DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-7 are pending and presented for the examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schreder et al (US 9914660 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Schreder et al teaches a photosensitive glass and process for producing the same. The Schreder et al glass is composed of a base composition meeting the instant claim limitations, and further comprises cerium- and silver-nucleating agents that are the same as those of the instant claims, in amounts falling within the corresponding ranges (see Table 1 and claim 3). As such, the Schreder et al photosensitive glass is equivalent compositionally and structurally to that of the instant claims. Schreder et al does not specify β-OH per mm content of the inventive glass. However, the instant Specification discloses that the value of 0.20/mm or less results from processing conditions used in the formation of the glass (see paragraph 0071), and that the manner in which the β-OH content is set is not particularly limited. Among the methods for setting β-OH below 0.20/mm that are disclosed in the Specification is a melting temperature of 1400 °C or higher (ibid.). Schreder et al teaches that melting of the inventive glasses is performed at a temperature of greater than 1400 °C (see column 7, lines 20-30). Thus, Schreder et al teaches that the melting of the equivalently composed glasses is carried out at a temperature disclosed by applicant as leading to the β-OH value of the instant claims. This property must therefore also be inherent to the Schreder et al glasses. Each limitation of claim 1 is therefore met by the Schreder et al teachings, and the claim is anticipated by the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 2, Schreder et al does not specify the crystal precipitation temperature difference after light exposure within the parameters of the instant claim. However, as discussed above, Schreder et al teaches a compositionally equivalent glass made by a method including steps disclosed by applicant as leading to the β-OH value of the instant claims. Applicant further discloses that this β-OH value results in the crystal precipitation temperature difference characterizing the claimed glass (see paragraph 0070). Because the equivalent Schreder et al glasses that are melted at temperatures above 1400 °C would inherently have β-OH values of 0.20/mm or below, the glasses would also inherently have an equivalent crystal precipitation temperature difference when measured according to the method of the instant claim. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding claim 6, Schreder et al teaches that the inventive photosensitive glass is made by a process comprising melting the starting materials that include Ag2O photosensitizer and molding into a glass blank. As discussed above, the Schreder et al method includes melting at a temperature of greater than 1400 °C, which is disclosed in the instant Specification as lowering β-OH value. After molding to form a blank, Schreder et al teaches heat treating the glass at a temperature such that the treatment constitutes an annealing treatment (see columns 23-24, lines 60-5). As such, each limitation of the instantly claimed process is met by the Schreder et al teachings, and the claim is anticipated by the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 7, Schreder et al teaches that a cooling rate of 40 °C/hr is used from the annealing temperature of 550 °C to 300 °C (see example 4 at column 27). For the compositions taught by Schreder et al, 300 °C is lower than the strain point. As such, Schreder teaches cooling at 0.67 °C/min from an annealing point to a strain point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreder et al (US 9914660 B2).
Regarding claims 3-4, Schreder et al teaches an embodiment glass that comprises, when converted to weight percentage, SiO2, Al2O3, B2O3, Li2O, Na2O, K2O, and ZnO in amounts falling within the corresponding ranges of the claims (see Table 1, example B2): 77.17 wt% SiO2, 0.61 wt% B2O3, 4.86 wt% Al2O3, 8.92 wt% Li2O, 1.61 wt% Na2O, and 4.89 wt% K2O. The Schreder et al glasses further do not comprise F, Br, Sb2O3, or SnO2 in amounts greater than those maximally allowed by said claims. The glasses comprise Ag as Ag+, which is in the form Ag2O in the glass, and the content of said Ag2O is within the range of the instant claim. Schreder et al teaches that the Ce content can be present as Ce3+ and/or Ce4+, but that it is not possible to determine the state within the glass (see column 8, lines 40-50). Thus, the amount of Ce4+ (CeO2) cannot be definitively determined from the disclosure of the examples. However, as CeO2 and Ce2O3 are the only two Ce compounds taught by Schreder, and as Schreder teaches that they coexist, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there would have been a content of CeO2 in the glasses, and due to the teaching of Ce amounts, this content in CeO2 form would necessarily fall below an amount of 0.5 wt%. Each limitation of instant claims 3-4 is therefore met by the teachings of Schreder et al, and the claims are not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned Schreder et al example B2 is free of the components of the claim.
Conclusion
11. No claim is allowed.
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NOAH S WIESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
NSW14 October 2026