Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding Jeram not disclosing the newly added limitations, this is not found persuasive (please see the rejection below that addresses why Jeram teaches the newly added limitations).
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 13, this too is not found persuasive because adding a sensor at the end of a rotor is well known in the art and doing so would not render Jeram’s invention unsatisfactory and would render the invention an improved one as evidenced by the motivational statement. Still further, the sensor of Ichikawa et al. is placed on the “rotor” shaft which is still part of the rotor as a whole because it is rotating with the “rotor” core and “rotor” magnets (note: this is the exact configuration that applicant presents in fig 14). That being established, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have adapted the sensor configuration of Ichikawa et al. to Jeram’s configuration since Jeram discloses a space at the end of the “rotor: shaft that would accommodate the sensor. Thus, the limitations of claim 13 are satisfied.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 23 been renumbered 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-8, 11, 12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeram et al. (WO 2018162620).
2. Jeram et al. teach:
A main body 13 for an electric motor (title) comprising:
an outer wall 15 having a substantially cylindrical outer wall portion (see figs 3 & 4) forming a rotor space d configured to at least partially receiving a rotor R;
a winding 10 at least partially attached to an outside portion 17 of the outer wall, wherein the winding at least partially forms a winding cylinder (Since the winding is wound around the rotor, figs 3-5);
a laminated core 8 and 12 (figs 3-5) held by the outer wall; and
a bearing L located within the winding cylinder (fig 4), wherein a shaft W of the rotor is receivable in the bearing (fig 4) , wherein the bearing is received in an inner wall that adjoins a dividing wall attached to an end of the substantially cylindrical outer wall portion, and wherein the inner wall extends axially beyond the substantially cylindrical outer wall portion into the winding cylinder.
3. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 2, wherein a portion of the winding extends past the substantially cylindrical outer wall portion and wherein the bearing is located within the winding cylinder that extends past the substantially cylindrical outer wall portion (see figs 3 & 4).
4. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 2, wherein the laminated core includes a plurality of teeth 8 for receiving the winding (fig 5), wherein the plurality of teeth project to/toward the outside from the outer wall (figs 3-5).
5. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 2, further comprising a dividing wall 16 attached to an end of the substantially cylindrical outer wall portion (fig 4), wherein the dividing wall has an opening configured to receive a shaft of the rotor (fig 4).
6. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 5, wherein the bearing is received in the dividing wall (fig 4).
7. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 5, wherein the opening in the dividing wall has a non-round cross section (it is a rectangular cross-section, fig 4).
8. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 5, further comprising at least two webs 27 arranged on the dividing wall and configured to support a printed circuit board 25 or other components of the electric motor (fig 6).
11. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 2, wherein the laminated core is overmolded with a material of the outer wall (since the outer wall is injection molded).
12. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 2, wherein a receiving space 44 is formed by way of a peripheral depression (notch 44 is a depression, fig 4) between the outer wall and an inner wall 23, and wherein the receiving space receives one or more connector wires 39 for interconnection of the winding.
21. Jeram et al. teach:
A main body 13 for an electric motor (title) comprising:
an outer wall 15 having a substantially cylindrical outer wall portion forming a rotor space d configured to at least partially receiving a rotor R;
a winding 10 at least partially attached to an outside portion of the outer wall; and
a laminated core 8 and 12 (figs 3-5) held by the outer wall, wherein the laminated core is overmolded with a material of the outer wall (since the outer wall is injection molded) ;
a dividing wall (annotated fig above) attached to an end of the substantially cylindrical outer wall portion (annotated fig above);
a bearing (annotated fig above) located within a winding cylinder (annotated fig above) formed by the winding; and an inner wall (annotated fig above) that adjoins the dividing wall (annotated fig above), wherein the inner wall receives the bearing and extends axially beyond the substantially cylindrical outer wall portion (annotated fig above) into the winding cylinder (annotated fig above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeram et al. in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 20160285331).
9. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 5, further comprising an axial extension (of Jeram et al., annotated fig 4 below) configured to receive a position transmitter (of Ichikawa et al.) attached to the rotor, wherein the axial extension (of Jeram et al., annotated fig 4 below) is provided on a side of the dividing wall (of Jeram et al., annotated fig 4 below) facing away from the rotor space (of Jeram et al., annotated fig 4 below), and wherein the axial extension (of Jeram et al., annotated fig 4 below) and the dividing wall (of Jeram et al., annotated fig 4 below) at least partially isolate the position transmitter (of Ichikawa et al.) from the exterior of the main body (of Jeram et al., annotated fig 4 below).
10. Jeram et al. teach:
The main body of claim 9, further comprising a rotor R received in the rotor space, wherein an end of the rotor extends into the axial extension (annotated fig 4 below); but does not teach that the position transmitter is attached to the end of the rotor.
Ichikawa et al. teach that a position transmitter 28 attached to the end of the rotor 36a so as to provide better control of the rotor which improves the reliability of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify the invention of Jeram et al. with a position transmitter attached to the end of the rotor, as taught by Ichikawa et al. so as to improve the reliability of the motor.
13. Jeram et al. teach:
An electric motor (title) comprising:
a rotor R having an end (fig 4);
a winding 10; and
a main body 13 comprising:
a substantially cylindrical outer wall 15 forming a rotor space d, wherein the rotor is at least partially received in the rotor space (fig 4), and wherein the winding is at least partially attached to an outside of the substantially cylindrical outer wall (fig 5);
a laminated core 8 & 12 held by the outer wall;
a dividing wall 16, wherein the dividing wall at least partially seals the rotor space (fig 4);
an axial extension (annotated fig 4 below) provided on a side of the dividing wall facing away from the rotor space, wherein the end of the rotor is received in the axial extension; and
a closure wall (annotated fig 4 below); but does not teach i) a position transmitter attached to the end of the rotor; and ii) wherein the closure wall encapsulates the position transmitter.
Ichikawa et al. teach that i) a position transmitter 28 attached to the end of the rotor 36a; and ii) wherein the closure wall (of Jeram et al.) encapsulates the position transmitter (of Ichikawa et al.) so as to provide better control of the rotor which improves the reliability of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify the invention of Jeram et al. with i) a position transmitter attached to the end of the rotor; and ii) wherein the closure wall encapsulates the position transmitter, as taught by Ichikawa et al. so as to improve the reliability of the motor.
14. Jeram et al. in view of Ichikawa et al. teach:
The electric motor of claim 13, further comprising a sensor 16 (of Ichikawa et al.) configured to interact with the position transmitter to sense the position of the rotor.
15. Jeram et al. in view of Ichikawa et al. teach:
The electric motor of claim 14, further comprising a space (of Jeram et al.) isolated from the exterior of the electric motor (of Jeram et al.), wherein the sensor (of Ichikawa et al.) is located in the space.
16. Jeram et al. teach:
The electric motor of claim 13, wherein the winding at least partially forms a winding cylinder, and further comprising a bearing L located within the winding cylinder, wherein a shaft W of the rotor is received in the bearing and rotates by way of the bearing.
17. Jeram et al. teach:
The electric motor of claim 16, wherein a portion of the winding (see figs 3-5) extends past a substantially cylindrical portion of the outer wall and wherein the bearing is located within the winding cylinder (see figs 3-5) that extends past the substantially cylindrical portion of the outer wall (see figs 3-5).
18. Jeram et al. teach:
The electric motor of claim 13, wherein the laminated core is overmolded with a material of the outer wall (since the outer wall is injection molded).
19. Jeram et al. teach:
The electric motor of claim 13, further comprising a receiving space 44 formed by way of a peripheral depression (notch 44 is a depression, fig 4) between the outer wall and an inner wall 23, and wherein the receiving space receives one or more connector wires 39 for interconnection of the winding.
20. Jeram et al. teach:
The electric motor of claim 13, further comprising at least two webs 27 arranged on the dividing wall and configured to support a printed circuit board 25 or other components of the electric motor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834