DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the image sensor” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hendriks (US 20090185281).
Regarding claim 1, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) an imaging device comprising: an image sensor (60; section 0050); a plurality of lenses (22, 40) disposed within a housing (204) and positioned along an optical axis of the imaging device (section 0048), including: a rear fixed focus lens group (20) positioned in front of the image sensor; a first liquid lens (22) having a first lens diameter and positioned in front of the image sensor and the rear fixed focus lens group, wherein the first liquid lens provides a clear aperture of the imaging device; a second liquid lens (40) having a second lens diameter and positioned in front of the first liquid lens; and a front fixed focus lens group (52, 54) positioned in front of the second liquid lens, wherein the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens are positioned such that a ray bundle diameter with which a ray bundle is incident on at least one of the first liquid lens or the second liquid lens is less than the respective lens diameter (Figs. 1, 5a-5b).
Regarding claim 2, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the first liquid lens (22) and the second liquid lens (40) are positioned such that the ray bundle diameter incident on the first liquid lens (22) is less than the first lens diameter and the ray bundle diameter incident on the second liquid lens (40) is less than the second lens diameter.
Regarding claim 3, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the second liquid lens (40) provides a second clear aperture of the imaging device (Figs. 2, 5a-5b).
Regarding claim 17, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) a lens assembly for an imaging device, the lens assembly comprising: a lens housing (204) configured to engage with the imaging device (section 0048); a plurality of lenses (22, 40) disposed within the lens housing and positioned along an optical axis, including: a rear fixed focus lens group (20) positioned in front of the image sensor (60; section 0050); a first liquid lens (22) having a first lens diameter and positioned in front of the image sensor and the rear fixed focus lens group (20), wherein the first liquid lens provides a clear aperture of the imaging device; a second liquid lens (40) having a second lens diameter and positioned in front of the first liquid lens; and a front fixed focus lens group (52, 54) positioned in front of the second liquid lens, wherein the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens are positioned such that a ray bundle diameter which is incident on the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens is less than the first lens diameter and the second lens diameter, respectively (Figs. 1, 5a-5b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendriks.
Regarding claim 4, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the ray bundle diameter is less than or equal to 3 millimeters.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular diameter, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the ray bundle diameter is 50% or less of the respective lens diameter.
Hendricks discloses (Figs. 1, 5a-5b) the ray bundle diameter is less of the respective lens diameter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular diameter, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the ray bundle diameter is 50% or less of the respective lens diameter.
Hendricks discloses (Figs. 1, 5a-5b) the ray bundle diameter is less of the respective lens diameter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular diameter, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 6-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendricks in view of Kaminski et al. (US 20200319380).
Regarding claim 6, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose a temperature sensor disposed within the housing and in proximity to at least one of the first liquid lens or the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) a temperature sensor (32) disposed within the housing and in proximity to at least one of the first liquid lens (10) or the second liquid lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to measure a temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 7, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the temperature sensor is disposed within the first liquid lens or the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) the temperature sensor (32) is disposed within the first liquid lens (10) or the second liquid lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to measure a temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 8, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose an active heating element disposed within the housing and in proximity to at least one of the first liquid lens or the second liquid lens, wherein the active heating element is configured to apply heat to both the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) an active heating element (34) disposed within the housing and in proximity to at least one of the first liquid lens (10) or the second liquid lens, wherein the active heating element is configured to apply heat to both the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens (sections 0058, 0141-0144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control the temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 9, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the active heating element comprises a first active heating element disposed within the first liquid lens, and a second active heating element disposed within the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) the active heating element comprises a first active heating element (34) disposed within the first liquid lens (10), and a second active heating element (34) disposed within the second liquid lens (10) (sections 0141-0144; “a second lens”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control the temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 10, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the active heating element comprises a thermal pad in contact with the at least one of the first liquid lens or the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) the active heating element (34) comprises a thermal pad in contact with the at least one of the first liquid lens (10) or the second liquid lens (section 0058). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control the temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 11, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose a controller in communication with the temperature sensor and the active heating element, the controller configured to: receive a temperature measurement from the temperature sensor; and based on the temperature measurement, generate a control signal to modify an operation of the active heating element.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) a controller (315) in communication with the temperature sensor (32, 313, 317) and the active heating element (34), the controller configured to: receive a temperature measurement from the temperature sensor; and based on the temperature measurement, generate a control signal to modify an operation of the active heating element (sections 0057-0058, 0141-0144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control and adjust the temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 12, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the control signal is an electrical current applied to the active heating element.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) the control signal is an electrical current applied to the active heating element (34) (sections 0058, 0141-0144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control and adjust the temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 13, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the controller is further configured to generate the control signal to maintain a minimum predetermined temperature, based on the temperature measurement.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) the controller (315) is further configured to generate the control signal to maintain a minimum predetermined temperature, based on the temperature measurement (sections 0057-0058, 0141-0144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control and adjust the temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 14, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the minimum predetermined temperature corresponds to a target response time of the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) the minimum predetermined temperature corresponds to a target response time of the first liquid lens (10) and the second liquid lens (10) (sections 0057-0058, 0141-0144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control and adjust the temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 15, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the minimum predetermined temperature is 40 degrees Celsius.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular temperature, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose a temperature sensor disposed within the lens housing, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to detect a temperature of at least one of the first liquid lens or the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) a temperature sensor (32) disposed within the lens housing, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to detect a temperature of at least one of the first liquid lens (10) or the second liquid lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to measure a temperature in the liquid lens.
Regarding claim 20, Hendricks does not necessarily disclose an active heating element disposed within the lens housing, wherein the active heating element is configured to apply heat to both the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens.
Kaminski discloses (Figs. 1A-27) an active heating element (34) disposed within the lens housing, wherein the active heating element is configured to apply heat to both the first liquid lens (10) and the second liquid lens (10) (sections 0058, 0141-0144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kaminski to control the temperature in the liquid lens.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendriks in view of Helwegen et al. (US 20090009881).
Regarding claim 16, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) a controller in communication with the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens (sections 0022, 0049).
Hendricks does not necessarily disclose the controller is configured to: control focal length settings for the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens; restrain the first liquid and the second liquid lens to focal length settings such that the F # of the imaging device is constant independent of a zoom level, or the F # is changed with respect to the zoom level; and simultaneously adjust the zoom level and focus.
Helwegen discloses (Figs. 1-8c) the controller (9, 49) is configured to: control focal length settings for the first liquid lens (1, 41) and the second liquid lens (2, 42); restrain the first liquid and the second liquid lens to focal length settings such that the F # of the imaging device is constant independent of a zoom level, or the F # is changed with respect to the zoom level; and simultaneously adjust the zoom level and focus (sections 0008, 0042, 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Helwegen to obtain a predetermined focusing level for any given object distance for any given zoom level.
Conclusion
/CHARLES S CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871