DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 07/31/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140275949 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Takahashi”) in view of US 20110188025 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Haas”).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a portable electronic device (abstract; as shown in Figure 1A) comprising:
a housing including a photoemitter and a photodetector (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4), wherein a portion of the housing includes:
a first transparent region aligned with the photoemitter (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4);
a second transparent region aligned with the photodetector (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4); and
an opaque region extending between the first transparent region and the second transparent region (100; paragraphs [0103]-[0104], [0108]; as shown in Figure 4).
However, Takahashi does not explicitly teach the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion.
Haas teaches the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takahashi, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi teaches a portable electronic device (abstract; as shown in Figure 1A) comprising:
a housing including a photoemitter and a photodetector (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4), wherein a portion of the housing includes:
a first transparent region aligned with the photoemitter (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4);
a second transparent region aligned with the photodetector (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4); and
an opaque region extending between the first transparent region and the second transparent region (100; paragraphs [0103]-[0104], [0108]; as shown in Figure 4).
However, Takahashi does not explicitly teach the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion.
Haas teaches the opaque region being at an obtuse angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takahashi, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi teaches a portable electronic device (abstract; as shown in Figure 1A) comprising:
a housing including a photoemitter and a photodetector (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4), wherein a portion of the housing includes:
a first transparent region aligned with the photoemitter (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4);
a second transparent region aligned with the photodetector (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; as shown in Figure 4); and
an opaque region extending between the first transparent region and the second transparent region (100; paragraphs [0103]-[0104], [0108]; as shown in Figure 4).
However, Takahashi does not explicitly teach the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion.
Haas teaches the opaque region being at a non-perpendicular angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takahashi, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Takahashi, in view of Haas, teaches wherein:
the surface is a first surface of the portion and the portion includes a second surface opposite the first surface (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi);
the opaque region is positioned between the first surface and the second surface (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi);
a first axis is defined from a center of the first surface to a center of the second surface (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi); and
the opaque region extends along a second axis from the first surface to the second surface transverse to the first axis (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 19, Takahashi, in view of Haas, teaches wherein a first angle is defined in the first transparent region between the second axis and the first surface, and a second angle is defined in the second transparent region between the second axis and the first surface different than the first angle (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi; as shown in Figure 2, 10; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claim 4, 11, and 17, Takahashi, in view of Haas, teaches wherein the first axis is perpendicular to the first surface (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi).
Regarding claim 5, 12, and 18, Takahashi, in view of Haas, teaches wherein the opaque region extends from the first surface to the second surface (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi).
Regarding claim 6 and 14, Takahashi, in view of Haas, teaches wherein the surface is a planar surface (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi).
Regarding claim 7, 13, and 20, Takahashi, in view of Haas, teaches wherein the first transparent region includes a first surface area and the second transparent region includes a second surface area different than the first surface area (as shown in Figure 25; as taught by Takahashi).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 10702211 B2 in view of US 20110188025 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Haas”).
Regarding claims 1-7, US 10702211 B2 teaches all the limitations of the claims except for the opaque region extending at an acute angle to a surface of the portion. However, Haas teaches the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 10702211 B2, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claims 8-14, US 10702211 B2 teaches all the limitations of the claims except for the opaque region extending at an obtuse angle to a surface of the portion. However, Haas teaches the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 10702211 B2, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claims 15-20, US 10702211 B2 teaches all the limitations of the claims except for the opaque region extending at a non perpendicular angle to a surface of the portion. However, Haas teaches the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 10702211 B2, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12064265 B2 in view of US 20110188025 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Haas”).
Regarding claims 1-7, US 12064265 B2 teaches all the limitations of the claims except for the opaque region extending at an acute angle to a surface of the portion. However, Haas teaches the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12064265 B2, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claims 8-14, US 12064265 B2 teaches all the limitations of the claims except for the opaque region extending at an obtuse angle to a surface of the portion. However, Haas teaches the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12064265 B2, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Regarding claims 15-20, US 12064265 B2 teaches all the limitations of the claims except for the opaque region extending at a non perpendicular angle to a surface of the portion. However, Haas teaches the opaque region being at an acute angle to a surface of the portion (as shown in Figure 2, 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12064265 B2, to have an angled opaque region, as taught by Haas, because this “leads to a region enlargement G′ without increasing the crosstalk or the influence of the environmental variables” (paragraph [0075]; as taught by Haas).
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791