DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 17 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14-20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation that the processor “optionally corrects for desiccant temperature.” It is not clear if this is part of the claim or not since the term “optionally” does not require the limitation to be taught. For the purpose of examination, it will be considered a non-limiting feature.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the concentration control as being based on input from the temperature sensor, however no such sensor has been disclosed. It is unclear if the claim should read “a temperature sensor” or if it should depend from claim 4 which previously discloses the temperature sensor.
All claims which depend from those above are rejected for the same reasons due to their dependency thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongar US 2015/0292754, Rosenblum et al. US 2019/0154281 and Vandermeulen et al. US 2014/0245769.
Regarding claim 1, Mongar teaches a system for determining a liquid desiccant concentration in a liquid desiccant air conditioning system (LDAC) comprising,
an LDAC comprising a basin 30 containing:
a level sensor 28 operationally coupled to the level tank to determine a height of the liquid desiccant contained in the level tank (paragraph 0040 discloses level sensor 28 as operating like a toilet float valve which would detect a low level);
a pressure sensor 35 operationally coupled to the basin of the LDAC, wherein the basin has a known geometry (the basin would be a predetermined shape);
a concentration processor operationally coupled to the level sensor and the pressure sensor wherein the concentration processor calculates a concentration of the liquid desiccant in the basin (paragraph 0058) based on the height of the liquid desiccant. It is noted that the limitation of optionally correcting for desiccant temperature, wherein the concentration processor outputs the concentration of the liquid desiccant in the basin is deemed to be an optional limitation which is not required by the claimed invention and therefore need not be taught by the prior art. Mongar does not explicitly teach the desiccant in a level tank which contains the level sensor and the pressure sensor determining a mass of the desiccant.
Vandermeulen teaches a desiccant air conditioning system in which a reservoir 805 is connected to an LDAC system for storage of a liquid desiccant and delivery to the LDAC system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Vandermeulen with those of Mongar in order to provide a separate tank for monitoring of the level and other features of the liquid desiccant as it would allow for the level and concentration to be determined for all of the modules in the system simultaneously. In combination, the level tank would have a length, width and height, and the liquid desiccant contained in the level tank would have a top.
Rosenbaum discloses a system for monitoring a desiccant level in an air conditioning system in which a desiccant concentration is determined by using a weight and tank level (paragraph 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Rosenbaum with those of Mongar and Vandermeulen in order to provide a more accurate concentration measuring system comprising a level sensor and a weight sensor.
Regarding claim 3, the pressure sensor of Rosenbaum is a transducer as claimed since it detects a pressure and uses it to calculate the specific gravity of the desiccant.
Regarding claim 5, paragraph 0058 of Mongar discloses a desiccant concentration controller coupled to the processor as claimed.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the system of Mongar would operate in the claimed manner to adjust the concentrations as described in paragraphs 0058-0059.
Regarding claim 9, the pressure sensor 35 of Mongar is coupled to the side of the basin as it would operate as a float which would need to be anchored to the basin and therefore coupled to it. The volume in the basin is adjusted by a height of the pressure sensor as the desiccant (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 10, the pressure sensor of Mongar is coupled to the bottom of the basin via the wall section.
Regarding claim 11, in combination with Rosenbaum and Mongar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have placed the sensors in the level tank of Vandermeulen, including the pressure sensor which would be connected to the basin via a conduit therebetween.
Regarding claim 12, Mongar teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the pressure sensor as being a mass transducer or a load cell. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used any commonly known pressure sensor such as a mass transducer or load cell to determine the mass of the desiccant, since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)
Regarding claim 13, the level sensor of Mongar is described as a float sensor as claimed (paragraph 0040).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongar, Rosenblum and Vandermeulen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Forkosh US 2009/0277264.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art combination above teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the level sensor being an ultrasonic level sensor as claimed. Forkosh teaches a system including a container 14 comprising a liquid desiccant 60 with an ultrasonic level monitoring system (paragraph 0022) for monitoring the level therein (paragraph 0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Forkosh with those of Mongar, Rosenblum and Vandermeulen in order to provide a non-contact sensing system for determining the desiccant level without the need to contact the fluid or interior of the tank.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongar, Rosenblum and Vandermeulen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chao US 2017/0198960.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art applied to claim 1 fails to teach the specifics of a temperature sensor coupled to the basin to determine the temperature of the liquid desiccant solution contained in the basin wherein the temperature sensor is selected from the group of a thermocouple, thermistor, resistance temperature detector or combination thereof. Chao teaches a temperature-controlled cooling unit which includes a desiccant section and a temperature sensor in the form of thermocouple (paragraph 0052) which can measure a temperature in the system including the desiccant (paragraph 0071). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Chao in order to provide temperature sensing for the desiccant to ensure the system is operating at the correct temperatures.
Regarding claim 8, paragraphs 0058-0059 of Mongar teach the determination and control of the concentration of desiccant based on sensor inputs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included the teachings of Chou with regard to the temperature sensing since a change in temperature could affect the volume of the desiccant and therefore the concentration if not accounted for.
Conclusion
/MARK A SHABMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855