Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 13, 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20160100290.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Smith discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the UE to (embodiments may include a mobile device having a memory and a processor coupled to the memory, and the processor may be configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations) (0011): determine a group of UEs comprising the UE and one or more other UEs remaining within a threshold distance of the UE (the mobile device may group with other mobile devices in response to receiving instructions/commands from a network component and/or in response to detecting that the other mobile devices are within a predefined proximity to the mobile device (i.e., within a threshold distance)) (0118) for a threshold period of time (determined based on velocity information of the mobile devices) (0118; see also 0007 that discusses a movement threshold value); determine a location estimate of the UE; communicate the location estimate of the UE to the one or more UEs; receive, from the one or more UEs, at least one location estimate of the one or more UEs; and determine an estimate of a location of the UE based on a combination of the location estimate of the UE and the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs (the mobile device may identify the relative positions of the other mobile devices, which may be achieve by evaluating the location and sensor information received from the other mobile devices and/or via any or all of the location determination solutions discussed herein. In block 568, the mobile device may send the relative location information, its current location information, and/or sensor information to a network component and/or the other mobile devices, which may receive the sensor and location information and compute updated location information (e.g., based on distance in time delay and angle of arrival, relative altitude information, etc.). In block 570, the mobile device may receive updated location information from the network component and/or the other grouped mobile devices. In block 572, the mobile device may update its current location calculation and/or information based on the information received from the network component and/or the other grouped mobile devices.) (0119).
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1 as des, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: determine whether the location estimate generated by the UE comprises a high-quality location estimate; when the location estimate generated by the UE comprises the high-quality location estimate, determine the estimate of the location of the UE based on the location estimate generated by the UE (the high-quality estimate can read on the initial local measurements still remaining within the threshold parameters); when the location estimate generated by the UE does not comprises the high-quality location estimate, determine the estimate of the location of the UE based on the combination of the location estimate of the UE and the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs (when the location is updated based on the mobile device sensors and the location information from the other mobile devices) (0254,0255, 0258 and 0259) see also 0115, 0209).
Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: when the high-quality location estimate is required (required during 911/emergency calls), receive the at least one location estimate of the one or more UEs, and determine the estimate of the location of the UE based on the combination of the location estimate of the UE and the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs (the updated location) (0259 and 0260).
Regarding claim 6, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the location estimate of the UE comprises a local location estimate (The mobile computing device may be configured to determine an initial position, generate at least one set of local position information based on locally determined location information) (0229).
Regarding claim 13, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one location estimate comprises an estimated location of the one or more UEs (the reporting of sensor information may be based on local parameter settings. For example, the mobile devices 102, 502 may be configured to transmit sensor information when any of the measured parameters (e.g., x, y, z and velocity information) meet or exceed a threshold value (e.g., exceed a rate-of-change, meet a timeout limit), which may be identified by local parameter settings stored in a memory of the mobile devices 102, 502 (0115).
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the location estimate of the UE comprises a first area of uncertainty determined by the UE; the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs comprises at least one second area of uncertainty determined by the one or more UEs; and the estimate of the location of the UE based on the combination comprises a third area of uncertainty, the third area of uncertainty comprising a geographic area where the first area of uncertainty overlaps with the at least one second area of uncertainty (inherent multiple uncertainty (errors) areas of overlap since the devices are within a threshold distance of each other and are grouped based on this distance) (see figures 5A-5C, 9D, 9E); (The location information may be delivered in standard formats, such as those for cell-based or geographical co-ordinates, together with the estimated errors (uncertainty) of the location, position, altitude, and velocity of a mobile device and, if available, the positioning method (or the list of the methods) used to obtain the position estimate) (0103).
Regarding claim 20, Smith discloses a method comprising: at a user equipment (UE): determining a group of devices comprising the UE and one or more other wireless devices remaining within a threshold distance of the UE for a threshold period of time, determining an estimate of a location of the UE based on location information and metadata describing the location information, wherein the metadata includes one or more values that define one or more of: a distance between the UE and the one or more other wireless devices, an age of the location information, and motion states of the devices included in the group of devices when the location information is detected (the mobile device may group with other mobile devices in response to receiving instructions/commands from a network component and/or in response to detecting that the other mobile devices are within a predefined proximity to the mobile device (i.e., within a threshold distance)) (0118) for a threshold period of time (determined based on velocity information of the mobile devices) (0118; see also 0007 that discusses a movement threshold value), wherein estimating the location of the UE includes: when the one or more values are one or more first values, an uncertainty of the location estimate is a first size, and when the one or more values are one or more second values, different from the one or more first values, the uncertainty of the location estimate is a second size, different from the first size (the uncertainty sizes are inherently different since the first location uses a single mobile device for the first estimate in a geographic location and second or combination location estimate uses multiple mobile devices in a geographic location near the first mobile device which covers a wider geographic area); (inherent multiple uncertainty (errors) areas of overlap since the devices are within a threshold distance of each other and are grouped based on this distance) (see figures 5A-5C, 9D, 9E); (The location information may be delivered in standard formats, such as those for cell-based or geographical co-ordinates, together with the estimated errors (uncertainty) of the location, position, altitude, and velocity of a mobile device and, if available, the positioning method (or the list of the methods) used to obtain the position estimate) (0103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Shuman et al. (Shuman), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0353688.
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses the UE of claim 2 wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: communicate the location estimate of the UE to the one or more UEs in response to determining that the location estimate generated by the UE comprises the high-quality location estimate as described above.
Smith, however, fails to disclose refraining from communicating the location estimate of the UE to the one or more UEs in response to determining that the location estimate generated by the UE does not comprise the high-quality location estimate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shuman discloses transmission of location information from a mobile terminal to other mobile terminals (see abstract). Shuman further discloses refraining from communicating the location estimate of the UE to the one or more UEs in response to determining that the location estimate generated by the UE does not comprise the high-quality location estimate (if the confidence level in the SPS derived location estimate is lower than the predetermined threshold at block 512, the SPS derived location estimate is considered unreliable, and the UE will not transmit the SPS derived location estimate to other UEs.) (0100).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Smith with the teachings of Shuman for the purpose of increasing location reliability between mobile devices.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Catherall, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0173782.
Regarding claim 5, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1 as described above. Smith however, fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: when the location estimate of the UE is unavailable, receive the at least one location estimate of the one or more UEs, and determine the estimate of the location of the UE based on the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs.
In a similar field of endeavor, Catherall discloses a method and apparatus for position estimation. Catherall further reads on when the location estimate of the UE is unavailable, receive the at least one location estimate of the one or more UEs, and determine the estimate of the location of the UE based on the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs (when the group of individuals enter a region where no accurate position fix is available and their position relative to the point where the accurate position fix was lost is estimated via dead reckoning (or a combination of dead reckoning and GPS if GPS is available but severely degraded), each mobile unit may estimate its range from one or more other mobile units. When a pair of mobile units, e.g. a first mobile unit and a second mobile unit, are estimated to be within a predefined threshold distance of one another (e.g. 5m) they share their positional estimates) (0028).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Smith with the teachings of Catherall to further ensure location accuracy.
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Meredith et al. (Meredith), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0308842.
Regarding claim 7, Smith discloses the UE of claim 6 as described above. It is noted that Smith does disclose updating location information when it is more accurate and precise than previous location estimates (the operations discussed above with respect to FIGS. 6A-6D may be repeated so that the mobile devices 102, 502 recursively, continuously, and/or periodically re-compute, refine, and/or update their current location calculations and/or location information based on updated information received from the other mobile devices and/or the network 510 until the desired level of precision is achieved for the location information.) (0125).
Smith, however, fails to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: determine a level of quality associated with the local location estimate; determine a level of quality associated with the estimate based on the combination; when the level of quality associated with the local location estimate is greater than the level of quality associated with the estimate based on the combination, discard the estimate based on the combination; and when the level of quality associated with the local location estimate is less than the level of quality associated with the estimate based on the combination, update one or more applications with the estimate based on the combination.
In a similar field of endeavor, Meredith discloses facilitating estimation of mobile device presence inside a defined region. Meredith further discloses discarding location that is below a quality threshold (Estimation device 102 can determine a quality factor indicative of the error associated with the location information. If the quality factor indicates error equal to or greater than a defined threshold, the location information is discarded.) (0027).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Smith with the teachings of Meredith for the purpose of maintaining location accuracy and precision within the system.
It is further noted that although the combination of Smith and Meredith do not disclose the discarding and updating of location information based specifically on local estimations and combined location estimates as described, the examiner contends that such an implementation would be a design choice.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Smith and Meredith discloses the UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: determine the level of quality associated with the local location estimate based on: an accuracy associated with the local location estimate; an age (such as the timeout limit) associated with the local location estimate; a motion state of UE (velocity), or a combination thereof (the mobile devices 102, 502 may be configured to transmit sensor information when any of the measured parameters (e.g., x, y, z and velocity information) meet or exceed a threshold value (e.g., exceed a rate-of-change, meet a timeout limit), which may be identified by local parameter settings stored in a memory of the mobile devices 102, 502.) (Smith, 0115).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Smith and Meredith discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: determine the level of quality associated with the estimate based on the combination, based on: an accuracy associated with the at least one location estimate of the one or more UEs; an age associated with at least one location estimate of the one or more UEs; a motion state of the one or more UEs, or a combination thereof (the mobile devices 102, 502 may be configured to transmit sensor information when any of the measured parameters (e.g., x, y, z and velocity information) meet or exceed a threshold value (e.g., exceed a rate-of-change, meet a timeout limit), which may be identified by local parameter settings stored in a memory of the mobile devices 102, 502.) (Smith, 0115).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Smith and Meredith discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein: the motion state of the UE comprises a velocity coinciding with determining the local location estimate, and the motion state of the one or more UEs comprises a velocity coinciding with receiving the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs (the mobile devices 102, 502 may be configured to transmit sensor information when any of the measured parameters (e.g., x, y, z and velocity information) meet or exceed a threshold value (e.g., exceed a rate-of-change, meet a timeout limit), which may be identified by local parameter settings stored in a memory of the mobile devices 102, 502.) (Smith, 0115).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Smith and Meredith discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein: the motion state of the UE comprises a category of mobility associated with a velocity coinciding with determining the local location estimate, and the motion state of the UE comprises a category of mobility associated with a velocity coinciding with receiving the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs (the mobile devices 102, 502 may be configured to transmit sensor information when any of the measured parameters (e.g., x, y, z and velocity information) meet or exceed a threshold value (e.g., exceed a rate-of-change, meet a timeout limit), which may be identified by local parameter settings stored in a memory of the mobile devices 102, 502.) (Smith, 0115).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Smith and Meredith discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein: the age associated with the local location estimate comprises a time when the local location estimate was determined, and the age associated with the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs comprises a time when the at least one location estimate was determined (the mobile devices 102, 502 may be configured to transmit sensor information when any of the measured parameters (e.g., x, y, z and velocity information) meet or exceed a threshold value (e.g., exceed a rate-of-change, meet a timeout limit), which may be identified by local parameter settings stored in a memory of the mobile devices 102, 502.) (Smith, 0115).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith.
Regarding claim 15, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1 as described above. Smith, however, fails to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: when the combination of the location estimate of the UE and the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs satisfy one or more criteria, forgo performing of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) scan (In a further embodiment, the mobile devices and/or network components.
Smith does disclose wherein the mobile devices and/or network components (e.g., servers, radio access points, etc.) may be configured to dynamically determine which factors (e.g., radio signal strength, GPS, etc.) to measure and/or use in determining the location of the mobile devices (0073).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Smith with forgoing the use of a GNSS such as GPS in the event the other location measurement methods are satisfactory. Such a modification would preserve system resources.
Regarding claim 16, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1 as described above. Smith, however, fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: when the combination of the location estimate of the UE and the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs do not satisfy one or more criteria, and when the UE has last performed a first GNSS scan at a time beyond a threshold period of time, perform a second GNSS scan.
Smith does disclose wherein the mobile devices and/or network components (e.g., servers, radio access points, etc.) may be configured to dynamically determine which factors (e.g., radio signal strength, GPS, etc.) to measure and/or use in determining the location of the mobile devices (0073). Further the mobile device 102 may also begin acquiring GPS signals while scanning the airwaves for radio frequency carriers and/or systems (0107).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Smith with scanning for GNSS (GPS) signals at first or second time periods based on time thresholds for the purpose of increasing location accuracy when the combination of the location estimate of the UE and the at least one location estimate from the one or more UEs do not satisfy one or more criteria.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith and well-known prior art.
Regarding claim 17, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1 as described above. Smith, however, fails to disclose wherein a first time that the UE determines the location estimate of the UE is determined in accordance with a location estimate sharing schedule coordinated between the group of UEs.
The examiner contends, however, that such a method is well-known in the art when mobile devices operate on the same subscription account and takes official notice as such.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Smith with well-known prior art. Such a modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, Smith discloses the UE of claim 1 as described above. Smith, however, fails to disclose wherein the UE and the one or more other UEs are included in the group of UEs in accordance with a determination a first user account logged into the UE is associated with one or more second user accounts that are logged into the one or more other UEs.
The examiner contends, however, that such a method is well-known in the art when mobile devices operate on the same subscription account and takes official notice as such.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Smith with well-known prior art. Such a modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karaoguz et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0199917 discloses collaborative sharing of location among devices in a network.
Chao et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No.2015/0087328 discloses a method and apparatus for improving positioning accuracy of a mobile device with a lower positioning capability.
Li et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0329539 discloses determining location of mobile devices.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646