta teaches:
wherein translating the first markup object to the second markup object comprises: translating a portable document format (PDF) dictionary object to a browser-friendly markup object, or the browser-friendly markup object to the PDF dictionary object [(e.g. see Gupta paragraphs 0029, 0040, 0095) ”An example of a rendering module includes a web browser component (e.g., Microsoft Internet Explorer) or other component to render electronic content such as HTML pages. Another example of a rendering module includes the ADOBE.RTM. ACROBAT.RTM. electronic publishing program … The electronic content 524 may comprise a document, such as a word processing document, text, drawings, a data file, a spreadsheet, audio recordings, video recordings, multimedia presentations, comment history files 538, and other types of content. Documents may be organized according to a page descriptive format, which includes a portable document format, where "portable document format" … The comments can be converted to any desired format, such as XML, and then uploaded to collaboration comment repository. Each reviewer can then synchronize the instance of the document they see with the state of the repository, and are thus able to see comments published by other reviewers”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for dependent claim 8, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 1, but Davis does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Gupta teaches:
further comprising: receiving permission settings defined by the first document markup application representative of access limitations to the markup modification session, wherein the access limitations to the markup modification session are based on a type of client application receiving the document markup [(e.g. see Gupta paragraphs 0018, 0061) ”Almost all document processing application programs operate to save the most current version of a document while it is being generated. Some of these applications permit saving prior versions as well, creating an archive of saved documents … If the shared review process type is such that reviewers are not permitted to change the content of the document 124, then the difference display may operate to display only changes to comments and markups”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for dependent claim 9, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 8, but Davis does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Gupta teaches:
wherein the second markup object is accessible at the second document markup application in accordance with the permission settings and based on the type of client application of the second document markup application [(e.g. see Gupta paragraphs 0018, 0061) ”Almost all document processing application programs operate to save the most current version of a document while it is being generated. Some of these applications permit saving prior versions as well, creating an archive of saved documents … If the shared review process type is such that reviewers are not permitted to change the content of the document 124, then the difference display may operate to display only changes to comments and markups”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for dependent claim 10, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 1 and Davis further teaches:
wherein one of the first markup object or the second markup object is determined to be more browser-compatible than another of the first markup object or the second markup object [(e.g. see Davis paragraph 0018) ”Thin application 64 could be an application that provides the ability to display document 27 and the ability to make comments on the document. For example, a thin application may be a simple web interface that allows a user to make comments. The thin client UI does not require the functionality of the rich application, such that the review and commenting process of the document is not exclusive to only users of a particular version of the client software application”].
As for dependent claim 11, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 1, but Davis does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Gupta teaches:
wherein extracting the first markup object is from (i) an in-memory portable document format (PDF) representation of the document markup or (ii) an in-memory JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) representation of the document markup [(e.g. see Gupta paragraph 0095) ”The electronic content 524 may comprise a document, such as a word processing document, text, drawings, a data file, a spreadsheet, audio recordings, video recordings, multimedia presentations, comment history files 538, and other types of content. Documents may be organized according to a page descriptive format, which includes a portable document format … An example of a commercially available portable document format (PDF) is the format described in "PDF Reference", sixth edition, ADOBE.RTM. Portable Document Format"”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for dependent claim 12, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the method as described in claim 1 and Davis further teaches:
wherein the notification indicates one or more of the deletion, a modification, an addition, or a movement of the document markup relative to the underlying document in the first document markup application [(e.g. see Davis paragraph 0022) ”If a client (i.e. an author of the document) is editing the document and removes a paragraph for which a comment is made … the orphaned comments are removed from the document and a message is displayed to the user indicating that the content the paragraph was made has been removed and the comment is no longer valid”].
As for independent claim 13, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach a system. Claim 13 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1.
As for dependent claim 14, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the system as described in claim 13; further, claim 14 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 4.
As for dependent claim 15, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the system as described in claim 14; further, claim 15 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 7.
As for independent claim 16, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. Claim 16 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1.
As for dependent claim 17, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the medium as described in claim 16; further, claim 17 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 10. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 10.
As for dependent claim 18, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the medium as described in claim 16; further, claim 18 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 4.
As for dependent claim 19, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the medium as described in claim 16; further, claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 7.
As for dependent claim 20, Davis, Gupta and Myllyla teach the medium as described in claim 16; further, claim 20 discloses substantially the same limitations as claims 8 and 9. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claims 8 and 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 14 August 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that [“Gupta is silent with respect to what triggers the translation of each document from one format to another.” (Page 11).].
The argument described above, in paragraph number 10, with respect to the newly added limitations to the independent claims has been considered, but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174