DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 25 should be amended to read “…and the sharpened edge 12a is sufficient ...”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is: “a cutting member” in claims 21, 35; “a separator member” in claims 27 and 36; and “a cutting means” in claim 40.
Of note, claims 29, 37 positively recites “a separator tube” which would then not invoke the “means plus function” interpretation for “a separator member”.
Claim Objections
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 recites “the slit sheath”. Claim 34 is dependent off of claim 21 which claims “”…slit a sheath”. For clarity purposes to avoid any antecedent issues, the “slit sheath” of claim 34 should be “the . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "a mating piece removably connected to and mated with the body member”. Claim 22 is dependent off of claim 21 which already claims “a removable mating piece” in line 3. It is unclear if the “a mating piece” of claim 22 would be the same or different “removable mating piece” of claim 21. For examination purposes, the “a mating piece” of claim 22 will be interpreted to be referring to the “removable mating piece” of claim 21.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the first passage is comprised of a recessed area of the body member and a recessed area in the mating piece”. Claim 23 is ultimately dependent off of claim 21 which already claims “a body member including a first recessed area…a removable mating piece including a second recessed area, wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage”” in lines 2-5. It is unclear if the recessed areas of claim 23 would be the same or different recessed areas of claim 21 and if claim 23 would then further limit claim 21/22. For examination purposes, the recessed areas of claim 23 will be interpreted to be referring to the “first and second recessed areas” of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25, 34, 35, 40, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0167417 to Kratz.
As to claim 21, Kratz discloses a torque device comprising: a body member (20, figure 1, 8) including a first recessed area (40a,b figure 8); removable mating piece (30a, figure 16, paragraph 2, the hub can be removable mated to at least section 30b as well as interact with device 20 to house the sheath 28) including a second recessed area (inside of the distal portion of 30a as seen in figure 10), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (figure 12, where sheath 28 extends within the hub 30a, and groove sections 40a,b), a cutting member (38, paragraph 39, the cutting can be a hard metal knife blade, as supported by the specification in paragraph 23 to read on the “cutting member”) removably located within the first passage (figure 11-13, the first passage is defined by the recessed areas of the body and the removable mating piece, the device 20 moves the cutting member as seen in figure 11-13 along the sheath 28 past the hub 30a, the cutting member is located in the first passage as seen in figure 13 since the first passage is defined by the inside of hub 30a), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (figure 12) to slit a sheath (28) through the first passage (figure 11-13, paragraph 44-45).
As to claim 22, Kratz discloses a mating piece removably connected to and mated with the body member (paragraph 36, figure 10,11, the retainer portion 36 allows the mating piece 30a to mate with the device 20).
As to claim 23, Kratz discloses the first passage is comprised of a recessed area of the body member and a recessed area in the mating piece that align with each other (figure 8, 10, 11).
As to claim 24, Kratz discloses a second passage (the proximal most area of where the sheath 28 extends between hub 30a and device 20) connected to the first passage, the second passage having a third recessed area of the body member (40c) and a fourth recessed area (the inside proximal area of 30a) in the matting piece that mate with each other (figure 10, 11).
As to claim 25, Kratz discloses a clamp mechanism (30b) which selectively pressed against an elongated implant wire (22) of a medical implant. The hub member 30b connects with 30a which can then apply a pressure to the 22. The clamp mechanism 30b can be selectively pressed since it can also be removed from 30a.
As to claim 34, Kratz discloses the torque device directs the slit sheath out of the first passage while leaving a medical implant in place (figure 13, paragraph 40).
As to claim 35, Kratz discloses an implant delivery device for delivering a medical implant operatively connected to an elongated wire (paragraph 27, figure 1) comprising: a torque device comprising: a body member (20, figure 1, 8) including a first recessed area (40, figure 8); removable mating piece (30a, figure 16, paragraph 2, the hub can be removable mated to at least section 30b as well as interact with device 20 to house the sheath 28) including a second recessed area (inside of 30a as seen in figure 10), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (figure 12, where sheath 28 extends within the hub 30a, and groove sections 40a,b), a cutting member (38, paragraph 39, the cutting can be a hard metal knife blade, as supported by the specification in paragraph 23 to read on the “cutting member”) removably located within the first passage (figure 11-13, the first passage is defined by the recessed areas of the body and the removable mating piece, the device 20 moves the cutting member as seen in figure 11-13 along the sheath 28 past the hub 30a, the cutting member is located in the first passage as seen in figure 13 since the first passage is defined by the inside of hub 30a), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (figure 12) to slit a sheath (28) through the first passage (figure 11-13, paragraph 44-45).
As to claim 40, Kratz discloses a torque device comprising: a body member (20, figure 1, 8) including a first recessed area (40 figure 8); a removable mating means (30a, figure 16, paragraph 2, the hub can be removable mated to at least section 30b as well as interact with device 20 to house the sheath 28) for forming a first passage (figure 12, where sheath 28 extends within the hub 30a, and groove sections 40a,b) through the body member, wherein the removable mating means including a second recessed area (inside of 30a as seen in figure 10), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form the first passage extending through the body member (figure 12), a cutting means (38, paragraph 39, the cutting can be a hard metal knife blade, as supported by the specification in paragraph 23 to read on the “cutting member”) for splitting a sheath passing through the first passage removably located within the first passage (figure 11-13, paragraph 44-45), and wherein the cutting means is positioned in the first passage in between the body and the removable mating means (figure 12).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-25, 27-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,492,938. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, with respect to claim 21, the reference patent claims a torque device comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); removable mating piece (claim 1) including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting member (claim 1) removably located within the first passage (claim 1), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (claim 1) to slit a sheath (claim 1) through the first passage (claim 1).
As to claims 22-25, 27-32, 34 see reference patent claim 1.
As to claim 33, see reference patent claim 4.
As to claim 35, the reference patent claims an implant delivery device for delivering a medical implant operatively connected to an elongated wire (claim 1) comprising: a torque device (claim 1) comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); removable mating piece (claim 1) including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting member (claim 1) removably located within the first passage (claim 1), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (claim 1) to slit a sheath through the first passage (claim 1).
As to claims 36-39, see reference claim 1.
As to claim 40, the reference patent claims a torque device comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); a removable mating means (claim 1) for forming a first passage (claim 1) through the body member, wherein the removable mating means including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form the first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting means (claim 1) for splitting a sheath passing through the first passage removably located within the first passage (claim 1), and wherein the cutting means is positioned in the first passage in between the body and the removable mating means (claim 1).
Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,492,938 in view of U.S. Patent 5,261,887 to Walker.
As the claim 26, the reference patent claims the device above but is silent about the clamp mechanism comprises a collet and a screw member that is selectively contactable with the collet, so as to increase or decrease a diameter of the collet.
Walker teaches a similar device (catheter splitter) comprising a clamp mechanism (24, 26, 28, figure 1, col. 6 ll. 20-25,) comprises a collet (28) and a screw member (24) that is selectively contactable with the collet, so as to increase or decrease a diameter of the collet (col. 6 ll. 20-25) for the purpose of controlling the device tightening down on a wire. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the clamp mechanism of the reference patent comprise a collet and screw member that is selectively contactable with the collet, so as to increase or decrease a diameter of the collet in order to control the device tightening down on a wire.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,520. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, with respect to claim 21, the reference patent claims a torque device comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); removable mating piece (claim 1) including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting member (claim 1) removably located within the first passage (claim 1), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (claim 1) to slit a sheath (claim 1) through the first passage (claim 1).
As to claims 22-25, 27-32, 34 see reference patent claim 1.
As to claim 26, see reference patent claim 2.
As to claim 33, see reference patent claim 7.
As to claim 35, the reference patent is directed an implant delivery device for delivering a medical implant operatively connected to an elongated wire (claim 1) comprising: a torque device (claim 1) comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); removable mating piece (claim 1) including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting member (claim 1) removably located within the first passage (claim 1), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (claim 1) to slit a sheath through the first passage (claim 1).
As to claims 36-39, see reference claim 1.
As to claim 40, the reference patent is directed a torque device comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); a removable mating means (claim 1) for forming a first passage (claim 1) through the body member, wherein the removable mating means including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form the first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting means (claim 1) for splitting a sheath passing through the first passage removably located within the first passage (claim 1), and wherein the cutting means is positioned in the first passage in between the body and the removable mating means (claim 1).
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,261. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, with respect to claim 21, the reference patent claims a torque device comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); removable mating piece (claim 1) including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting member (claim 1) removably located within the first passage (claim 1), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (claim 1) to slit a sheath (claim 1) through the first passage (claim 1).
As to claims 22, 23, 25, 27-32, 34 see reference patent claim 1.
As to claim 24, see reference patent claim 2.
As to claim 26, see reference patent claim 3.
As to claim 33, see reference patent claim 5.
As to claim 35, the reference patent is directed an implant delivery device for delivering a medical implant operatively connected to an elongated wire (claim 1) comprising: a torque device (claim 1) comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); removable mating piece (claim 1) including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form a first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting member (claim 1) removably located within the first passage (claim 1), wherein the cutting member is positioned in the first passage in between the body ember and the removable mating piece (claim 1) to slit a sheath through the first passage (claim 1).
As to claims 36-39, see reference claim 1.
As to claim 40, the reference patent is directed a torque device comprising: a body member (claim 1) including a first recessed area (claim 1); a removable mating means (claim 1) for forming a first passage (claim 1) through the body member, wherein the removable mating means including a second recessed area (claim 1), wherein the first recessed area of the body member is aligned with the second recessed area of the removable mating piece to form the first passage extending through the body member (claim 1), a cutting means (claim 1) for splitting a sheath passing through the first passage removably located within the first passage (claim 1), and wherein the cutting means is positioned in the first passage in between the body and the removable mating means (claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent 5,687,72 to Kraus (as cited reference A15 in the IDS filed 07/31/2024), U.S. Patent 6,497,681 to Brenner (as cited reference A4 in the IDS filed 07/31/2025), U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0049698 to Drake (as cited reference A41 in the IDS filed 07/31/2025), and U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0121753 to Dorn (as cited reference A25 in the IDS filed 07/31/2025) all disclose similar devices pertinent to the scope of the claims.
/ALEXANDER J ORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771