DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 6-7, filed 3/3/2026, with respect to the obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 130 have been fully considered. The examiner notes that the applicant’s arguments are directed to newly amended limitations not previously presented. Therefore, in view of the newly amended limitations, the examiner will set forth an obviousness rejection in order to address the newly amended limitations not previously presented with newly found prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratsch; Peter Werner et al. US 20090300674 A1 (hereafter Ratsch) and in further view of Yamato, Jun-Ichi et al. US 20020104101 A1 (Yamato) and in further view of McIntire; John P. et al. US 20070250901 A1 (hereafter McIntire) and in further view of Ramachandran; Kumar et al. US 20100086283 A1 (hereafter Ramachandran).
Regarding claim 1, “a system comprising: one or more processors; and logic encoded in one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media for execution by the one or more processors and when executed operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: detecting that a media item is being presented on a media device; generating media information associated with the media item while the media item is being presented on the media device, wherein the media information comprises a description and analysis of content presented in association with the media item, and wherein the description of the content comprises a synopsis of a story of the media item; analyzing the content while the media item is being presented to a user; determining a story from the analysis of the content; analyzing plot points of the story and characters of the story; and providing the media information to a user of the media device” ” Ratsch para 82-84 and Fig. 3B disclose that after a channel has been currently selected, a media item is presented and media information related to the presented media item. See also para 65-72 enhanced content is distributed while the programing that it pertains to is broadcast such that identifying that the programming is selected for viewing, then the enhancement information is presented along with the programming content. With respect to “wherein the media information comprises a description and analysis of content presented in association with the media item” Ratsch para 81-83 teaches an enhancement information 302 is used to present the enhanced information 304 associated with a programming event occurring on a so-called "currently selected channel" and enhanced information associated with the currently selected channel is displayed in an enhancement information pop-up 302C window which is overlaid over a portion of the basic programming grid information and wherein Ratsch para 66-72 discloses displaying enhancement data which comprises description and analysis of content presented in association of the media item because dynamic program description describes persons and events occurring in the media item.
Additionally, whereas Ratsch does not use the terms “detecting” when a media item is being presented on a media device in order to generate media information as claimed. Whereas Ratsch does disclose the claimed synopsis and characters as actors, Ratsch does not reference plot points. See Ratsch para 38, 46, 64. In an analogous art, Yamato Fig. 1-2 and para 43-52 disclose a system for detecting that a terminal apparatus 50 is presenting program video content received from broadcasting station 10 in order to enable a remote server 30 to transmit information that has been linked in the content information that has been stored in server 30 and displayed according to instructions from that user that is viewing the program. See also Fig. 29 and para 53-57 disclosing a terminal apparatus for displaying media information window for displaying a program that is transmitted from broadcasting station 10 and simultaneously displaying content information linked to media information of said program and received from server 30. Yamato para 151 teaches synopsis and cast corresponding to characters.
In an analogous art, McIntire teaches analyzing media content to determine objects pertinent to viewer interests and provides supplemental content comprising actors and plots (see McIntire para 310, 338, and 419).
The prior art discloses a motivation for modifying the teachings of Ratsch and Yamato wherein Ramachandran para 67-81 teaches simultaneously displaying media information comprises a description and analysis of content presented in association with the media item because a benefit to the audience can be that the descriptive data presented with the video enhances the viewing experience. There can be at least three broad categories of value added to the audience. One category is trusted, valuable data. The descriptive data (such as "metadata". "contextual data" or "context") can come from credible sources and is relevant to the video's subject matter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ratsch’s invention for providing enhanced content to a client terminal device presenting programing associated with said enhancement content/information by further incorporating known elements of Yamoto’s invention for detecting that a user terminal apparatus is presenting program video content received from broadcasting station to enable a remote server to transmit information that has been linked in the content information stored in said server in order to be displayed according to instructions from that user that is viewing the program such that after identifying that the programming is selected for viewing, then the enhancement information is presented along with the programming content because the prior art to Ramachandran teaches simultaneously displaying media information comprises a description and analysis of content presented in association with the media item and recognizes the benefit to the audience can be that the descriptive data presented with the video enhances the viewing experience. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ratsch and Yamoto’s invention for providing enhanced content to a client terminal device presenting programing associated with said enhancement content/information by further incorporating known elements of McIntire teaches analyzing media content to determine objects pertinent to viewer interests and provides supplemental content comprising actors and plots because the prior art to Ramachandran teaches simultaneously displaying media information comprises a description and analysis of content presented in association with the media item and recognizes the benefit to the audience can be that the descriptive data presented with the video enhances the viewing experience.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein the media item is a movie or a television show” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Ratsch para 19,26 disclosing movies and shows; See also Yamato para 10, 144-147 disclosing movies.
Regarding claim 3, “wherein the media information comprises people information about people associated with a creation of the media item” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 wherein Yamato para 78-80, 256 teaches information that relates to the program, such as the actors appearing in the program.
Regarding claim 4, “wherein the media information comprises content information about content associated with the media item” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-3 wherein Yamato para 89 teaches information "a" and "e" that each relate to a person, object, or building that appears in a particular scene of the program may be, for example, the name of the maker of clothing worn by an actor, stores that carry the clothing, or the user's comments regarding the clothing; information regarding an object such as the name and manufacturer of a product, stores that carry the product, the URL of a sales site, or the user's comments regarding the product; information or comments regarding a food item (the maker or store); the name and location of a store appearing in a scene, the URL of the store's Web page, or the user's comments.
Regarding claim 5, “wherein the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising performing a search for media information based on content associated with the media item, wherein the content is currently being presented on the media device” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-4 wherein Yamato Fig. 1-2 and para 43-52 disclose a system for detecting that a terminal apparatus 50 is presenting program video content received from broadcasting station 10 in order to enable a remote server 30 search for information related to the presented program in order to transmit information that has been linked in the content information that has been stored in server 30 and displayed according to instructions from that user that is viewing the program. See also Fig. 29 disclosing a terminal apparatus for displaying media information window for displaying a program that is transmitted from broadcasting station 10 and simultaneously displaying content information linked to media information of said program and received from server 30.
Regarding claim 6, “wherein the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising displaying the media information to the user, wherein the media information is displayed based on content that is currently being presented on the media device” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-5 wherein Ratsch para 82-84 and Fig. 3B disclose that after a channel has been currently selected, a media item is presented and media information related to the presented media item. See also para 65-72 enhanced content is distributed while the programing that it pertains to is broadcast such that identifying that the programming is selected for viewing, then the enhancement information is presented along with the programming content. Yamato Fig. 1-2 and para 43-52 disclose a system for detecting that a terminal apparatus 50 is presenting program video content received from broadcasting station 10 in order to enable a remote server 30 to transmit information that has been linked in the content information that has been stored in server 30 and displayed according to instructions from that user that is viewing the program. See also Fig. 29 and para 53-57 disclosing a terminal apparatus for displaying media information window for displaying a program that is transmitted from broadcasting station 10 and simultaneously displaying content information linked to media information of said program and received from server 30.
Regarding claim 7, “wherein the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising performing an analysis of the media information while the media item is being presented to a user” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-6 wherein Yamato Fig. 1-2 and para 43-52 disclose a system for detecting that a terminal apparatus 50 is presenting program video content received from broadcasting station 10 in order to enable a remote server 30 to transmit information that has been linked in the content information that has been stored in server 30 and displayed according to instructions from that user that is viewing the program. See also Fig. 29 and para 53-57 disclosing a terminal apparatus for displaying media information window for displaying a program that is transmitted from broadcasting station 10 and simultaneously displaying content information linked to media information of said program and received from server 30.
Regarding the non-transitory computer readable media claims 8-14 and method claims 15-20 are grouped and rejected with the system claims 1-7 because the steps of the method claims are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-7 and because elements of the system are easily converted into elements of computer implemented methods by one of ordinary skill in the art.
CONCLUSION
/ALFONSO CASTRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421