DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 101
The limitations “in response to determining, at a second time after the first time, that the object is not within a field-of-view of the image sensor, displaying, on the display in association with the physical environment, a representation of the current state; and at a third time after the second time, ceasing to display the representation of the current state.” are considered a practical application of displaying augmented reality information to a user based on previously captured information which is no longer in view.
Statutory Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-11, 13-15, 17, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-12, 13, 15, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the notion of the claims does refer to the same invention and claim 1 of the current application corresponds with claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206 anticipates claim 1 of the current application because it includes all of the limitations of claim 1 of the current application.
Below is limitation mapping between claim 1 of the current application and U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206
1. A method comprising:
at a device including an image sensor, a display, one or more processors, and non- transitory memory:
obtaining, using the image sensor, a first image, taken at a first time, of a physical environment;
detecting, in the first image, an object indicating a current state; in response to determining, at a second time after the first time, that the object is not within a field-of-view of the image sensor,
displaying, on the display in association with the physical environment, a representation of the current state;
and at a third time after the second time, ceasing to display the representation of the current state.
1. A method comprising:
at a device including an image sensor, a display, one or more processors, and non-transitory memory:
obtaining, using the image sensor, a first image, taken at a first time, of a physical environment;
detecting, in the first image, an object indicating a current state; in response to determining, at a second time after the first time, that the object is not within a field-of-view of the image sensor,
displaying, on the display in association with the physical environment, a representation of the current state;
and in response to determining, at a third time after the second time, that the object is within the field-of-view of the image sensor, ceasing to display the representation of the current state.
Below is part 1 of claim mapping between the current application and U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206.
Current Application
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
12,094,206
1
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
Below is part 2 of claim mapping between the current application and U.S. Patent No. 12,094,206.
Current Application
10, 1
11, 10, 1
13
14
15
17, 13
18, 17, 13
12,094,206
1
1
13
15
16
13
13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-17 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 10,325,410)(Hereinafter referred to as Smith) in view of Siu et al. (“SidebARs: Improving awareness of off-screen elements in mobile augmented reality”, 2013)(Hereinafter referred to as Siu).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches A method (Methods, systems, and techniques for enhancing a live
sporting event using augmented reality are provided. See Abstract) comprising:
at a device including an image sensor, a display, one or more processors, and non- transitory memory (The user is able to see and interactive with these augmentations using his or her mobile device without taking his or her eyes off of the field. In some deployments, the mobile device is a cellular smartphone with an ( optional) modified virtual headset. See Abstract)( The user can view the augmentations using the camera of the 30 phone (holding the phone up to look through the camera at the field). See col. 2, lines 28-31):
obtaining, using the image sensor, a first image, taken at a first time, of a physical environment (AR Game Enhancement Application 200 begins by requesting the user to enter seat information in block 201. This is for the purpose of capturing a user's three dimensional location within the stadium. The user's seat number is mapped to (x, y, z) coordinates within a 3D model of the stadium. Once mechanism for mapping user positions to 3D coordinate space is discussed further below. In block 202, the application calibrates itself based upon user input (such as visually panning the camera of the client device) until one or more fixed landmarks are identified. For example, the user may be asked to place a visual of the field represented by a rectangle within the camera's lens view and indicate when it is found. (See, for example, FIGS. 6G and 6H described below.) In one embodiment, a green rectangle in perspective is displayed to the user and the user is requested to indicate (e.g., via tapping on the green rectangle) when it lines up with the field. This information may be used by the graphics rendering engine ( e.g., in some embodiments executing on the client's mobile device) to produce a model of the stadium field. See col. 4, lines 19-39);
detecting, in the first image, an object indicating a current state (AR Game Enhancement Application 200 begins by requesting the user to enter seat information in block 201. This is for the purpose of capturing a user's three dimensional location within the stadium. The user's seat number is mapped to (x, y, z) coordinates within a 3D model of the stadium. Once mechanism for mapping user positions to 3D coordinate space is discussed further below. In block 202, the application calibrates itself based upon user input (such as visually panning the camera of the client device) until one or more fixed landmarks are identified. For example, the user may be asked to place a visual of the field represented by a rectangle within the camera's lens view and indicate when it is found. (See, for example, FIGS. 6G and 6H described below.) In one embodiment, a green rectangle in perspective is displayed to the user and the user is requested to indicate (e.g., via tapping on the green rectangle) when it lines up with the field. This information may be used by the graphics rendering engine ( e.g., in some embodiments executing on the client's mobile device) to produce a model of the stadium field. See col. 4, lines 19-39);
at a second time after the first time displaying, on the display in association with the physical environment, a representation of the current state (In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45) and at a third time after the second time, ceasing to display the representation of the current state (In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45)(Switching to a different augmentation such as an advertisement).; but is silent to in response to determining, at a second time after the first time, that the object is not within a field-of-view of the image sensor, and at a third time after the second time, ceasing to display the representation of the current state.
Siu teaches a technique of providing points of interest in a sidebar of the view to indicate which direction a particular object outside the field of view is located (Figure 3. Schematic (mockup) representation of the interface, including POIs in the camera view, and grouped off-screen POIs with minimum distance, direction and type in the sidebars. See figure 3 caption )( (3) The interface displays two transparent sidebars, one on each side of the camera view, that show several types of POIs, grouped by type and displaying the distance to the closest element of that type. Figure 3 shows a mockup of the interface, used for discussing and improving the prototype design in initial meetings. In this mockup, we can easily see the following information on the right sidebar: • There are two fire hydrants (yellow icon) and the closest one is 20 meters away, • There is one police station (green icon) 1 km away. • It is faster to look for this information by rotating left than right. The camera view (in the center of the image) presents the objects within the user's range of view: one fire truck (BX-11) and one hydrant, displayed in typical AR format with the nearest ones in bigger size and more detail, and less detail and size for the one that is further away. We can also see, in the top right, a button to select the layers of interest: the user may decide he is only interested in certain types of POIs (e.g. hydrants and fire trucks) and configure the interface to hide all other types of information. See page 39, left col.).
Smith and Siu teach of presenting augmented information to a user and Sui teaches that information outside the field of view can be provided to the user to in each of the side panels to indicate which direction the user should change the field of view to see the object in the panel, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Smith with the augmentation at the edge of the field of view of Siu such that the user can identify information outside of the field of view.
Regarding claim 2, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the object indicates the current state textually (See figure 3, left and right column distances, types direction)(Siu; Figure 3. Schematic (mockup) representation of the interface, including POIs in the camera view, and grouped off-screen POIs with minimum distance, direction and type in the sidebars. See figure 3 caption )( Siu; (3) The interface displays two transparent sidebars, one on each side of the camera view, that show several types of POIs, grouped by type and displaying the distance to the closest element of that type. Figure 3 shows a mockup of the interface, used for discussing and improving the prototype design in initial meetings. In this mockup, we can easily see the following information on the right sidebar: • There are two fire hydrants (yellow icon) and the closest one is 20 meters away, • There is one police station (green icon) 1 km away. • It is faster to look for this information by rotating left than right. The camera view (in the center of the image) presents the objects within the user's range of view: one fire truck (BX-11) and one hydrant, displayed in typical AR format with the nearest ones in bigger size and more detail, and less detail and size for the one that is further away. We can also see, in the top right, a button to select the layers of interest: the user may decide he is only interested in certain types of POIs (e.g. hydrants and fire trucks) and configure the interface to hide all other types of information. See page 39, left col.).
Regarding claim 3, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the object indicates the current state numerically (Siu; See figure 3, left and right column distances, types direction)(Siu; Figure 3. Schematic (mockup) representation of the interface, including POIs in the camera view, and grouped off-screen POIs with minimum distance, direction and type in the sidebars. See figure 3 caption )( Siu; (3) The interface displays two transparent sidebars, one on each side of the camera view, that show several types of POIs, grouped by type and displaying the distance to the closest element of that type. Figure 3 shows a mockup of the interface, used for discussing and improving the prototype design in initial meetings. In this mockup, we can easily see the following information on the right sidebar: • There are two fire hydrants (yellow icon) and the closest one is 20 meters away, • There is one police station (green icon) 1 km away. • It is faster to look for this information by rotating left than right. The camera view (in the center of the image) presents the objects within the user's range of view: one fire truck (BX-11) and one hydrant, displayed in typical AR format with the nearest ones in bigger size and more detail, and less detail and size for the one that is further away. We can also see, in the top right, a button to select the layers of interest: the user may decide he is only interested in certain types of POIs (e.g. hydrants and fire trucks) and configure the interface to hide all other types of information. See page 39, left col.).
Regarding claim 4, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein detecting the object indicating the current state further includes determining, based on the first image, the current state (Smith; AR Game Enhancement Application 200 begins by requesting the user to enter seat information in block 201. This is for the purpose of capturing a user's three dimensional location within the stadium. The user's seat number is mapped to (x, y, z) coordinates within a 3D model of the stadium. Once mechanism for mapping user positions to 3D coordinate space is discussed further below. In block 202, the application calibrates itself based upon user input (such as visually panning the camera of the client device) until one or more fixed landmarks are identified. For example, the user may be asked to place a visual of the field represented by a rectangle within the camera's lens view and indicate when it is found. (See, for example, FIGS. 6G and 6H described below.) In one embodiment, a green rectangle in perspective is displayed to the user and the user is requested to indicate (e.g., via tapping on the green rectangle) when it lines up with the field. This information may be used by the graphics rendering engine ( e.g., in some embodiments executing on the client's mobile device) to produce a model of the stadium field. See col. 4, lines 19-39)).
Regarding claim 5, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein displaying the representation of the current state includes displaying a representation of a first state and updating the representation to display a representation of a second state (Smith; In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45).
Regarding claim 6, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 5, wherein updating the representation is based on a time elapsed (Smith; In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45).
Regarding claim 7, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 5, wherein updating the representation is based on detecting, using the image sensor, an event (Smith; The user is able to see and interactive with these augmentations using his or her mobile device without taking his or her eyes off of the field. In some deployments, the mobile device is a cellular smartphone with an ( optional) modified virtual headset. See Abstract)(Smith; The user can view the augmentations using the camera of the 30 phone (holding the phone up to look through the camera at the field). See col. 2, lines 28-31) (Smith; In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45).
Regarding claim 8, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 5, wherein updating the representation is based on data obtained via a network interface ((Smith; These images are then sent to a server-side image recognition and markup service 306 which identifies salient features in the image 309 (either using via computer vision techniques or as informed by the stats aggregation service 305). A markup is then sent back to the client's rendering engine 304, which combines information about the individual images with information about the user's position to mark up the user's field of view 309. See col. 5, lines 16-24 )(Smith; In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45)).
Regarding claim 9, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a user input to activate display of the representation of the current state, wherein displaying the representation of the current state is performed further in response to receiving the user input (Smith; AR Game Enhancement Application 200 begins by requesting the user to enter seat information in block 201. This is for the purpose of capturing a user's three dimensional location within the stadium. The user's seat number is mapped to (x, y, z) coordinates within a 3D model of the stadium. Once mechanism for mapping user positions to 3D coordinate space is discussed further below. In block 202, the application calibrates itself based upon user input (such as visually panning the camera of the client device) until one or more fixed landmarks are identified. For example, the user may be asked to place a visual of the field represented by a rectangle within the camera's lens view and indicate when it is found. (See, for example, FIGS. 6G and 6H described below.) In one embodiment, a green rectangle in perspective is displayed to the user and the user is requested to indicate (e.g., via tapping on the green rectangle) when it lines up with the field. This information may be used by the graphics rendering engine ( e.g., in some embodiments executing on the client's mobile device) to produce a model of the stadium field. See col. 4, lines 19-39).
Regarding claim 10, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein ceasing to display the representation of the current state is performed in response to a trigger (Turning off the display system).
Regarding claim 12, Smith in view of Siu teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the trigger includes a user input (Turning off the display system).
Regarding claim 13, Smith teaches A device (The user is able to see and interactive with these augmentations using his or her mobile device without taking his or her eyes off of the field. In some deployments, the mobile device is a cellular smartphone with an ( optional) modified virtual headset. See Abstract)( The user can view the augmentations using the camera of the 30 phone (holding the phone up to look through the camera at the field). See col. 2, lines 28-31) comprising:
an image sensor (The user is able to see and interactive with these augmentations using his or her mobile device without taking his or her eyes off of the field. In some deployments, the mobile device is a cellular smartphone with an ( optional) modified virtual headset. See Abstract)( The user can view the augmentations using the camera of the 30 phone (holding the phone up to look through the camera at the field). See col. 2, lines 28-31);
a display (The user is able to see and interactive with these augmentations using his or her mobile device without taking his or her eyes off of the field. In some deployments, the mobile device is a cellular smartphone with an ( optional) modified virtual headset. See Abstract)( The user can view the augmentations using the camera of the 30 phone (holding the phone up to look through the camera at the field). See col. 2, lines 28-31);
a non-transitory memory (The user is able to see and interactive with these augmentations using his or her mobile device without taking his or her eyes off of the field. In some deployments, the mobile device is a cellular smartphone with an ( optional) modified virtual headset. See Abstract)( The user can view the augmentations using the camera of the 30 phone (holding the phone up to look through the camera at the field). See col. 2, lines 28-31); and
one or more processors (The user is able to see and interactive with these augmentations using his or her mobile device without taking his or her eyes off of the field. In some deployments, the mobile device is a cellular smartphone with an ( optional) modified virtual headset. See Abstract)( The user can view the augmentations using the camera of the 30 phone (holding the phone up to look through the camera at the field). See col. 2, lines 28-31) to:
obtain, using the image sensor, a first image, taken at a first time, of a physical environment (AR Game Enhancement Application 200 begins by requesting the user to enter seat information in block 201. This is for the purpose of capturing a user's three dimensional location within the stadium. The user's seat number is mapped to (x, y, z) coordinates within a 3D model of the stadium. Once mechanism for mapping user positions to 3D coordinate space is discussed further below. In block 202, the application calibrates itself based upon user input (such as visually panning the camera of the client device) until one or more fixed landmarks are identified. For example, the user may be asked to place a visual of the field represented by a rectangle within the camera's lens view and indicate when it is found. (See, for example, FIGS. 6G and 6H described below.) In one embodiment, a green rectangle in perspective is displayed to the user and the user is requested to indicate (e.g., via tapping on the green rectangle) when it lines up with the field. This information may be used by the graphics rendering engine ( e.g., in some embodiments executing on the client's mobile device) to produce a model of the stadium field. See col. 4, lines 19-39);
detect, in the first image, an object indicating a current state (AR Game Enhancement Application 200 begins by requesting the user to enter seat information in block 201. This is for the purpose of capturing a user's three dimensional location within the stadium. The user's seat number is mapped to (x, y, z) coordinates within a 3D model of the stadium. Once mechanism for mapping user positions to 3D coordinate space is discussed further below. In block 202, the application calibrates itself based upon user input (such as visually panning the camera of the client device) until one or more fixed landmarks are identified. For example, the user may be asked to place a visual of the field represented by a rectangle within the camera's lens view and indicate when it is found. (See, for example, FIGS. 6G and 6H described below.) In one embodiment, a green rectangle in perspective is displayed to the user and the user is requested to indicate (e.g., via tapping on the green rectangle) when it lines up with the field. This information may be used by the graphics rendering engine ( e.g., in some embodiments executing on the client's mobile device) to produce a model of the stadium field. See col. 4, lines 19-39); at a second time after the first time display, on the display in association with the physical environment, a representation of the current state (In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45); and at a third time after the second time, cease to display the representation of the current state (In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45)(Switching to a different augmentation such as an advertisement), but is silent to in response to determining, at a second time after the first time, that the object is not within a field-of-view of the image sensor,
Siu teaches a technique of providing points of interest in a sidebar of the view to indicate which direction a particular object outside the field of view is located (Figure 3. Schematic (mockup) representation of the interface, including POIs in the camera view, and grouped off-screen POIs with minimum distance, direction and type in the sidebars. See figure 3 caption )( (3) The interface displays two transparent sidebars, one on each side of the camera view, that show several types of POIs, grouped by type and displaying the distance to the closest element of that type. Figure 3 shows a mockup of the interface, used for discussing and improving the prototype design in initial meetings. In this mockup, we can easily see the following information on the right sidebar: • There are two fire hydrants (yellow icon) and the closest one is 20 meters away, • There is one police station (green icon) 1 km away. • It is faster to look for this information by rotating left than right. The camera view (in the center of the image) presents the objects within the user's range of view: one fire truck (BX-11) and one hydrant, displayed in typical AR format with the nearest ones in bigger size and more detail, and less detail and size for the one that is further away. We can also see, in the top right, a button to select the layers of interest: the user may decide he is only interested in certain types of POIs (e.g. hydrants and fire trucks) and configure the interface to hide all other types of information. See page 39, left col.).
Smith and Siu teach of presenting augmented information to a user and Sui teaches that information outside the field of view can be provided to the user to in each of the side panels to indicate which direction the user should change the field of view to see the object in the panel, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Smith with the augmentation at the edge of the field of view of Siu such that the user can identify information outside of the field of view.
Regarding claim 14, Smith in view of Siu teaches The device of claim 13, wherein the object indicates the current state textually (Siu; See figure 3, left and right column distances, types direction)(Siu; Figure 3. Schematic (mockup) representation of the interface, including POIs in the camera view, and grouped off-screen POIs with minimum distance, direction and type in the sidebars. See figure 3 caption )( Siu; (3) The interface displays two transparent sidebars, one on each side of the camera view, that show several types of POIs, grouped by type and displaying the distance to the closest element of that type. Figure 3 shows a mockup of the interface, used for discussing and improving the prototype design in initial meetings. In this mockup, we can easily see the following information on the right sidebar: • There are two fire hydrants (yellow icon) and the closest one is 20 meters away, • There is one police station (green icon) 1 km away. • It is faster to look for this information by rotating left than right. The camera view (in the center of the image) presents the objects within the user's range of view: one fire truck (BX-11) and one hydrant, displayed in typical AR format with the nearest ones in bigger size and more detail, and less detail and size for the one that is further away. We can also see, in the top right, a button to select the layers of interest: the user may decide he is only interested in certain types of POIs (e.g. hydrants and fire trucks) and configure the interface to hide all other types of information. See page 39, left col.).
Regarding claim 15, Smith in view of Siu teaches The device of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are to display the representation of the current state by displaying a representation of a first state and updating the representation to display a representation of a second state (Smith; In blocks 203 and 204, the application presents various augmentations as described in detail below. These can be "always on" types of augmentations like scrimmage lines, game status, and the like, or contextual augmentations such as penalty and punt augmentations, advertisements, player stats, and the like. Some of these augmentations may be 45 visible based upon user settings. See col., 4, lines 39-45).
Regarding claim 16, Smith in view of Siu teaches The device of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further to receive a user input to activate display of the representation of the current state and display the representation of the current state further in response to receiving the user input (Smith; AR Game Enhancement Application 200 begins by requesting the user to enter seat information in block 201. This is for the purpose of capturing a user's three dimensional location within the stadium. The user's seat number is mapped to (x, y, z) coordinates within a 3D model of the stadium. Once mechanism for mapping user positions to 3D coordinate space is discussed further below. In block 202, the application calibrates itself based upon user input (such as visually panning the camera of the client device) until one or more fixed landmarks are identified. For example, the user may be asked to place a visual of the field represented by a rectangle within the camera's lens view and indicate when it is found. (See, for example, FIGS. 6G and 6H described below.) In one embodiment, a green rectangle in perspective is displayed to the user and the user is requested to indicate (e.g., via tapping on the green rectangle) when it lines up with the field. This information may be used by the graphics rendering engine ( e.g., in some embodiments executing on the client's mobile device) to produce a model of the stadium field. See col. 4, lines 19-39).
Regarding claim 17, Smith in view of Siu teaches The device of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are to cease to display the representation of the current state in response to a trigger (Turning off the display system).
Regarding claim 19, Smith in view of Siu teaches the device of claim 17, wherein the trigger includes a user input (Turning off the display system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the double patenting rejections outlined above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone or in combination is silent to the limitations “wherein the trigger includes a determination that the object is within the field-of-view of the image sensor.”, of claim 11 when read in light of the rest of the limitations of claim 11 and the claims to which claim 11 depends and thus claim 11 contains allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record alone or in combination is silent to the limitations “wherein the trigger includes a determination that the object is within the field-of-view of the image sensor. ”, of claim 18 when read in light of the rest of the limitations of claim 18 and the claims to which claim 18 depends and thus claim 18 contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS R WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611