DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 14-15, and 17 are rejected
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13, 16, 18-23 are objected to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US PUB 20120155572, hereinafter Kim) in view of Park (KR 950003653, hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses an audio signal transmission device (see at least the abstract), comprising: an analog-to-digital conversion element configured to convert the signal into a digital signal (e.g. an ADC 940 converts a received audio input signal into a digital signal), (see, figure 9); a serializer element configured to serialize the digital signal so as to output at least one serialized digital signal (e.g. a SERDES module 902 performs the function of a serializer), (see Kim, figure 9); and an optical interface transmission device (e.g. optical interface 901) configured to convert the at least one serialized digital signal into at least one optical signal (see Kim, [0093]-[0095], and figure 9).
Kim does not explicitly disclose: a low-noise buffer element configured to receive an audio signal and generate a low-noise buffer signal.
However, Park in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a low noise buffer element (e.g. a buffer amplifier 26) configured to receive an audio signal (e.g. from an audio input terminal D) and generate a low-noise buffer signal (see at least the abstract and figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a low noise buffer element as taught by Park in the teachings of Kim in order to effectively stabilize and boost the audio input signal , and thereby further improving the overall quality and efficiency of the device.
Regarding Claim 6, Kim as modified by Park discloses the audio signal transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the analog-to-digital conversion element comprises a multichannel analog-to-digital converter (e.g. multi-channel ADC 940),(see Kim, [0096] and figure 9).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim as modified by Park discloses an audio signal reception device (e.g. a receiver 965) in cooperation with the audio signal transmission devices according to claim 1 (see figure 9), wherein the audio signal reception device comprises: an optical interface reception device (e.g. optical interface 901 is for both signal transmit and receive) configured to receive and convert one of the at least one optical signal and output an electrical signal (see figure 9); and a deserializer element (e.g. SERDED 902) configured to deserialize the electrical signal and output a deserialized digital signal (see Kim, [0093] and figure 9).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses an audio signal transmission device method (e.g. using device of figure 9), (see at least the abstract), comprising: receiving an audio signal (e.g. an input audio signal), (see, figure 9); converting the low-noise buffer signal into a digital signal by an analog-to-digital conversion element (e.g. an ADC 940 converts a received audio input signal into a digital signal), (see, figure 9); serializing the digital signal so as to output at least one serialized digital signal by a serializer (e.g. a SERDES module 902 performs the function of a serializer), (see Kim, figure 9); and converting the at least one serialized digital signal into at least one optical signal by an optical interface transmission device (e.g. an optical interface 901), (see Kim, [0093]-[0095], and figure 9).
Kim does not explicitly disclose: a low-noise buffer element configured to receive an audio signal and generate a low-noise buffer signal.
However, Park in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a low noise buffer element (e.g. a buffer amplifier 26) configured to receive an audio signal (e.g. from an audio input terminal D) and generate a low-noise buffer signal (see at least the abstract and figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a low noise buffer element as taught by Park in the teachings of Kim in order to effectively stabilize and boost the audio input signal , and thereby further improving the overall quality and efficiency of the device.
Regarding Claim 14, Kim as modified by Park discloses the audio signal transmission method according to claim 9, wherein the analog-to-digital conversion element comprises a multichannel analog-to-digital converter (e.g. multi-channel ADC 940),(see Kim, [0096] and figure 9).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim as modified by Park discloses an audio signal reception method (e.g. using a receiver 965) in cooperation with the audio signal transmission method according to claim 9 (see figure 9), wherein the audio signal reception method comprises: receiving and converting one of the at least one optical signal and outputting an electrical signal by an optical interface reception device (e.g. an optical interface 901 is for both signal transmit and receive), (see figure 9); and deserializing the electrical signal and outputting a deserialized digital signal by a deserializer element (e.g. SERDED 902) (see Kim, [0093] and figure 9).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silfvast et al (US PAT 11234078, hereinafter Silfvast) in view of Park.
Regarding Claim 17, Silfvast discloses a speaker system (e.g. a speaker 68), (see figure 2), comprising: an audio signal transmission device (e.g. system 43) at least one optical fiber device (e.g. optical fiber receiver), and at least one audio signal reception device (e.g. an audio receiver 12), (see figure 2), wherein, the audio signal transmission device comprises: an analog-to-digital conversion element configured to convert the signal into a digital signal (e.g. a PCM 50 performs the function of an ADC), (see figure 2); a serializer element configured to serialize the digital signal so as to output at least one serialized digital signal (e.g. PCM 50 also performs the function of a serializer to generate series samples 52), (see figure 2); and an optical interface transmission device (e.g. optical interface transmitter 14) configured to convert the at least one serialized digital signal into at least one optical signal and transmit the at least one optical signal to the at least one optical fiber device; the at least one audio signal reception device comprises: an optical interface reception device (e.g. optical interface receiver 18) configured to receive from the at least one fiber optical device and convert one of the at least one optical signal so as to output an electrical signal (e.g. oversample 56) and a deserializer element (e.g. a conditioning circuit 93), (see figure 6), configured to deserialize the electrical signal and output a deserialized digital signal (e.g. condoning circuit 93 generate a recovered audio signal), (see Silfvast, column 8, lines 29-65; column 9 lines 9-54; column 18, line 56 to column 19 line 46, also figures 2 and 6).
Silfvast does not explicitly disclose: a low-noise buffer element configured to receive an audio signal and generate a low-noise buffer signal.
However, Park in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a low noise buffer element (e.g. a buffer amplifier 26) configured to receive an audio signal (e.g. from an audio input terminal D) and generate a low-noise buffer signal (see at least the abstract and figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a low noise buffer element as taught by Park in the teachings of Silfvast in order to effectively stabilize and boost the audio input signal , and thereby further improving the overall quality and efficiency of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13, 16, 18-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record provided on PTO 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695.