Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 17-23, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2023/081552 A1)(see IDS) in view of EL-Keyi et al (US 2023/0163820)
With regards to claims 1 and 29, Chou et al an apparatus for wireless (see figs. 17 and 18) communication at a network node (method claim 29), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories ([0249] and fig. 20, the apparatus 2000 can be used to implement functions of UEs or BSs in various embodiments and examples described herein. The apparatus 2000 can include a general purpose processor or specially designed circuits to implement various functions, components, or processes described herein in various embodiments. The apparatus 2000 can include processing circuitry 2010, a memory 2020, and a radio frequency (RF) module 2030), the one or more processors configured individually or collectively to cause the network node (see [0104], the network 1003 (e.g., a gNB) can configure at least three SRS resources for panel selection and beam measurement) to:
receive one or more uplink reference signals (see [0004], An SRS transmission can be performed using the N SRS resources from the N antenna groups,) that are associated with a plurality of antennas at a user equipment (UE) ([0004], The UE has N antenna groups.); and
transmit an indication of a network-node-based uplink antenna selection for the UE ([0004], A downlink control information (DCI) can be received from the base station. The DCI corresponds to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The DCI indicates two SRIs associated with two of the N SRS resources. The DCI indicates two transmission precoder matrix indicators (TPMIs). The PUSCH can be transmitted using two antenna groups of the N antenna groups corresponding to the two SRIs indicated in the DCI and two precoders corresponding to the two TPMIs indicated in the DCI),
the network-node-based uplink antenna selection being based at least in part on the one or more uplink reference signals ([0004], A downlink control information (DCI) can be received from the base station. The DCI corresponds to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The DCI indicates two SRIs associated with two of the N SRS resources. The DCI indicates two transmission precoder matrix indicators (TPMIs). The PUSCH can be transmitted using two antenna groups of the N antenna groups corresponding to the two SRIs indicated in the DCI and two precoders corresponding to the two TPMIs indicated in the DCI).
Chou et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for the network-node-based uplink antenna selection being linked to specific precoding assigned to a future uplink transmission
However, EL-Keyi et al discloses a network node is configured to: cause transmission of signaling of uplink grants indicating a first exploration set of precoders for a first plurality of uplink transmissions where each precoder of the first exploration set of precoders is associated with an uplink transmission of the first plurality of uplink transmissions (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chou et al’s method and include EL-Keyi et al’s specific precoding assigned to a future uplink transmission technique. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve different aspects of wireless communication for the next-generation wireless communication system, such as the fifth-generation (5G) New Radio (NR), by improving network node and system for codebook-based precoder selection (see EL-Keyi et al’s [0006] MPEP 2143, Rationale C.
With regards to claim 17 and 30, the combination of Chou et al’s and EL-Keyi et al’s discloses an apparatus and (method claim 30) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), ( see figs. 17 and 18) comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors ( See Chou et al [0249] and fig. 20, the apparatus 2000 can be used to implement functions of UEs or BSs in various embodiments and examples described herein. The apparatus 2000 can include a general purpose processor or specially designed circuits to implement various functions, components, or processes described herein in various embodiments. The apparatus 2000 can include processing circuitry 2010, a memory 2020, and a radio frequency (RF) module 2030) configured individually or collectively to cause the UE to:
transmit (see fig. 19, step s1920) one or more uplink reference signals that are based at least in part on a plurality of antennas at the UE; ([0004], A downlink control information (DCI) can be received from the base station. The DCI corresponds to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The DCI indicates two SRIs associated with two of the N SRS resources. The DCI indicates two transmission precoder matrix indicators (TPMIs). The PUSCH can be transmitted using two antenna groups of the N antenna groups corresponding to the two SRIs indicated in the DCI and two precoders corresponding to the two TPMIs indicated in the DCI),
receive (step S1930) an indication of a network-node-based uplink antenna selection for the UE, the network-node-based uplink antenna selection being linked to specific precoding assigned to a future uplink transmission and being based at least in part on the one or more uplink reference signals; (see [0004], An SRS transmission can be performed using the N SRS resources from the N antenna groups,)
and transmit (step s1940) the future uplink transmission using the specific precoding, the network-node-based uplink antenna selection, and the uplink grant ([0004], A downlink control information (DCI) can be received from the base station. The DCI corresponds to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The DCI indicates two SRIs associated with two of the N SRS resources. The DCI indicates two transmission precoder matrix indicators (TPMIs). The PUSCH can be transmitted using two antenna groups of the N antenna groups corresponding to the two SRIs indicated in the DCI and two precoders corresponding to the two TPMIs indicated in the DCI).
Chou et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for receive an uplink grant that is assigned to the UE for the future uplink transmission and indicates the specific precoding;
However, EL-Keyi et al discloses a network node is configured to: cause transmission of signaling of uplink grants indicating a first exploration set of precoders for a first plurality of uplink transmissions where each precoder of the first exploration set of precoders is associated with an uplink transmission of the first plurality of uplink transmissions (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chou et al’s method and include EL-Keyi et al’s specific precoding assigned to a future uplink transmission technique. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve different aspects of wireless communication for the next-generation wireless communication system, such as the fifth-generation (5G) New Radio (NR), by improving network node and system for codebook-based precoder selection (see EL-Keyi et al’s [0006] MPEP 2143, Rationale C.
With regards to claims 2 and 18, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to transmit the indication of the network-node-based uplink antenna selection, are configured to cause the network node to: transmit the indication of the network-node-based uplink antenna selection in downlink control information (DCI) (see [0004], A downlink control information (DCI) can be received from the base station. The DCI corresponds to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). The DCI indicates two SRIs associated with two of the N SRS resources. The DCI indicates two transmission precoder matrix indicators (TPMIs). The PUSCH can be transmitted using two antenna groups of the N antenna groups corresponding to the two SRIs indicated in the DCI and two precoders corresponding to the two TPMIs indicated in the DCI.
With regards to claims 3 and 19, The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the DCI is an uplink grant DCI that indicates an uplink grant for the future uplink transmission, and wherein the uplink grant DCI indicates, in addition to the network-node-based uplink antenna selection, a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) to use for the future uplink transmission(see Chou et al [0009], the first DCI scheduling a PUSCH, the first DCI indicating N TPMIs corresponding to the N antenna groups,) and in [0070], The network informs the device about the selected rank and precoder matrix in an uplink scheduling grant.
With regards to claim 4, The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: compute a joint optimization between one or more potential antenna selections and a precoding matrix to determine the network-node-based uplink antenna selection (see Chou et al [0187], In a first option (Option 1), the gNB selects the best two panels with the highest RSRPs or SINRs in stage 1. As shown in Option 1 of FIG. 16B, the gNB configures two SRS resource sets corresponding to the selected panels for CSI acquisition (Usage=Non-codebook). For each resource set, three SRS resources are configured for UL SRS beam sweep. The UE 1601 can use Panel 1 to transmit SRS#0˜2 and Panel 2 to transmit SRS#3˜5, as shown in FIG. 16A. Each SRS resources can be transmitted to different directions, for example, for beam sweep, or simultaneously. The gNB can measure the SRS#0˜5 to select two SRIs by maximizing capacity metric or SRS-RSRPs for UL transmission.
With regards to claims 5 and 20, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to transmit the indication of the network-node-based uplink antenna selection, are configured to cause the network node to: transmit the indication of the network-node-based uplink antenna selection in at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see [0087], The network can indicate selected panels to the UE for uplink transmission of scheduled PUSCH based on RRC configuration, MAC CE command, and/or DCI indication).
With regards to claims 6 and 21, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the network-node-based uplink antenna selection indicates a plurality of antenna selections, and wherein the network-node-based uplink antenna selection indicates a respective rank for each antenna selection of the plurality of antenna selections (see Chou et al [0070], [0070] The network informs the device about the selected rank and precoder matrix in an uplink scheduling grant. The device accordingly applies the precoder matrix for a scheduled PUSCH transmission, mapping the indicated number of layers to respective SRS antenna ports.
With regards to claim 7, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: compute the network-node-based uplink antenna selection based at least in part on non-coherent codebook usage (see Chou et al [0071], Different candidate precoder matrices are available depending on the antenna-port coherence property of the two antenna ports. Also see fig. 7 discloses codebook for coherent transmission and for non-coherent transmission.
With regards to claim 8, The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to compute the network-node-based uplink antenna selection, are configured to cause the network node to: optimize a signal strength metric, or optimize a balance between the signal strength metric and an antenna correlation that satisfies a low correlation threshold. (see [0187], In a first option (Option 1), the gNB selects the best two panels with the highest RSRPs or SINRs in stage 1. As shown in Option 1 of FIG. 16B, the gNB configures two SRS resource sets corresponding to the selected panels for CSI acquisition (Usage=Non-codebook). For each resource set, three SRS resources are configured for UL SRS beam sweep. The UE 1601 can use Panel 1 to transmit SRS#0˜2 and Panel 2 to transmit SRS#3˜5, as shown in FIG. 16A. Each SRS resources can be transmitted to different directions, for example, for beam sweep, or simultaneously. The gNB can measure the SRS#0˜5 to select two SRIs by maximizing capacity metric or SRS-RSRPs for UL transmission.
With regards to claims 9 and 22, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the network-node-based uplink antenna selection indicates a plurality of antenna selections, and wherein the network-node-based uplink antenna selection indicates a respective codebook type for each antenna selection of the plurality of antenna selections (see [0071], The first codebook (the left one) corresponds to single-rank transmission, while the second codebook (the right one) corresponds to rank-2 transmission. Different candidate precoder matrices are available depending on the antenna-port coherence property of the two antenna ports.
With regards to claims 10 and 23, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication of the network-node-based uplink antenna selection is a first indication, wherein the network-node-based uplink antenna selection is a proposed uplink antenna selection, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: receive a second indication of a UE-based antenna selection; and communicate with the UE based at least in part on the UE-based antenna selection (see [0093], the UE uplink capabilities can include the number of total panels, the number of simultaneously active panels (and/or panel combination), per-panel port number, full-power/non-full-power capability, and/or coherent/non-coherent transmission capability. In an example, the UE 1004 can report the uplink capabilities as three panels 1031-1033, each panel having 2 antenna ports, and two simultaneously activated UL panels (4 ports capable of simultaneous transmission).
Claims 11, 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2023/081552 A1)(see IDS) in view of EL-Keyi et al (US 2023/0163820) as applied in claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Lin et al (US 2023/171766A1)(see IDS).
With regards to claims 11 and 24, the combination of Chou et al and EL-Keyi et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication of the network-node-based uplink antenna selection is a first indication, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: receive a second indication of a UE capability that indicates an antenna switching time delay of the UE that is associated with using the network-node-based uplink antenna selection; and receive the future uplink transmission based at least in part on the antenna switching time delay.
However, Lin et al discloses in [0064], The UE 202 may be equipped with certain capabilities (e.g., fast panel switching) to carry out the NW instruction(s) carried in the DCI signaling if the UE 202 supports using the different TPMIs for different PUSCH repetitions. For example, the UE 202 may use panel #0/SRI #0 and TPMI #0 to perform PUSCH repetitions #0, #2 and #4, and use panel #1/SRI #1 and TPMI #1 to perform PUSCH repetitions #1, #3 and #5. In such a case, panel switching may be performed in each time slot (e.g., slot #0, #1, #2, #3, #4 or #5). Also in [0076], [0076] To execute the instruction, the UE may switch the panel from one to another in different slots that are indicated for PUSCH transmission. The panel switching may be fast panel switching described previously since the transmissions in two neighboring slots may be applied with different panels. The UE may inform the gNB whether it could support multi-TPMIs and SRIs (or panel indications) for PUSCH repetition in multi-TRP operations via explicit signaling or other implicit ways.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chou et al’s method and include Lin et al’s antenna switching time delay technique. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve different aspects of wireless communication for the next-generation wireless communication system, such as the fifth-generation (5G) New Radio (NR), by improving data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility (see Lin et al [0003] MPEP 2143, Rationale C.
With regards to claim 12, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the future uplink transmission based at least in part on the antenna switching time delay, are configured to cause the network node to: receive the future uplink transmission after expiration of the antenna switching time delay ( see Lin et al .[0075] [0075] For PUSCH enhancement in multi-TRP operations, there may be only one of the panel(s) on the UE to be activated for transmission at a time. The UE may need to support panel switching in order to handle the instruction from the gNB. For example, the gNB may request the UE to perform PUSCH repetition(s) in a set of (time) slots with UL resources, where the PUSCH repetition transmitted in each time slot may be transmitted via different panels of the UE. The panels of the UE may correspond to different TRPs. The set of slots may include multiple time slots that are continuous in the time domain. As illustrated in FIG. 2, 3 or 4, slots #0 to #5 are arranged one after another in the time domain and therefore considered continuous in the time domain. In another example, the set of slots may include one or more slots that are not continuous in the time domain.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 and 25-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior arts cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit a third indication of an uplink grant for the future uplink transmission, the uplink grant being based at least in part on the antenna switching time delay as recited in claims 13 and also the different limitations recited in claims objected above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aldana )US 2008/0014892) discloses a method and system for an antenna selection algorithm at the transmitter
/HELENE E TAYONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 February 21, 2026