DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response towards claim interpretation has been fully considered and is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,6,9-10,12,16-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HA; Young Sang (US 20220221803 A1) in view of WHITE; John M. et al. (US 20180166616 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ha teaches,
A stereoscopic image display device, (¶48 and fig. 1, “stereoscopic image display device” such as display device 1 depicted in fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel (¶48-50 and fig. 1, “display panel DP” as part of display device 1 depicted in fig. 1) configured to display an image, (¶48-50,66, and fig. 1, “light rays generated by each pixel” of the display panel DP forms a “light field” to “display an image”) and including a plurality of pixel areas (¶65-66 and fig. 2, display panel DP includes “active area AA” in which a “plurality of pixels PX” are driven to provides “light to display an image” depicted in fig. 2) spaced apart from one another (¶65-66,80, and fig. 3, “active area AA may be an area” in which the plurality of pixels PX, that include “a plurality of subpixels SPX”, are arranged sequentially “to display an image and/or a video” as depicted in fig. 3) and a non-pixel area (¶65-66 and fig. 2, display panel DP includes “non-active area NAA” depicted in fig. 2) around the plurality of pixel areas; (¶65-66 and fig. 2, “non-active area NAA disposed around the active area AA” as depicted in fig. 2) and
a plurality of lenses (¶48-50,57-58, and fig. 1, “lens LS” that is one of “lenses LS” as part of display device 1 depicted in fig. 1) disposed in the plurality of pixel areas, (¶48 and fig. 1, lens LS that is one of “lenses LS”) and disposed to be inclined at a preset angle from the display panel, (¶57,63, fig. 4 and 1, “lenses LS may be slanted lenses inclined” with respect to “the second direction Y in a plan view” as depicted in fig. 1, that corresponds to “short sides in the second direction Y” of “display panel DP” as depicted in fig. 1)
a plurality of micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) (¶62, “micro light emitting diodes”) independently disposed in the plurality of pixel areas, (¶62,65-66, and fig. 3, “display panel DP” which uses a “micro light emitting diode display panel, which uses micro light emitting diodes” such that the active area AA of the display panel DP is an area of “a plurality of pixels PX”)
wherein the plurality of lenses (¶89 and fig. 3, “number of subpixels SPX overlapped by one lens LS”) is configured to implement a stereoscopic image, (¶89 and fig. 3, subpixels SPX overlapped by one lens LS provides a “stereoscopic image and a viewing angle control image” such as “three view images VI1 through VI3” depicted in fig. 3)
wherein a number of the plurality of lenses (¶57-58 and fig. 3, “lenses LS” of an optical member OM depicted in fig. 3) in a pixel area of the plurality of pixel areas (¶57-58,62-68, and fig. 3, lenses LS arranged at “predetermined intervals to form a lens array” over display panel DP with active are AA with “a plurality of pixels PX”) corresponds to a number of the plurality of micro LEDs in the pixel area, (¶62-68,80, and fig. 3, “lenses LS” which overlap display panel DP of “micro light emitting diodes” of active area AA of a plurality of pixels PX that includes three of “a plurality of subpixels SPX” that correspond to each “lens LS” as depicted in fig. 3) the pixel area corresponding to a pixel, (¶80-81 and fig. 3, each pixel “PX may include a plurality of subpixels SPX” including a “a first subpixel SPX1, a second subpixel SPX2, and a third subpixel SPX3” as depicted in fig. 3 )
The prior art Ha expresses a non-active area NAA that is an area of pixels that are not driven and surrounds the active area AA. In arrangements of the prior art, it is expressly not comprised of pixels or not driven pixels. The prior art further specifies the non-active area NAA is an area in which no image and/or video is displayed. In other words, the pixels in the non-active area NAA being non-driven pixels do not function as pixels and are tantamount to not being like the driven pixels in the active area AA. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display with non-active area NAA arrangements of Ha to create an embodiment similar to what is claimed since the arrangements of the pixel area and non-pixel are is similar since the non-pixel area is disposed around the pixel area. The combined arrangement of the stereoscopic display with the various possible non-active area allow for an area that can help in the process of alignment between an optical member and the display panel.
But does not explicitly teach,
a non-pixel area around each pixel area
wherein each micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area is configured to output a different color than another micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area.
That is, as can be seen in the prior Ha, fig. 3 discloses display pixel areas spaced apart from one another when the figure depicts an arrangement of sets of sub pixels SPX in groupings of pixels PX. Additionally, fig. 2 discloses the entire active area AA surrounded by the non-active area NAA. These two disclosures in combination teach something similar to the claimed display including the plurality of pixel areas spaced apart from one another and a non-pixel area around the plurality of pixel areas, which lacks teaching the particular arrangement of a non-pixel area around each pixel area of the plurality of pixel areas.
However, White teaches additionally,
a plurality of pixel areas (¶51,19, fig. 2A and 6B, “pixel arrangement 602b”, depicted in fig. 2B, combined with pixel arrangement 202 “having pixels 220 of a light field display 200” as depicted in fig. 2A) spaced apart from one another (¶51 and fig. 6B, “pixel arrangement 602b utilizes pixels 620B in clusters” as depicted in fig. 6B) and a non-pixel area (¶48-51 and fig. 6A-6B, “structural base” 502 as depicted in fig. 6A) around each pixel area of the plurality of pixel areas; (¶48-51 and fig. 6A-6B, “LEDs 226r, 226b, 226g”, as depicted in fig. 6B, are manufactured on “structural base 502” as depicted in fig. 6A)
wherein each micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area (¶46-52,18,20 fig. 6A-6B and 2A, “LEDs 226r, 226b, 226g”, depicted in fig. 6B, such as “micro LEDs, positioned adjacent respective micro-lenses of each pixel” arranged in a pixel arrangement 202 as depicted in fig. 2A) is configured to output a different color than another micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area. (¶46-52 and fig. 6B, “LEDs 226r, 226b, 226g”, where “pixel 620B” clusters include “a plurality of red LEDs 226r”, “a plurality of green LEDs 226g”, and a plurality of blue LEDs 226b” as depicted in fig. 6B)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display of Ha with the display arrangement of White which arranges pixels into triangular clusters. This allows for a densified arrangement of pixels, allowing for improved perceived resolution.
Regarding claim 4, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Ha teaches additionally,
the plurality of lenses includes a plurality of lenticular lenses (¶58 and 57, “lenses LS may be a lenticular lens” arranged at predetermined intervals to form “a lens array”) having a semi-circle shape. (¶58, “lenses LS may be a lenticular lens having a semi-cylindrical shape”)
Regarding claim 6, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 1,
an adhesive layer (¶73 and fig. 1, “coupling member CM” depicted in fig. 1) disposed between the display panel and the lens of the plurality of lenses, (¶73 and fig. 1, “coupling member CM may be interposed between the display panel DP” with lenses LS “and the optical member OM” as depicted in fig. 1)
wherein the adhesive layer includes (¶73 and fig. 1, “coupling member CM may include an optically clear adhesive or an optically clear resin”) an optically clear adhesive (OCA) (¶73 and fig. 1, “optically clear adhesive”) or an optically clear resin (OCR). (¶73 and fig. 1, “optically clear resin”)
Regarding claim 9, it is the stereoscopic image display device similar to the combination of disclosures of stereoscopic image display device claim 1.
Ha teaches additionally,
wherein the plurality of lenses (¶55, “lenses LS”) is disposed outside of the display panel, (¶55 and 67, lenses LS may overlap “non-active area NAA” disposed to the “surrounding four edges of the active area AA”)
The prior art Ha expresses a non-active area NAA that is an area of pixels that are not driven and surrounds the active area AA. In arrangements of the prior art, it is expressly not comprised of pixels or not driven pixels. The prior art further specifies the non-active area NAA is an area in which no image and/or video is displayed. In other words, the pixels in the non-active area NAA being non-driven pixels do not function as pixels and are tantamount to not being like the driven pixels active area AA. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display with non-active area NAA arrangements of HA to create an embodiment similar to what is claimed since the arrangements of the pixel are and non-pixel are is similar since the non-pixel area is disposed around the pixel area. The combined arrangement of the stereoscopic display with the various possible non-active are allow for an area that can help in the process of alignment between an optical member and the display panel. Refer to rejection of claim 1 to teach the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 9,
Ha teaches additionally,
plurality of lenses (¶57,63,91-92, fig. 4 and 1, “lenses LS” as depicted in fig. 1) is disposed to be inclined at a preset angle (¶57,63,91-92, fig. 4 and 1, “lenses LS may be slanted lenses inclined” with respect to “the second direction Y in a plan view” as depicted in fig. 1) with respect to a major axis direction (¶92-92 and fig. 4, lenses LS “inclined at the first angle θ1 with respect to the second direction Y” in a range from “greater than about 0 degrees and less than about 45 degrees”) of a subpixel provided in the display panel. (¶57,63,80, fig. 4 and 3, “lenses LS may be slanted lenses inclined” with respect to “the second direction Y in a plan view” as depicted in fig. 1, that corresponds to “short sides in the second direction Y” of “display panel DP” in which a plurality of pixels are arranged that include “a plurality of subpixels SPX” as depicted in fig. 3)
Regarding claim 12, dependent on claim 9, it is the stereoscopic image display device similar to claim 4, dependent on claim 1. Refer to rejection of claim 4 to teach the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, Ha teaches,
A stereoscopic image display device, (¶48 and fig. 1, “stereoscopic image display device” such as display device 1 depicted in fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel (¶48-50,77, fig. 1 and 3, “display panel DP” as part of display device 1 depicted in fig. 1 includes “a substrate SUB and a plurality of pixels PX”) configured to display an image, (¶48-50,66, and fig. 1, “light rays generated by each pixel” of the display panel DP forms a “light field” to “display an image”) and including a plurality of pixel areas (¶65-66 and fig. 2, display panel DP includes “active area AA” in which a “plurality of pixels PX” are driven to provides “light to display an image” depicted in fig. 2) spaced apart from one another (¶65-66,80, and fig. 3, “active area AA may be an area” in which the plurality of pixels PX, that include “a plurality of subpixels SPX”, are arranged sequentially “to display an image and/or a video” as depicted in fig. 3) and a non-pixel area (¶65-66 and fig. 2, display panel DP includes “non-active area NAA” depicted in fig. 2) around the plurality of pixel areas; (¶65-66 and fig. 2, “non-active area NAA disposed around the active area AA” as depicted in fig. 2)
a plurality of micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) (¶62, “micro light emitting diodes”) independently disposed in the plurality of pixel areas; (¶62,65-66, and fig. 3, “display panel DP” which uses a “micro light emitting diode display panel, which uses micro light emitting diodes” such that the active area AA of the display panel DP is an area of “a plurality of pixels PX”) and
a plurality of lenticular lenses (¶48-52 and fig. 1, “plurality of lenses LS” as part of display device 1 of “lenticular lens LS” depicted in fig. 1) disposed in the plurality of pixel areas, (¶48 and fig. 1, “barrier or a lenticular lens LS, is disposed on a display panel DP”)
wherein the plurality of lenticular lenses (¶89,52, and fig. 1, “number of subpixels SPX overlapped by one lens LS” of the “plurality of lenses LS” depicted in fig. 1) are configured to implement a stereoscopic image, (¶89 and fig. 3, subpixels SPX overlapped by one lens LS provides a “stereoscopic image and a viewing angle control image” such as “three view images VI1 through VI3” depicted in fig. 3)
wherein a number of the plurality of lenticular lenses (¶57-58 and fig. 3, “lenses LS” of an optical member OM depicted in fig. 3) in a pixel area of the plurality of pixel areas (¶57-58, 62-68, and fig. 3, lenses LS arranged at “predetermined intervals to form a lens array” over display panel DP with active are AA with “a plurality of pixels PX”) corresponds to a number of the plurality of micro LEDs in the pixel area, (¶62-68,80, and fig. 3, “lenses LS” which overlap display panel DP of “micro light emitting diodes” of active area AA of a plurality of pixels PX that includes three of “a plurality of subpixels SPX” that correspond to each “lens LS” as depicted in fig. 3) the pixel area corresponding to a pixel, (¶80-81 and fig. 3, each pixel “PX may include a plurality of subpixels SPX” including a “a first subpixel SPX1, a second subpixel SPX2, and a third subpixel SPX3” as depicted in fig. 3 )
The prior art Ha expresses a non-active area NAA that is an area of pixels that are not driven and surrounds the active area AA. In arrangements of the prior art, it is expressly not comprised of pixels or not driven pixels. The prior art further specifies the non-active area NAA is an area in which no image and/or video is displayed. In other words, the pixels in the non-active area NAA being non-driven pixels do not function as pixels and are tantamount to not being like the driven pixels active area AA. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display with non-active area NAA arrangements of HA to create an embodiment similar to what is claimed since the arrangements of the pixel are and non-pixel are is similar since the non-pixel area is disposed around the pixel area. The combined arrangement of the stereoscopic display with the various possible non-active are allow for an area that can help in the process of alignment between an optical member and the display panel.
But does not explicitly teach,
a non-pixel area around each pixel area
wherein each micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area is configured to output a different color than another micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area.
That is, as can be seen in the prior Ha, fig. 3 discloses display pixel areas spaced apart from one another when the figure depicts an arrangement of sets of sub pixels SPX in groupings of pixels PX. Additionally, fig. 2 discloses the entire active area AA surrounded by the non-active area NAA. These two disclosures in combination teach something similar to the claimed display including the plurality of pixel areas spaced apart from one another and a non-pixel area around the plurality of pixel areas, which lacks teaching the particular arrangement of a non-pixel area around each pixel area of the plurality of pixel areas.
However, White teaches additionally,
a plurality of pixel areas (¶51,19, fig. 2A and 6B, “pixel arrangement 602b”, depicted in fig. 2B, combined with pixel arrangement 202 “having pixels 220 of a light field display 200” as depicted in fig. 2A) spaced apart from one another (¶51 and fig. 6B, “pixel arrangement 602b utilizes pixels 620B in clusters” as depicted in fig. 6B) and a non-pixel area (¶48-51 and fig. 6A-6B, “structural base” 502 as depicted in fig. 6A) around each pixel area of the plurality of pixel areas; (¶48-51 and fig. 6A-6B, “LEDs 226r, 226b, 226g”, as depicted in fig. 6B, are manufactured on “structural base 502” as depicted in fig. 6A)
wherein each micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area (¶46-52,18,20 fig. 6A-6B and 2A, “LEDs 226r, 226b, 226g”, depicted in fig. 6B, such as “micro LEDs, positioned adjacent respective micro-lenses of each pixel” arranged in a pixel arrangement 202 as depicted in fig. 2A) is configured to output a different color than another micro LED of the plurality of micro LEDs corresponding to the pixel in the pixel area. (¶46-52 and fig. 6B, “LEDs 226r, 226b, 226g”, where “pixel 620B” clusters include “a plurality of red LEDs 226r”, “a plurality of green LEDs 226g”, and a plurality of blue LEDs 226b” as depicted in fig. 6B)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display of Ha with the display arrangement of White which arranges pixels into triangular clusters. This allows for a densified arrangement of pixels, allowing for improved perceived resolution.
Regarding claim 17, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 16,
Ha teaches additionally,
plurality of lenticular lenses is inclined at a preset angle (¶57,63,91-92, fig. 4 and 1, “lenses LS may be slanted lenses inclined” with respect to “the second direction Y in a plan view” as depicted in fig. 1) from the display panel. (¶57,63, fig. 4 and 1, “lenses LS may be slanted lenses inclined” with respect to “the second direction Y in a plan view” as depicted in fig. 1, that corresponds to “short sides in the second direction Y” of “display panel DP” as depicted in fig. 1)
Regarding claim 18, dependent on claim 16, it is the stereoscopic image display device similar to claim 4, dependent on claim 1. Refer to rejection of claim 4 to teach the limitations of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 16,
Ha teaches additionally,
the plurality of micro LEDs (¶76-79,62, and fig. 3, “a plurality of pixels PX” which may be “micro light emitting diodes” disposed on the “substrate SUB” which face “the optical member OM” as depicted in fig. 3) is disposed between the display panel (¶76-79 and fig. 3, “display panel DP” which includes “a plurality of pixels PX disposed on the substrate SUB” and under “lenses LS” as depicted in fig. 3) and the plurality of lenticular lenses. (¶76-79,58, and fig. 3, “a plurality of pixels PX disposed on the substrate SUB” and under “lenses LS”, that is a “lenticular lens array”, as depicted in fig. 3)
Regarding claim 20, dependent on claim 16, it is the stereoscopic image display device similar to claim 6, dependent on claim 1. Refer to rejection of claim 6 to teach the limitations of claim 20.
Claim(s) 5,11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HA; Young Sang (US 20220221803 A1) in view of WHITE; John M. et al. (US 20180166616 A1) in view of Raymond; Mark A. et al. (US 9786253 B2)
Regarding claim 5, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Ha teaches additionally,
preset angle is an angle with an inclination (¶57,63,91-92, fig. 4 and 1, “lenses LS may be slanted lenses inclined” with respect to “the second direction Y in a plan view” as depicted in fig. 1) in a range of degrees with respect to a major axis direction (¶92-92 and fig. 4, lenses LS “inclined at the first angle θ1 with respect to the second direction Y” in a range from “greater than about 0 degrees and less than about 45 degrees”) of a subpixel provided in the display panel. (¶57,63,80, fig. 4 and 3, “lenses LS may be slanted lenses inclined” with respect to “the second direction Y in a plan view” as depicted in fig. 1, that corresponds to “short sides in the second direction Y” of “display panel DP” in which a plurality of pixels are arranged that include “a plurality of subpixels SPX” as depicted in fig. 3)
but does not explicitly teach,
a range of approximately -25° to +25°
However, Raymond teaches additionally,
preset angle (15:51-67,16:1-3, and fig. 9-10, “angle, θ,” depicted in fig. 9-10) is an angle with an inclination in a range of approximately -25° to +25° (15:51-67,16:1-3, and fig. 9-10, “lenses 1010 applied on the screen in an 18.435 degree angle, θ” as depicted in fig. 10) with respect to a major axis direction (15:51-67,16:1-3, and fig. 9-10, angle of Line 920 “relative to vertical” to be 18.435 degrees depicted in fig. 9, which corresponds to “lenses 1010 applied on the screen in an 18.435 degree angle, θ” depicted in fig. 10) of a subpixel provided in the display panel. (15:51-67,16:1-3, and fig. 9-10, “Line 920 illustrates a lens direction relative to vertical to be 18.435 degrees (shown as angle, θ, in Fig. 9)” corresponding to “RGB pixels 914” depicted in fig. 9)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display of Ha with the display arrangement of White with the lens angle of Raymond which matches the lens angle with the display angle. This allows for a conversion program to use lenses of the screen to match the angle of the RGB pixel arrangement in a process that is less susceptible to flicker.
Regarding claim 11, dependent on claim 10, includes claim language similar to limitations found in claim 5, dependent on claim 1. Refer to rejection of claim 5 to teach the limitations of claim 11.
Claim(s) 7-8,14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HA; Young Sang (US 20220221803 A1) in view of WHITE; John M. et al. (US 20180166616 A1) in view of Tsai; Jie-Ting et al. (US 20200395517 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 7,
However, Tsai teaches additionally,
a plurality of anti-reflection layers (¶34 and fig. 2, “first anti-reflective coating 51” depicted in fig. 2 of “a second anti-reflective coating 52 disposed on the side opposite to the first anti-reflective coating 51”) disposed on the plurality of lenses. (¶34, and fig. 2, first anti-reflective coating 51 “disposed on the cover 4” depicted in fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display of Ha with the display arrangement of White with the coating of Tsai which disposes an anti-reflective coating on a cover. This allows for improved light extraction efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Ha with White in view of Tsai teaches the limitations of claim 7,
Tsai teaches additionally,
an anti-reflection layer (¶34 and 40, “first anti-reflective coating 51“) of the plurality of anti-reflection layers (¶34 and fig. 2, first anti-reflective coating 51 of “a second anti-reflective coating 52 disposed on the side opposite to the first anti-reflective coating 51”) has a refractive index in a range of approximately 1.3 to 1.5. (¶34 and 40, “refractive index of the first anti-reflective coating 51 is 1.35”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display of Ha with the display arrangement of White with the coating of Tsai which disposes an anti-reflective coating on a cover. This allows for improved light extraction efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, dependent on claim 9, it is the stereoscopic image display device similar to claim 7, dependent on claim 1. Refer to rejection of claim 7 to teach the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, dependent on claim 14, it is the stereoscopic image display device similar to claim 8, dependent on claim 7. Refer to rejection of claim 8 to teach the limitations of claim 15.
Claim(s) 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HA; Young Sang (US 20220221803 A1) in view of WHITE; John M. et al. (US 20180166616 A1) in view of SATO; Rui (US 20260179513 A1)
Regarding claim 21, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 21,
However, Sato teaches additionally,
a first plurality of lenses in contact with each other; (¶225-227 and fig. 23-25, “lens element 303 in the transverse direction” over the left most pixel group 304, as depicted in figs. 23-25, being cylindrical lens “corresponding to a predetermined number of pixels in the pixel groups 304”) and
a second plurality of lenses in contact with each other, (¶225-227 and fig. 23-25, “lens element 303 in the transverse direction” over the second from the left pixel group 304, as depicted in figs. 23-25, being cylindrical lens “corresponding to a predetermined number of pixels in the pixel groups 304”) and spaced apart from and not in contact with the first plurality of lenses or any lens contacting the first plurality of lenses. (¶225-227 and fig. 23-25, “lens element 303 in the transverse direction” over the left most pixel group 304 separate from the lens element 303 over the second from the left pixel group 304 as depicted in fig. 23)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display of Ha with the display arrangement of White with the lens elements of Sato which are cylindrical lenses that extend in straight lines in a vertical direction. This allows for a lens arrangement that can be used as a parallax barrier.
Regarding claim 22, Ha with White with Sato teaches the limitations of claim 21,
Sato teaches additionally,
a third plurality of lenses in contact with each other, (¶225-227 and fig. 23-25, “lens element 303 in the transverse direction” over the third from the left pixel group 304, as depicted in figs. 23-25, being cylindrical lens “corresponding to a predetermined number of pixels in the pixel groups 304”) the third plurality of lenses spaced apart from and not in contact with the first plurality of lenses and the second plurality of lenses or any lens contacting the first plurality of lenses or the second plurality of lenses. (¶225-227 and fig. 23-25, “lens element 303 in the transverse direction” over the left most pixel group 304 separate from the lens element 303 over the second from the left pixel group 304 and separate from the lens element 303 over the third from the left pixel group 304, as depicted in fig. 23)
Claim(s) 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HA; Young Sang (US 20220221803 A1) in view of WHITE; John M. et al. (US 20180166616 A1) in view of SATO; Rui (US 20260179513 A1) in view of Brown; Daniel M. et al. (US 6859240 B1)
Regarding claim 23, Ha with White teaches the limitations of claim 22,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 23,
However, Brown teaches additionally,
wherein the third plurality of lenses (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, “primary lenses” 61’ and 61’’ as depicted in fig. 7B) overlaps the first plurality of lenses in a first direction, (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, primary lenses 61’ and 61’’ directing light into the left sides of respective lenses 123 and 124 as depicted in fig. 7B)
wherein the second plurality of lenses (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, “primary lenses” 62’ and 62’’ as depicted in fig. 7B) overlaps with the first plurality of lenses in a second direction (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, primary lenses 62’ and 62’’ directing light into the right sides of respective lenses 123 and 124 as depicted in fig. 7B) different from the first direction, (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, primary lenses 61’ and 61’’ directs light into the left side of respective lenses 123 and 124 while primary lenses 62’ and 62’’ directs light into the right side of respective lenses 123 and 124 as depicted in fig. 7B)and
wherein the second plurality of lenses (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, primary lenses 62’ and 62’’ as depicted in fig. 7B) and the third plurality of lenses (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, primary lenses 61’ and 61’’ as depicted in fig. 7B) do not overlap with each other in either the first direction or the second direction. (10:6-44 and fig. 7B, primary lenses 62’ and 62’’ directing light into the right of lenses 123 and 124 in parallel to primary lenses 61’ and 61’’ directing light into the left of lenses 123 and 124 as depicted in fig. 7B)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stereoscopic display of Ha with the display arrangement of White with the lens elements of Sato with the lens arrangement of Brown which directs light from primary lenses to a lens array. This allows for directing light in parallel columns as they correspond to pixel and lens columns, providing improvements to autostereoscopic display.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH G USTARIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2483
/JIMMY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2483