DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,6-10, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Application 2024/0340725, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claims 1, 19, Liu discloses a method, and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Figs. 1-6), performed by a user equipment (UE) camping on a serving cell in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising:
receiving, by the UE from the serving cell, a first message comprising a first set of information(Abstract, [0004]-[0008], which recites obtaining coverage information of a serving cell and coverage information of a neighboring cell from the broadcast message, where the serving cell and the neighboring cell are non-terrestrial network cells or terrestrial network cells);
receiving, by the UE, a second message comprising a second set of information broadcasted by the serving cell, wherein the second set of information comprises information that is at least partially different from the first set of information(Abstract, [0004]-[0008], which recites obtaining coverage information of a serving cell and coverage information of a neighboring cell from the broadcast message, where the serving cell and the neighboring cell are non-terrestrial network cells or terrestrial network cells);
generating, by the UE, a cell selection or reselection list based on the first set of information and the second set of information, wherein the cell selection or reselection list comprises a plurality of candidate cells([0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053], which recites the terminal performs cell reselection according to the cell reselection measurement result. The cell reselection measurement result obtained by the terminal performing cell reselection measurement includes measurement information of a wireless signal of the neighboring cell and movement information of the terminal. the terminal determines a first candidate cell set according to the measurement information of the wireless signal of the neighboring cell; and, the terminal selects a target cell for camping from the first candidate cell set according to the movement information of the terminal and the coverage information of the neighboring cell); and
performing, by the UE, at least one network cell selection or reselection operation based on the cell selection or reselection list([0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053], which recites the terminal performs cell reselection according to the cell reselection measurement result. The cell reselection measurement result obtained by the terminal performing cell reselection measurement includes measurement information of a wireless signal of the neighboring cell and movement information of the terminal. the terminal determines a first candidate cell set according to the measurement information of the wireless signal of the neighboring cell; and, the terminal selects a target cell for camping from the first candidate cell set according to the movement information of the terminal and the coverage information of the neighboring cell).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 1-6), for provisioning cell selection or reselection in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the UE comprising:
at least one processor(520); and
memory (510) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE([0082], which recites the terminal 410 of this embodiment includes a memory 510 and a processor 520 coupled to the memory 510, and the processor 520 is configured to execute the method for cell reselection in a Space-Air-Ground Integrated Network in any one of the foregoing embodiments based on an instruction stored in the memory 510) to:
camp the UE on a serving cell in the NTN; receive a first message comprising a first set of information from the serving cell(Abstract, [0004]-[0008], which recites obtaining coverage information of a serving cell and coverage information of a neighboring cell from the broadcast message, where the serving cell and the neighboring cell are non-terrestrial network cells or terrestrial network cells);
receive a second message comprising a second set of information broadcasted by the serving cell, wherein the second set of information comprises information that is at least partially different from the first set of information(Abstract, [0004]-[0008], which recites obtaining coverage information of a serving cell and coverage information of a neighboring cell from the broadcast message, where the serving cell and the neighboring cell are non-terrestrial network cells or terrestrial network cells);
generate a cell selection or reselection list based on the first set of information and the second set of information, wherein the cell selection or reselection list comprises a plurality of candidate cells([0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053], which recites the terminal performs cell reselection according to the cell reselection measurement result. The cell reselection measurement result obtained by the terminal performing cell reselection measurement includes measurement information of a wireless signal of the neighboring cell and movement information of the terminal. the terminal determines a first candidate cell set according to the measurement information of the wireless signal of the neighboring cell; and, the terminal selects a target cell for camping from the first candidate cell set according to the movement information of the terminal and the coverage information of the neighboring cell); and
perform at least one network cell selection or reselection operation based on the cell selection or reselection list([0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053], which recites the terminal performs cell reselection according to the cell reselection measurement result. The cell reselection measurement result obtained by the terminal performing cell reselection measurement includes measurement information of a wireless signal of the neighboring cell and movement information of the terminal. the terminal determines a first candidate cell set according to the measurement information of the wireless signal of the neighboring cell; and, the terminal selects a target cell for camping from the first candidate cell set according to the movement information of the terminal and the coverage information of the neighboring cell).
Regarding claims 6, 15,20, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating, by the UE, the cell selection or reselection list based on the first set of information and the second set of information comprises: receiving, by the UE, a third message comprising a third set of information from at least one neighbor UE associated with the serving cell([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]), and generating, by the UE, the cell selection or reselection list by using the first set of information, the second set of information, and the third set of information([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]),, and wherein the first set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one neighbor cell([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]), wherein the second set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one NTN neighbor cell and satellite assistant information for the at least one NTN neighbor cell([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]), and wherein the third set of information comprises satellite assistant information of at least one cell that is included in the at least one neighbor cell of the first set of information and not included in the at least one neighbor cell of the second set of information([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]).
Regarding claims 7, 16, Liu discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the receiving, by the UE, the third message comprises receiving the third message through a short-range communication between the UE and neighbor UEs associated with the serving cell, and wherein the short-range communication corresponds to one of a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication, a near-field communication (NFC) or a ZigBee communication or any similar communication([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]).
Regarding claims 8, 17, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing, by the UE, the at least one network cell selection or reselection operation based on the cell selection or reselection list comprises at least one of: selecting, by the UE, an optimal candidate cell from the cell selection or reselection list([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]); performing, by the UE, measurements of at least one candidate cell from the plurality of candidate cells, selecting, by the UE, the optimal candidate cell from the cell selection or reselection list based on the measurements, sending, by the UE, a measurement report comprising the measurements to the optimal candidate cell, receiving, by the UE, a handover command from the optimal candidate cell, and performing, by the UE, a handover procedure on an optimal frequency associated with the optimal candidate cell([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]); or selecting, by the UE, the optimal candidate cell from the cell selection or reselection list, and selecting, by the UE, an optimal frequency of at least one candidate cell from the plurality of candidate cells for the cell selection or reselection([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]).
Regarding claims 9, 18, Liu discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the selecting, by the UE, the optimal candidate cell from the cell selection or reselection list comprises: assigning a first priority to at least one first candidate cell and a second priority to at least one second candidate cell in the cell selection or reselection list, wherein the at least one first candidate cell is retrieved from the first set of information, the at least one second candidate cell is retrieved from the second set of information, and the second priority is lower than the first priority([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]); selecting, by the UE, the optimal candidate cell from the at least one first candidate cell by evaluating the at least one first candidate cell based on the first priority and a third set of information received from at least one neighbor UE associated with the serving cell; and selecting, by the UE, the optimal candidate cell from the at least one second candidate cell by evaluating the at least one second candidate cell based on the second priority and the third set of information received from the at least one neighbor UE associated with the serving cell, when the at least one first candidate cell are not the optimal candidate cell([0004]-[00008], [0037]-[0040],[0045]-[0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Tseng et al. (US Application 2023/0047987, hereinafter Tseng).
Regarding claims 2, 11, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in case that the UE is in an idle state, the first message corresponds to a first system information message comprising system information block (SIB) 4 for cell reelection and the second message corresponds to a second system information message comprising SIB 19 for NTN access([0066],[0075]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one neighbor cell, and wherein the second set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one NTN neighbor cell and satellite assistant information for the at least one NTN neighbor cell.
However, Tseng teaches the first set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one neighbor cell, and wherein the second set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one NTN neighbor cell and satellite assistant information for the at least one NTN neighbor cell(Abstract,[0013],[0024],[0160]-[0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tseng with the teaching of Liu by using the above features such as the first set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one neighbor cell, and wherein the second set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one NTN neighbor cell and satellite assistant information for the at least one NTN neighbor cell as taught by Tseng for the purpose of determining how to implement the UE's Idle mode during a Service Available Period (SAP) and/or while out of a RAN coverage area of a cell connected to a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claims 3, 12, Liu discloses the method of claim 1 as addressed above, except wherein, in case that the UE is in a connected state, the first message corresponds to a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message and the second message is a corresponds to system information message comprising SIB 19 for NTN access, wherein the first set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one neighbor cell, and wherein the second set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one NTN neighbor cell and satellite assistant information for the at least one NTN neighbor cell.
However, Tseng teaches in case that the UE is in a connected state, the first message corresponds to a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message and the second message is a corresponds to system information message comprising SIB 19 for NTN access, wherein the first set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one neighbor cell, and wherein the second set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one NTN neighbor cell and satellite assistant information for the at least one NTN neighbor cell (Abstract,[0013],[0024],[0160]-[0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tseng with the teaching of Liu by using the above features such as in case that the UE is in a connected state, the first message corresponds to a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message and the second message is a corresponds to system information message comprising SIB 19 for NTN access, wherein the first set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one neighbor cell, and wherein the second set of information comprises at least one of cell information or frequency information related to at least one NTN neighbor cell and satellite assistant information for the at least one NTN neighbor cell as taught by Tseng for the purpose of determining how to implement the UE's Idle mode during a Service Available Period (SAP) and/or while out of a RAN coverage area of a cell connected to a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claims 4,13, Liu discloses the method of claim 1 as addressed above, except wherein the first set of information comprises: cell information of at least one first candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells, and at least one of: at least one frequency information of at least one candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or priority information of the at least one candidate cell.
However, Tseng teaches wherein the first set of information comprises: cell information of at least one first candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells, and at least one of: at least one frequency information of at least one candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or priority information of the at least one candidate cell (Abstract,[0013],[0024],[0160]-[0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tseng with the teaching of Liu by using the above features such as wherein the first set of information comprises: cell information of at least one first candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells, and at least one of: at least one frequency information of at least one candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or priority information of the at least one candidate cell as taught by Tseng for the purpose of determining how to implement the UE's Idle mode during a Service Available Period (SAP) and/or while out of a RAN coverage area of a cell connected to a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claims 5, 14, Liu discloses the method of claim 1 as addressed above, except wherein the information that is at least partially different from the first set of information comprises at least one of: cell information of at least one second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, satellite assistant information, at least one frequency information of the at least one second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or priority information of the at least one second candidate cell.
However, Tseng teaches wherein the information that is at least partially different from the first set of information comprises at least one of: cell information of at least one second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, satellite assistant information, at least one frequency information of the at least one second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or priority information of the at least one second candidate cell (Abstract,[0013],[0024],[0160]-[0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tseng with the teaching of Liu by using the above features such as wherein the information that is at least partially different from the first set of information comprises at least one of: cell information of at least one second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, satellite assistant information, at least one frequency information of the at least one second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or priority information of the at least one second candidate cell as taught by Tseng for the purpose of determining how to implement the UE's Idle mode during a Service Available Period (SAP) and/or while out of a RAN coverage area of a cell connected to a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418