DETAILED ACTION
Amendment received 16 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-23 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference character “132” has been used to designate both “computing device” as per ¶24 in Fig. 1 and “visual event bandwidth reduction” as per ¶30 in Fig. 1A; and
reference character “134” has been used to designate both “appropriate display” as per ¶24 in Fig. 1 and “priority setting” as per ¶30 in Fig. 1A.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: “195” in Fig. 1A; “215” in Fig. 2; “336” in Fig. 3; “910” in Fig. 9; “940” in Fig. 9; and “1070” in Fig. 10.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “The invention provides” is a phrase which can be implied and should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12, 18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakrzewski (US Pub. No. 2003/0215143) in view of Ebata (US Pub. No. 2019/0279478).
As per Claim 1, Zakrzewski discloses a system (112, 114, 152, 174) for automatically detecting (as per “automatic detection” in ¶39) a thermal event (as per “detect/verify the presence of a fire” in ¶40) in a commercial maritime vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304) as part of an automated visual event detection system (100) (Fig. 1; ¶40-45, 50-52, 58, 60) comprising:
at least one thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) camera (112, 114) mounted in view of (as per “used to detect and verify the presence of fire within the cargo bay 102” in ¶40) an area of interest (102) for thermal events (as per “fire condition” in ¶40) on a maritime vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304) (Fig. 1; ¶40-45, 304);
at least one processor (152; as per “CCVU 152 contains processors” in ¶60) adapted to receive thermal image data (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) over a local network (as per “signals from the camera may be provided to the cargo video control unit (CVCU) 152” in ¶50) from the at least one camera (112, 114) and generate thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) relative to the data (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) (Fig. 1; ¶50-52, 60);
a data store (as per “memory of the system” in ¶82; as per “memory units” in ¶305) associated with the processor (152) that receives thermal image data (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) from the thermal camera (112, 114) of an imaged scene (as per “in one or more of the cargo bays 102-104” in ¶81) on the vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304), the data store (as per “memory of the system” in ¶82; as per “memory units” in ¶305) providing live (as per “30 frames per second” in ¶47) thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) of the scene (as per “in one or more of the cargo bays 102-104” in ¶81) and storing reference images (as per “reference frame” in ¶84; as per “background frame” in ¶87) of the scene (as per “in one or more of the cargo bays 102-104” in ¶81) associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions (as per “no fire condition” in ¶87; as per “fire condition” in ¶89) including one or more of {average temperature, standard deviation of the temperature}, operating conditions (as per “The image compensation performed at the steps 202, 202’, 202’’ may include … compensation for … temperature variations, and compensation for fog and smoke effects” in ¶72 and “Temperature variability due to … location and altitude may be accounted for by the fire detection system in connection with use of the IR cameras … The thermal baselines may be defined in such a way that changes in ambient conditions do not cause false alarms by the system” in ¶79) of the vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304),{or time of day} (Figs. 1, 3; ¶47, 50-52, 60, 72, 79, 81-89, 305); and
a thermal event determination process (250) that periodically (as per step 284) compares one or more of a plurality of temperature measurement zones (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) that are selected from one or more of the reference image(s) (as per “reference frame” in ¶84; as per “background frame” in ¶87) of the area (102) to a set of the thermal event conditions (as per “differentiate between smoke (i.e., a fire condition) and false conditions that would cause the smoke detection control unit 174 to incorrectly indicate the presence of fire, such as when fog is present” in ¶89) including a change in average temperature (as per “average image intensity” in ¶106-109) relative to a corresponding spatially aligned (as per “edge result frame 416” in ¶104-105) temperature measurement zone (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) in one or more acquired current (as per “current frame” in ¶84) thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) image(s) (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) of the area (102) by the at least one thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) camera (112, 114), and determines therefrom whether a thermal event condition (as per “fire condition” in ¶89) is present based upon the acquired current (as per “current frame” in ¶84) thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) (Figs. 1, 3, 14-18; ¶50-52, 60, 81-89, 104-109, 305).
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose:
wherein the process compares on a per-zone basis; and
wherein the temperature measurement zones are multi-pixel.
Ebata discloses a fire monitoring system in which a monitored region (15) is provided with a camera (16) that communicates with a determination device (10) and fire receiver (14) (Fig. 1; ¶54-56). The camera (16) captures image frames with a specified pixel arrangement, in one embodiment 3840x2160 pixels in longitudinal and lateral directions (¶52). The determination device (10) is provided with a fire detector (24) and monitor device, the fire detector (24) including an image input part (28), neural network (30), and determination part (32) (Fig. 2; ¶62, 72). The fire detector (24) inputs images from the camera (16) to the image input part (28), the image having a specified pixel arrangement is divided into block images of 135 blocks, each block is inputted to the neural network (30) and outputted as a flame block estimated value (y1), a smoke block estimated value (y2) and a normal block estimated value (y3) that are compared with a predetermined threshold values for flame, smoke, and normal conditions (Fig. 2, 7; ¶63, 120-121). The monitor screen of the determination device (10) displays the distribution of fire detection blocks and smoke detection blocks indicated by specified frames over the image (Fig. 8; ¶123-125). A fire warning signal is generated by the fire detector (24) in response to a determination that the distribution of the fire detection blocks is shifted upward or expanded (Fig. 7; ¶127). In this way, the system operates to improve fire determination accuracy and prevent erroneous warning (¶31). Like Zakrzewski, Ebata is concerned with fire detection systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski and Ebata, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning. Applying the teachings of Ebata to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates:
“wherein the process compares on a per-zone basis” in that the cargo video control unit (152) of Zakrzewski would be informed by the teachings of Ebata to analyze images in the form of blocks; and
“wherein the temperature measurement zones are multi-pixel” in that the in that the cargo video control unit (152) of Zakrzewski would be informed by the teachings of Ebata to analyze images in the form of blocks having a specified number of pixels.
As per Claim 6, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Zakrzewski further discloses wherein the thermal camera (112, 114) images at least one of {a carried vehicle}, cargo (as per “containers” in ¶57), {marine engine or machinery}, and the thermal camera (112, 114) provides at least two thermal images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) of the {carried vehicle}, cargo (as per “containers” in ¶57), {marine engine or machinery}, respectively, where the images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) are acquired at two different times (as per “current” in ¶84, as per “previous” in ¶87) using the thermal camera (112, 114) from the same vantage point (as per “The cameras 112, 114 … may be mounted” in ¶43).
As per Claim 7, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Zakrzewski further discloses wherein the one or more spatially aligned (as per “edge result frame 416” in ¶104-105) temperature measurement zones (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) defined based on one or more reference image(s) (as per “reference frame” in ¶84; as per “background frame” in ¶87), optionally {including training temperature measurement zones used to configure the baseline thermal event conditions}.
As per Claim 8, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Zakrzewski further discloses a tracking process (as per 202) that spatially (as per “edge result frame 416” in ¶104-105) aligns (as per “adjusting the image for vibrations … compensation for dynamic range unbalance, and temperature compensation for the IR cameras” in ¶63) the temperature measurement zone (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) in a first of the plurality of thermal images (as per “current frame” in ¶84) to a second (as per “previous frame” in ¶87) of the plurality of thermal images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87).
As per Claim 9, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 8. Zakrzewski further discloses wherein the tracking process (as per 202) includes an alignment process that chooses from at least one of a plurality of alignment methods (as per “adjusting the image for vibrations … compensation for dynamic range unbalance, and temperature compensation for the IR cameras” in ¶63).
As per Claim 10, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 8. Zakrzewski further discloses a comparison process (as per 400) that compares the two aligned (as per “adjusting the image for vibrations … compensation for dynamic range unbalance, and temperature compensation for the IR cameras” in ¶63) temperature measurement zones (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) using a {minimum criteria for temperature} or change in temperature (as per “calculating the energy difference between each video frame and a reference frame” in ¶87) consisting of both a minimum contiguous area (as per “measuring the deviation in brightness between regions of the frames” in ¶101) and {a minimum temperature} or change in temperature (as per “calculating the energy difference between each video frame and a reference frame” in ¶87) (Figs. 1, 3, 14; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 63, 81-89, 101, 104-105, 305).
As per Claim 11, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 10. Zakrzewski further discloses a determination process that converts a result of the comparison process (as per 400) into a visual alert (as per “the signal from the smoke detection control unit 174 is one of the inputs to follow in processing so that is possible for the user to receive an indication that a fire is present even though the smoke detection control unit 174 has not detected a fire” in ¶58 and “Feature data is a description of the enhanced image reduced to various values and numbers that are used by follow on processing to determine if fire is present or not” in ¶67; as per “diagram 400 illustrates extraction of edge features used to detect fire” in ¶104) that is reported to a user (via display 162/164).
As per Claim 12, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Zakrzewski further discloses wherein the processor (152) receives visual event information (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) of compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) from images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) acquired by at least one visual camera (112, 114) of at least one of {carried vehicles}, cargo (as per “containers” in ¶57), {marine engines and machinery} and determines presence of compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) based upon predetermined characteristics (as per “frame energy increase” in ¶89) in one or more of the images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87).
As per Claim 18, Zakrzewski discloses a method (250) for automatically detecting (as per “automatic detection” in ¶39) a thermal event (as per “detect/verify the presence of a fire” in ¶40) in a commercial maritime vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304) as part of an automated visual event detection system (100) (Fig. 1; ¶40-45, 50-52, 58, 60) comprising the steps of:
providing at least one thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) camera (112, 114) that images an area of interest (102) for thermal events (as per “fire condition” in ¶40) on a maritime vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304) (Fig. 1; ¶40-45, 304);
receiving, with at least one processor (152; as per “CCVU 152 contains processors” in ¶60), thermal image data (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) over a local network (as per “signals from the camera may be provided to the cargo video control unit (CVCU) 152” in ¶50) from the at least one camera (112, 114) and generate thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) relative to the data (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) (Fig. 1; ¶50-52, 60);
receiving, at a data store (as per “memory of the system” in ¶82; as per “memory units” in ¶305) associated with the processor (152), thermal image data (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) from the thermal camera (112, 114) of an imaged scene (as per “in one or more of the cargo bays 102-104” in ¶81) on the vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304), the data store (as per “memory of the system” in ¶82; as per “memory units” in ¶305) providing live (as per “30 frames per second” in ¶47) thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) of the scene (as per “in one or more of the cargo bays 102-104” in ¶81) and storing reference images (as per “reference frame” in ¶84; as per “background frame” in ¶87) of the scene (as per “in one or more of the cargo bays 102-104” in ¶81) associated with a plurality of conditions (as per “no fire condition” in ¶87; as per “fire condition” in ¶89) (Figs. 1, 3; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 81-89, 305); and
determining the thermal event (as per “detect/verify the presence of a fire” in ¶40) by periodically (as per step 284) comparing, one or more of a plurality of temperature measurement zones (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) of one or more reference image(s) (as per “reference frame” in ¶84; as per “background frame” in ¶87) of the area (102) associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions (as per “no fire condition” in ¶87; as per “fire condition” in ¶89) including one or more of {average temperature, standard deviation of the temperature}, operating conditions (as per “The image compensation performed at the steps 202, 202’, 202’’ may include … compensation for … temperature variations, and compensation for fog and smoke effects” in ¶72 and “Temperature variability due to … location and altitude may be accounted for by the fire detection system in connection with use of the IR cameras … The thermal baselines may be defined in such a way that changes in ambient conditions do not cause false alarms by the system” in ¶79) of the vessel (as per “sea transportation vehicles” and “large ship” in ¶304), {or time of day} to a set of the thermal event conditions (as per “differentiate between smoke (i.e., a fire condition) and false conditions that would cause the smoke detection control unit 174 to incorrectly indicate the presence of fire, such as when fog is present” in ¶89) including a change in average temperature (as per “average image intensity” in ¶106-109) relative to a corresponding spatially aligned (as per “edge result frame 416” in ¶104-105) temperature measurement zone (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) in one or more acquired current (as per “current frame” in ¶84) thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) image(s) (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) of the area (102) by the at least one thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) camera (112, 114), and determining therefrom whether a thermal event condition (as per “fire condition” in ¶89) is present based upon the acquired current (as per “current frame” in ¶84) thermal (as per “IR (infrared) camera” in ¶40) images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) (Figs. 1, 3, 14-18; ¶50-52, 60, 72, 79, 81-89, 104-109, 305).
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose:
wherein the process compares on a per-zone basis; and
wherein the temperature measurement zones are multi-pixel.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski and Ebata, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning. Applying the teachings of Ebata to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates:
“wherein the process compares on a per-zone basis” in that the cargo video control unit (152) of Zakrzewski would be informed by the teachings of Ebata to analyze images in the form of blocks; and
“wherein the temperature measurement zones are multi-pixel” in that the in that the cargo video control unit (152) of Zakrzewski would be informed by the teachings of Ebata to analyze images in the form of blocks having a specified number of pixels.
As per Claim 21, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Zakrzewski further discloses imaging by the thermal camera (112, 114), at least one of {a carried vehicle}, cargo (as per “containers” in ¶57), {marine engine or machinery}, and providing, by the thermal camera (112, 114), at least two thermal images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) of the {carried vehicle}, cargo (as per “containers” in ¶57), {marine engine or machinery}, respectively, where the images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) are acquired at two different times (as per “current” in ¶84, as per “previous” in ¶87) using the thermal camera (112, 114) from the same vantage point (as per “The cameras 112, 114 … may be mounted” in ¶43).
As per Claim 22, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more spatially aligned temperature measurement zones comprise a portion of one or more training temperature measurement zones used to configure the baseline thermal event conditions.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata. Ebata further discloses wherein image information is fed to a learning image generation device (12) that classifies image data and informs operation of the determination device (10) (Figs. 1-2, 6-8; ¶50, 55, 59, 62, 65-71, 116-119, 120-127).
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski and Ebata, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning. Applying the teachings of Ebata to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates “wherein the one or more spatially aligned temperature measurement zones comprise a portion of one or more training temperature measurement zones used to configure the baseline thermal event conditions” in that the cargo video control unit (152) of Zakrzewski would be informed by the teachings of Ebata to classify and analyze images in the form of blocks.
As per Claim 23, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Zakrzewski further discloses receiving by the processor (152), visual event information (as per “processes image data from the cameras” in ¶60) of compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) from images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) acquired by at least one visual camera (112, 114) of at least one of {carried vehicles}, cargo (as per “containers” in ¶57), {marine engines and machinery} and determining presence of compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) based upon predetermined characteristics (as per “frame energy increase” in ¶89) in one or more of the images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87).
Claims 2-5, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakrzewski (US Pub. No. 2003/0215143) in view of Ebata (US Pub. No. 2019/0279478), further in view of Naslavsky (US Patent No. 11,132,552).
As per Claim 2, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Zakrzewski further discloses Zakrzewski further discloses a communication link that transmits the thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) from the processor (152) to a land-based remote computer system (as per “transmitting it to a remote location” in ¶303) that stores (as per “for storage” in ¶303) and analyzes (as per “independent review” in ¶303) the thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) (Figs. 1, 3; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 81-89, 303, 305).
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose wherein the land-based remote computer system displays.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
Naslavsky discloses an arrangement (100) for tracking and reporting upon visual and other events generated by visual sensors aboard ship that create video data streams and visual detection of events aboard ship based on those video data streams (Figs. 1, 1A; 4:50-62). The arrangement (100) includes cameras (118) that provide images to an onshore server environment (140) that includes a user workstation (170) having a dashboard (172) (Fig. 1; 5:4-22, 6:27-33). The dashboard (172) includes an image display window (760) that shows the images and sequences associated with the camera (118) (Fig. 7; 11:62-13). In this way, a user may manage the remote vessel (6:27-33). Like Zakrzewski, Naslavsky is concerned with vehicle data systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates “wherein the land-based remote computer system displays” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation as per Naslavsky.
As per Claim 3, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 2. Zakrzewski further discloses a communication link (as per “transmitting it to a remote location”) to communicate the thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) (Figs. 1, 3; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 81-89, 303, 305).
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose defining a reduced bandwidth, wherein the information is transmitted in an order as part of a hierarchy of event information based upon significance thereof.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
See rejection of Claim 2 for discussion of teachings of Naslavsky. Naslavsky further discloses wherein the dashboard (172) communicates with a shipboard server (130) over a communications link (160), wherein the shipboard server (130) includes: visual bandwidth reduction (132) that facilitates transmission over the link (160); and alarm and status polling and queueing (133) that determines alarms or status items and transmits them in the appropriate priority order (Fig. 1A; 6:66-7:21).
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates by “defining a reduced bandwidth, wherein the information is transmitted in an order as part of a hierarchy of event information based upon significance thereof” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation as per Naslavsky.
As per Claim 4, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 3. Zakrzewski further discloses a storage arrangement (as per “memory of the system” in ¶82; as per “for storage” in ¶303; as per “memory units” in ¶305) that stores the thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51), including a time (as per X axis in Figs. 4) of the thermal event (as per “fire condition” in ¶40) in a land-based database on shore (as per “a remote location for storage” in ¶303) (Figs. 1, 3-4; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 81-90, 303, 305) or {in a cloud data storage}.
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose wherein the storage arrangement stores duration.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
See rejection of Claim 2 for discussion of teachings of Naslavsky. Naslavsky further discloses wherein the dashboard (172) displays events reports and logs (173) and alarm reports and logs (174) (Fig. 1A; 6:66-7:21) based on detected metrics (522) including duration (Figs. 5, 9; 11:4-24, 12:22-39).
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates “wherein the storage arrangement stores duration” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation as per Naslavsky.
As per Claim 5, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 4. Zakrzewski further discloses wherein the land-based remote computer system (as per “transmitting it to a remote location” in ¶303) performs thermal event detection analytics (as per “independent review” in ¶303; as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) (Figs. 1, 3; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 81-89, 303, 305).
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose aggregating results over time by an individual vessel and by a fleet of vessels.
See rejection of Claim 2 for discussion of teachings of Naslavsky. Naslavsky further discloses aggregation of the events from multiple ships and multiple time periods into a fleet-wide aggregation (Fig. 2; 4:60-61; 9:52-10:14).
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates by “aggregating results over time by an individual vessel and by a fleet of vessels” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation as per Naslavsky.
As per Claim 13, the combination of Zakrzewski and Ebata teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 12. Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose wherein the predetermined characteristics include a time of the determined presence and a duration of the determined presence of compact smoke in at least two of the images.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
See rejection of Claim 2 for discussion of teachings of Naslavsky. Naslavsky further discloses wherein the dashboard (172) displays events reports and logs (173) and alarm reports and logs (174) (Fig. 1A; 6:66-7:21) based on detected metrics (522) including duration of the events (Figs. 5, 9; 11:4-24, 12:22-39).
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates “wherein the predetermined characteristics include a time of the determined presence and a duration of the determined presence of compact smoke in at least two of the images” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation and logs of collected information as per Naslavsky.
As per Claim 14, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 13. Zakrzewski further discloses a communication link that transmits the visual event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) of compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) from the processor (152) to a land-based remote computer system (as per “transmitting it to a remote location” in ¶303) that stores (as per “for storage” in ¶303) and analyzes (as per “independent review” in ¶303) the visual event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) of compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) (Figs. 1, 3; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 81-89, 303, 305).
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose wherein the remote computer system displays.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
See rejection of Claim 2 for discussion of teachings of Naslavsky.
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates “wherein the remote computer system displays” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation as per Naslavsky.
As per Claim 15, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 14. Zakrzewski further discloses an attention process (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105) that defines an attention zone (as per “edge detection” in ¶88; as per “light portions” in ¶105) in the image (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) to search for the compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89).
As per Claim 16, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 15. Zakrzewski further discloses wherein the processor (152) includes at least one of a conventional computer vision process (as per 250) and {a deep learning computer vision process} that detects the compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) in each of the images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87), and a comparison process (as per 400) that uses results of the at least one of the conventional computer vision process (as per 250) and {the deep learning computer vision process} computer vision method, in combination with attention process (as per “a variety of edge detection techniques … may be used to select portions of the video frames for processing” in ¶88; as per “The light portions in the frame 418 … may be used to determine the presence of fire” in ¶105), to validate (as per “follow on processing that detects/verifies” in ¶81) the detection of the compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89).
As per Claim 17, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 16. Zakrzewski further discloses a determination process that uses respective detection of the compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) from two or more images (as per “current frame” in ¶84; as per “previous frame” in ¶87) to provide a visual alert (as per “the signal from the smoke detection control unit 174 is one of the inputs to follow in processing so that is possible for the user to receive an indication that a fire is present even though the smoke detection control unit 174 has not detected a fire” in ¶58 and “Feature data is a description of the enhanced image reduced to various values and numbers that are used by follow on processing to determine if fire is present or not” in ¶67; as per “diagram 400 illustrates extraction of edge features used to detect fire” in ¶104) of the compact smoke (as per “detection of a frame energy increase could be used to detect and/or verify the presence of fire … it may be used the calculated frame energy values to differentiate between smoke … and false conditions” in ¶89) to a user (via display 162/164).
As per Claim 19, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Zakrzewski further discloses transmitting, over a communication link, the thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) from the processor (152) to a land-based remote computer system (as per “transmitting it to a remote location” in ¶303) that stores (as per “for storage” in ¶303), analyzes (as per “independent review” in ¶303) the thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51), and storing (as per “memory of the system” in ¶82; as per “for storage” in ¶303; as per “memory units” in ¶305) the thermal event information (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51), including a time (as per X axis in Figs. 4) of the thermal event (as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51).
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose
wherein the land-based remote computer system displays; and
storing a duration in a land-based database on shore or in a cloud data storage.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
See rejection of Claim 2 for discussion of teachings of Naslavsky.
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates “wherein the land-based remote computer system displays; and storing a duration in a land-based database on shore or in a cloud data storage” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation as per Naslavsky.
As per Claim 20, the combination of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 19. Zakrzewski further discloses performing, with the land-based remote computer system (as per “transmitting it to a remote location” in ¶303), thermal event detection analytics aggregating results over time by an individual vessel and by a fleet of vessels (as per “independent review” in ¶303; as per “CVCU 152 contains conventional on board processing … to provide appropriate processing of the signals input thereto to determine if a fire can be verified” in ¶51) (Figs. 1, 3; ¶47, 50-52, 82, 60, 81-89, 303, 305).
Zakrzewski does not expressly disclose aggregating results over time by an individual vessel and by a fleet of vessels.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Ebata.
See rejection of Claim 2 for discussion of teachings of Naslavsky. Naslavsky further discloses aggregation of the events from multiple ships and multiple time periods into a fleet-wide aggregation (Fig. 2; 4:60-61; 9:52-10:14).
Therefore, from these teachings of Zakrzewski, Ebata, and Naslavsky, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski since doing so would enhance the system by: improving fire determination accuracy and preventing erroneous warning; and adapting the system for remote management by a user. Applying the teachings of Ebata and Naslavsky to the system of Zakrzewski would result in a system that operates by “aggregating results over time by an individual vessel and by a fleet of vessels” in that the system of Zakrzewski as modified in view of Ebata would be adapted to provide a remote user workstation as per Naslavsky.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered as follows.
Applicant presents no arguments or amendments regarding the objections to the Drawings. Accordingly, these objections are maintained.
Applicant presents no arguments or amendments regarding the objections to the Specification. Accordingly, these objections are maintained.
Applicant arguments that the objections to the Claims should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 8-9 of Amendment). These arguments are persuasive. Therefore, these objections are not maintained.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 9-10 of Amendment):
Zakrzewski does not disclose storing reference images associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions including average temperature, standard deviation of temperature, operating conditions of the vessel, or time of day, as now claimed. Instead, Zakrzewski generally describes using a reference frame for global frame-energy comparison. Zakrzewski also discusses thermal baselines in a broad sense as dictated by ambient conditions, but not in the claimed manner of storing reference images associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions including the now-recited statistical and contextual categories. In particular, the present specification teaches establishing a baseline, or multiple baselines, dependent on one or more of ambient temperature, current operating conditions, average temperature, and standard deviation for selected temperature measurement zones. By contrast, Zakrzewski's discussion of baseline-setting is directed to global thermal baselines for the system, not stored reference images associated with per-zone baseline thermal event conditions as claimed.
However, no claim recites “storing reference images associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions including average temperature, standard deviation of temperature, operating conditions of the vessel, or time of day” as per Applicant’s argument. Rather the claims recite “storing reference images of the scene associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions including one or more of average temperature, standard deviation of the temperature, operating conditions of the vessel, or time of day” (see Claim 1 at line 9-11). Accordingly, Applicant’s argument concerns an unclaimed embodiment. As such, Applicant’s argument is not relevant to the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 10 of Amendment):Current claim 1 is also distinguished because it requires comparison on a per-zone basis of one or more of a plurality of multi-pixel temperature measurement zones selected from the reference image(s). Zakrzewski does not disclose "temperature measurement zones" in this sense. At most, Zakrzewski states that it may be desirable to select only a portion of each frame for processing. The cited "portion of each frame" and "regions of the frames" language in Zakrzewski is directed to generic image-processing or extraction choices, not to the claimed temperature measurement zones selected from a reference thermal image and used for zone-to-zone thermal comparison.
However, rejections under 35 USC 102 are not maintained in view of the amended claim language. Accordingly, no rejection involves an assertion that Zakrzewski individually discloses “multi-pixel temperature measurement zones” as per the amended claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 10-11 of Amendment):The present claim further requires that the comparison is made to a corresponding spatially aligned temperature measurement zone in one or more acquired current thermal image(s). For this further distinction the present specification teaches that subsequent thermal images are aligned to a first thermal image, and that conditions of the temperature measurement zone are measured over time after that alignment. The specification also expressly teaches selecting an alignment method, such as SURF alignment, normalized correlation, SSD minimization, or alignment by deep learning, to align the first thermal image to subsequent thermal images, and then comparing a corresponding zone in the aligned images. This is not merely generalized image stabilization or compensation; it is a correspondence requirement between selected temperature measurement zones in the reference image and matching spatially aligned temperature measurement zones in current thermal images.
Zakrzewski's discussion of compensation for vibration does not cure this deficiency. Zakrzewski describes image compensation for vibration and unstable cameras using frame difference, Wiener filtering, homomorphic filters, and matrix multiplication, among other techniques. To the extent Zakrzewski uses compensation for vibration, such compensation is directed to improving image quality, suppressing blur, or correcting artifacts in the image as a whole. It does not disclose or suggest the presently claimed requirement of comparing a selected temperature measurement zone from a reference image to a corresponding spatially aligned temperature measurement zone in a current thermal image. In other words, compensating an entire frame for vibration is materially different from establishing correspondence between a selected multi-pixel temperature measurement zone in a stored reference image and a matching spatially aligned zone in a later-acquired thermal image for thermal-event determination.
The "spatially aligned" limitation should not be read so broadly as to encompass any generalized compensation or enhancement operation. Under the present claim, spatial alignment is tied to "a corresponding spatially aligned temperature measurement zone," so that the claimed process compares the same selected thermal region across images in a spatially corresponding way. This alignment requirement is functionally linked in the claim to the per-zone average- temperature change determination. By contrast, Zakrzewski's compensation operations are not described as establishing corresponding temperature measurement zones selected from stored reference images. Rather, they serve to mitigate blur, vibration, lens effects, and related image artifacts before feature extraction or frame-energy analysis. Thus, even if Zakrzewski stabilizes or enhances an image, that is not the same as the presently claimed comparison of corresponding spatially aligned temperature measurement zones.
To the extent that Applicant’s argument involves an assertion that the rejections are improper because Zakrzewski fails to disclose “selecting an alignment method, such as SURF alignment, normalized correlation, SSD minimization, or alignment by deep learning, to align the first thermal image to subsequent thermal images, and then comparing a corresponding zone in the aligned images” as per Applicant’s Specification as filed, this assertion involves limitations not found in any claim. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument involves improperly importing from the Specification limitations not found in the claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument involves an improper interpretation of the claim language. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper
To the extent that Applicant’s argument involves an assertion the rejections are improper because Zakrzewski fails to individually disclose “multi-pixel temperature measurement zones” as per the amended claim language, as discussed above rejections under 35 USC 102 are not maintained in view of the amended claim language. Accordingly, no rejection involves an assertion that Zakrzewski individually discloses “multi-pixel temperature measurement zones” as per the amended claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument is moot.
To the extent that Applicant’s argument involves an assertion that the rejections are improper because Zakrzewski fails to individually disclose image analysis “on a per-zone basis” as per the amended claim language, rejections under 35 USC 102 are not maintained in view of the amended claim language. Accordingly, no rejection involves an assertion that Zakrzewski individually discloses image analysis “on a per-zone basis” as per the amended claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 11-12 of Amendment):Current claim 1 is further distinguished in requiring that the thermal event conditions are evaluated relative to the corresponding spatially aligned temperature measurement zone to detect thermal events. Zakrzewski does not disclose this claimed type of per-zone thermal event condition evaluation. Zakrzewski's primary thermal analysis is based on frame energy or other features extracted from enhanced images, including energy indicators, edge energy, PCA, wavelet coefficients, and related classifiers. Those teachings do not disclose comparing thermal event conditions of a selected multi-pixel temperature measurement zone relative to a corresponding spatially aligned zone in a current thermal image.
However, as discussed above, rejections under 35 USC 102 are not maintained in view of the amended claim language. Accordingly, no rejection involves an assertion that Zakrzewski individually discloses image analysis “on a per-zone basis” as per the amended claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument is moot. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 12 of Amendment):
Nor does Zakrzewski disclose the claimed combination of baseline thermal event conditions including one or more of average temperature, standard deviation of temperature, operating conditions of the vessel, or time of day. The present specification expressly ties training and runtime processing to ambient temperature, operating conditions, and contextual conditions such as whether the vessel is underway, speed, moored/anchored status, day, night, and position of the sun versus the scene. Zakrzewski's disclosure, by contrast, is directed to aircraft cargo bays and broadly mentions ambient conditions, aircraft profiles, altitude, and temperature variability, but does not teach the claimed storage of reference images associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions as now specifically recited.
However, no claim recites “training and runtime processing to ambient temperature, operating conditions, and contextual conditions such as whether the vessel is underway, speed, moored/anchored status, day, night, and position of the sun versus the scene” as per Applicant’s argument. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument involves improperly importing from the Specification limitations not found in the claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument involves an improper interpretation of the claim language. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 12 of Amendment):Applicants further note that the current claim recites "one or more of a plurality of multi-pixel temperature measurement zones that are selected from one or more of the reference image(s)." This language emphasizes that the claimed zones are not incidental byproducts of image processing, but are selected regions from reference image(s) that define the basis for later thermal- event determination. Zakrzewski's "portion of each frame" or "regions of the frames" language does not disclose this reference-image-based selection and later corresponding aligned comparison.
However, as discussed above, rejections under 35 USC 102 are not maintained in view of the amended claim language. Accordingly, no rejection involves an assertion that Zakrzewski individually discloses “multi-pixel temperature measurement zones” as per the amended claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 12-13 of Amendment):For at least these reasons, Zakrzewski fails to teach or suggest the presently claimed combination of: storing reference images associated with a plurality of baseline thermal event conditions including one or more of average temperature, standard deviation, operating conditions, or time of day; selecting a plurality of multi-pixel temperature measurement zones from the reference image(s); comparing such zones on a per-zone basis; requiring corresponding spatial alignment of the compared temperature measurement zones; and determining thermal events based on a change in average temperature relative to those corresponding spatially aligned zones. Method claim 18 recites corresponding limitations. Accordingly, current independent claims 1 and 18 are patentably distinct over Zakrzewski.
However, as discussed above, rejections under 35 USC 102 are not maintained in view of the amended claim language. Accordingly, no rejection involves an assertion that Zakrzewski individually discloses image analysis “on a per-zone basis” as per the amended claim language. As such, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 13 of Amendment):Applicants further note that Zakrzewski does not disclose associating multiple stored reference images with distinct operating conditions and selecting among such reference images for comparison. In the present claims, the reference image(s) are tied to baseline thermal event conditions that include one or more of average temperature, standard deviation, operating conditions of the vessel, or time of day, and are used to define temperature measurement zones for subsequent comparison. This is materially different from the generalized use of a reference frame in Zakrzewski.
However, no claim recites “distinct operating conditions” as per Applicant’s argument. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument concerns an unclaimed embodiment. As such, Applicant’s argument is not relevant to the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 13-14 of Amendment):
Additionally, the claimed temperature measurement zones are persistent, pre-selected regions derived from reference image(s), and are not merely ad hoc or transient portions of a frame used for generic image processing. The claimed spatial alignment further establishes correspondence between specific temperature measurement zones across images for comparative evaluation, rather than merely improving image quality or compensating for vibration. Accordingly, Zakrzewski does not teach or suggest the claimed combination.
However, no claim recites “persistent, pre-selected regions derived from reference image(s)” as per Applicant’s argument. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument concerns an unclaimed embodiment. As such, Applicant’s argument is not relevant to the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues (page 13-14 of Amendment):
Even if, arguendo, Zakrzewski were combined with one or more additional references, such combination would still fail to teach or suggest the claimed combination of (i) reference image(s) associated with distinct baseline thermal event conditions, (ii) selection of temperature measurement zones from such reference image(s), and (iii) comparison of corresponding spatially aligned temperature measurement zones for determining a thermal event condition.
However, no claim recites “distinct baseline thermal event conditions” as per Applicant’s argument. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument concerns an unclaimed embodiment. As such, Applicant’s argument is not relevant to the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
In addition, Applicant’s argument appears to be that Zakrzewski cannot be properly combined with any reference to arrive at the claimed invention. However, as set forth above, Claims 1 and 18 are rejected in view of the teachings of Zakrzewski and Ebata. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 should not be maintained because the dependent claims “now depend from a corresponding independent claim that has been amended herein and is believed to be in condition for allowance” (page 14 of Amendment). However, as discussed above, Claims 1 and 18 are rejected. As such, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (US Pub. No. 2011/0257819) discloses a vessel performance optimization reporting tool. Richards (US Pub. No. 2016/0214534) discloses watercraft thermal monitoring systems and methods.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KHOI TRAN can be reached at (571) 272-6919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STEPHEN HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656