DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 4, lines 1-2, the language, “a first arm is already to a feeder” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajola et al (7,039,437).
Regarding claim 1, Kajola et al disclose a tunable helical antenna 10 (abstract) comprising: at least one arm (fig2), wherein each arm has at least one turn, a substrate 5 having a width, a length, a thickness, an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein the at least one arm is located on the upper surface, on the lower surface, or on both the upper surface and the lower surface (fig2).
Regarding claim 6, Kajola et al disclose a tunable helical antenna 10 (abstract) comprising: at least one arm (fig2), wherein each arm has at least one turn, a substrate 5 having a width, a length, a thickness, an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein the at least one arm is located in at least part of the upper surface, in at least part of the lower surface, or in at least part of both the upper surface and the lower surface (fig2).
Kajola et al also disclose the antenna is a meandered antenna (abstract) , wherein the antenna is rendered tunable by exerting control over at least one parameter, and wherein the at least one parameter includes inductance, capacitance, connectivity of the antenna, and structure design (fig5, col5, lines 13-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kajola et al in view of Baumann (6,137,996).
Kajola et al had been discussed but fail to teach a first arm is already to a feeder each of an additional arm has an added diode in series to control the addition of the additional arms to an antenna structure. However, Baumann teaches a diode connected to antenna arms in series. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Kajola et al with a first arm is already to a feeder each of an additional arm has an added diode in series to control the addition of the additional arms to an antenna structure for the purpose of enabling the antenna to operate in multiple discrete frequency bands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The patents to Zhang, Zachara, Chau and Olesen are cited as of interested and illustrated a similar structure to a tunable helical antenna.
/THO G PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845